Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.199 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 367 reviews
5 Stars
223
4 Stars
74
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
10
1 Star
35
4.2
 / 
5
(367 reviews) 367
302 out of 36782%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:terry25
(cross lanes wv)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

great extras

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
just bought a xps i7 back three months ago and its lightning fast and AAAAA+ product,and one excellent machine
Pros:expandable, xps 4790, added a free tablet
Cons:none
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1Rick
(Orillia, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell XPS 8700 Review

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Probably the best computer I have ever owned and I have owned lots including Macs. I am a power user and this machine is fast and like all Dell's good quality. Love the usb 3, every time I turn it on & surf, it is lightning fast. Doing heavy video editing is also so much faster than I am used to. Just a Joy to use,
No regrets.
Pros:fast
Cons:none yet, not so keen on win 8.1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hessjet2010
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Desktop

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is really great. I use this computer for multitasking and starts up right away never even had a problem with a dell product. I also even like windows 8.1 that came with it. I also like that this machine even has its own 1GB graphic card. Its also worth the price because its a affordable computer for school and home use.
Pros:startup, memory, graphic card, intel i5, windows 8, fast shipping
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdto
(Rio Rancho, NM)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great PC with a cheap case

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I expected a quality case my last 2 XPS systems had.. The PC is a good PC...but the case is tight and feels like a cheep case..It is hard to add other hard drives. Also when I pulled the DVD player and replaced it with a BLURAY I was afraid I was going to break it the front piece, taking it off and putting it back on. I would have paid extra for a quality case. The from bezel feels and is cheaply made. I am considering buying a quality case from Tiger Direct or Newegg and just transferring every thing over. As for the PC it preforms well. No complaints with the components. just the cheaply made case
Pros:great components, fast and quiet
Cons:cheep case, inside the case is very tight, was not made to be opened, be very careful adding extra hard drives
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eightender
(Mississauga, ON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super Fast Computer

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased an XPS 8700 with 16 gb or RAM and a 2 TB hard drive. The computer is extremely fast and very quiet. Very easy to get started.
Coming from Windows XP, Windows 8.1 does get some getting used to. I am able to work with it using a mouse without difficulty.
Pros:speed, quiet
Cons:it's not inexpensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kungying
(Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell did it again

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best Dell I bought ever, whisper quite, fantastic power, sound that's hard to believe, don't know how, but they did it again, thanks to all the Dell staff that worked so hard to make this what it is, fantastic...... Wow
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VancouverDave
(Vancouver, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DELL XPS 8700 - Top of the Line Desktop

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just recently purchase a Dell XPS 8700 with 32 Gig of RAM, 2G Video Card, 3TB/256Gig "Combo" hard drive.
I am very pleased and I have zero regrets. The PC was a bit more than I needed (I don't game much, mostly Internet and office use.) There was a great black Friday deal (25% off regular) so I jumped in.
The PC is extremely responsive, boots in seconds. Movies start playing very quickly and I've had zero issues. The Video Card can handle 2560x1600 easily.
Do yourself a favor, get a Dell and you will not regret it.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dmumme
(San Diego, CA, USA)
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

xps 8700 rocks

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Caveat: Specs don't seem to indicate that this PC has the Gen 3.0 PCIE bus, but it does! But even so, If u r upgrading the GPU card, check your bios revision. If its not at least "A10", then you will need to update it. Once its at least A10, the newer cards will run on it. As does my evga GTX 970.
I got one with 8GB memory and the quad core i7-4790 (3.6Ghz!). With hyper-threading, it can run 8 processes / threads at once.
Even with the upgraded card, this is as silent as the desert.
Anyway, a screamin machine for about $900 out the door (plus my cost for the GPU).
Pros:low cost machine for gaming and sw development!
Cons:dell needs to supply these with the latest bios!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoeZZ
(Massachusetts, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I love it.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My last Dell was a Vista system from 2007. In the past few years it got slower and slower so I finally decided to splurge for a high end Dell. Got the Special with 24 G RAM, a 256 G SSD boot drive, a 2 T 2nd drive, the best 24" monitor, Win 8.1, the i7 CPU.
As always, there are a few issues- I had a temporary credit card issue, some of the preinstalled software I had trouble registering and a few other minor issues- but within a few days it was up to full speed.
I had good luck with Dell service- a few phone calls fixed the issues.
I had worried about getting it with W 8.1 after I read countless complaints about that OS- but I'm glad I got it. I really like it- especially the apps for news and weather- and it boots in seconds.
I'm so excited about the speed of the system- everything works extremely fast. It's my 4th Dell and I would definitely recommend Dell and this system in particular.
Pros:lightning fast
Cons:none
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jamie65243
(Urbana, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell is doing things right again

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I owned a Dell nearly 15 years ago and have built my own systems since.
The bad:
Windows 8 is still just a little awkward, but that's why there is Ubuntu.
The good:
Truth be told, you can't build this nice a system for the price Dell is charging. Box looks sleek, performance is fantastic, system is quiet, and in somewhat of a surprise for modern companies...the customer support has been personal, polite, and prompt.
Dell has won me back as a customer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Roger60
(Avis, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

this PC does it all can do many things

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have Owen this just a few months and have not master all it can do yet. their are a few draw backs with windows mail not working like Vista but wear i can do a right click and print the page on some of the the mail it may be more me not knowing how to get it working on all mail. i am sure if i can learn it all this thing will do every thing . One big thing i like i can be do many things at the same time and still lighting fast. wear pc`s i had be fore if i try ed to do anything after turning it on well stuff was still stating in the background would freeze up and would have turn it off and restart. For what its worth i am getting another one for my office fast and bigger i like it best and no bigger one out their top of the line thanks Dell i have had many dell pcs but this is best one yet
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Surrey18
(Surrey, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

