Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.024 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 740 reviews
5 Stars
396
4 Stars
153
3 Stars
70
2 Stars
55
1 Star
66
4
 / 
5
(740 reviews) 740
592 out of 74080%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

so bad machine

PostedFebruary 5, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
wifi kept disabled so that can't connect to internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

awful.

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
THe machine won't stay connected to the wireless network in my home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

The Bleeding Edge

PostedDecember 20, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to update my computer from Win 8.1 to Win 10 and MSFT Office 365 (2016). To make it go as sommothly as possible, I decided to by a high-end computer. Having had good experiences with Dell, I bought the XPS 8700. Yo "get it right" I had the Microsoft Store take it out of the box and start-it-up. Oh well . . .
The computer was delivered Nov 3, 2015. It is still not running correctly. Most frustrating was a TOTAL freezing of the system with the message, "Preparing Automatic Repair" with the Dell logo on a totally black screen. After letting it "prepare" for 24-hours, I found a solution on line. (Yes, I am not alone.) I had to download Win10 onto a USB stick running on a different computer. Then, hit the bios key to force the XPS 8700 to boot from the stick, but remove the stick before the computer completely booted. (No kidding!)
Next was a problem with the NVIDIA video card. A few updates and it seems to be ok.
This has been an expensive lesson (in time and treasure) and the journey is still not done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dello Logo

PostedDecember 18, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this computer about a week ago and I have received two NO POSTS since the purchase. The computer simply shows the Dell Logo and does not boot past the logo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

lot of bugs

PostedDecember 18, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
wifi signal gets lost and cannot be located for no reason. computer freezes. hard to navigate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Poor experience due to Mcafee bundled software

PostedDecember 16, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the last time I will purchase a Dell computer due to the hassle involved in removing the bloated Mcafee software you preinstall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

amd graphics card/drivers won't Run CabinetVision CAD program

PostedDecember 16, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
this AMD R9-270 graphics card/Drivers won't work with the only reason we purchased this computer, Cabinetvision Design and production software. We have had to roll back to windows basic drivers just to get it to function at all. From reading the CV user forum, this has appartently been a problem for some time now. There is talk of putting a warning on the user forum to make sure no one else buys Dell computers with AMD graphics cards pre-installed. You might talk to AMD about fixing their drivers, I have no problem with my NVidia Card. If you do, and the drivers get updated so we can use the graphics card functionality, you might want to contact Cabinetvision support/forum and let everyone know when it is safe to buy your computers again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Don't buy it!

PostedDecember 14, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slow, poor quality, wireless not working
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Full of bloatware

PostedDecember 14, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The computer comes fully stocked with pre-installed Dell bloatware that annoys the user with constant pop ups e.g. filling out this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

This computer runs slower then my 8 year old computer!!

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am so unhappy with this computer! It is very slow and slugish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Keeps dropping my network adapter!

PostedDecember 11, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 8700 is a nice model, however, if I had waited only 3 days - I would have known about the 8900 series. Dell never mentioned to me that it would be out! Also, the network adapter for my machine keeps failing. When I look at the icon for the network connection for any wireless activity - I see a red x. When I open control panel - it shows me that the wireless adapter has been disabled. Even if I try to manually enable it, it will stay disabled, even after it states it's enabled. This is problematic for me because it causes a severe disruption in my work. I am FORCED to RESTART my computer. The box itself is setup with an i7 4790K Quad Core processor and 16GB of ram which is nice and includes a decent aftermarket nvidia 745gtx video card that lets me play TitanFall and barely play BF4. I'm so disappointed with my purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Want stay connected to internet

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
it's wireless but I can't keep it connected. I have to hook with ethernet to get internet connenction. My old system stayed connected with a wireless adapter so I don't know why this one will not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

I've never had a computer give me so much trouble

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
it seems like every other day something goes wrong somehow I can virus or somebody attacking me your computers have no security. For some reason I'm getting phone call people I don't know however they know I have you and I never had so much trouble in my life like I've had this and trying to keep it secure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Different Errors Every Time

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Every time the machine is booted, something else doesn't work. First, it was the "Dell Help
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

low rating

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The XPS7100 is better than the Xps8700. The xps8700 has a bad wireless connection, and it shut down constantely. I will not recommand it to anyones that I know to buy. the only good thing on the XPS8700 is it's speed. It has the speed of a Mac computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Windows 10 is awful

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I run my business from my computer. This is the single most awful computer experience I have ever had. It took me two weeks to migrate my old computer data to the new one because the new computer was so unstable and nothing was compatible. Now after three weeks of ownership I can safely say this is the most unstable and worthless computer I have ever owned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awful product, awful service

PostedSeptember 24, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an XPS 8700 about 45 days ago. I was told that the blu ray player was read write blu ray, and it is not. Also, the SSD does not work and Dell service was not able to fix it. Now, the audio and video does not sync, and Dell service is unable to fix that.
I have spent hours trying to resolve these issues with Dell, and they simply do not stand behind their products. I will never, ever buy another Dell branded product.
An absolute terrible buying experience.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

not happy

PostedSeptember 9, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
sorry i ahve gotten this computer i have to down load drivers and 3 rd or fourth time i get on for my volume i had hhigher heopes for this compter
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

one monitor won't work

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
waiting forever for 24 hour Dell support to answer.
Graphics card accepts only one monitor.
Dell told me i can use two.
What do i have to do
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Complete nightmare transferring data over from old computer: even with a computer expert to help, a disaster which we're still trying to sort out. Folders and files aren't where they say they are - open them up, and they're empty. If it's not throwing up a "...not responding" message, the whole thing is freezing totally, unable to do anything at all except power it all down. Spent beyond our budget to get something we thought would be the bee's knees and it's been a profoundly disappointing experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 37