Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.269 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 Stars
211
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
10
1 Star
27
4.3
 / 
5
(338 reviews) 338
285 out of 33884%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cookiemonster81
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A bit average

PostedJune 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went for the Intel Core i7, 8GB of RAM and 1TB hard disk. I also separately ordered (not from Dell) a 240gb SSD drive to make it super quick.
I have several gripes that I would not expect on a supposedly premium machine like this:
- No Windows 8 DVD. This is ridiculous. My plan was to install the SSD as the main drive, with the 1TB hard drive as the data drive, and then do a clean install of Windows 8 on the SSD. I wasted time creating a Dell "recovery DVD" so that I could reinstall everything onto the SSD. This would not work and, after calling technical support, they told me that I needed to buy a Windows 8 disc. Not happy that I should pay more for something as basic as that for a product this expensive. Not only is there additional expense, it is also inconvenience as I now have to wait to receive the Windows 8 dis before installing programs etc to the SSD.
- I have a wifi network that operates on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz. 5ghz is considerably faster due to the interference issue on 2.4ghz networks. However, the wifi card with this desktop is only 2.4ghz, so my internet speed is slower than on my 5yr old laptop which has 5ghz! Why have they been cheap in providing a sub-par wifi card?
- Day 2 and the monitor would not wake from sleep mode (the computer did, though, as the keyboard lights would come on). This is not a problem with the monitor but maybe the graphics drivers need work?
- The wireless mouse is for some strange intermittently very jerky. It worked perfectly on Windows 7. Maybe my clean install of Windows 8 on the SSD will fix it?
Pros:quite quick and slick
Cons:no windows 8 disc, monitor would not resume from sleep, mouse very jerky, wi-fi is 2.4ghz only
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 23, 2013
Hello CookieMonster81,

Thank you for taking the time to review the XPS 8700. I can appreciate your input on the WIFI card. We install cards that are best suited for the majority of users and most users are not willing to spend more for equipment they are not going to use. Additionally, desktops are inherently wired, for network connectivity. I would make this suggestion on Ideastorm.com. This is a great place to have your ideas heard. If more people agree and follow your suggestion, you could have impact on the next great Dell product.

I am sorry to hear of your troubles in trying to install the SSD. We support the system as it came from the factory. You can upgrade your system with additional parts but, we warrant the system to function properly as built from the factory. SSDs are finally starting to come down in price and customer demand has made them an option on current configs. We offer them to speed up boot and access times in the new 8700 Special Edition.

Thanks again for sharing!
+39points
76of 113voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nomadwg
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Without a doubt the best performance PC on the market.
Great job Dell!
-123points
49of 221voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hueseph8700
(Vancouver, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

An UnBiased Opinion

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Is this a high end machine? No. Is it fast? Relatively but certainly not at the top of the heap. Third generation i7 cpus are still faster.
The good:
It's a very quiet machine. This is probably the most noticeable aspect. It's relatively fast. If you are a casual gamer and don't expect to be taking this to a LAN competition, you'll be fine.
This computer is a workstation. In that respect it fills it's needs. Perhaps one of the Alienware computers would be more suitable for the gamers.
The Bad:
Once you open the case the first thing you will notice is the motherboard. I don't expect that this motherboard will last long. The chipset has no cooling. Not even a heatsink. If you have this computer running in mid summer, it will very likely die in a short time. If this motherboard dies, I don't think I will be sending it back. I'll save the money on shipping and install a motherboard of my choosing. That should increase the longevity at least two fold.
The next thing you will notice is that the cpu heatsink is cheap. It's quiet at present but likely will ramp up quite quickly as power needs demand. I expect that as soon as the warranty dies or the cpu fan dies, I will replace this with a proper cooler.
Other things like, no SLI and very poor space management make this machine a difficult sell. They say that three additional hard drives can be added. Getting them to fit inside this case however is no easy task and really compromises the air flow through the case. additional fan i limited to an 80mm near the front of the case.
To Round it All Off:
Overall, for the price, it's a decent machine. No great but good. Could I build a better one for the price? Absolutely. So what's the draw? I suppose it's the option for a payment plan. I have three other Dell products that have served me well.
It's a decent machine but in no way a show stopper. If you need a machine soon but can't afford to drop $600-$1200 in one lump this may be your best option. If you have just a bit of tech savvy and can afford to spend a little bit of money right now, build your own.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 22, 2013
Hello hueseph8700,

Thank you for sending in your review for this system. I am glad to hear that you like this machine as a quiet workstation. We do test all supported configurations to make sure that the system will run smoothly with them all. We do test to make sure that the fans and airflow are enough for the configurations we support. I hope that everything on this system run well for you for a long time. We appreciate your feedback like wanting SLI options as this allows us to know what features our customers would like to see.

