Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.351 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 316 reviews
5 Stars
205
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
8
1 Star
21
4.4
 / 
5
(316 reviews) 316
275 out of 31687%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hermann
(West Kelowna, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700 Special Edition

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my third Dell desktop computer (second XP) plus a laptop, and, according to my experience with Dell, I had high expectations. They wee all met. It is my first experience with a solid state drive and it is fantastic to see how fast the operating system is. It is certainly worth the extra cost. I am a satisfied customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:restover
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

XPS8700 - Great Value!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had an older dual core processor PC with only 4GB of memory - so for me this is a huge improvement in expected and delivered performance.
Compared to other PC providers,m I was able to improved specs on this PC for a lower price - way to go Dell!
Customer Services was excellent throughout the ordering and shipping process, while there was a delay in shipping the product - the reason was communicated to me in a timely manner.
Pros:great value for components
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Loui
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Title:

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 8700 I just bought runs like a charm. It handles games on the highest graphics settings with ease, and is unbelievably quiet while it runs. I went with the Windows 7 OS and it has not disappointed, either.
My only criticism is that attempting to use my wireless mouse results in a bit of "skipping" that was never present in my old computer. It's definitely the mouse, because plugging in the wired Dell mouse that came with the system eliminates the issue. But it's not the mouse itself because it worked perfectly fine on my old pc through the day I switched to the XPS 8700.
Pros:very quiet., handles high-end graphics easily., cannot beat the price for the quality.
Cons:trouble with non-dell wireless mouse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TCode
(Lansdale, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell XPS 8700

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The new system came configured with a Intel I7-4770 CPU, Windows 8.0, 16 gb of ram, 2 tb hard drive, and a Nvidia GeForce GTX645 video card. Initially I had some issues with one of Windows updates, but a Dell support person was able to resolve the problem I have since upgraded to Windows 8.1 and I am very pleased with the new setup. I found that it's better to do this upgrade before installing other Microsoft applications. This system runs at least 10 times faster than my old 8400. This computer is actually a refurbished unit, and it looks inside and out like a new unit. I have timed the boot-up process, and can verify it takes only 30 seconds from the Dell logo to my desktop screen. I am using a auto login process. I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Pros:fast system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:taclaw
(Roswell, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great machine; great price

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This one appears to have it all, except with the cabling issues to the Dell monitor I purchased concurrently.
Cons:weird cabling issues with dell monitor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mike20
(New York, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Powerhouse

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very powerful pc blazing fast so quiet and very quick.This is my 2nd dell PC both desktops.I have a Dim E521 also it is getting up in years.Waiting for A intel7 to come down in price and it did.8700 xps intel7.maybe overpowered for my use at times but rather have it then not have power when you need it.My PC is my outlet my friends and games.as more and more of us turn are PC.s on and shut down the TVs.Great support line to chat or phone.Great System.
Pros:very quick, so quiet, everyday use, great at videos to
Cons:win 8.1
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlmostSilver
(PB,Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700 OUTSTANDING

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was totally satisfied with my previous computer which was a Dell Work Station built to specs ahead of its time however 10 years and it decided it was time for it to retire. I took to the 8700 and Windows 8 immediately. It's fast, whisper quiet (how lovely) and so so easy to use. I did also get a Tablet, wireless keyboard and mouse. What a package. I would highly recommend this product. I do play games which use heavy memory and this computer handles it with complete ease.
Pros:whisper quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ordinateur
(Calgary)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has hit it out of the park with the powerful, but reasonably priced, XPS 8700. The main components that separate this machine from "high-performance" computers costing at least twice as much are the power supply and the graphics card. Additionally, there is plenty of room for upgrading and expansion should you wish to extend the capabilities of your computer. Integrated Wireless, plentiful USB ports and many display options (HDMI, DVI and VGA) will give most users everything they need to be productive for years to come.
As a software and web developer, I need a desktop that is both powerful and reliable. The Intel Core i7-4790 processor set with 16GB of RAM handles any computational task with ease, and I've yet to experience any lag when running multiple applications concurrently. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745 graphics card, while not a top-of-the-line offering, provides impressive frame-rates and accurate rendering for modest gaming (Skyrim) and graphics-intensive software (Adobe CC, video processing) on my dual HD monitor setup. It is whisper-quiet and responsive, and after some use I am even beginning to appreciate Windows 8.1.
I highly recommend the XPS 8700 for those who wish to have a powerful and flexible computer at a very reasonable price.
Pros:great processor and ram, surprisingly good graphics
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xjarlind
(Minnesota, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent machine

