Share Ron2007's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
Ron2007
 
 
 
Ron2007's stats
 
  • Review count
    5
  • Helpfulness votes
    166
  • First review
    July 26, 2007
  • Last review
    August 6, 2012
  • Featured reviews
    0
  • Average rating
    5
 
Questions
  • Question count
    0
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First question
    None
  • Last question
    None
  • Featured questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer count
    2
  • Helpfulness votes
    2
  • First answer
    November 23, 2011
  • Last answer
    August 6, 2012
  • Featured answers
    0
  • Best answers
    1
 
 
Ron2007's Reviews
 
 Inspiron 14Z 5423
Inspiron 14Z 5423
Inspiron 14Z 5423
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron2007
(Calistoga, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Well-done new Inspiron series
PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This ultrabook was made for me and I prefer it to my maxed out Sandy Bridge XPS 15. I'm still amazed at how quick this Core i5, 6GB RAM machine is. That little 32GB SSD helps too. Display resolution is perfect as my sight isn't what it used to be. Videos/streaming play well and the sound is just fine. Wireless connection (23 Mbps) is very close to what I get on my ethernet wired gaming machine. Bluetooth mouse takes care of the limited two USB ports. Keyboard and touchpad work really well. Overall, a slim, good-looking, light ultrabook with Ivy Bridge and a bonus DVD burner. A backlit keyboard would have made for a perfect machine for me.
Pros:desktop publishing, streaming video
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
 
 XPS 15 MLK
XPS 15 MLK
XPS 15 MLK
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron2007
(Calistoga, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Exceptional laptop
PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like sturdy laptops and this one is indeed well-built and good-looking. I had two main reasons for buying this laptop. First up, the 95% color gamut from the B+RGLED backlight on the 1080p display is superior. It has to be seen to be believed. Don't even think about configuring this device without this screen. Second, the audio is excellent. You're not going to be listening to high fidelity here but you won't need headphones either. There are enough configuration options. Plenty of processors to choose from. I went with the 2720QM with 6MB cache. RAM here is running at 1333 MHz. I got the GeForce GT 540M 2GB but would've liked an option for the GeForce GT 555M. The Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6230 pretty much gives me the same speed (25 Mbps) throughout the house and back yard as I get with the direct gigabit ethernet connection on my new Sandy Bridge gaming build. The 86-key backlit keyboard is a pleasure. Note that there is no Num Lock here and you'll need to use the on-screen keyboard in this case. I connect a keyboard and use a mouse half of the time but the large Synaptics multi-touch touchpad is accurate and responsive. The touchpad buttons are also great. I'm getting at least seven hours of battery life when gaming, playing movies, etc, with Wi-Fi off. I've been buying Dell's XPS line for decades with zero issues.
Pros:Gaming, graphics design, movies, streaming
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
 
 Studio XPS 435
Studio XPS 435
Studio XPS 435
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron2007
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: The Core i7 Desktop I've Been Waiting For!
PostedDecember 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Decent enough gaming in the Radeon HD 4850 and I would opt for at least 6GB tri-channel SDRAM. There is no reason to even consider a Core 2 Quad with this machine around. Extremely happy.
Pros:Core i7. DDR3 SDRAM. I love the way it looks. Incredibly quiet.
Cons:I looked hard but there are absolutely no negatives to this machine.
+80points
123of 166voted this as helpful.
 
 Inspiron 1720
Inspiron 1720
Inspiron 1720
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron2007
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7700 (2.40 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:320GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 160GB)
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title: Great desktop replacement
PostedJune 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Recommend a USB mini-receiver mouse.
Pros:This is a great looking, solidly built unit with a gorgeous screen. It's also virtually noiseless.
Cons:Needs an HDMI port and an option for 7200rpm hard drives. Sluggish mouse pad.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron2007
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200 RPM)
Video Card:ATI Radeon X1300 Pro 256MB
Title: Impressed
PostedJuly 26, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
It would be great to see the video card manufacturers making higher-end low profile cards.
Pros:This miniature unit is a powerhouse and is virtually noiseless. It can do most anything efficiently and games such as Battlefield 2 run acceptably. It looks great and I love it!
Cons:None.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.