Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.184 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 430 reviews
5 Stars
257
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
33
2 Stars
14
1 Star
39
4.2
 / 
5
(430 reviews) 427
354 out of 43082%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Muhammad
Title:

opreating system is garbage

PostedJune 20, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
when it goes into sleep mode it never come backs on and i have to restart the pc each time. Or if it goes into sleep mode and desktop do not work and none of the program or app could be open.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jem58
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Continually freezes

PostedMay 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Might as well not even try!!! I have run all online diagnostics recommended by Dell and all check out OK, but this still happens. It is not new, it has been happening since I got it less than 2 years ago.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robert3456
(Chula Vista, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Hard drive crashes 4 months after warranty

PostedMay 5, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased XPS Dec 2013 and hard drive crashes April 2015. Never had a hard drive that crashed in such a short time. Have to replace hard drive now.
Cons:defective hard drive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stevejdownes
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Worst Dell I've ever bought

PostedMay 5, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought many Dells over the years. Every couple of years or so I tend to bloat them up with SW etc. so they slow down and become less functional. So I buy a new one. When I bought this one I was very excited. But it has gone bad on me and no one wants to do anything about it. I'm even willing to reset it to factory setting but it won't let me. All the FAQ's and help docs I've read tell me what to do or they are out of date. Even the recovery program on the machine says it is not compatible with this os??? They give an option to get help but nothing happens. Everything that could go wrong has gone wrong on this machine and it's just over a year old. I should have known it was jinxed when it took me about a month to get the machine built and delivered to me. Technical support is no help either. I won't be buying another Dell I hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mmls
(Las Vegas, NV, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

NOT for the home or business user

PostedMarch 17, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned this machine. It was my fault. I did not truly read the entire description.
This machine comes with a 2TB HD - Yes!!! But it also comes with an additional smaller 256GB - albeit faster - drive that unfortunately is configured as the main C drive.
When Windows is installed - the My Documents folder, et al, is all configured to be on this main smaller C drive. Once you get all of your powerful software installed - there is not much room left for files on that C drive... But good luck transferring your files from another system. the windows easy transfer cable system will not transfer files from a C: drive to a D: drive! And good luck later organizing your files and folders to work within the Windows system without major pain in the neck reconfiguration. Because all of your data will have to live in adjunct folders on the 2ndary D drive making regular use of Windows software basically a pain. After an hour on the phone with Dell customer service trying to figure out how to handle this, they even acknowledged to me that having the primary drive configured as the C drive made no sense to them either. I guess it's fine for gamers or???
Back to the drawing board to configure another system...
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:glenn001
(Illinois, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 8, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I opted for the 8700 with sound and video cards. This computer has already crashed once and had to reinstall OS. Also reinstalled another couple times because it is just slow and doesn't seem to run right. The screen goes black (not in sleep mode) and then I have to push in the power button to manually turn it off and on again. It takes a good 4 or 5 minutes for all the icons to load again. The 22" touch screen is choppy at times. I expected this to be a great computer, but it is not. I could have spent a ton less and had a computer that functioned much better. If you are thinking about spending the money on an XPS, you should think again.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeMarius
(Vancouver, BC)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worst Computer I've Ever Owned

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had the XPS 8700 for six months. I only use it for work. It has a blue screen error and reboots two to three times a day. The occurrences are random. Sometimes right after logging in, sometimes when I'm hours into footage on a scene I'm animating. I have had to redo countless hours of expensive work. I was sold garbage. I'll never buy a Dell again.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JackieL
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Would not recommend

PostedDecember 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this special edition online. It did not ship entirely as it was advertised to be in the tech specs (missing elements)
Warrantee also does not cover since I am from Canada and was told I had to pay in order to verify if my product was complete and adequate like I ordered it. Will consider returning and will definitely never recommend.
Cons:shipped not as advertised
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RTM41
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worst Dell Computer I've Ever Owned

PostedNovember 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been buying Dell desktop computers since 1998, and I've always been satisfied with them. Not this one. We bought this XPS 8700 new, directly from Dell, and it has been buggy, slow and often freezes. I may never buy another computer from Dell again.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wowsers55
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

If you want to upgrade graphic card, think twice

PostedNovember 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like title says. It's a great computer and I'll be short. Since the motherboard has a locked bios, you can't upgrade the XPS8700 with a deries 900 GTX card. So if this is something important to you, refrain from buying this computer.
Pros:good power
Cons:not upgradable, locked bios, dell is slow to offer solutions for graphics card
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:franceskh
(Cape Cod)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Avoid bundling

PostedNovember 14, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Haven't received the desktop yet, but the tablet didn't work out of the box nor would it initialize setup when connected to the internet. Even though is was listed as a discounted tablet it is considered a bundle and it can not be returned without returning the desktop - and don't forget the restocking fees. Read all of the fine print. The tablet is a loss. Hopefully I will have better results with the desktop. Customer service consists of various levels of robots.
Pros:the tablet looks pretty
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark419
(Findlay, OH 45840, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Disappointing

PostedOctober 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Started out by getting the system out of the box only to find that the vga cable to hook up the monitor was not included. Still haven't received one and I took one off another computer I had so I guess I will have to go purchase one. Then within a month the motherboard went bad and needed replaced. This is the second Dell computer I have had to have replaced within the first few weeks of owning it. My laptop didn't work out of the box and needed replaced. This was my last Dell purchase!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RHF1
(Anaheim, California)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Doesn't work properly with Dell's wireless keyboard and mouse.