High performance XPS 8700 and excellent service

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
XPS 8700 i7 4-core, 16gb RAM 2tb hdd + nvidia 750Ti, 24" full HD display.
We wanted a family computer that could run HD video, gaming, office, photoshop, surfing, and enable us to switch between all these applications quickly. The XPS 8700 far exceeds our expectations, it is very very fast and a great investment for our family. Dell service is highly commendable. We didn't realise we needed an HDMI cable to connect to the supplied HD display so just used one we had hanging around from our camcorder. However the screen was fuzzy in places like old TV interference. I called Dell and they sent an engineer next day, even though we hadn't bought home support. Turned out the HDMI cable was not high speed enough. Easily sorted out. As Dell doesn't supply HD cables with the system they could do more to explain at the buying stage as we thought we were buying a bundled system. This is a minor gripe compared to the great system we have now got.
Pros:powerful system, excellent customer service
Cons:doesn't come with hdmi cable
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikeiscollio
(Truro, Truro, Cornwall, UK)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Amzing

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the version with 24gb of ram and 2tb of storage.
Its perfect for gaming and can run most games in ultra/or very very high.
its increadibly fast and is also great for work
I bought a 1900x1200 moniter with it and they work together really well.
would recommend if you are a gamer
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kanadian
(Parksville, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great for work and fun!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Not much to say other than WOW! Starts up in 10 seconds even with wireless internet. Work is fast and can game with settings at high or optimal. The Nvidia GTX 750ti card may be at 55W but it sure can put out (used Heaven benchmark program to test). Priced well for a computer of this class. I actually like Windows 8.1. Really easy to get the hang of and to set up. One downside, took 3 weeks to get to me. Felt like forever, like a kid waiting for Christmas.
Pros:great graphics for the power, fast startup, quiet energy sipper
Cons:no disks for windows or programs, build time felt a little long but reasonable.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron1050
(reading, MA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Fast and for a reasonable price

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is fast! Things happen almost instantaneously. Love that it has lots of USB ports (although I would have liked a few more on the back of the unit).
I have set up windows 8.1 to boot directly to the desktop so it is like Windows 7. Going from XP to Windows 8.1 wasn't difficult.
The only negative is that I am not a fan of the keyboard that came with it. The keys are of the chiclet variety. The travel is short and don't feel right. That can be remedied for not much $.
Pros:speed, quiet, plenty of storage
Cons:keyboard, could use a few more usb ports on back
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inbotnick
(Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent Computer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had gotten away from dell because i found better value from other companies. I decided to look at dell again and found an xps 8700 that filled the bill. The value was very good.
performance - excellent
Put a 1 tb ssd and 1 2 tb hd and 1 3 tb hd. The computer is the fastest i have ever owned. And one thing i know for sure, if there is a problem dell will stand behind their product.
i have to give dell credit, they really do kow how to make a computer.
Pros:fast
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bralexis13
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

DELL XPS 8700

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this computer and the DELL’s 29 in ultra-sharp monitor. Additionally, I add a set of BOSE CineMate GS series II speakers. Everything runs smooth with a perfect picture and sound. This system is beyond what I could image. This was the perfect computer for the extra components I added. Buy this computer and you will never regret it.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rich1000
(Redondo Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Everything I wanted in a Desktop PC

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had no problems after owning it a month. As expected this Intel I7 machine with 16GB of RAM and a hybrid drive is very fast. I am delighted with this purchase.
Pros:extremely fast boot, 16 gb of memory, hybrid drive
Cons:no bluray drive, location of headphone on top instead of front
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Loui
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Title:

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 8700 I just bought runs like a charm. It handles games on the highest graphics settings with ease, and is unbelievably quiet while it runs. I went with the Windows 7 OS and it has not disappointed, either.
My only criticism is that attempting to use my wireless mouse results in a bit of "skipping" that was never present in my old computer. It's definitely the mouse, because plugging in the wired Dell mouse that came with the system eliminates the issue. But it's not the mouse itself because it worked perfectly fine on my old pc through the day I switched to the XPS 8700.
Pros:very quiet., handles high-end graphics easily., cannot beat the price for the quality.
Cons:trouble with non-dell wireless mouse.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TCode
(Lansdale, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell XPS 8700

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The new system came configured with a Intel I7-4770 CPU, Windows 8.0, 16 gb of ram, 2 tb hard drive, and a Nvidia GeForce GTX645 video card. Initially I had some issues with one of Windows updates, but a Dell support person was able to resolve the problem I have since upgraded to Windows 8.1 and I am very pleased with the new setup. I found that it's better to do this upgrade before installing other Microsoft applications. This system runs at least 10 times faster than my old 8400. This computer is actually a refurbished unit, and it looks inside and out like a new unit. I have timed the boot-up process, and can verify it takes only 30 seconds from the Dell logo to my desktop screen. I am using a auto login process. I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Pros:fast system
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19