If you have any questions of concerns, please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team through any of the methods below. They would be happy to assist.

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/qeG8ux
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

-SaraT
+51points
61of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul1977
(West Midlands, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent Desktop PC

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Spent today exploring this remarkable desktop PC. Its extremely easy to set up and even easier to set up the Windows 8 OS. It's possibly the quietest PC I've ever had and I personally like how it has the ability to be upgraded at a later date.
I specifically bought this to do web design and other programming projects and I think I've got a desktop PC which will last me for a very long time to come.
Highly recommended especially with multi touch monitor.
Pros:quiet, fast, powerful, smart looking, value
Cons:none
+4points
92of 180voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1SorryBuyer
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a beginners computer

PostedJuly 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer has no room for expansion. There is no PCI slot for a sound card, upgraded nic card and hardly enough room for a decent video card. No where in Dells description do they mention their lack of expandability
Cons:poorly described systen
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 23, 2013
Hello 1SorryBuyer,

I am sorry to hear you think the XPS 8700 is not expandable. The XPS 8700 comes standard with one mini PCIe slot, two PCI Express x1 slots, one PCI Express x4 and one PCI Express x16 slot. That's five expansions slots. Your configuration from the factory, would determine which ones are still available. The Mid-Tower chassis has more than enough room for expansion as well. If you could update your review with more details as to what you are trying to install, I know potential buyers would love to hear.

Thanks for sharing!

+17points
89of 161voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JettysGirl5867
(Southern New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
beforehand, i had a inspiron 17r special edition for one year, it had a 3rd gen i7 proc and decent graphics. after my laptop motherboard went and warrently within the week. i decided for a destop. i chose this one because, lets face it, HP and ASUS destops are way overpriced. if you are looking for a low budget gaming destop, THIS is youre best option. it can play current to date games in high and ultra with ZERO lag following you have good internet. with this 4th gen i7, regardless of what people say, 4th gen proccessors HANDLE better then 3rd gen, they are quieter, produce less heat, overall wear and tear of it is MUCH less. go ahead and compare for yourself, see where you can get the best hardware, for the lowest cost. its right here in front in you. staring you in the face. the XPS 8700 is waiting.
Pros:quiet, 4th gen hardware, budget friendly
Cons:obviously not portable, cant run big servers
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NotAKeener
(Canada)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Easily turned into a cheap gaming computer

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the XPS 8700 with 16 gigs of ram, 2tb harddrive, the i7, and the GTX 645. I switched out the OEM GTX 645 with an ASUS GTX 660 OC edition once the computer arrived. I can play battlefield 3 on ultra with no problem. The ASUS 660 is a large card, but I was able to squeeze it in the case. The computer runs great, and stays cool. Very good computer for the price, and can be easily modified into a gaming computer for budget gamers. It would be very difficult to build a better computer for the same price (despite what every nerd on the internet will tell you).
+45points
125of 205voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mbco1975
(Littleton, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

dated WiFi

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
PC works well and is fast. However it's a bit of a let down in this day and age that a so called "Performance PC" only comes with 2.4 GHz WiFi card.
I now need to go out and buy a new WiFi card for my new PC. It would have been nice to have this as a buying option.
Also lack of Windows 8 DVD is poor, but I'm not sure if that is Dell or Mircosoft being cheep.
Cons:dated wifi, no windows 8 dvd
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 9, 2013
Hello mbco1975,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the XPS 8700 desktop. We take customer feedback seriously and it helps us to see what features customer want most in their system.

