Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.351 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 316 reviews
5 Stars
205
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
8
1 Star
21
4.4
 / 
5
(316 reviews) 316
275 out of 31687%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NRJC
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My worst computer yet. Say NO to Windows 8

PostedJune 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am deeply unhappy with the performance, appearance, format and flexibility of windows8 on my XPS8700.
Sound when watching videos or playing music is 5.1 but drops to stereo when certain web pages are opened
Windows Media Player regularly crashes when playing videos. 2 out of 3 times.
The computer takes up to 5 minutes to shut down (longer than my old vista computer)
Searching folders crashes the window and appears 'not responding.'
Opening files such as pdf and word takes longer than my 3 year old laptop.
When people call me on skype whatever I am doing is replaced by a huge screen with no option to minimise despite the fact that I have a 'window' version of skype installed. The 'home screen' app version just takes over despite trying to remove it.
This is the worst operating system I have ever had. It is slower than my old XP desktop, my Vista Desktop and sometimes my windows 7 laptop. The hardware on this computer should mean it runs quickly and smoothly, the operating system has failed that potential.
Cons:regularly freezes during file searches, windows media player regularly crashes, slow startup and shutdown, worse than vista
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beachloveriow
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bad Luck or Bad Product/

PostedJune 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the i5 version of this XPS in February. It appeared to run like a dream for about six weeks and then the Motherboard died. Dell sent a techie and replaced the parts in early May by the end of May it died again. Dell sent me a replacement machine and the Mother died two days after I took it out of the box. Two machines 3 motherboards and two graphic cards later I still cant run a game. Both machines are now boxed up awaiting collection back to Dell and I am awaiting a refund. But don't let this put you off ....perhaps after all it was just my bad luck
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chemsal
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My very last PC

PostedJune 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could also title this review the PC that will make my family Mac users. Within the first week my system would crash every couple days. The tech help at Dell tells me it's a operating system issue. I wiped my system and had windows 8 re-installed. A couple days later more crashing. I can accept this is a Microsoft issue and not a dell hardware issue. However, the expensive system that I purchased from dell does not run the way it should. So basically I have a system that has great hardware that will have a short life because of all the system crashes. This will be my last Dell PC and like my last Microsoft operating system computer. I would not recommend this system with windows 8 to anyone.
Pros:discovered i may become a mac person
Cons:crashes
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:paddy54
(Golden ,BC.)
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedJune 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
After purchase it has been over a month and have not been able to use this Computer yet. Have had replacement sent to me and it would not even start up. Had a Dell tech. sent to my home and still would not work. I have had 2 Dell computers before with no problem so thought I would trust them again. If having trouble from start scared of whats to come. Need Computer for some of my work good thing my old Dell Dimension 8300 still works with it's out dated software.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John354
(New Castle, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Died two weeks after receiving

PostedJune 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this machine to handle Photoshop and Sony Movie Studio. It arrived in good order and I set it up with a back up from my previous Dell XPS Studio which succumbed from a dead motherboard after two years. Today in a middle of a project the machine suddenly died. Cannot re-boot, nothing. Returning unit to Dell.
Pros:worked great for a few days.
Cons:inconvenience of return.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pgm554
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Freezes constantly

PostedMay 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought from New Egg top of line 3 tb drive 256 gb ssd 32 gb ram and 3.2 i7.
Came out of the box with 8.0 a few months after 8.1 had shipped.
BIOS was about 6 or 9 months old.
Had to update everything before going to 8.1.
No physical recovery disks either.
Power state failure issues keep the system from rebooting and it hangs.
Tech support is pathetic,they have me run diags on line that say "a problem has been detected , please try again" ,but insist that I run offline diags that show no issues.
Stay away from this product!
I now have an very expensive boat anchor!
Pathetic!
I am a sysadmin contractor for a number of companies and used to recommend Dell,but was wary of the "consumer" grade boxes like Inspirion and such,well I was right to be wary.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robbtd
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

what a nightmare

PostedMay 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
got my machine on friday, it took 24 hours to finally get online, still had issues, tried to contact tech support, no success. could not sign back on the next day. hooked my old machine back up, emailed dell and told them to send me prepaid UPS call tag for the machine. i shipped it back to dell and asked for my money back. i will never buy a dell product again.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scottie99
(Grand Rapids, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This XPS is Fragile & Unreliable

PostedApril 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Many bugs caused several hard re-boots. Now Windows is corrupted. Must Re-Load Windows.
I will buy Windows software and do the job myself without all of the pre-loaded Garbage.
Before I bought this computer I was planning on buying components and building this myself.
Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda.
Cons:standard keyboard is a jolke.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:untakencareofcustomer
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Last time I will purchase a Dell

