Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.233 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 347 reviews
5 Stars
214
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
10
1 Star
31
4.2
 / 
5
(347 reviews) 347
289 out of 34783%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RTM41
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worst Dell Computer I've Ever Owned

PostedNovember 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been buying Dell desktop computers since 1998, and I've always been satisfied with them. Not this one. We bought this XPS 8700 new, directly from Dell, and it has been buggy, slow and often freezes. I may never buy another computer from Dell again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wowsers55
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

If you want to upgrade graphic card, think twice

PostedNovember 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like title says. It's a great computer and I'll be short. Since the motherboard has a locked bios, you can't upgrade the XPS8700 with a deries 900 GTX card. So if this is something important to you, refrain from buying this computer.
Pros:good power
Cons:not upgradable, locked bios, dell is slow to offer solutions for graphics card
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:franceskh
(Cape Cod)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Avoid bundling

PostedNovember 14, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Haven't received the desktop yet, but the tablet didn't work out of the box nor would it initialize setup when connected to the internet. Even though is was listed as a discounted tablet it is considered a bundle and it can not be returned without returning the desktop - and don't forget the restocking fees. Read all of the fine print. The tablet is a loss. Hopefully I will have better results with the desktop. Customer service consists of various levels of robots.
Pros:the tablet looks pretty
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark419
(Findlay, OH 45840, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Disappointing

PostedOctober 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Started out by getting the system out of the box only to find that the vga cable to hook up the monitor was not included. Still haven't received one and I took one off another computer I had so I guess I will have to go purchase one. Then within a month the motherboard went bad and needed replaced. This is the second Dell computer I have had to have replaced within the first few weeks of owning it. My laptop didn't work out of the box and needed replaced. This was my last Dell purchase!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RHF1
(Anaheim, California)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Doesn't work properly with Dell's wireless keyboard and mouse.

PostedOctober 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this computer for almost 4 months and still can't get it to work properly as of 10/08/14. I bought the upgraded model with I7, Windows 7 Pro with an option to upgrade to 8.1 and paid an additional fee for an upgraded wireless keyboard and mouse. I bought this unit to replace my previous upgraded model when the Hard Drive stopped working in the 4th year. It could not be fixed and only refurbished Drives were available so I elected to buy this model based on the specs and reviews.
So far I have spent over 15 hours with tech support and another 8 hours between other departments trying to fix my unit so it works with Dell's wireless keyboard and mouse. It hasn't been determined yet if my computer is culprit or the 2 new of the same model keyboard/mouse.
Now I am awaiting to receive my 3rd wireless keyboard/mouse which is a more expensive model than the prior 2. If the new unit doesn't work I will be required to reformat to original state before Dell will consider replacing all. I have tried to avoid re-formatting because that will take me another 12-18 hours due to all the software and data installed and the same problem may resurface.
Lastly- Dell requests that people refrain from writing about customer service. It is obvious why this request is made.
Cons:no 2.0 usb ports in back, no advice as to
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Harleythunder
(Pa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Total Junk

PostedOctober 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer is the slowest computer I ever had. It takes forever to open sights, pictures, etc.
I got rid of a "different" computer that was 7 years old and it was 10 times faster then this brand new one.
Impossible to watch any movies as it runs for 3 seconds then has to stop and wait for more to download.
Pros:none
Cons:slowest computer on the market
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lorriew10
(nj)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

first and last dell

PostedOctober 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
one problem after another. everything they have tried has yet to fix it. have only had it a few months. I really believe I got stuck with a lemon
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:doberman
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Twitchy, Slow Lemon

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The XPS 8700 desktop with i7 processor is actually slower than my old PC and regularly pauses while I stream video. My last desktop, an XPS 8300, with an i5 processor, streamed video just fine and never paused.
The XPS 8700 has lots of problems and needs constant tinkering. Avoid this lemon.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marie6
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedAugust 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the XPS 8700 in late May. Within two weeks it froze and crashed. I spent several hours a day for three days trying to with a Dell technician trying to get it working and to recover my data.
Although eventually one could get the internet with the machine, the aps were still frozen.
I returned the product to Dell.
Cons:not a reliable achine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:None156
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Lost All Programs twice in a few months

PostedAugust 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned over 10 Dell Computers. This is by far the worst I have ever had. I tried to return it after it had be reset two times, in only a few months of ownership. I have spent many hours with customer service and re-loading my programs. If you have the computer more than 31 days, you cant return it, even if it is defective. Glad I have online back up with this computer because it fails, and I can't trust my information to be stored on it.
Cons:fails
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NRJC
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My worst computer yet. Say NO to Windows 8

PostedJune 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am deeply unhappy with the performance, appearance, format and flexibility of windows8 on my XPS8700.
Sound when watching videos or playing music is 5.1 but drops to stereo when certain web pages are opened
Windows Media Player regularly crashes when playing videos. 2 out of 3 times.
The computer takes up to 5 minutes to shut down (longer than my old vista computer)
Searching folders crashes the window and appears 'not responding.'
Opening files such as pdf and word takes longer than my 3 year old laptop.
When people call me on skype whatever I am doing is replaced by a huge screen with no option to minimise despite the fact that I have a 'window' version of skype installed. The 'home screen' app version just takes over despite trying to remove it.
This is the worst operating system I have ever had. It is slower than my old XP desktop, my Vista Desktop and sometimes my windows 7 laptop. The hardware on this computer should mean it runs quickly and smoothly, the operating system has failed that potential.
Cons:regularly freezes during file searches, windows media player regularly crashes, slow startup and shutdown, worse than vista
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beachloveriow
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bad Luck or Bad Product/

