Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.397 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 262 reviews
5 Stars
170
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
5
1 Star
14
4.4
 / 
5
(262 reviews) 262
231 out of 26288%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cheryl55
(Wisconsin Dells, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS8700

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this computer it replaced a Dell X I purchased in 2005
It arrived on time and when I verified the purchase with cust. service they reviewed my purchase to make sure I was getting everything I needed.
Easy setup
Great price. I purchased a Dell because I have been extremely satisfied with the product.
Great customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:K1cker
(Mineola, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Amazing Computer

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I held off buying a new computer until XP hit the end of life and wasn't going to be supported anymore. I was recommended to look at the Dell XPS series desktops by a very knowledgeable friend. I am very glad that he helped, I love this computer. It's much better than I thought it would be. It can even run most of the games out today, I'm not really a gamer, but it's performance just surprised me.
The unit arrived in perfect condition as the packing was very well done.
I would recommend the Dell XPS 8700 to anyone looking for a desktop.
Cons:it has a seagate drive.. high failure rate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Happy70
(Saskatchewan, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very happy with the computer purchase!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using my new Dell XPS 8700 Special Edition (of which there are many models) and a Dell 23" U2312HM ultra-sharp monitor.
Buying experience was straight-forward. Quote was given and order was processed - seemed to take a long time to actually receive the product, but they did deliver when they said they would.
A note about the 12 months no interest, equal payments option. When I called to set that up, they said "we can only set-up 6 months at a time, you'll have to call back after 5.5 months to set-up the other 6 months!" why? That seems silly to me but whatever, a minor inconvenience in an otherwise pleasant experience.
The computer is fast, and restart times are really quick. The monitor is sharp but seems too bright...I've already turned the brightness down to 40 from 75 but it stills seems too bright. If I keep reducing it, I wonder if the colors will be off? I don't mind windows 8 either, you just adapt to it and it's not that bad - just learn how to use it.
After reading some of the negative reviews, I was nervous that my computer would be a lemon or that I'd have a bad experience but that wasn't case.
All in all, for the price paid, it was a good buy and I would definitely purchase a Dell again.
Pros:fair price, delivered when they said they would, fast computer, good spec's and value for money, quiet
Cons:not totally impressed with the monitor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Modemadfan
(Dublin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great PC

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Delighted with my purchase. Have always purchased Dell and never been disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vickie1
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

This product has great features

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product has great features and is very fast. I was using Windows Vista and I really liked it but this system has Windows 8.1 so it is taking me some time to identify where everything is located but I am enjoying it more each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:COhio
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Title:

Simple review

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded from an 8 year old computer with Windows XP, 4G RAM and 80G HD to the XPS8700 with Windows 8.1.
I am a casual user and at this time, don't use many of the "bells and whistles" on this new Dell computer.
Bottom line: It's fast and does what I need it to do. I am quite happy with this XPS and would purchase it again.
Going from XP to 8.1 was a bit of a learning curve but I'll get used to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cindy25
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Good computer with some setup challenges

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's been a while since I bought a new computer, 8 years. This one is lightening fast. Setup was challenging due to documentation that was inadequate for me. I understand they want to have universal instructions, not English language, but it made it really difficult to set up. The drawings were not clear enough for me, I was not familiar with all the acronyms, and my aging eyes had trouble seeing black on black symbols on the system. I did need substantial help from customer support which was excellent.
It's only been three days since I set it up. I don't find Windows 8.1 as bad as people have said. Different, but not bad.
I'm sure I will like this computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dave1219
(Ogden, UT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good product

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The system is good. It can take a bit of getting use to the new windows 8, but this Dell computer handles it nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffinNH
(Portsmouth, NH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS - eXtremely Potent System

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Sleek, lightweight, silent operation....that's just the cosmetics! It's powerful, stable and not filled with bloatware that you get from other manufacturers. I use this system primarily for music production. Music production has one of the more demanding loads on a CPC and memory. My XPS8700 can more than handle the load even after several instances of virtual instruments and effects. In fact, I've yet to max this out so I don't even know where the limit is! It's handling it all. If you're into music production and want a streamlined system, with a generous supply of USB ports and expandability, this is an excellent choice.
Pros:silent operation, usb ports galore, no bloatware, top performance for music production
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OldToad
(High Springs, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell XPS8700 with S2340T Monitor

