Share PCWorks's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
PCWorks
 
 
 
PCWorks's stats
 
  • Review count
    10
  • Helpfulness votes
    150
  • First review
    May 17, 2007
  • Last review
    December 28, 2012
  • Featured reviews
    0
  • Average rating
    4.6
 
Questions
  • Question count
    0
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First question
    None
  • Last question
    None
  • Featured questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer count
    1
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First answer
    December 28, 2012
  • Last answer
    December 28, 2012
  • Featured answers
    0
  • Best answers
    0
 
 
PCWorks's Reviews
 
 Dell - B1265dnf Mono Laser Printer
Dell - B1265dnf Mono Laser Printer
Dell - B1265dnf Mono Laser Printer
 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Good Reliable Printer
PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have purchased several printers for myself and clients over the years. I am a Dell Registered Partner and I will not put my name to a product I do not believe in! I read the review that gave this printer 1 Star and I will say that my experience is not at all the same as the issue that customer experienced. Sometimes there are lemons, it's inevitable.
My experience however has been stellar. This printer while larger than a standard printer is still smaller than many of the Multi-function printers I have owned in the past. This printer replaced a single function laser that I print all my contracts and chick-in receipts on, so it gets used every day several times a day.
One of the best things I have experienced is how quick it temps up (lasers heat up to melt the toner) and then cycles the print job. My old 1125 took so long I could print the service sticker on my label printer and apply it to the system before the check-in receipt ever printed. Now I find myself racing to print the label just to see if I can beat it!
As for the Copying. While these types of printers are not going to replace a copier by any means, I will say it scans and prints surprisingly fast. With the multi-sheet feeder on the top 5 or 6 pages (or more)can be fed so you do not have to watch and load the whole time.
To be honest I do not use Fax anymore so i cannot comment on this function but I am sure it works as well as everything else.
One thing to note is that it comes with "Smart-Thru" office which is a nifty little program for organizing your scans. I have not utilized all of its features but it seems to be pretty intuitive thus far.
Overall for the price I think it can't be beat so much so that I purchased 3 more for clients. For home or small office use this is a great printer.
On a side note it has been my experience that 1) These lasers cost about 0.014 cents/page to print as opposed to 0.14-0.20 cents/page with an inkjet. 2) before writing a review always contact Dell Support 1st, if they can't help you then I encourage a review with scathing detail. It's the only way to truly judge a product and a company for that matter (No offense meant toward previous reviewers or those that may follow)
Pros:invoice printer, general printing, check-in receipts, network printing & scanning
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
 
 Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mouse
Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mouse
Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mouse
 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Great Mouse!
PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this mouse because quite frankly I got a Gift card and wanted to spend it. I am a Dell Registered Partner so I have bought thousands of products over the last 10 years. I use a Performance MX mouse typically. I like the wireless feature and am a big fan of Logitech products. I only miss one thing, the thumb button! which the MX has this does not, however; the abundance of programmable buttons makes up for it. One of the unique things about this mouse is the texture of the thumb and pinky rests. It is almost like a spray on bed liner...lol...its true which actually gives good gripping ability and is not uncomfortable at all. The on-the-fly DPi adjustment is great for gaming, Nano receiver is always a plus, and the side scroll feature is great for large width viewing....just add a little pressure right or left on the middle mouse button to scroll that way. Overall a great product!
Pros:computer service, Gaming, graphic design, web design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Dell - Adventure 17” Backpack
Dell - Adventure 17” Backpack
Dell - Adventure 17” Backpack
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Sturdy, Well Built, Backpack
PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This bag is much sturdier than some of the other brands I have purchased. I am a Dell Registered Partner and have used all kinds of Dell products for the last 10yrs. I actually purchased this as a tool bag for when I am onsite but when I received it, it looked so nice I couldn't! Great pockets and the shoulder strap design keeps this bag in place even if slung over one shoulder. Quality nylon zippers and it's just plain comfortable. I highly recommend!
Pros:computer service, on the go office, Travel, laptop bag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vostro 220s
Vostro 220s
Vostro 220s
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Small form factor is the ticket
PostedApril 6, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have bought several of these systems for clients in several applications and have yet to field one single complaint.....Great system overall
Pros:This system is laid out very nicely exspecially if space is an issue. All the features you would expect from a standard case size. Internally the support bracket makes the case sturdy enough to place even a CRT monitor on top with little to no sagging. If you choose to stand system up you are looking at about a 4" width, again ideal for tight spaces. 4 USB on the back and 2 right up front makes using a flash drive a breeze.
Cons:not necessarily a con but if the unit is stood up know that a little care needs to be taken when using the CD tray. CD's do sit nicely but loose so there is always the possibility that a CD may slip out of the notched and get jammed while closing, but note this is a minor issue if one at all. You must remember that this is a low profile system so any add on cards MUST BE low profile meaning the silver bracket that gets a screw to hold in place is only about 3" long.
+57points
58of 59voted this as helpful.
 