PostedJune 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the i5 version of this XPS in February. It appeared to run like a dream for about six weeks and then the Motherboard died. Dell sent a techie and replaced the parts in early May by the end of May it died again. Dell sent me a replacement machine and the Mother died two days after I took it out of the box. Two machines 3 motherboards and two graphic cards later I still cant run a game. Both machines are now boxed up awaiting collection back to Dell and I am awaiting a refund. But don't let this put you off ....perhaps after all it was just my bad luck
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chemsal
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My very last PC

PostedJune 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could also title this review the PC that will make my family Mac users. Within the first week my system would crash every couple days. The tech help at Dell tells me it's a operating system issue. I wiped my system and had windows 8 re-installed. A couple days later more crashing. I can accept this is a Microsoft issue and not a dell hardware issue. However, the expensive system that I purchased from dell does not run the way it should. So basically I have a system that has great hardware that will have a short life because of all the system crashes. This will be my last Dell PC and like my last Microsoft operating system computer. I would not recommend this system with windows 8 to anyone.
Pros:discovered i may become a mac person
Cons:crashes
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:paddy54
(Golden ,BC.)
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedJune 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
After purchase it has been over a month and have not been able to use this Computer yet. Have had replacement sent to me and it would not even start up. Had a Dell tech. sent to my home and still would not work. I have had 2 Dell computers before with no problem so thought I would trust them again. If having trouble from start scared of whats to come. Need Computer for some of my work good thing my old Dell Dimension 8300 still works with it's out dated software.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John354
(New Castle, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Died two weeks after receiving

PostedJune 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this machine to handle Photoshop and Sony Movie Studio. It arrived in good order and I set it up with a back up from my previous Dell XPS Studio which succumbed from a dead motherboard after two years. Today in a middle of a project the machine suddenly died. Cannot re-boot, nothing. Returning unit to Dell.
Pros:worked great for a few days.
Cons:inconvenience of return.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pgm554
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Freezes constantly

PostedMay 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought from New Egg top of line 3 tb drive 256 gb ssd 32 gb ram and 3.2 i7.
Came out of the box with 8.0 a few months after 8.1 had shipped.
BIOS was about 6 or 9 months old.
Had to update everything before going to 8.1.
No physical recovery disks either.
Power state failure issues keep the system from rebooting and it hangs.
Tech support is pathetic,they have me run diags on line that say "a problem has been detected , please try again" ,but insist that I run offline diags that show no issues.
Stay away from this product!
I now have an very expensive boat anchor!
Pathetic!
I am a sysadmin contractor for a number of companies and used to recommend Dell,but was wary of the "consumer" grade boxes like Inspirion and such,well I was right to be wary.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robbtd
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

what a nightmare

PostedMay 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
got my machine on friday, it took 24 hours to finally get online, still had issues, tried to contact tech support, no success. could not sign back on the next day. hooked my old machine back up, emailed dell and told them to send me prepaid UPS call tag for the machine. i shipped it back to dell and asked for my money back. i will never buy a dell product again.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scottie99
(Grand Rapids, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This XPS is Fragile & Unreliable

PostedApril 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Many bugs caused several hard re-boots. Now Windows is corrupted. Must Re-Load Windows.
I will buy Windows software and do the job myself without all of the pre-loaded Garbage.
Before I bought this computer I was planning on buying components and building this myself.
Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.
Cons:standard keyboard is a jolke.
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:untakencareofcustomer
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Last time I will purchase a Dell

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I decided to treat myself to a more expensive computer than the 6 year old cheap computer I had. From day 1 this computer has been worse. It is difficult to use, freezes and stops working frequently, and often has trouble restarting. Many times when I have gone to use the computer it takes 45 minutes to wake up, simply telling me that it is updating the system. I called customer service to register my dissatisfaction and we extremely disappointed in their customer service, all they said was there is nothing they can do after 21 days since the purchase have passed. This made me realize that not only is Del producing an inferior product, but that they don’t care. Its a shame to see Dell go down the tubes. Don’t buy this computer!
Cons:there are constant pop-ups trying to sell things
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pfstops
(Prescott Valley, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedMarch 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
To be fair it may only be this particular unit, however it was purchased in November for Xmas so it is was in use for only 2 months. From the beginning it was slow. After 2 months of usage it would not reboot. After lots of troubleshooting I was sent a new hard drive. It seemed to work great with 3 exceptions. I lost the sound, I got a problem message on the new hard drive and had to run a repair, and one time I had to reboot to get my monitor back up. Was not able to get my speakers working. Tech service was great once I got past the menu which informed me my warranty (one year) was expired. Currently working to resolve the problems...either a credit for a return or a whole new computer.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18