PostedOctober 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this computer for almost 4 months and still can't get it to work properly as of 10/08/14. I bought the upgraded model with I7, Windows 7 Pro with an option to upgrade to 8.1 and paid an additional fee for an upgraded wireless keyboard and mouse. I bought this unit to replace my previous upgraded model when the Hard Drive stopped working in the 4th year. It could not be fixed and only refurbished Drives were available so I elected to buy this model based on the specs and reviews.
So far I have spent over 15 hours with tech support and another 8 hours between other departments trying to fix my unit so it works with Dell's wireless keyboard and mouse. It hasn't been determined yet if my computer is culprit or the 2 new of the same model keyboard/mouse.
Now I am awaiting to receive my 3rd wireless keyboard/mouse which is a more expensive model than the prior 2. If the new unit doesn't work I will be required to reformat to original state before Dell will consider replacing all. I have tried to avoid re-formatting because that will take me another 12-18 hours due to all the software and data installed and the same problem may resurface.
Lastly- Dell requests that people refrain from writing about customer service. It is obvious why this request is made.
Cons:no 2.0 usb ports in back, no advice as to
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Harleythunder
(Pa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Total Junk

PostedOctober 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer is the slowest computer I ever had. It takes forever to open sights, pictures, etc.
I got rid of a "different" computer that was 7 years old and it was 10 times faster then this brand new one.
Impossible to watch any movies as it runs for 3 seconds then has to stop and wait for more to download.
Pros:none
Cons:slowest computer on the market
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lorriew10
(nj)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

first and last dell

PostedOctober 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
one problem after another. everything they have tried has yet to fix it. have only had it a few months. I really believe I got stuck with a lemon
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:doberman
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Twitchy, Slow Lemon

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The XPS 8700 desktop with i7 processor is actually slower than my old PC and regularly pauses while I stream video. My last desktop, an XPS 8300, with an i5 processor, streamed video just fine and never paused.
The XPS 8700 has lots of problems and needs constant tinkering. Avoid this lemon.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marie6
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedAugust 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the XPS 8700 in late May. Within two weeks it froze and crashed. I spent several hours a day for three days trying to with a Dell technician trying to get it working and to recover my data.
Although eventually one could get the internet with the machine, the aps were still frozen.
I returned the product to Dell.
Cons:not a reliable achine
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:None156
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Lost All Programs twice in a few months

PostedAugust 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned over 10 Dell Computers. This is by far the worst I have ever had. I tried to return it after it had be reset two times, in only a few months of ownership. I have spent many hours with customer service and re-loading my programs. If you have the computer more than 31 days, you cant return it, even if it is defective. Glad I have online back up with this computer because it fails, and I can't trust my information to be stored on it.
Cons:fails
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NRJC
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My worst computer yet. Say NO to Windows 8

PostedJune 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am deeply unhappy with the performance, appearance, format and flexibility of windows8 on my XPS8700.
Sound when watching videos or playing music is 5.1 but drops to stereo when certain web pages are opened
Windows Media Player regularly crashes when playing videos. 2 out of 3 times.
The computer takes up to 5 minutes to shut down (longer than my old vista computer)
Searching folders crashes the window and appears 'not responding.'
Opening files such as pdf and word takes longer than my 3 year old laptop.
When people call me on skype whatever I am doing is replaced by a huge screen with no option to minimise despite the fact that I have a 'window' version of skype installed. The 'home screen' app version just takes over despite trying to remove it.
This is the worst operating system I have ever had. It is slower than my old XP desktop, my Vista Desktop and sometimes my windows 7 laptop. The hardware on this computer should mean it runs quickly and smoothly, the operating system has failed that potential.
Cons:regularly freezes during file searches, windows media player regularly crashes, slow startup and shutdown, worse than vista
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beachloveriow
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bad Luck or Bad Product/

PostedJune 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the i5 version of this XPS in February. It appeared to run like a dream for about six weeks and then the Motherboard died. Dell sent a techie and replaced the parts in early May by the end of May it died again. Dell sent me a replacement machine and the Mother died two days after I took it out of the box. Two machines 3 motherboards and two graphic cards later I still cant run a game. Both machines are now boxed up awaiting collection back to Dell and I am awaiting a refund. But don't let this put you off ....perhaps after all it was just my bad luck
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22