Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.395 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 261 reviews
5 Stars
169
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
4.4
 / 
5
(261 reviews) 261
230 out of 26188%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scottie99
(Grand Rapids, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This XPS is Fragile & Unreliable

PostedApril 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Many bugs caused several hard re-boots. Now Windows is corrupted. Must Re-Load Windows.
I will buy Windows software and do the job myself without all of the pre-loaded Garbage.
Before I bought this computer I was planning on buying components and building this myself.
Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.
Cons:standard keyboard is a jolke.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:untakencareofcustomer
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Last time I will purchase a Dell

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I decided to treat myself to a more expensive computer than the 6 year old cheap computer I had. From day 1 this computer has been worse. It is difficult to use, freezes and stops working frequently, and often has trouble restarting. Many times when I have gone to use the computer it takes 45 minutes to wake up, simply telling me that it is updating the system. I called customer service to register my dissatisfaction and we extremely disappointed in their customer service, all they said was there is nothing they can do after 21 days since the purchase have passed. This made me realize that not only is Del producing an inferior product, but that they don’t care. Its a shame to see Dell go down the tubes. Don’t buy this computer!
Cons:there are constant pop-ups trying to sell things
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pfstops
(Prescott Valley, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedMarch 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
To be fair it may only be this particular unit, however it was purchased in November for Xmas so it is was in use for only 2 months. From the beginning it was slow. After 2 months of usage it would not reboot. After lots of troubleshooting I was sent a new hard drive. It seemed to work great with 3 exceptions. I lost the sound, I got a problem message on the new hard drive and had to run a repair, and one time I had to reboot to get my monitor back up. Was not able to get my speakers working. Tech service was great once I got past the menu which informed me my warranty (one year) was expired. Currently working to resolve the problems...either a credit for a return or a whole new computer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:frank1947
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Poor quality/warranty

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased a xps 8700 in December 2013 for general home office work. Machine went dead in February 2014. Dell dispatched a tech in two days with a new motherboard and power supply which did not solve the problem, in fact created a burning smell. the tech was unable to fix the machine on site, now I m having to arque with them over getting a replacement machine .Instead they want to want to come out again with another motherboard and power supply thinking that the replacement parts may have been faulty. Baased on this experience I have little convidence in the qualtity of there product or there willingness to stand behind it. . .
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GC305
(Miami, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife has an XPS 8500 with Windows 7 Pro we purchased directly from Dell just over a year ago and it has been a dream machine to use for anything and everything so I thought that I would get the current XPS 8700 equivalent for my own use to replace my old reliable Dimension XP machine that I use everyday to work from my office at home.
The new machine came with Windows 8 or an option to have the earlier Windows 7 Home Premium (NOT PRO) OS loaded for extra money. After I researched program compatibility at the MS website and found that I could load up my current Office programs ETC and not end up with the "Vista" disasters, I decided to go with the latest Windows 8 OS as offered and bought my new system. After all, everything will be going to W8 soon enough, I thought.
The Windows 8 OS is a nightmare to try and navigate. It seems to be designed more for a touch screen or tablet use than for a PC with a keyboard and mouse. I do not understand why it should be necessary for me to need to relearn how to navigate and do things that I already know how to do with W-98, W-ME, W-XP, W-7 and even VISTA machines.
Spoke with Dell Tech Support, which I never have found necessary to do in the past, and it was suggested that I get all the current updates first and then I might prefer to get the free download for version 8.1 so it would be able to boot to the desktop and I would see the familiar Start button return to the desktop. Sounded like that might work for me, so after all the updates W-8.1 showed up in the Store tile and when I attempted to download the file, it wouldn't happen. Got a message stating that it was required that an administrator only could download the file. I AM the administrator and the ONLY person using the PC. Spent 3 frustrating hours on the MS website to find a work around to be able to download the file and found 66 other instances of the same problem. Finally got the issue resolved and proceeded downloading a 3.7 GB file. Why the file is so large for an update, I have no idea. Decided to hit the sack and finish up in the morning.
Next day everything seemed ready to go so I attempted to complete the installation and was met with a requirement to set up an account with MicroSoft before proceeding any further. This required me to give my email address and other personal info that I have no desire to share with MS. I have no need to sync other devices, use their cloud, nor do I wish to be inundated with emails from MS advertising products and/or services. If I need anything from MS, I will go to their store to get it only if and when I need to. I didn't have to jump through these hoops when I first set up the machine and initially logged on, so why is it necessary after an "update"?
That being said, I placed yet another call for tech support. The first two people that I spoke with were difficult to understand and did not seem to grasp the problem I was trying to resolve. (Did I mention that you can not speak to a person in the USA? Dell tech support comes from India only.) Finally the third fellow was very helpful and after a couple of hours on the phone we managed to find a work around and resolved the issue.
Re started the machine after the 8.1 install and it booted to the familiar desktop and there was the START button on the lower left corner. Yay...BUT...click on the start button and you do not get the familiar start menu, it just takes you back to the screen with the tiles. Aaaarrrgh!!! Seems like this was all a total waste of time!
I thought that I was buying an upgrade and hence an improvement. Apparently I was mistaken. This new machine is not yet a week old and at this point I'm not sure if I should send the whole thing back or maybe I will purchase a copy of W-7 PRO, reload and hope it will run as well as my wife's machine. Lucky for me that I still have my old reliable Dell XP machine to use while I sort this out.
Pros:it's a dell
Cons:windows 8
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LisaFromTexas
(Euless, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Run Away!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The day I started this system up, it crashed. In the ten days I've had it, it has crashed 13 times. It shipped to me with an out of date BIOS, out of date chipset drivers, and 19 system drivers out of date---some of them, by as many as four years. I did a system can, and my Windows 7 install hand over 60 corrupted files that had to be reloaded. I am extremely disappointed in this system, and am shipping it back for a refund. This would have been my third Dell system. Instead, it's the reason I will not be purchasing a Dell again in the future.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iGadgetsHereICome
(Boston, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Windows 8 is the worst operating system ever