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I decided to treat myself to a more expensive computer than the 6 year old cheap computer I had. From day 1 this computer has been worse. It is difficult to use, freezes and stops working frequently, and often has trouble restarting. Many times when I have gone to use the computer it takes 45 minutes to wake up, simply telling me that it is updating the system. I called customer service to register my dissatisfaction and we extremely disappointed in their customer service, all they said was there is nothing they can do after 21 days since the purchase have passed. This made me realize that not only is Del producing an inferior product, but that they don’t care. Its a shame to see Dell go down the tubes. Don’t buy this computer!
Cons:there are constant pop-ups trying to sell things
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pfstops
(Prescott Valley, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedMarch 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
To be fair it may only be this particular unit, however it was purchased in November for Xmas so it is was in use for only 2 months. From the beginning it was slow. After 2 months of usage it would not reboot. After lots of troubleshooting I was sent a new hard drive. It seemed to work great with 3 exceptions. I lost the sound, I got a problem message on the new hard drive and had to run a repair, and one time I had to reboot to get my monitor back up. Was not able to get my speakers working. Tech service was great once I got past the menu which informed me my warranty (one year) was expired. Currently working to resolve the problems...either a credit for a return or a whole new computer.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:frank1947
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Poor quality/warranty

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased a xps 8700 in December 2013 for general home office work. Machine went dead in February 2014. Dell dispatched a tech in two days with a new motherboard and power supply which did not solve the problem, in fact created a burning smell. the tech was unable to fix the machine on site, now I m having to arque with them over getting a replacement machine .Instead they want to want to come out again with another motherboard and power supply thinking that the replacement parts may have been faulty. Baased on this experience I have little convidence in the qualtity of there product or there willingness to stand behind it. . .
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GC305
(Miami, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife has an XPS 8500 with Windows 7 Pro we purchased directly from Dell just over a year ago and it has been a dream machine to use for anything and everything so I thought that I would get the current XPS 8700 equivalent for my own use to replace my old reliable Dimension XP machine that I use everyday to work from my office at home.
The new machine came with Windows 8 or an option to have the earlier Windows 7 Home Premium (NOT PRO) OS loaded for extra money. After I researched program compatibility at the MS website and found that I could load up my current Office programs ETC and not end up with the "Vista" disasters, I decided to go with the latest Windows 8 OS as offered and bought my new system. After all, everything will be going to W8 soon enough, I thought.
The Windows 8 OS is a nightmare to try and navigate. It seems to be designed more for a touch screen or tablet use than for a PC with a keyboard and mouse. I do not understand why it should be necessary for me to need to relearn how to navigate and do things that I already know how to do with W-98, W-ME, W-XP, W-7 and even VISTA machines.
Spoke with Dell Tech Support, which I never have found necessary to do in the past, and it was suggested that I get all the current updates first and then I might prefer to get the free download for version 8.1 so it would be able to boot to the desktop and I would see the familiar Start button return to the desktop. Sounded like that might work for me, so after all the updates W-8.1 showed up in the Store tile and when I attempted to download the file, it wouldn't happen. Got a message stating that it was required that an administrator only could download the file. I AM the administrator and the ONLY person using the PC. Spent 3 frustrating hours on the MS website to find a work around to be able to download the file and found 66 other instances of the same problem. Finally got the issue resolved and proceeded downloading a 3.7 GB file. Why the file is so large for an update, I have no idea. Decided to hit the sack and finish up in the morning.
Next day everything seemed ready to go so I attempted to complete the installation and was met with a requirement to set up an account with MicroSoft before proceeding any further. This required me to give my email address and other personal info that I have no desire to share with MS. I have no need to sync other devices, use their cloud, nor do I wish to be inundated with emails from MS advertising products and/or services. If I need anything from MS, I will go to their store to get it only if and when I need to. I didn't have to jump through these hoops when I first set up the machine and initially logged on, so why is it necessary after an "update"?
That being said, I placed yet another call for tech support. The first two people that I spoke with were difficult to understand and did not seem to grasp the problem I was trying to resolve. (Did I mention that you can not speak to a person in the USA? Dell tech support comes from India only.) Finally the third fellow was very helpful and after a couple of hours on the phone we managed to find a work around and resolved the issue.
Re started the machine after the 8.1 install and it booted to the familiar desktop and there was the START button on the lower left corner. Yay...BUT...click on the start button and you do not get the familiar start menu, it just takes you back to the screen with the tiles. Aaaarrrgh!!! Seems like this was all a total waste of time!
I thought that I was buying an upgrade and hence an improvement. Apparently I was mistaken. This new machine is not yet a week old and at this point I'm not sure if I should send the whole thing back or maybe I will purchase a copy of W-7 PRO, reload and hope it will run as well as my wife's machine. Lucky for me that I still have my old reliable Dell XP machine to use while I sort this out.
Pros:it's a dell
Cons:windows 8
+11points
19of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LisaFromTexas
(Euless, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Run Away!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The day I started this system up, it crashed. In the ten days I've had it, it has crashed 13 times. It shipped to me with an out of date BIOS, out of date chipset drivers, and 19 system drivers out of date---some of them, by as many as four years. I did a system can, and my Windows 7 install hand over 60 corrupted files that had to be reloaded. I am extremely disappointed in this system, and am shipping it back for a refund. This would have been my third Dell system. Instead, it's the reason I will not be purchasing a Dell again in the future.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iGadgetsHereICome
(Boston, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Windows 8 is the worst operating system ever

