Customer reviews for XPS 17 MLK

XPS 17 MLK

XPS 17 MLK
4.049 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 366 reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
16
1 Star
39
4
 / 
5
(366 reviews) 358
287 out of 36678%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 17 MLK
Review 81 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nige
(Melbourne, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Piece of junk

PostedMay 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop has caused me nothing but problems. Delivered late. Plagued with unresolved tech issues. Touch screen is a waste of time/money. $2600 at the time with performance upgrades and still isn't up to task. Tech support of 're-format' one month after setting things up is no help. Plagued with a 'jumping cursor' issue related to the touchpad. VERY ANNOYED!!
Pros:cad, personal use
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cwhwc
(Rochester, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was not expecting to be so surprised by how fast this laptop is. It blows my old Inspiron away and is far superior to my wife's Vostro. I am so glad I chose the XPS over the other models. The sound and the picture are amazing. And the processing speed rocks. I am a programmer and often have 6 or 7 heavy software applications open at once. It's a breeze with the XPS and I have never been more productive - don't let my employer know though.
I also purchased a 21" Dell monitor to extend the screen environment for my XPS. With the use of an HDMI cable it was easy to set up. The only issue I experienced was that the monitor kept trying to take over the sound... and I had to disable the monitor from the sound devices.
I really like the Mobility Center with the quick-touch buttons at the top of the keyboard, but feel Dell fell short with the Instant Launch Manager. I can only perform a single action - opening a single website or a single software application. It would have been a lot more useful to be able to open a "work environment" that launched multiple applications and multiple websites.
My only other complaint is that on the 17" model, there are "weak points" under the keyboard exactly where my palms sit... and the plastic pops up and down... which is slightly annoying. Dell just needs to add some extra internal support in those locations.
But otherwise, XPS 17 is an amazing laptop - a real power horse. I hihgly recommend it for those who need power, memory, and speed while on the go.
Pros:software development
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UKcat2
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

4 USB Ports on Dell xps17

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
To those who said their XPS17 has only got 3 usb ports, read the manual and its in fact got 4 usb ports 2x usb3 on the back and one usb 2 on each side.
The esata port on the right side doubles up as a usb 2 port
Pros:home user, software
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:turbodog
(Salt Lake City, UT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Linux Developer Machine!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I finally broke down and bought the "powerhouse" machine I always wanted and I am very happy with it. I am a web developer and most of my work is done on remote servers, so I never felt like I needed a high-end machine, but I decided to treat myself this time.
My favorite parts -- the backlit keyboard (so I can work in a dimly lit room) and the matte-finish, no-glare screen! That was a pleasant surprise -- I didn't know anyone still made a laptop without those horribly shiny, uber-reflective screens.
The few bad parts -- it's heavy. I expected that though. And it's fine with me -- I don't travel much. The fans -- it's very loud. I guess that's to be expected with i7 processor, nvidia video and 2 hard drives. Need to keep it cool.
I'm running Linux (Ubuntu 11.10) on this machine and I'm very happy with the performance. All the hardware/drivers worked right out the box. Didn't need to do much tweaking to get started.
Highly recommended!
Pros:web developer
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cpuzder
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great power, One Massive Flaw

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I cannot recommend this laptop until Dell resolves the power cord issue.
There is a massive flaw with this model that cannot be overlooked when considering whether to buy this laptop: The power cord does not stay in the laptop.
When the laptop is stationary, or used ... on a lap ... the powercord simply falls out. It is easy to not notice this (depending on your power settings) and be alerted sometime later that your battery is dead or not charging.
Dell support claimed that I was the only one experiencing this problem, yet there is a forum full of people who have complained to Dell.
Dell replaced the power cord 3x, the laptop 3x and sent a tech out all to no avail.
There has been no official word from Dell on a fix, nor have they even acknowledged the problem, despite the complaints from XPS 17 owners.
Forum post full of complaints: http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/p/19382073/20058717.aspx#20058717
Other than the powercord, this is a great machine.
Pros:Gaming, website development, entertainment
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RichardBa
(Redruth, Cornwall)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell XPS 17 3D The Facts

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After reviewing all the laptops available that offer 3D with plenty of extras I purchased the XPS L702X. My options were very much top spec. Ok, so out of the box what have we got that should be better than the rest! It's quiet!! A sharp screen which plays a great Blu ray film. A Windows score of 5.9 - the same as my 3 year old Sony AW11XUQ by the way! This was due to the two mechanical hard drives holding the system back, perhaps you should consider SSD. To set up the internet with Orange F box was easy. To set up the 3D was very poor. This was due to the cursur missing on screen to select the radio button options. Try setting up the speed of the mouse pad to equal the screen to pad diameter - this way you can judge where you need to click! Once done it is an absolute dream to see the 3D effects. I have used call of duty black ops -Wow! Even older games that are listed as 'fair' by NVidia are mind blowing. The keyboard has been marked down by many people but i find it just like all the others- trust me- it's not a problem, but do yourself a favour and buy the back lit keyboard I find it is a must. Some people have reported the speakers to be positioned in the wrong place -at the front of the laptop where your wrists rest. Again I have no problems with this when listening to music whilst catching up with word docs. The speakers really do the biz. The battery time is good -you will get 2 1/2 hours of gaming out of it. The software supplied is good, but you may want to consider Cyberlink 11 Ultra to convert your 2d stuff to 3d. Can I find any minus points? Yes! but only minor. The battery and Hdd activity lights are behind the raised screen -they may as well not be there at all. But apart from this, please consider the Xps as your next laptop. I have purchased many laptops/desktops over the years and have found this to be the most impressive so far. Marks out of 10! I give it a 9 due to the software problems setting up the 3d in the first place and the hdd & battery led's positioned behind the screen. This is a great laptop well worth the money. So far it has proved to be an all round winner with all the family who have very different needs on a modern computer.
Pros:new fast shoot em up games, surfing the net, watching 3d blu ray films
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1080x900
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Terrific

