Customer reviews for XPS 8700

XPS 8700

XPS 8700
4.224 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 348 reviews
5 Stars
214
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
10
1 Star
32
4.2
 / 
5
(348 reviews) 348
289 out of 34883%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8700
Review 1 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Roger60
(Avis, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

this PC does it all can do many things

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have Owen this just a few months and have not master all it can do yet. their are a few draw backs with windows mail not working like Vista but wear i can do a right click and print the page on some of the the mail it may be more me not knowing how to get it working on all mail. i am sure if i can learn it all this thing will do every thing . One big thing i like i can be do many things at the same time and still lighting fast. wear pc`s i had be fore if i try ed to do anything after turning it on well stuff was still stating in the background would freeze up and would have turn it off and restart. For what its worth i am getting another one for my office fast and bigger i like it best and no bigger one out their top of the line thanks Dell i have had many dell pcs but this is best one yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jamie65243
(Urbana, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell is doing things right again

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I owned a Dell nearly 15 years ago and have built my own systems since.
The bad:
Windows 8 is still just a little awkward, but that's why there is Ubuntu.
The good:
Truth be told, you can't build this nice a system for the price Dell is charging. Box looks sleek, performance is fantastic, system is quiet, and in somewhat of a surprise for modern companies...the customer support has been personal, polite, and prompt.
Dell has won me back as a customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Surrey18
(Surrey, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

High performance XPS 8700 and excellent service

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
XPS 8700 i7 4-core, 16gb RAM 2tb hdd + nvidia 750Ti, 24" full HD display.
We wanted a family computer that could run HD video, gaming, office, photoshop, surfing, and enable us to switch between all these applications quickly. The XPS 8700 far exceeds our expectations, it is very very fast and a great investment for our family. Dell service is highly commendable. We didn't realise we needed an HDMI cable to connect to the supplied HD display so just used one we had hanging around from our camcorder. However the screen was fuzzy in places like old TV interference. I called Dell and they sent an engineer next day, even though we hadn't bought home support. Turned out the HDMI cable was not high speed enough. Easily sorted out. As Dell doesn't supply HD cables with the system they could do more to explain at the buying stage as we thought we were buying a bundled system. This is a minor gripe compared to the great system we have now got.
Pros:powerful system, excellent customer service
Cons:doesn't come with hdmi cable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikeiscollio
(Truro, Truro, Cornwall, UK)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Amzing

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the version with 24gb of ram and 2tb of storage.
Its perfect for gaming and can run most games in ultra/or very very high.
its increadibly fast and is also great for work
I bought a 1900x1200 moniter with it and they work together really well.
would recommend if you are a gamer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kanadian
(Parksville, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great for work and fun!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Not much to say other than WOW! Starts up in 10 seconds even with wireless internet. Work is fast and can game with settings at high or optimal. The Nvidia GTX 750ti card may be at 55W but it sure can put out (used Heaven benchmark program to test). Priced well for a computer of this class. I actually like Windows 8.1. Really easy to get the hang of and to set up. One downside, took 3 weeks to get to me. Felt like forever, like a kid waiting for Christmas.
Pros:great graphics for the power, fast startup, quiet energy sipper
Cons:no disks for windows or programs, build time felt a little long but reasonable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron1050
(reading, MA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Fast and for a reasonable price

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is fast! Things happen almost instantaneously. Love that it has lots of USB ports (although I would have liked a few more on the back of the unit).
I have set up windows 8.1 to boot directly to the desktop so it is like Windows 7. Going from XP to Windows 8.1 wasn't difficult.
The only negative is that I am not a fan of the keyboard that came with it. The keys are of the chiclet variety. The travel is short and don't feel right. That can be remedied for not much $.
Pros:speed, quiet, plenty of storage
Cons:keyboard, could use a few more usb ports on back
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inbotnick
(Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent Computer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had gotten away from dell because i found better value from other companies. I decided to look at dell again and found an xps 8700 that filled the bill. The value was very good.
performance - excellent
Put a 1 tb ssd and 1 2 tb hd and 1 3 tb hd. The computer is the fastest i have ever owned. And one thing i know for sure, if there is a problem dell will stand behind their product.
i have to give dell credit, they really do kow how to make a computer.
Pros:fast
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bralexis13
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

DELL XPS 8700

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this computer and the DELL’s 29 in ultra-sharp monitor. Additionally, I add a set of BOSE CineMate GS series II speakers. Everything runs smooth with a perfect picture and sound. This system is beyond what I could image. This was the perfect computer for the extra components I added. Buy this computer and you will never regret it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rich1000
(Redondo Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Everything I wanted in a Desktop PC

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had no problems after owning it a month. As expected this Intel I7 machine with 16GB of RAM and a hybrid drive is very fast. I am delighted with this purchase.
Pros:extremely fast boot, 16 gb of memory, hybrid drive
Cons:no bluray drive, location of headphone on top instead of front
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Loui
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Title:

Excellent Performance and Value

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 8700 I just bought runs like a charm. It handles games on the highest graphics settings with ease, and is unbelievably quiet while it runs. I went with the Windows 7 OS and it has not disappointed, either.
My only criticism is that attempting to use my wireless mouse results in a bit of "skipping" that was never present in my old computer. It's definitely the mouse, because plugging in the wired Dell mouse that came with the system eliminates the issue. But it's not the mouse itself because it worked perfectly fine on my old pc through the day I switched to the XPS 8700.
Pros:very quiet., handles high-end graphics easily., cannot beat the price for the quality.
Cons:trouble with non-dell wireless mouse.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TCode
(Lansdale, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell XPS 8700

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The new system came configured with a Intel I7-4770 CPU, Windows 8.0, 16 gb of ram, 2 tb hard drive, and a Nvidia GeForce GTX645 video card. Initially I had some issues with one of Windows updates, but a Dell support person was able to resolve the problem I have since upgraded to Windows 8.1 and I am very pleased with the new setup. I found that it's better to do this upgrade before installing other Microsoft applications. This system runs at least 10 times faster than my old 8400. This computer is actually a refurbished unit, and it looks inside and out like a new unit. I have timed the boot-up process, and can verify it takes only 30 seconds from the Dell logo to my desktop screen. I am using a auto login process. I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Pros:fast system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:taclaw
(Roswell, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great machine; great price

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This one appears to have it all, except with the cabling issues to the Dell monitor I purchased concurrently.
Cons:weird cabling issues with dell monitor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mike20
(New York, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Powerhouse

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very powerful pc blazing fast so quiet and very quick.This is my 2nd dell PC both desktops.I have a Dim E521 also it is getting up in years.Waiting for A intel7 to come down in price and it did.8700 xps intel7.maybe overpowered for my use at times but rather have it then not have power when you need it.My PC is my outlet my friends and games.as more and more of us turn are PC.s on and shut down the TVs.Great support line to chat or phone.Great System.
Pros:very quick, so quiet, everyday use, great at videos to
Cons:win 8.1
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlmostSilver
(PB,Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 8700 OUTSTANDING

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was totally satisfied with my previous computer which was a Dell Work Station built to specs ahead of its time however 10 years and it decided it was time for it to retire. I took to the 8700 and Windows 8 immediately. It's fast, whisper quiet (how lovely) and so so easy to use. I did also get a Tablet, wireless keyboard and mouse. What a package. I would highly recommend this product. I do play games which use heavy memory and this computer handles it with complete ease.
Pros:whisper quiet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ordinateur
(Calgary)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has hit it out of the park with the powerful, but reasonably priced, XPS 8700. The main components that separate this machine from "high-performance" computers costing at least twice as much are the power supply and the graphics card. Additionally, there is plenty of room for upgrading and expansion should you wish to extend the capabilities of your computer. Integrated Wireless, plentiful USB ports and many display options (HDMI, DVI and VGA) will give most users everything they need to be productive for years to come.
As a software and web developer, I need a desktop that is both powerful and reliable. The Intel Core i7-4790 processor set with 16GB of RAM handles any computational task with ease, and I've yet to experience any lag when running multiple applications concurrently. The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 745 graphics card, while not a top-of-the-line offering, provides impressive frame-rates and accurate rendering for modest gaming (Skyrim) and graphics-intensive software (Adobe CC, video processing) on my dual HD monitor setup. It is whisper-quiet and responsive, and after some use I am even beginning to appreciate Windows 8.1.
I highly recommend the XPS 8700 for those who wish to have a powerful and flexible computer at a very reasonable price.
Pros:great processor and ram, surprisingly good graphics
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xjarlind
(Minnesota, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent machine

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this 8700 about 2 weeks ago. I had trouble getting the website to cooperate so I called customer service. She had my order complete in about 10 minutes. I had my machine on day 3, free shipping. There are a few bad reviews and I feel bad for those people, however, my machine has been nothing short of excellent. I had it set up and operational within 15 minutes. Windows 8 is a bit of a bear to learn (at first), but gets much easier quickly. The machine is extremely quiet, boots up very quickly, and with the i7 and 8 gb of ram is a beast on speed. I could not be happier with this 8700. Nice job Dell. Your customer service is nice as well.
Pros:lightning fast and quiet
Cons:none yet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sawdust64
(New Jeresy)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Owner

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good features,product arrived when promised and in excelant condition. Koodoes to FED-X. Probably has more features than I will ever use,but you never know. Nice to know that the capacity is there. Still learning about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Curt60
(Conowingo, MD 21918, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This computer is excellent

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased it with Windows 7... ALMOST as good as XP...just my opinion. I must say it is the fastest computer I have worked with and is extremely quiet. I have only had it in use for about 3 weeks as of July 9, 2014 and have not had any issues. Was easy to set up and get it running. So far I am very pleased with my XPS 8700. My old computer was the Dimension 8400 with Windows XP which I had loaded with the best of everything (and it is STILL running well, I have both running). As for the customer service I only gave it average because I have not had to use customer service yet... all other ratings...EXCELLENT! (so far, time will tell).
Pros:fast, quiet, easy to use
Cons:none i can think of
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Amarnath
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best Machine ever from Dell

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have liked the customer service with Dell and their technical support. This hardware has been amazing experience for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CBB2014
(Lenoir, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome desktop!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upgraded to the XPS8700 from a 2006 XPS and what a difference! I thought my old computer was fast but this thing flies! If you are considering the XPS8700 for yourself you cannot go wrong - awesome computer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18