While the Windows 8 disc is not provided, your system should come loaded with Dell Backup and Recovery software. I recommend you check out this link:
http://dell.to/135RmVh. Here there are links to videos that will show you how to use this software to do a variety of things such as create recovery media and restore your system to factory settings.

I am glad that overall this system is suiting your needs and running quickly. Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
0points
20of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SocOps3
(Everywhere)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedAugust 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great PC but in no way expandable. I bought the 8700 with 16 GB RAM and the SSD cache drive. I also go the BluRay drive and the Recon PCI-E SB sound card and the 645 GeForce GPU. Sounds great doesn't it?
The biggest drawback is the main board. No room for expansion at all and forget SLI. It has 1 PCI E 16 slot and 2 PCI E 1's . The sound card takes one so it doesn't leave much room for anything else. The 2nd issue is there are two fan headers ; one for the Chassis Fan and one for the CPU. The headers are there they,DELL, just didn't bother to put connectors for additional cooling. Kinda tacky from my point of view. 3rd issue is the case side that has been riveted on to the cookie cutter press alum frame.
So sounds pretty bad. So to the flip side. I have a HD Sony Camera and at full 1080 recording a wedding can eat 30 GB of data with 5.1 Surround. This PC with the 660 GTX GPU I added blows thru upload , processing , editing and production. I was actually able to do a birthday with the stock Windows 8 make a dvd software instead of the Sony Vegas Pro. I won't make a habit of it but the PC can handle it. Gaming World of Tanks on High FXHQ no problem. Formula One 2012 on all high settings no problem. Multi tasking is not a issue and even with a game open a video playing in 720p on YouTube a video playing on WMP from my NAS via the Ethernet cable at full 1080p all displaying on a 42" HDTV while checking emails I took a look at the performance monitor and I managed to get the processor to a whopping 7 % usage @ 3.78 GHz and and 14% of my memory 2.9GB of 16GB with an average thru put of 7.7Mbps on my network.
So I guess I will settle for what I got but DELL needs to refocus on what XPS is to the consumer. Performance PC's users are sticklers and DELL does have the Alien PC ,which I think, is perhaps where they ,DELL, want their "performance PC consumers" to spend their dollars or yen or whatever but, from my point of view Alien PC's are for the 18 to 23 year olds and XPS or X treme P erformance Series PCs are sleek and elegant like a Rolls Royce with the screaming performance of a Ferrari. Aliens give my kids nightmares and maybe a blue or green monster under a desk is Ok for some it's not what I am looking for. I want and need the SLI option and high end PSU's that are modular and lots of room in a case that gives me options for expansion without the day glow green. This 8700 is not that.
One more point. Windows 8. Obviously a OS designed for tablet and or Smart Phones. I don't own a XBox and it keeps asking for Apps to do this or do that before I reconfigured it differently; I think I had to download a app. Please DELL give us the option of Window 7 Pro or whatever OS we want. I know some that are using XP Pro and doing just fine running international businesses with it.
Pros:fast, sleek looking, processor capabilities, up to 32 gb with a 64bit os, price
Cons:not expandable, cheap chassis, low powered psu, cookie cutter mainboard, no extra cooling fan headers, 1 16x pcie slot, riveted on side panel, no extra headers of any kind, windows 8 pro
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 19, 2013
Hey SocOps3,

Thanks for the in-depth rating and review on your XPS 8700 desktop. We appreciate it. If there is anything we can do for you, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+29points
49of 69voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TS8700
(Mississauga, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performance PC with limitations

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this desktop expecting great performance as promised by Dell but regretted my decision. First had problems with HDMI Connection, Dell technician replaced the Video card but problem persists on my several calls Dell techs were keep promising that soon you will get a call from tech to fix it but after 8 days they sent the 2nd tech to replace the mother board and Video card. Meantime I figure out the issue myself by replacing the HDMI and saved myself from the trouble of installing all applications again as Dell suggested to change Motherboard.Now comes to performance after that ordeal, the system got slower while working on excel macros enabled worksheets, windows 8 is totally annoying and frustrating in the way of system to show performance as it continuously create hinderance in several areas from desktop features to application search and program configuration to adding a device all tasks are so hard to perform plus on top of that system is no expandable as Dell stated. I asked for Windows 8 DVD but No, switched to Win 8.1 but it corrupted my applications already installed and drivers are not available to support. Browser got freeze as WIFI keep showing limited internet access but other devices on WIFI worked well?
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2013
Hello TS8700,