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great display, everything works extremely well, no problems, nothing I don't like
Pros:internet, video streaming, office applications, Gaming
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EngineerUser
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nothing But Problems

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
About a month after I purchased this laptop I needed to replace the motherboard. Once this was done and they sent someone out to do this they forgot to enable the back light. So they sent someone out again a week later. Another 2 months after the motherboard indecent the fan cycles on and off every 5 seconds. I think the issue was introduced after one of the 3 times I was required to upgrade my bios, to fix previous issues. I don't mind fan noise, but having to listen to it go on and off all day while trying to get work done is very annoying. Fan cycles on and off even when I have a fresh install of windows and no applications running. Currently working with dell customer support on this.
Side Review: The dell site makes it such a pain to download drivers. If you don't want to use their download manager you shouldn't have to. In my opinion they should just remove the download manager option all together.
If I had none of the issues above I would say it was a good purchase. You get allot for the money.
Pros:software development
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MrBoring
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this laptop for 5 months now and love it. I am use to the old XPS laptops that had a more sci-fi look to them, but I really enjoy this new sleek design. I have had trouble with my studio multimedia control buttons, but the ones on the XPS works great and allows you one custom button. Also fairly light for everything it's packing. My old Inspiron 17 inch was much heavier. I do miss my slot load drive. I'm always worried about hitting the tray load disk drive. THe JBL speakers are also a big bonus, best sound I've heard from laptop speakers.
One thing I'm dissapointed about is how fast it heats up. It does manage to keep it from over heating but it stays hot while using anything graphics intese. Also you don't have the option to get NVIDIA GTX cards, which are available in the Alienware. Still the GT 555M card I have works great. All the games I have tried allow me to operate the graphics as high as I would like. Though not always as smoothly as I would like. One minor problem I have is keeping the power cord connected. My studio had the same problem. It's doesn't fit snuggly so it slides out very easily. They have improved the laptop to recognize what type of power adapter you are using and inform you what type of power supply you have connected. So if you have a 60W instead of the 150W then it will inform you that the battery will not charge, but system will be powered by the supply.
Bottom line this is a good all around laptop. Extremely mobile and powerful. The Alienware might be a little better for gaming, but I like the slimmer design and sleeker look of the XPS.
I also haven't had a chance to test out the 3D yet since the glasses they sent are not working. I have been dealing with the customer support several times now and 4 months later I still haven't received glass. I am very dissapointed in Dell's customer service.
Pros:work, School, Gaming
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JLANDL
(CENTRAL TEXAS)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Poor Power Adapter Interface

PostedMarch 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Power adapter will not remain inserted into the computer unless it is sitting on a flat surface. Since this is a laptop and a lap is not particularly flat (especially on long flights), this has become a nightmare. Now the system will not charge and I had to purchase an external charger and a second battery so I can use the computer.
Extremely poor engineering
Pros:nice fast computer
Cons:external power adapter
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheGrizz
(New Mexico, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

My L702X Experience

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Mine is fully loaded I-7, 32G Ram, 2x750G 7200 rpm HHD 9 cell battery. I was overwhelmed with speed and quality of screen when I first got this. My only negative is where the power supply attaches to the computer, it is loose and in a poor location.
Pros:monitor resolution excellent, keyboard has excellent feel.
Cons:port for power adapter in poor location.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PHK1
(Katy TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my Dell XPS L702X

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Owned many brands of computers and other dells...but this is the best yes. Bought this XPS L702x in May of 20011...and still running like a champ and going strong. Upgrade memory and put in a SSD.
Pros:home & business, video editing and library, photo editing and library, Gaming, software development java & .net
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MichelleB
Title:

Love my xps 17!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new xps 17! It's huge, the screen is crystal clear and bright without having a lot of reflection from the environment(which I hate!!). The keyboard is awesome - perfect size. I bought the wireless solar keyboard to go with this (with some points I had received) but really, there's no need for an extra keyboard. The keys are a nice size and they are protected from getting stuff (like dog hair) in and around them.
The only con is the mouse touchpad - and that's really not a con if you like touchpads. I personally don't care for them because I'm always dragging things by accident with the palm of my hand when typing. I will end up disabling it since I use a wireless mouse with the laptop. I wish that Dell had an option for the stick mouse in the middle of the keyboard like other brands do, but I know some people hate those too.
Anyway, I'd definitely recommend this laptop to anyone. I haven't noticed any issues with it getting hot to the touch and I do sit in a lazyboy with it on my lap for sometimes hours.
Pros:browsing, watching movies/tv, listening to music, light gaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chuck
(Alaska)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Dell I have had yet.