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute disappointment and frustration. The computer froze at the first power-up. It took few forced power cycles until the windows showed up.
And then took me all weekend to research forums and MS support how to force the 8.1 upgrade to show up in the store ...
I will never purchase another IBM/PC based system again.
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan300
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Bad Apple

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry, but to put it mildly, the PC I received was a lemon. It was bad enough that I wasn't happy with Win8 and after having the PC 1 week, it crashed. I then received great tech support who sent out a field tech the next day to change out the parts necessary to get it back to the healthy stage, not only to have it crash the very next day. Dell agreed to send me a replacement PC, which I'm currently waiting for it to arrive. I will review the new system and give better marks as need.
Pros:very fast pc for the time i was able to use it
Cons:get acquainted with win8 first!, win8 not compatible with older ver. of my software
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NHolzmann
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Blue screen death all the time

PostedNovember 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product contains lots of OEM components including Graphic card, network cards, blue tooth bundle and etc. Those OEM hardware drivers are poorly written. That causes PC crashes (blue screen) all the time.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Hey NHolzmann,

I am sorry to hear about the issues you have been having with your XPS 8700 desktop.

Please, if the is anything we can do to help you out use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Desktops-
http://dell.to/H1tqrF
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PJR2013
(Cheyenne, WY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Beware of quality on this system

PostedNovember 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
After owning over 8 Dell products, I am very disappointed in the quality control with this computer when I get a system that's non-functioning straight out of the box. I had to spend an hour with tech support just to now have to wait for parts. Even longer if I had requested a tech. Not a whole lot of point to get expedited shipping and then wait twice as long for parts to arrive.
Pros:great specs for price
Cons:non-working system
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 4, 2013
Hello PJR2013,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your recent experience with the XPS 8700. I do apologize about your disappointing out-of-box experience with the tower. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter, Facebook or the Dell Customer Care forum and see if they can help resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner. Due to the nature of your issues, I hope that they will go out of their way to win you back as a satisfied customer of Dell!

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedOnFLCoast
(FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great on paper...

PostedOctober 25, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing like the features in this computer for the price, however, the computer has to work to begin with. For two weeks I spent over 60 hours dealing with having to recover my operating system and reinstalling all my programs 3 times because of glitches in either the computer or Win8...not sure which gave problems each time. Tech support really tried to go the extra mile to help, but 3 times and you are out! No more time left in my schedule to deal with system problems, conflicts, glitches and restoring to factory OS. YMMV, but this is not a computer I have any faith in any longer. We could not come to agreeable terms for an exchange, so I returned the computer.
Pros:great array of features, courteous and professional tech support
Cons:system glitches, bsod numerous times, could not restore even factory default, fast cpu but the stock graphic card is a pig, graphic card = 5.6 experience rating in win8
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 6, 2013
Hey DisappointedOnFLCoast ,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with your new XPS 8700 desktop system.

If there is any chance you still have the system , or even for future reference please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums –Desktops- h
http://dell.to/H1tqrF
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+10points
23of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:denmarfl
(Tampa, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Most Disappoiting PC Ever Purchased

PostedOctober 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased CXSS8700; Win8; i7; 4GB Memory. PC sounded One beep at Power On and Dell Support advised that it indicated a bad MotherBoard. Reading Posts in Dell Community Board where other owners of XPS8700 reported this issue, and Dell's fix was to replace the MB, I decided to Return the XPS8700 for a refund. Further, the XPS8700 just didn't appear to me to be built a solid as my Prior Dell Desktops and its motherboard had very limited expansion opportunities....and major factor of why I had purchased 7 Desktops from Dell since the early 80's.....their design were built with Future expansion opportunities.
The XPS was super quiet, had a smaller footprint than my Dell XPS420. I did find Win8 not suitable for a desktop that did not have a Touch Screen Monitor. Win8 in my opinion is definitely designed for Touch Screen.
Cons:xps8700 received came with defective motherboard
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 7, 2013
Hello Denmarfl,

Thank you for your review of the XPS 8700. Any electronic device can have issues from time to time and computers are very complex devices, indeed! This is why we offer the basic hardware replacement warranty, with an option to upgrade your service. I wish you had kept the system and opted for the service. I am sure you would have found it's expandability, more than ample compared to other manufacturers. While Windows 8 was built as an intensively touch environment, it is still a quite capable OS. However, there is a learning curve to be expected with a new OS.

Thank you for sharing!
-7points
36of 79voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tuescon
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

poorly designed and customized

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
they should use windows 7. windows 8 just doesn't suit this machine. they don't even bother bundling a touch screen monitor.
from what I see, you can't even read the reviews that have been written. something must be wrong with this junk.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 16, 2013
Hello Tuescon,

Sorry to hear you are not pleased with The XPS 8700, or Windows 8. It is offered with Windows 7 if you try page two of the configurations. Also, we offer many customizable options. Just simply use the link below and start building your own perfect systems.

http://dell.to/1aNCGO9

The only reason a review would no be posted, is if you failed to follow the posting guidelines. It would also help if you use your service tag to verify you own the system, or have had contactwith the system, you are reviewing.

Hope that helps!
-37points
15of 67voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16