Thanks for taking the time to post your experiences with the new XPS 8700 desktop. I apologize that you had a sub-optimal experience during the service of the XPS 8700. I recommend that if you ever need service again, contact our exceptional Dell Cares team via Twitter or Facebook. They provide top-notch care from start to finish. In regards to Windows 8.1, it has not officially launched yet and therefore is not yet supported by Dell. The purpose of these beta releases is to help find bugs and get them squashed before any official release, at which point Dell will announce what support it will give to Windows 8.1.

Windows 8.1 FAQ -
http://dell.to/1dbfVne
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
-8points
31of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NittanyRay
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super satisfied with my XPS 8700

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought two XPS 8700 running Windows 7 Professional about three months ago. They start up very fast and run 10 times faster than my old computers running on XP.
The people that have had problems mentioned they are running on Windows 8.
Dell should not charge extra to get Windows 7 loaded on their computers since it increases the number of unhappy customers.
I have only had one blue screen and it was because of a program I loaded. I went back to a previous registry setting and did not reload that program and haven't had a problem since.
Cons:dell no charges extra for windows 7, dell includes mcaffee in thier base price and does
+69points
117of 165voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IWonder
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fast and quiet

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had good luck with Dell products in the past and this system is pretty much what I expected from an upper-mid-tier system.
You can pay a lot more and get a small amount of performance improvement if you are a hardcore gamer. But for everyday use, this system is solid, fast and in the price/performance sweet spot.
The main reason I chose the Dell is that it is super quiet, which is critical to me because I do audio recording directly to the computer. Time will tell on longevity. But for my purposes I'm glad Dell didn't add extra fans.
On the minus side, internal expandability is not great after factory-installed options. It also has no e-SATA port, which means you must purchase a USB 3 to eSata adapter if you have an external drive that doesn't support USB 3.
I'm not a fan of all of the garbage applications that vendors pre-install on computers. Some are just an annoyance. Others, like McAfee, are unneeded resource hogs. Windows 8 already comes with Windows Defender, which is fast, light and less prone to software incompatibility. It took me several hours of work to get McAfee uninstalled. But my system runs better now.
Windows 8 is a mixed bag. The Metro UI is terrible for desktop use. And I've spent some time debugging problems with incompatible software and drivers. On the other hand, many system features are better integrated and easier to work with.
If you hate the Windows 8 UI as much as most non-tablet users, just get StartIsBack or a similar utility to bypass the App screen and restore the familiar start menu to the desktop. This gives you Win 8 under the hood with a more familiar Win 7 interface.
Pros:quiet, good performance for the price, lots of usb ports front and back
Cons:lots of pre-installed crapware, mcafee is unneeded and a pain to uninstall, no e-sata port, limited internal expandability, no windows 8 media
+36points
42of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tuescon
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

poorly designed and customized

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
they should use windows 7. windows 8 just doesn't suit this machine. they don't even bother bundling a touch screen monitor.
from what I see, you can't even read the reviews that have been written. something must be wrong with this junk.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 16, 2013
Hello Tuescon,

Sorry to hear you are not pleased with The XPS 8700, or Windows 8. It is offered with Windows 7 if you try page two of the configurations. Also, we offer many customizable options. Just simply use the link below and start building your own perfect systems.

http://dell.to/1aNCGO9

The only reason a review would no be posted, is if you failed to follow the posting guidelines. It would also help if you use your service tag to verify you own the system, or have had contactwith the system, you are reviewing.