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
this computer and monitor replaced an 11 year old Dell with a CRT display. things are so much easier and faster and the price was less than what i paid for the old device... i will say that the monitor has a bad lcd in the upper right quadrant. it is not noticeable except when the screen is white. still learning all the tips and screens and the monitor is learning to read my writing! the set up instructions did not say whether to use a HDMI or Display Port cable to hook to the monitor. i used both and let the computer decide.
Pros:fast <60 seconds to boot up, a lot of memory, touch is great, s2340t monitor very versatile, software electronic delivery was fast
Cons:tower is large, limited set up instructions, new monitor has a bad lcd, did not install all programs automatically
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jim71
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Upgrade from Dell 8400 to XPS 8700

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I found that upgrading my Dell 8400 (with Windows XP OS) to the XPS 8700 (Windows 8.1 OS) was relatively painless, with all of my peripheral devices installing seamlessly during my initial XPS start up. I then used the free Laplink PCmover Express for Windows XP software provided by Microsoft to transfer my personal files.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ralling
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Machine, Fast, Lots of RAM and Great SSD

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a high power machine and this is the one. I run multiple VMs with VMWare workstation and I can connect to multiple customers at the same time with no one knowing I am logged on to multiple customers. Memory was the key and the use of USB3 connected SSD drives and I have great response time.
It was difficult to get the box as it got cancelled twice and took longer to get here, but with this being my 3rd Dell, I am more than happy with it.
As for Windows 8.1? What a pile of junk. I wish that I could have had Win7 Pro put in, but I am living with it as is. All my work is done on VMs so I basically ignore Win8. I converted my old machines to VMs and the run happily in that mode.
Great box dell.
Pros:lots of memory available, fast machine, dell start up service was good, highly recommended
Cons:not as many options to select
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevKess
(Baltimore, MD, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Fast Computer

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although I am not a "gamer", this pc is exactly what I needed to use at home. It is comparable to the system I use at work, which also happens to be a Dell. So far it has been very reliable and I am certain it will be good to use for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rickey60
(Louisiana)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Very quiet and fast

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 8700 is the fastest computer I have purchased. It is easy to set up and extremely quiet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:STU7301
(Philadelphia, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Tower replacement

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Taking the transfer of programs and data slowly, I am very satisfied with the performance of the 8700. In installing programs and in transfers. I did a lot to set them up before going to be. What could be done took place and the computer went to sleep to wake up quickly in the morning to continue the process. Though it is an indicator that I have to clean my office, the black case does show the dust that I could not see before, but I am much more aware now. Basically quiet unobtrusive and quick.
Pros:smaller footprint greater capacity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CindyK
(Pittsburgh, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fastest PC Ever!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Haven't had a desktop for awhile other than one from work. So as I was making my way through the decision process I decided on this Dell 8700 and glad I did. Super fast! Very quiet and doesn't feel warm to touch. It took a few days to get used to Windows 8 but no regrets. Great system!
Pros:lightening fast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bluerx
(Edmonton, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

xps8700

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good desktop, did the free upgrade to win 8.1 because I did not purchase a touch screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Delllman
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Impressive XPS 8700

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was a replacement for a Windows XP pc and there is no comparison. The XPS 8700 is lightning fast. The capacity and resources are amazing. It even runs most of my old Windows XP programs. OK, Windows 8.1 stinks but that's from Microsoft, not Dell. You can fix most of Win 8.1 with Classic Shell and other tips and tricks you can research on the web. The computer itself is topnotch. I love everything about it. The only problem was I didn't immediately realize the CD drive button is part of the case on the right side, tough to see at first, but works great. I use this PC for both work and personal.
Pros:lots of memory, 8 usb ports, adapter for old monitors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ST2420L
(MO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Computer XPS 8700

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this with windows 8.1. But have customized it to my liking and am very pleased with it.
I have had 4 Dell laptops & about 6 desktops & have had excellent results with all of them except one. But Dell support took care of the problems.
Thanks Dell for a good experience.
Pros:very fast
Cons:not found any yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:littlemoe
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

great computer

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm hardcore gamer and my last xps just crashed for the second time after having 7 years and this one I was back online the day it came in and playing my game and it working great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14