Share AllThumbs's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
AllThumbs
 
 
 
AllThumbs's stats
 
  • Review count
    5
  • Helpfulness votes
    91
  • First review
    26 September 2008
  • Last review
    21 June 2012
  • Featured reviews
    0
  • Average rating
    4.2
 
Questions
  • Question count
    0
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First question
    None
  • Last question
    None
  • Featured questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer count
    4
  • Helpfulness votes
    0
  • First answer
    10 January 2012
  • Last answer
    15 February 2012
  • Featured answers
    0
  • Best answers
    0
 
 
AllThumbs's Reviews
 
 Latitude 2120
Latitude 2120
Latitude 2120
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllThumbs
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Better than any tablet for field work
Posted21 June 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I tried using tablets for field work. First, they are too fragile. Second, their keyboards are horrible compared to real keyboards. Lastly, just how much can a person tolerate finger smudges on a display screen? The 2120 (equipped with a 3G card) is perfect for our field needs. It's tough and reliable and has a good 'feel' to it. Go to Youtube and search for Dell Latitude 2120 Review to see more details on this wonderful netbook.
Pros:videography production, internet via hotspots and 3g card, in the mountains woods and jungle
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Latitude ST Slate Tablet
 
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllThumbs
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title: Not for those new to tablets
Posted10 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is after 4 days use.
First, the documentation is horrible - both the few pages that come with the table and the online user guide.
The ST is strictly a learn-to-use-it-on-your-own machine. I thought I had a handle on personal computers (my first was an Atari 400 and I average a new computer every 18 months), but the learning curve is very steep on this one. The Dell pen stinks. The 'erase' and 'right click' rocker switch is very easy to press by mistake. The 'erase' side of the switch will guaranteed be pressed at the worst possible time and you will lose all of your work just entered. Not good.
The onscreen keyboard can't be made large enough for my fingers, so back to the poorly designed pen.
The proprietary power connector seems to be a weak point as the plug is flimsy and I can see it destroying the input connector over time. (LG phones once had a similar bad design)
There is no DC charger available. I'm using an inverter in my truck for the AC charger, but this is not the way to go.
The display looks great. The weight and heft feel good.
The company has mandated these and I'm thinking about going back to a netbook.
I'll update this review if I stick with the ST.
Pros:field work video production, internet access while traveling, external monitor for pro camcorder
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllThumbs
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title: An ok laptop
Posted22 October 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good: all ports and power input are on left side, speaker and mic connections in front, little junkware installed, nice display
The bad: the touch pad is horrible despite making every adjustment known to man, keyboard is so-so, XP not available, the little circle designs on the case are dumb looking, the cd/dvd drive feels cheap
Pros:word processing, surfing the web, audacity applications, basic video editing, basic photo editing
+16points
29of 42voted this as helpful.
 
 Streetpilot 7200 GPS
Streetpilot 7200 GPS
Streetpilot 7200 GPS
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllThumbs
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title: Finally, I have the big screen
Posted2 March 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been using GPS since there's been GPS and have always wanted a larger display for my car. Garmin already makes terrific large displays for boats and airplanes I've used for years. I like a large display do I can see more detail over a larger area. It helps me get the 'big picture' in a geographical sense. The 7200 is perfect for this. Mounting was an issue. I don't use the receivers on the windshield or dash. I mounted this unit over the speedometer and it works well with the internal antenna and works great with an outside antenna. I've eliminated the XM receiver that was elsewhere in the vehicle and use the 7200 instead. I highly recommend this unit.
Pros:Big, big, display, touch screen, XM tuner, excellent Garmin support staff
Cons:Hard to use custom screens, low resolution maps at close in settings
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
 
 Inspiron Mini 9
Inspiron Mini 9
Inspiron Mini 9
 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllThumbs
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title: My 10th Dell computer in ten years
Posted26 September 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
But, don't get me wrong. I like and highly recommend the Inspiron 910 and am going to buy another just to keep in the family car for when I'm near a hot spot and need an internet fix. I was using the ASUS 2E and discovered Linux is a horrid operating system for the average computer user. Just try to install Jave sometme. Also the keyboard was too small for my fat fingers.
As for the 910, I am surprised by the lack of accessories offered by Dell. More RAM, large capacity battery, SSHD memory, USB CD/DVD drive, carrying case, upgrade wifi card; all would be welcome offerings.
Lastly, I spend a lot of time travelling and use a computer primarily for getting online. My other Dells do the heavy lifting at home or in the office. Dragging five, six, or seven pounds of computer stuff through airports and hotels is a physical pain at times. The Mini 9 proved itself in just one trip with its small size and light weight.
Pros:-comes with XP!! -no Vista - yea!!!!! -small size -display is the best in its class and a few others as well -great to use on the road to get online -price -large enough keyboard -easy to access RAM, wifi card, and SSHD -light weight -3 USB ports -fairly sensitive WiFi receiver
Cons:-no pcmcia/pc card slot -glossy cover, plenty of room for hundreds of very visible fingerprints and easy to see scratches -no way to connect external antenna to wifi card -no /N wifi option -too much junkware pre-installed -not enough RAM or memory offered -high shipping charges -nowhere near claimed battery life
+8points
16of 24voted this as helpful.