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute disappointment and frustration. The computer froze at the first power-up. It took few forced power cycles until the windows showed up.
And then took me all weekend to research forums and MS support how to force the 8.1 upgrade to show up in the store ...
I will never purchase another IBM/PC based system again.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan300
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bad Apple

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry, but to put it mildly, the PC I received was a lemon. It was bad enough that I wasn't happy with Win8 and after having the PC 1 week, it crashed. I then received great tech support who sent out a field tech the next day to change out the parts necessary to get it back to the healthy stage, not only to have it crash the very next day. Dell agreed to send me a replacement PC, which I'm currently waiting for it to arrive. I will review the new system and give better marks as need.
Pros:very fast pc for the time i was able to use it
Cons:get acquainted with win8 first!, win8 not compatible with older ver. of my software
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NHolzmann
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Blue screen death all the time

PostedNovember 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product contains lots of OEM components including Graphic card, network cards, blue tooth bundle and etc. Those OEM hardware drivers are poorly written. That causes PC crashes (blue screen) all the time.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Hey NHolzmann,

I am sorry to hear about the issues you have been having with your XPS 8700 desktop.

Please, if the is anything we can do to help you out use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Desktops-
http://dell.to/H1tqrF
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PJR2013
(Cheyenne, WY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Beware of quality on this system

PostedNovember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
After owning over 8 Dell products, I am very disappointed in the quality control with this computer when I get a system that's non-functioning straight out of the box. I had to spend an hour with tech support just to now have to wait for parts. Even longer if I had requested a tech. Not a whole lot of point to get expedited shipping and then wait twice as long for parts to arrive.
Pros:great specs for price
Cons:non-working system
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 4, 2013
Hello PJR2013,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your recent experience with the XPS 8700. I do apologize about your disappointing out-of-box experience with the tower. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter, Facebook or the Dell Customer Care forum and see if they can help resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner. Due to the nature of your issues, I hope that they will go out of their way to win you back as a satisfied customer of Dell!

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedOnFLCoast
(FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great on paper...

PostedOctober 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing like the features in this computer for the price, however, the computer has to work to begin with. For two weeks I spent over 60 hours dealing with having to recover my operating system and reinstalling all my programs 3 times because of glitches in either the computer or Win8...not sure which gave problems each time. Tech support really tried to go the extra mile to help, but 3 times and you are out! No more time left in my schedule to deal with system problems, conflicts, glitches and restoring to factory OS. YMMV, but this is not a computer I have any faith in any longer. We could not come to agreeable terms for an exchange, so I returned the computer.
Pros:great array of features, courteous and professional tech support
Cons:system glitches, bsod numerous times, could not restore even factory default, fast cpu but the stock graphic card is a pig, graphic card = 5.6 experience rating in win8
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 6, 2013
Hey DisappointedOnFLCoast ,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with your new XPS 8700 desktop system.