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this 8700 about 2 weeks ago. I had trouble getting the website to cooperate so I called customer service. She had my order complete in about 10 minutes. I had my machine on day 3, free shipping. There are a few bad reviews and I feel bad for those people, however, my machine has been nothing short of excellent. I had it set up and operational within 15 minutes. Windows 8 is a bit of a bear to learn (at first), but gets much easier quickly. The machine is extremely quiet, boots up very quickly, and with the i7 and 8 gb of ram is a beast on speed. I could not be happier with this 8700. Nice job Dell. Your customer service is nice as well.
Pros:lightning fast and quiet
Cons:none yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sawdust64
(New Jeresy)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Owner

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good features,product arrived when promised and in excelant condition. Koodoes to FED-X. Probably has more features than I will ever use,but you never know. Nice to know that the capacity is there. Still learning about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Curt60
(Conowingo, MD 21918, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This computer is excellent

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased it with Windows 7... ALMOST as good as XP...just my opinion. I must say it is the fastest computer I have worked with and is extremely quiet. I have only had it in use for about 3 weeks as of July 9, 2014 and have not had any issues. Was easy to set up and get it running. So far I am very pleased with my XPS 8700. My old computer was the Dimension 8400 with Windows XP which I had loaded with the best of everything (and it is STILL running well, I have both running). As for the customer service I only gave it average because I have not had to use customer service yet... all other ratings...EXCELLENT! (so far, time will tell).
Pros:fast, quiet, easy to use
Cons:none i can think of
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Amarnath
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best Machine ever from Dell

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have liked the customer service with Dell and their technical support. This hardware has been amazing experience for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CBB2014
(Lenoir, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome desktop!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upgraded to the XPS8700 from a 2006 XPS and what a difference! I thought my old computer was fast but this thing flies! If you are considering the XPS8700 for yourself you cannot go wrong - awesome computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AAAWNY
(Hamburg, NY 14075, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Happy

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Our last computer ' 02 would have us wait 30- 45 minutes before we could use the computer after turning it on. Now it is 30 - 45 seconds ! I don't know why they have to change windows so much, we were happy with XP.
Cons:learning windows 8.1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stratoholic
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

It's perfect

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
What else is there to say... It's exactly what I was looking for. I was sure about Windows 7 but not sure about Pro. Man I glad not that I got the 8700 with Windows 7 Pro. A tad more expensive but well worth it. Super fast, ultra robust and the Dell quality has always been there! My old Dell is from 06' and is still running like a champ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ms123la
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Refurb, but just like new

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Completely happy with the purchase. You cant even tell if its a refurb. Works well, no issues so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rick7981
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very good system

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This desktop computer is very fast and runs cool and quiet. My previous non-Dell was 7 years old and was slow and the fan made a huge amount of noise.
Pros:fast, quiet
Cons:already need to add another tb of hd
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DennisVT
(Vermont, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 8700

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Amazingly fast, quiet, light as a feather. Have purchased many Dell PC's over the years but this XPS 8700 is by far the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:buats1
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent features for prince

PostedJune 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have previously used a Dell desktop for ten years and it finally died. So I purchased another Dell. I have had great success with Dell and never any problems with the computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tns1
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent PC

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I chose this model to replace a 4yr-old XPS running Win7 which I have been very pleased with. The new one is great with plenty of horsepower to do whatever I need right now and into the future.
I am less pleased with the transition to Win 8.1 which I was expecting to be much easier. I am familiar with the OS from a laptop I have but transitioning accounts and files was much more traumatic than I remember from my last WinXP to Win7 experience. OK now but MS needs to think about that more.
Overall, happy with the purchase but I lament Dell's termination of detailed customizing that was what always drove me to them.
Pros:performance
Cons:fixed configurations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16