Hope that helps!
-40points
15of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pmccombs
(Orem, UT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bargain hardware that's got it where it counts

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had the computer for about a month now. It's a family computer, used for both business and pleasure, and it's replacing an old iMac G5.
I'm pretty satisfied with the computer in general. I got it on one of deals that Dell offers from time to time, so I didn't pay the advertised price. Equivalent hardware from Apple (in terms of performance, anyway) would have cost 2-3 times more, at least.
This is a really well-rounded machine. It's great for the kids' games and for my music workstation software, which is fairly CPU-intensive. I also have a software development environment installed, which the computer handles just fine. I imagine I'll want to upgrade the memory before too long, from 8GB to 16, probably. That'll be inexpensive, the Dell computer is quite extendable.
The 1TB drive is plenty large enough for me, though Windows reports it as the lowest score on the performance benchmark. I also use network storage and attached USB disks. For WIP, though, 1TB of fast storage is plenty.
There is new firmware available for the HD, but Seagate's linux-based installer boots to a garbled console, and I can't read it in order to update the firmware... so, that opportunity for tuning performance will have to wait.
I've had a number of crashes, but I blame them on Windows and driver issues. It's a particular problem if I put the computer to sleep; on wake, I sometimes don't get all of my USB devices back, and I have to reboot. Occasionally there have been freezes. This was less of an issue with the Mac, but I think it will settle down over time as updates are applied.
The general quality of the exterior product is about what I would expect for inexpensive, mass-produced commodity stuff. Upon arrival, I noticed the screw holding the expansion slot bracket was missing (it must have fallen out prior to shipping) and several of the slot covers had come out and were floating freely inside the chassis and packing box. The video card had also come dislodged. I opened the chassis and saw that no damage was evident, so I put things back in order, and the computer worked just fine once I plugged it in. This missing screw would have been a deal-breaker for a less technically inclined customer, though.
Of course, the old iMac is just solid and sturdy compared to the Dell, which has a very unrefined, rattly, aluminum feel to it. Just like the old PCs I'd build for myself when I was a kid! It's not a real problem, so long as the components hold up, and I have no reason to think that they won't. The computer came with a wired keyboard and mouse (I kind of like the mouse. It has good features, such as easily adjustable sensitivity). I used my own monitor, which saved me some money. I like that I can buy the computer without the monitor.
Naturally, new stuff is always coming out and this computer will quickly be old news. For now, I say buy it-- especially if you can get a deal from Dell.
Pros:pretty fast fairly recent intel cpu, decent video gpu (opt for the upgrade to get it), not much bloatware included!, lots of usb ports, generally decent specs all around
Cons:seems pretty flimsy; cheap materials, software seems unstable; crashes
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jkr80
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Audio/Mic Issue

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have both iPhone headphones and Bose headphones. I've used them in Macs, PCs, iPhones, Android phones, etc. I've NEVER had a compatibility problem, ever ... until this computer. Long story short: Dell seems to have made a decision NOT to support the microphone functionality of 4-prong audio jacks (iPhone headphones). They do support the audio part. I long ago got rid of all my stand-alone mics, opting just to work with the dual-purpose headphones. They promise that a converter to 3 prong will solve the issue, but it's still a frustration.
Yes, at the end of the day, this isn't the worst problem ever, but I got the desktop for maximum functionality, and it's frustrating that now I need a new part or a mic.
One other question/complaint: how come I can't install more than 12GB memory unless I get the more advanced Intel chip? 12GB is plenty but wish I didn't need to do a big price upgrade on the processor and the memory.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 25, 2013
Hello jkr80,

I am sorry to hear that you are completely happy with your system. Like with many other desktop systems, the XPS 8700 does have separate microphone and headphone ports so you can use the dongle to use a combo headset or use an individual mic and headphones.

We offer different configuration options based off of customer feedback and demand. This system is currently offered with 8-16 GB of memory, but you can always upgrade your memory later. The XPS 8700 will support up to a total of 32 GB of RAM.

I hope this answer your question. We appreciate the feedback and are sorry that this system is not the perfect one for you.