If there is any chance you still have the system , or even for future reference please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums –Desktops- h
http://dell.to/H1tqrF
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+10points
21of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:denmarfl
(Tampa, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Most Disappoiting PC Ever Purchased

PostedOctober 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased CXSS8700; Win8; i7; 4GB Memory. PC sounded One beep at Power On and Dell Support advised that it indicated a bad MotherBoard. Reading Posts in Dell Community Board where other owners of XPS8700 reported this issue, and Dell's fix was to replace the MB, I decided to Return the XPS8700 for a refund. Further, the XPS8700 just didn't appear to me to be built a solid as my Prior Dell Desktops and its motherboard had very limited expansion opportunities....and major factor of why I had purchased 7 Desktops from Dell since the early 80's.....their design were built with Future expansion opportunities.
The XPS was super quiet, had a smaller footprint than my Dell XPS420. I did find Win8 not suitable for a desktop that did not have a Touch Screen Monitor. Win8 in my opinion is definitely designed for Touch Screen.
Cons:xps8700 received came with defective motherboard
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 7, 2013
Hello Denmarfl,

Thank you for your review of the XPS 8700. Any electronic device can have issues from time to time and computers are very complex devices, indeed! This is why we offer the basic hardware replacement warranty, with an option to upgrade your service. I wish you had kept the system and opted for the service. I am sure you would have found it's expandability, more than ample compared to other manufacturers. While Windows 8 was built as an intensively touch environment, it is still a quite capable OS. However, there is a learning curve to be expected with a new OS.

Thank you for sharing!
-7points
33of 73voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tuescon
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

poorly designed and customized

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
they should use windows 7. windows 8 just doesn't suit this machine. they don't even bother bundling a touch screen monitor.
from what I see, you can't even read the reviews that have been written. something must be wrong with this junk.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 16, 2013
Hello Tuescon,

Sorry to hear you are not pleased with The XPS 8700, or Windows 8. It is offered with Windows 7 if you try page two of the configurations. Also, we offer many customizable options. Just simply use the link below and start building your own perfect systems.

http://dell.to/1aNCGO9

The only reason a review would no be posted, is if you failed to follow the posting guidelines. It would also help if you use your service tag to verify you own the system, or have had contactwith the system, you are reviewing.

Hope that helps!
-38points
12of 62voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1SorryBuyer
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a beginners computer

PostedJuly 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer has no room for expansion. There is no PCI slot for a sound card, upgraded nic card and hardly enough room for a decent video card. No where in Dells description do they mention their lack of expandability
Cons:poorly described systen
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 23, 2013
Hello 1SorryBuyer,

I am sorry to hear you think the XPS 8700 is not expandable. The XPS 8700 comes standard with one mini PCIe slot, two PCI Express x1 slots, one PCI Express x4 and one PCI Express x16 slot. That's five expansions slots. Your configuration from the factory, would determine which ones are still available. The Mid-Tower chassis has more than enough room for expansion as well. If you could update your review with more details as to what you are trying to install, I know potential buyers would love to hear.

Thanks for sharing!

+15points
81of 147voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:idtank1974
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

not what i expected from dell

PostedApril 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
perhaps its windows 8... but... this thing locks up and gives me no choice but to power it down. all I did was check my email, came back an hour later, and it locked. no Ctrl-Alt-Del, no motion from the pc at all... I am not happy. for its stats, should have been an awesome computer...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BarryGote
(Montana, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product does have great features

PostedMarch 22, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem is that I purchased software with this computer. And I have contacted customer support about getting the exe files so I can reinstall my software that I purchased. I want to change my boot drive to a SSD drive to improve performance. But, I can't because Dell will not let me download software that I purchased. So my review is .. yes Dell makes excellent hardware.
Pros:excellent hardware
Cons:you can't download software that you purchased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:majic7
(Denver, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointing

PostedMarch 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst pc I've ever bought. It's only 3 months old.You tube constantly crashes, Internet Explorer is slow. This is my second dell. My first dell lasted 3 years, don't know what possessed me to buy another. Won't do it again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:djg314
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell XPS8700 outperforms technical support