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had the insperion and the only thing that did was inspire me to throw it away at about 8 months old. This XPS 17 would have 5 stars if not for all the extra junk Dell loads and forces to have on your computer. (like McAfee). I got the SSD Hard Drive and the 20.00 upgraded sound system. This computer boots up fast, in fact everything is fast on this computer, I have never heard such good sound from a laptop computer before. Every problem I had with the inspiron from the day I took it out of the box is non exsistant with this laptop. Right out of the box it instsntly detected all available wireless connections. Entered my pass word and instantly connected. The Inperion would rarely connect and when it did would loose signal even thou the router is 5 feet away. Im in total awe at how crisp and clear the screen is. The first thing I did after getting it set up was to go to McAfee and use the McAfee removal tool. Do this before you register the McAfee that comes installed on your computer or when the subscription runs out you get a bill for its renewal even though you dont have or use it. I then installed Norton Internet Security. Updated Norton, Ran windows update until no more updates were available. This laptop thus far rocks. I hate to it say after the horrific time with the inspiron but I love this laptop. Granted the inspiron was around 6-700.00 and with my upgrades this one was 2100.00. You definately get what you pay for. I just wish DELL would let you opt out of having some of the junk automaticall installed. I cant see somebody not being happy with this laptop and, I am an extremely picky person.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WilyGirl
Title:

Fabulous Machine

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded from a 6-yr old 15" Inspiron to the 17" XPS and am very happy with the new machine.
PROS
I really like having the dedicated 10-key pad, and the backlit keyboard is very nifty. The sound system is amazing for a laptop, as is the battery life with the 9-cell battery.
CONS
Haven't found any yet!
Pros:home office
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RFBrown
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell System XPS L702X

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the laptop a few months ago and have been quite pleased with it. I've used it for just about everything from school work, movies, and definitely for gaming, and I have no complains in any of these areas. The laptop is fast, hasn't presented any problems thus far and I'm loving it.
Con of this laptop are: It's pretty heavy but I was aware of this when I purchased it, due to its size. The one thing I really dislike about the laptop is that it keyboard and surrounding surfaces get really hot when playing high graphics demanding games and other applications. The only other small issue I have with the laptop is it's touchpad. It often time is activated unintentionally by my wrist, thus making writing frustrating.
Pros:Gaming, education -programming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mitch1024
(Sumter, South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 17 Laptop

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased my new XPS 17 i7. Love the number pad on the kid board. Love the wide screen and large amount of disk space. Had it for a few months now and have had no issues other than getting a USB 3.0 setting set.
Wish Dell included at least a 30 day warrenty on software issues. There just needs to be a warrent period that is bumper to bumper.
Pros:spread sheets, pictures, word documents, personal finance, internet
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RickM86
(Salem, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XSP (L702X)

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the XPS 17 (L702X) from Dell outlet to replace my Gateway FX desktop. (Top of the line gaming machine for ‘08) Though a bit pricey and bulky this laptop has great performance and really nice features. The cons: Heavy/bulky, only 4 USB ports, and the DVD is not changeable. Overall, I’m pleased and would recommend the XPS.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:okarl
(Phoenix)
Title:

excellent power and speed

PostedMarch 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
XPS 702X I couldn't be happier with the power and speed of operations. I added the SSD and it makes the difference. I don't understand the plug issue, mine has no problem. My issue is with the USB 3.0 ports on the back shutting off after several minutes. I called tech support 5 times and after the fourth the replaced the motherbvoard and daughter boards. Still the problem. It is difficult to love the machine when only 2 usb ports work. Tech support told me this is a know issue and they trying to solve and let me know this happens in one out of five hundred machines. I don't know about that, but I have gone through many of these reviews and knowbody has written. More than a few mentioned in the forum section about XPS 502 and 703 USB 3.0 ports shutting off and many not being fixed. After spending what I did I returned after 7 days and reordered another. Will wait to see if the same problem but I wouldn't have reordered if I didn't think it was an outstanding unit. I hope the next dose not have the same issue.
Pros:work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for XPS 17 MLK
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cristin
(Las Vegas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Top of the Line

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
As an IT professional, I chose this laptop as my personal device due to the outstanding performance derived from its use. I optioned for a SSD for the O/S and the 640Gb SATA for data. It boots in 10-15 seconds and is by far the "FASTEST LAPTOP" I have ever touched. Dollar for dollar it far outweighs any other laptop on the market. It performs flawlessly no matter what the task and the support has been the best support I have ever received in over 10 years dealing with Dell. I also have the optional 3D and my movies are brilliant. I have and use many other manufacturers models and work on them regularly but this, by far, is the "Top of the Line".
Pros:Travel, data management, streaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 18