-SaraT
-2points
12of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CL212
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good for the price and specification

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall a good price for what the latest i7 and Haswell motherboard with a separate video card. I could build a PC for a little bit more but would have to pay for all the software.
I only gave this 4 stars because when I swapped out the video card for a MSI 7950 3GB video card, it does not work, however when I put the card into my other PC it works fine. Figure out it is the power supply which is only 450 watts. Even though it had the right power connections to support the video card.
Now I need to go find a video card that will work or I may need to put in a larger power supply. I also worry about adding additional hard drives if I do not change power supplies.
in short, if you do not plan on upgrading parts in the future, it is a good PC for the money.
Pros:value
Cons:parts upgrading
+26points
32of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:denmarfl
(Tampa, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Most Disappoiting PC Ever Purchased

PostedOctober 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased CXSS8700; Win8; i7; 4GB Memory. PC sounded One beep at Power On and Dell Support advised that it indicated a bad MotherBoard. Reading Posts in Dell Community Board where other owners of XPS8700 reported this issue, and Dell's fix was to replace the MB, I decided to Return the XPS8700 for a refund. Further, the XPS8700 just didn't appear to me to be built a solid as my Prior Dell Desktops and its motherboard had very limited expansion opportunities....and major factor of why I had purchased 7 Desktops from Dell since the early 80's.....their design were built with Future expansion opportunities.
The XPS was super quiet, had a smaller footprint than my Dell XPS420. I did find Win8 not suitable for a desktop that did not have a Touch Screen Monitor. Win8 in my opinion is definitely designed for Touch Screen.
Cons:xps8700 received came with defective motherboard
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 7, 2013
Hello Denmarfl,

Thank you for your review of the XPS 8700. Any electronic device can have issues from time to time and computers are very complex devices, indeed! This is why we offer the basic hardware replacement warranty, with an option to upgrade your service. I wish you had kept the system and opted for the service. I am sure you would have found it's expandability, more than ample compared to other manufacturers. While Windows 8 was built as an intensively touch environment, it is still a quite capable OS. However, there is a learning curve to be expected with a new OS.

Thank you for sharing!
-8points
38of 84voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bcoley
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value for a powerful machine

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 8700 Special Edition we recently purchased for our church office is our third Dell machine. We have every reason to believe the latest will serve us as well as the previous two.
The 8700 is quiet, fast, good looking, and well built.
About the only issue I've had so far is the nature of the 32GB SSD. Somehow I got the impression that the SSD was a separate drive in the system on which the OS was loaded (a Dell sales rep told me so over the phone before I made the purchase). That may be true, but the 2TB C: drive by default is called the "OS" drive, in Windows File Explorer there is no separate designation of a 32GB drive, and the documentation calls it an "SSD Cache." So, I am not yet sure whether the SSD in this system is a piece of hardware or instead a modified portion of the HDD.
That's not a large issue, though, given the system's power, speed, and good looks. I highly recommend the 8700.
Pros:power, speed, performance, quality build
Cons:unclear about ssd function
-6points
70of 146voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PatricksElectric
(Fort Myers, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the best computer I've ever owned. I opted for 12 Gb of memory and Windows 7 because I was comfortable with that operating system already. I review blueprints and product specification for my company's estimates. I can have 25 widows or pages open at once while I 'm comparing items! This is a great machine.
-20points
48of 116voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MichaelP8
(Vancouver, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have recently bought a Dell XPS 8700 Special Edition with 32GB memory. I am very happy with it as I was with all Dell computers bought since 2001. Without minimizing my respect and appreciation for Dell, here are some little drawbacks in my opinion:
1) The sound card is not working properly; its outputs don’t provide the proper configuration of front Left/Right signals (I tried everything). But in my case, by chance, it does not matter as I connected a computer audio interface external card and two professional active loudspeakers which bypass the Audigy card from the computer. I mentioned that for Dell for their failure reports from customers.
2) In the past, one of the advantages of buying computers from Dell was that they provided the computer along with all CD-ROMs/DVD-ROMs with the system and programs already installed. This way, I could re-install the system and make partitions on the disk and external HD the way I wanted. Now, there are no CD-ROMs provided, except the drivers, and you need to make yourselves back-up and re-install disks to get the factory settings in case of failure. The internal hard drive is already pre-partitioned but there is no F12/F5 for settings or reboot. I did the back-ups as requested and if something will happen, I will see how to manage the recovery this time from my external HD and memory stick.
These from above are minor issues. It would be too long to mention here the excellent overall performance and quality of the computer as well as the on-line shopping configuration convenience. At the end of the line I am very happy with my Dell and I hope to use it for a long time, as I did with the other computers from Dell. Thanks Dell for the excellent line of products you always have!
+3points
73of 143voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17