Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.165 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 387 reviews
5 Stars
231
4 Stars
78
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
13
1 Star
38
4.2
 / 
5
(387 reviews) 387
316 out of 38782%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:terry25
(cross lanes wv)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

great extras

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
just bought a xps i7 back three months ago and its lightning fast and AAAAA+ product,and one excellent machine
Pros:expandable, xps 4790, added a free tablet
Cons:none
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SKMATT
Title:

Why XPS ?

PostedMay 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Because ... best PC with windows. All component work with other one.
easy start and install, and windows 8.1, work fine on XPS. Thanks to Dell.
Because best PC are only on Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hansolo
Title:

Best value for money

PostedMay 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this PC with 16gig RAM and Gefoce 745 with 4gig dedicated graphics memory for 680$. Upgraded my GPU to 960 and this thing flies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mchairdoc
Title:

My Dell XPS

PostedMay 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had a 4 year old Dell that I upgraded to Window 8.1. It just wasn't running like I would like and of course it wasn't fast. So I decided to buy a New Dell and did my research. From the second I plugged it in I was impressed. Fast and much quieter. And Windows 8 seems to run much smoother when the computer is built for it. Really happy with my New XPS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nikout
Title:

The most reliable setup that just needs one upgrade touch

PostedMay 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you aim for digital design and/or best gaming experience, you would probably want to upgrade your video card that will turn your machine into the best performance machine you could ever want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hefficide
Title:

Was Looking To Build A Gaming Rig When Something Funny Happened...

PostedMay 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
A couple of months ago my pinched pennies had finally added up to enough for me to build a gaming PC with enough oomph to allow me to play not only todays AAA games, but those coming over the next couple of years as well. Countless hours were spent studiously and meticulously scouring the various tech websites, comparing AMD vs Intel, devouring video card benchmarks... All with the goal of finding the best price versus performance PC that I could possibly build.
If there was any "homework" that could have been done - I did it, several times over.
Finally the day came and I spent a few hours ordering parts, from several different websites, all based upon getting the best price available for the best quality.
Then, with a nervous click, my orders were placed.
That is when fate came knocking in the form of a random ad for Dell. An add that happened to include exactly the processor I had chosen for the build I was undertaking. An add that, quite literally, offered me a complete Dell XPS 8700 for less than the cost of the processor and motherboard I had just placed an order for. The exact same processor.
Needless to say I instantly headed to Dell's website and verified that this offer was indeed true. I frantically did my homework, once again, on the parts, reviews, and features of the XPS 8700 ( in this case with an i7 4790 processor and 8 gigs of RAM ). It did not take long for me to cancel everything I had just ordered and to purchase this Dell.
Possibly the best decision of the decade so far!
I love my Dell and it has never let me down! I did upgrade the video card and added some RAM post purchase. But, even then, I still saved HUNDREDS over building a nearly identical system myself. In fact, even with nearly thirty games on Steam I still have saved money!
That unbelievable deal brought me to Dell - but this machines performance is what will be keeping me here. This is by far and away the most responsive, stable, quiet, and well behaved computer I have ever owned. Given that my first computer was purchased in the 1980's that is some very strong praise. Of dozens of computers, the XPS 8700 has been, by far and away, the most pleasing.
That is why I already know that my next computer will be a Dell, as will the one after that. The balance of quality, customer service and performance to price ratio simply cannot be beaten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:edwaine
Title:

Simple on the outside, yet big performance on the inside!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
mSata integrated, 4th gen Processor and a High-End Video Card. With those specifications, what can I say?!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kmd57
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Perfect right out of the box!

PostedMay 15, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I agonized over the purchase of a new computer when my XPS 430 died unexpectedly after nearly five years of incredible service. I am not going to apologize, I'm a Dell person all the way, but I loved my old computer so much that it seemed disloyal to buy a new one! End result, this is one fast computer. Set up was effortless, and it runs quietly and smoothly like fine machine should. Mine has the factory rollback to Windows 7 Pro, and since it's what we use at work, there was no learning curve. Just sit down and drive!
The only thing I miss is the TV tuner that was pre-installed on my old machine.I do wish that had been an option on the XPS 8700 because I used it every day. I just set up Windows Media Center to record all my shows and the cavernous hard drive on the XPS 430 took care of the rest. Man, I miss my old machine, but as they say, "onward and upward." I'll check into having one installed on my new computer, but I would have preferred the option to add the tuner at point of purchase.
Still, all-in-all. This is a great computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigbluedrew
(Michigan, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great product!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have both the 8700 and 8700 Special Edition. Love them both, they are fast, reliable, and best of all affordable. All the bad reviews on here about Windows 8, you people need to head over to Microsoft and yell at them. Dell and this PC have nothing to do with your software issues or failure to learn a new OS. Keep churning out good PC's like this and I will be a Dell customer for life!
Pros:fast, reliable, affordable, good for mid level gaming
Cons:non except windows 8 made by microsoft not dell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AbeHicks
(Virginia, USA)
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Still waters run deep.

