Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
3.99 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 797 reviews
5 Stars
420
4 Stars
162
3 Stars
77
2 Stars
63
1 Star
75
4
 / 
5
(797 reviews) 797
631 out of 79779%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Drivers

PostedMay 1, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Card Reader Doesn't work again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Broke down two weeks after my warranty expired

PostedApril 22, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pretty good system but broke two weeks after my warranty expired. I never had a computer break down so fast. Overall good system but not worth it.
Pros:pretty good system for price
Cons:poor video card, loaded with bunch of third-party softwares
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

8700 Poor

PostedApril 20, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned a few Dells in the past and this one has been very bad.
replaced hard drives, mother board. and few other problems!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

bad wifi card

PostedApril 12, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this computer at Costco but it's going back. Initially had trouble connecting to wifi sporatically (I have two other computers in same room that have no trouble) many times it doesn't connect at all. I haven't bothered calling Dell because I see others have had the same problem with this particular one and I'm not going to spend my time hassling with this one. There are other computer choices out there. I would not recommend this one with this particular wifi card.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

can't get her from there

PostedApril 9, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
This 7 pc is not much faster than my old (2004) 3 gig. mostly an aggravation. It's not as reliable as my cell phone. Don't even get me started on windows 10. Windows 3.1 was much better, hate it. Would love to be able to return it. Probably the LAST dell product I will ever buy, and thats NOT because I'm happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Would not buy another one

PostedMarch 16, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my 3rd Computer in about 1 month. The 1st 2 were replaced by Dell because they did notwork properley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Windows 10

PostedMarch 16, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ever since i installed windows 10 when i go to wake the computer up from sleep mode it is unable to turn on...i have to turn it off and back on....not impressed.....any suggestions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

problems

PostedFebruary 23, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
new computer crashed daily - fix was to go to windows 8 - too many problems with windows10.
Got repaired and now crashing again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Setup

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been working for three days trying to get my programs loaded an to run very little success.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

so bad machine

PostedFebruary 5, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
wifi kept disabled so that can't connect to internet
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

awful.

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
THe machine won't stay connected to the wireless network in my home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

The Bleeding Edge

PostedDecember 20, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to update my computer from Win 8.1 to Win 10 and MSFT Office 365 (2016). To make it go as sommothly as possible, I decided to by a high-end computer. Having had good experiences with Dell, I bought the XPS 8700. Yo "get it right" I had the Microsoft Store take it out of the box and start-it-up. Oh well . . .
The computer was delivered Nov 3, 2015. It is still not running correctly. Most frustrating was a TOTAL freezing of the system with the message, "Preparing Automatic Repair" with the Dell logo on a totally black screen. After letting it "prepare" for 24-hours, I found a solution on line. (Yes, I am not alone.) I had to download Win10 onto a USB stick running on a different computer. Then, hit the bios key to force the XPS 8700 to boot from the stick, but remove the stick before the computer completely booted. (No kidding!)
Next was a problem with the NVIDIA video card. A few updates and it seems to be ok.
This has been an expensive lesson (in time and treasure) and the journey is still not done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dello Logo

PostedDecember 18, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this computer about a week ago and I have received two NO POSTS since the purchase. The computer simply shows the Dell Logo and does not boot past the logo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

lot of bugs

PostedDecember 18, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
wifi signal gets lost and cannot be located for no reason. computer freezes. hard to navigate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Poor experience due to Mcafee bundled software

PostedDecember 16, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the last time I will purchase a Dell computer due to the hassle involved in removing the bloated Mcafee software you preinstall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

amd graphics card/drivers won't Run CabinetVision CAD program

PostedDecember 16, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
this AMD R9-270 graphics card/Drivers won't work with the only reason we purchased this computer, Cabinetvision Design and production software. We have had to roll back to windows basic drivers just to get it to function at all. From reading the CV user forum, this has appartently been a problem for some time now. There is talk of putting a warning on the user forum to make sure no one else buys Dell computers with AMD graphics cards pre-installed. You might talk to AMD about fixing their drivers, I have no problem with my NVidia Card. If you do, and the drivers get updated so we can use the graphics card functionality, you might want to contact Cabinetvision support/forum and let everyone know when it is safe to buy your computers again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Don't buy it!

PostedDecember 14, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slow, poor quality, wireless not working
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Full of bloatware

PostedDecember 14, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The computer comes fully stocked with pre-installed Dell bloatware that annoys the user with constant pop ups e.g. filling out this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

This computer runs slower then my 8 year old computer!!

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am so unhappy with this computer! It is very slow and slugish!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Keeps dropping my network adapter!

PostedDecember 11, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 8700 is a nice model, however, if I had waited only 3 days - I would have known about the 8900 series. Dell never mentioned to me that it would be out! Also, the network adapter for my machine keeps failing. When I look at the icon for the network connection for any wireless activity - I see a red x. When I open control panel - it shows me that the wireless adapter has been disabled. Even if I try to manually enable it, it will stay disabled, even after it states it's enabled. This is problematic for me because it causes a severe disruption in my work. I am FORCED to RESTART my computer. The box itself is setup with an i7 4790K Quad Core processor and 16GB of ram which is nice and includes a decent aftermarket nvidia 745gtx video card that lets me play TitanFall and barely play BF4. I'm so disappointed with my purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 40