PostedOctober 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've owned my Dell XPS 8700 for about four months now with mixed performance. It was quite an eye opener when I first replaced my seven year old XPS with the 4th gen i7 processor and 12 gb ram. This machine is relatively very, very fast and amazingly quiet. More than once I had to inspect it closely to see that it was on. I ordered it with Windows 8 (having completely missed Windows 7 in the years since my last purchase) and found it fairly easy to operate. Applications run smoothly and, with a few minor exceptions, the os is intuitive.
My problems began when Dell Update, which runs in the background, started updating my drivers. The first time, it updated the driver to my NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 645 graphics card. Immediately thereafter I could no longer use my primary monitor. After a few hours on the phone with Dell tech support I was able to use the monitor again and thought that the problem was behind me. It was, until a month later Dell Update downloaded and installed another new driver for the video card and again disabled my primary monitor. Two more hours on the phone and we're still trying to install the drivers that will solve the problem. If successful I'm told that I should disable all updating of drivers from both Dell and Microsoft to keep the problem from happening again. This seems like a very unsatisfying solution to a recurring problem. I'm surprised there isn't a way to update the correctly.
If spending lots of quality time with Dell Tech support wasn't a problem for me I would rate this system much higher. But dedicating a few hours every month to resolve a problem the Dell updater created is frustrating. I'm sure it will seem worse once my warranty runs out.
Pros:very quiet, fast
Cons:drivers and updates, technical service
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 28, 2013
Hi djg314,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you are like the speed of this system and are enjoying Windows 8.I am sorry that you experienced some issues with driver updates. If you have any questions or need assistance in the future, our DellCares team would be happy to try and assist:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/1beHgBz
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/1exTpBd
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/147YZ7w

-SaraT
+4points
19of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TS8700
(Mississauga, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performance PC with limitations

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this desktop expecting great performance as promised by Dell but regretted my decision. First had problems with HDMI Connection, Dell technician replaced the Video card but problem persists on my several calls Dell techs were keep promising that soon you will get a call from tech to fix it but after 8 days they sent the 2nd tech to replace the mother board and Video card. Meantime I figure out the issue myself by replacing the HDMI and saved myself from the trouble of installing all applications again as Dell suggested to change Motherboard.Now comes to performance after that ordeal, the system got slower while working on excel macros enabled worksheets, windows 8 is totally annoying and frustrating in the way of system to show performance as it continuously create hinderance in several areas from desktop features to application search and program configuration to adding a device all tasks are so hard to perform plus on top of that system is no expandable as Dell stated. I asked for Windows 8 DVD but No, switched to Win 8.1 but it corrupted my applications already installed and drivers are not available to support. Browser got freeze as WIFI keep showing limited internet access but other devices on WIFI worked well?
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2013
Hello TS8700,

Thanks for taking the time to post your experiences with the new XPS 8700 desktop. I apologize that you had a sub-optimal experience during the service of the XPS 8700. I recommend that if you ever need service again, contact our exceptional Dell Cares team via Twitter or Facebook. They provide top-notch care from start to finish. In regards to Windows 8.1, it has not officially launched yet and therefore is not yet supported by Dell. The purpose of these beta releases is to help find bugs and get them squashed before any official release, at which point Dell will announce what support it will give to Windows 8.1.

Windows 8.1 FAQ -
http://dell.to/1dbfVne
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
-10points
28of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BlahBlah4444
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A nice computer but seems slow and has already froze up

PostedApril 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was really excited about this computer, I buy a new Dell every 1-2 yrs and I've never had an issue before. This computer though seems a little slower then it should be and it's already frozen twice, I just got it today. There's nothing on it yet and it already seems to be loading slower then my Dell Inpirion that had 8 gb of RAM, this one has 16gb but I can't tell. I bought it because I do a lot of multitasking, I own a website so I do a lot of development, video editing, and pictures. I also do some gaming and use it to watch movies. I pretty much live on my computer. I usually have at least 5 windows open at once so with just opening 3 tabs in google chrome and it freezing up I got a little nervous. I'm interested in seeing how it does when everything I need is on there although I'm a little worried that I may have to return it.
Pros:looks nice, quiet
Cons:slower then it should be, has frozen twice the first day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14