PostedApril 24, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This bird is fast and quiet. Really quiet. Best combination I've ever owned. I am even crazy about the mouse and keyboard. Finally! Why did I wait so long? I am worth it.
Pros:super fast and silent
Cons:needs to have a ssd to be appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1Rick
(Orillia, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell XPS 8700 Review

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Probably the best computer I have ever owned and I have owned lots including Macs. I am a power user and this machine is fast and like all Dell's good quality. Love the usb 3, every time I turn it on & surf, it is lightning fast. Doing heavy video editing is also so much faster than I am used to. Just a Joy to use,
No regrets.
Pros:fast
Cons:none yet, not so keen on win 8.1
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdto
(Rio Rancho, NM)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great PC with a cheap case

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I expected a quality case my last 2 XPS systems had.. The PC is a good PC...but the case is tight and feels like a cheep case..It is hard to add other hard drives. Also when I pulled the DVD player and replaced it with a BLURAY I was afraid I was going to break it the front piece, taking it off and putting it back on. I would have paid extra for a quality case. The from bezel feels and is cheaply made. I am considering buying a quality case from Tiger Direct or Newegg and just transferring every thing over. As for the PC it preforms well. No complaints with the components. just the cheaply made case
Pros:great components, fast and quiet
Cons:cheep case, inside the case is very tight, was not made to be opened, be very careful adding extra hard drives
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eightender
(Mississauga, ON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super Fast Computer

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased an XPS 8700 with 16 gb or RAM and a 2 TB hard drive. The computer is extremely fast and very quiet. Very easy to get started.
Coming from Windows XP, Windows 8.1 does get some getting used to. I am able to work with it using a mouse without difficulty.
Pros:speed, quiet
Cons:it's not inexpensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kungying
(Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell did it again

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best Dell I bought ever, whisper quite, fantastic power, sound that's hard to believe, don't know how, but they did it again, thanks to all the Dell staff that worked so hard to make this what it is, fantastic...... Wow
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VancouverDave
(Vancouver, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DELL XPS 8700 - Top of the Line Desktop

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just recently purchase a Dell XPS 8700 with 32 Gig of RAM, 2G Video Card, 3TB/256Gig "Combo" hard drive.
I am very pleased and I have zero regrets. The PC was a bit more than I needed (I don't game much, mostly Internet and office use.) There was a great black Friday deal (25% off regular) so I jumped in.
The PC is extremely responsive, boots in seconds. Movies start playing very quickly and I've had zero issues. The Video Card can handle 2560x1600 easily.
Do yourself a favor, get a Dell and you will not regret it.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dmumme
(San Diego, CA, USA)
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

xps 8700 rocks

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Caveat: Specs don't seem to indicate that this PC has the Gen 3.0 PCIE bus, but it does! But even so, If u r upgrading the GPU card, check your bios revision. If its not at least "A10", then you will need to update it. Once its at least A10, the newer cards will run on it. As does my evga GTX 970.
I got one with 8GB memory and the quad core i7-4790 (3.6Ghz!). With hyper-threading, it can run 8 processes / threads at once.
Even with the upgraded card, this is as silent as the desert.
Anyway, a screamin machine for about $900 out the door (plus my cost for the GPU).
Pros:low cost machine for gaming and sw development!
Cons:dell needs to supply these with the latest bios!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoeZZ
(Massachusetts, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I love it.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My last Dell was a Vista system from 2007. In the past few years it got slower and slower so I finally decided to splurge for a high end Dell. Got the Special with 24 G RAM, a 256 G SSD boot drive, a 2 T 2nd drive, the best 24" monitor, Win 8.1, the i7 CPU.
As always, there are a few issues- I had a temporary credit card issue, some of the preinstalled software I had trouble registering and a few other minor issues- but within a few days it was up to full speed.
I had good luck with Dell service- a few phone calls fixed the issues.
I had worried about getting it with W 8.1 after I read countless complaints about that OS- but I'm glad I got it. I really like it- especially the apps for news and weather- and it boots in seconds.
I'm so excited about the speed of the system- everything works extremely fast. It's my 4th Dell and I would definitely recommend Dell and this system in particular.
Pros:lightning fast
Cons:none
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jamie65243
(Urbana, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell is doing things right again

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I owned a Dell nearly 15 years ago and have built my own systems since.
The bad:
Windows 8 is still just a little awkward, but that's why there is Ubuntu.
The good:
Truth be told, you can't build this nice a system for the price Dell is charging. Box looks sleek, performance is fantastic, system is quiet, and in somewhat of a surprise for modern companies...the customer support has been personal, polite, and prompt.
Dell has won me back as a customer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Roger60
(Avis, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

this PC does it all can do many things

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have Owen this just a few months and have not master all it can do yet. their are a few draw backs with windows mail not working like Vista but wear i can do a right click and print the page on some of the the mail it may be more me not knowing how to get it working on all mail. i am sure if i can learn it all this thing will do every thing . One big thing i like i can be do many things at the same time and still lighting fast. wear pc`s i had be fore if i try ed to do anything after turning it on well stuff was still stating in the background would freeze up and would have turn it off and restart. For what its worth i am getting another one for my office fast and bigger i like it best and no bigger one out their top of the line thanks Dell i have had many dell pcs but this is best one yet
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Surrey18
(Surrey, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

High performance XPS 8700 and excellent service

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
XPS 8700 i7 4-core, 16gb RAM 2tb hdd + nvidia 750Ti, 24" full HD display.
We wanted a family computer that could run HD video, gaming, office, photoshop, surfing, and enable us to switch between all these applications quickly. The XPS 8700 far exceeds our expectations, it is very very fast and a great investment for our family. Dell service is highly commendable. We didn't realise we needed an HDMI cable to connect to the supplied HD display so just used one we had hanging around from our camcorder. However the screen was fuzzy in places like old TV interference. I called Dell and they sent an engineer next day, even though we hadn't bought home support. Turned out the HDMI cable was not high speed enough. Easily sorted out. As Dell doesn't supply HD cables with the system they could do more to explain at the buying stage as we thought we were buying a bundled system. This is a minor gripe compared to the great system we have now got.
Pros:powerful system, excellent customer service
Cons:doesn't come with hdmi cable
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20