 Vostro 220
Vostro 220
Vostro 220
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Must Have
PostedMarch 10, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great buy for office and home alike highly recommend!
Pros:The Vostro 220 is definitely a bargin and has plenty of upgradeability. We have purchased several units with varying specs and each one is worth every penny. The new case design is aesthetically pleasing and yet simple when you crack open the box. Was skeptical of the new CD/DVD button but have had no issues as of this time. Tower is mid sized so should fit in standard computer desks and breaths well. For the average user this system will do more than you'll ever need at a price you typically cant pass up. We have purchased these for just about every application from home use to industrial applications. There have been 0 complaints about this system and we have purchased over 20 so far
Cons:This is not a good design for large graphics cards. While a person could use this for about any application the case design does not allow for long video cards such as the GeForce 8800 series due to it's length which encroaches on the hard drive area. Plus the location of the PCIe slots put a large card close to bottom of case and does not allow for proper air flow...but then again this is not a gaming Rig!
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
 
 Vostro 2510
Vostro 2510
Vostro 2510
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: More Bang for the Buck
PostedMarch 10, 2009
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall we have found this to be a great system with a little flair, while not as sturdy as the Latitude line the Vostro 2510 is definitely worth haveing
Pros:Beautiful System with plenty of upgrades available. The new features like slot load DVD mean no more broken trays. The 2510's sleak design makes it pleasing to the eye. Have ordered several of these systems and have had no complaints or problems. This is perfect for College bound students that need a little more ooompf! out of their computer such as graphics and video. Vostro 2510 also makes for a gorgeous work system for traveling salesmen and territory reps. Light weight and powerful. I highly recommend!
Cons:The gloss finish WILL get scratched fairly easily so don't be supprised when it does
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:24 inch UltraSharp™ 2407WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 Ultra
Title: Power House!
PostedDecember 27, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
This system is not one to play around with! Get the max within your budget and do not skimp on anything. With the GeForce 8800 and Vista Ultimate you may still get a little stutter on games like Crysis, but it smokes everything else including Call of Duty 4 and Gears of War. Would recommend (if I had to do over again) to SLI 2 8800's. Vista Ultimate runs nicely including the Aero User Interface. Still some issues with DirectX 10 and you will have to get the nVidia uniform driver update for the Video card to perform top notch.
Pros:As a gaming system this ROCKS! Plenty of room for expansion Must have the space for it though. Great with the 24" Ultrasharp monitor. The case design is great and makes for easy gawking at all the goodies inside. There is space for up to 4 CD Drives and has the power to multitask them all! Tons of USB on the back and the SB XFi has amazing sound capabilities (get some good speakers...you'll thank me later). All in all it is way better than my old XPS 600 ever dreamed of being.
Cons:Very big and bulky, you will need a hefty desk to put it on, but you probably already know this by looking at it. Only 2 USB ports on the front...2 more would have been perfect
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Cyber Snipa Aluminum Mouse Pad
Cyber Snipa Aluminum Mouse Pad
Cyber Snipa Aluminum Mouse Pad
 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Top Notch
PostedOctober 29, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Make sure to give you mouse a good cleaning, get rid of any gunk on the skates. A little prep work will make it work even better
Pros:Surface area s great, large enough that you shouldn't have to hopscotch your mouse. Awesome neoprene case and stays put even on glass
Cons:cheaper optical mice may not pick up & track quite right. It is kinda loud being a solid surface, but to me it is not a real concern
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
 Color Laser Printer 3110cn
Color Laser Printer 3110cn
Color Laser Printer 3110cn
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Print Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Home Run
PostedMay 22, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
This unit has hit it on the head as far as affordability for small businesses or home offices alike. The upgrade to larger capacity toner cartridges is great. The initial blast of replacing toner can be shocking but when compared to cost per page output of an inkjet there is no comparison
Pros:This unit printed out of the box 100 times better than my previous 3100cn and I loved that one! If you have ever owned a larger Color laser you will be amazed at the speed (just with 128MBRAM) and quietness of this system. The newsletter and flyers I have been printing for the past year are more vibrant and cleaner without customizing the software to smooth bitmaps. I say HOME RUN on this very affordable top notch printer!
Cons:She is a handful, but if you have a place for it not a big deal
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Color Laser Printer 3010cn
Color Laser Printer 3010cn
Color Laser Printer 3010cn
 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Print Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCWorks
(Aledo, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Inexpensive Goliath
PostedMay 17, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the small business or home user this printer is a gem. Not only price wise but proffessional quality printing. It can be cumbersome doing envelopes and such but let's face it for the price there will be some limitations. It is expensive to replace the toners but if one thinks about the number of copies you get it is still sooooooo much cheaper than running inkjets
Pros:This printer has an amazing print quality, I have printed commercially off of this unit with no issues. I have also purchased one for a client with the extra legal tray to give them 3 different paper options. The graphics and colors can all be tweaked and smoothed and I love the ability to preset my types of printing in the Dell software, Please this goliath is a dream. I also had a streak appear and in a flash Dell sent me a new drum at no charge and we were back in business
Cons:Well it is a goliath, at 55lbs it is a formitable opponet. It does have it's limitations and even with extra memory can be slow when warming up.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.