Customer reviews for XPS 8500

XPS 8500

XPS 8500
4.462 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 669 reviews
5 Stars
464
4 Stars
128
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
22
1 Star
28
4.5
 / 
5
(669 reviews) 624
606 out of 66991%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8500
Review 21 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JWPC
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJuly 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried to download software for my new Canon printer and had to take the XPS 8500 to the repair shop because it would not download software but would not even clear screen of a failure to download operators manual--I still haven't been able to operate my printer yet because I don't want to go through hauling it back to erase everything and start over--very disappointed because I had such faith in Dell that I threw the box away so I was unable to return it
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 13, 2012
Hello JWPC,

Sorry to hear that you are not having a great out-of-box experience with the XPS 8500. It sounds like there may be compatibility issue with the Cannon printer and Windows 7. I would advise checking the Windows 7 Compatibility checker:
http://bit.ly/qfFMyY

While we do offer a 21 day return policy (
http://dell.to/nxI7mb), if you continue to have concerns, I would advise that you reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I am hoping that we can turn this around for you.

Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RLMD
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

RLMD

PostedJuly 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Am in the process of having my XPS8500 desktop replaced for the second time. First one delivered didn't work at all, 2nd one only worked for 2 weeks...
Tech on the phone also asked me to take the computer apart... pretty bad when they don't seem to have a tech available and want you to fix your own computer. Won't buy Dell again regardless of how the 3rd replacement turns out.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 6, 2012
RLMD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the XPS 8500. I am sorry to hear it has not been a pleasant one. I am used to hearing all good things about the 8500. I am hoping the new system will take care of your current issue. All of our service contracts require over the phone troubleshooting. This is in an attempt to isolate your particular issue by sending out, only the part you need.

If you require further assistance, please try reaching out to our Dellcares team. You can contact them on Twitter (@DellCares), and they can take a look at your order history and offer you some assistance.
If you don't have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell's Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/wPdrET

A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide her name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

I hope this information was helpful!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:trumpet37
Title:

Lot's of problems

PostedJuly 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been running win xp for years. I just began getting products that would not run in cp so had to go up to Win 7. Since you can't upgrade from xp to 7, I decided to get another Dell PC and choose this one.
It came, and I got it running. Still have not been able to upload my xp info. Many problems with the PC and Win 7. Can't find anyone at Dell to address the problems to. No support like I had back in 2007 with my Inspiron.
Considering sending the whole thing back.
Very unhappy and dissapointed.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 6, 2012
@trumpet37 – Sorry to hear that you are not having a great out-of-box experience with the XPS 8500. I know it can be frustrating to have to make a change from one OS to another, especially if it is not working as intended.

You can use Windows Easy Transfer utility to migrate files and settings from your Windows XP system to your new Windows 7 system. The following link will have a video to explain Easy Transfer and the transfer download is also available on the same page for your convenience:
http://bit.ly/ILf1jc

If the Windows Easy Transfer does not solve your concerns, you can always reach out to our Social Support Team directly. The will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarkDW
(Palm Desert California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

If it's not correct Dell needs to fix it!

PostedJune 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
My online purchase was okay, however; when the product arrived the three-year anti-virus program I pre-paid would not load. I had a message popping-up consistantly warning me my trial anti-virus was about to expire. Since nobody at Dell responded to fix my problem, I had to spend an additional $59 on a one-year subscription to protect my computer.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 2, 2012
MarkDW,

I am very sorry to hear that you had difficulties installing your anti-virus software. I encourage you to contact one of our Support Teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Here we can further assist you.

Thank you for choosing Dell.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Brett789321
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Problems from the start

PostedJune 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Motherboard issue right out of the box. Had to spend lots of time with technical support to narrow down the issue. Clearly no testing was done and I was shipped a faulty unit. As a long time dell owner (2 laptops and 2 desktops) I find this insulting.
Pros:internet browsing, video streaming, Gaming
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 25, 2012
Brett789321,

I am terribly sorry to hear you had issues right out of the box. I assure you all systems go through a test and burn process. Things can be jarred loose at the factory or during shipping. I am glad our support could get you back on track and I hope this does not sway your long standing opinion of Dell in the future.

Thank you for sharing your experience with your XPS-8500.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BillinIllinois
(IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Miss the Options to Customize

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Being a long time, satisfied Dell customer, I was looking for a new computer for my spouse. I was greatly surprised (and disappointed) to see that Dell has eliminated the ability to fully customize their newer 8500 line. Last year I purchased an XPS 9100 and loaded it up with 24gb of RAM, a second hard drive, the fastest video card at the time, etc. Yes, that's overkill for most uses, but it works for me. Now you can only upgrade to 16gb of RAM on the 8500. I was also able to buy a Recovery Disc with that system, but I don't see that as an option with the 8500. Based upon these upgrade limitations, I may have to consider the Alienware systems if I want to continue to order from Dell...which I do.
I would like to say that in addition to my XPX 9100 machine (an awesome piece of hardware with ZERO problems since early 2011) my spouse still uses a Dell Dimension 8100 that I purchased at least 10 years ago. It still runs well and runs MS Office just fine. I've upgraded a few parts on the 8100, but it's been a great machine with no major problems. Bottom line, I will buy from Dell because of the quality and service I've experienced over the past decade, but I will probably have to look at the Alienware systems to get what I really want.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 18, 2012
Hello BillinIllinois,

Thank you for taking the time to review the XPS 8500! I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying your new desktop! I do understand your desire to want to customize your new system and load it down with all the goodies (I am the same way). Currently, this system offers up to 16GB of RAM; up to a 2TB hard drive; and several graphics cards options. These specs do tend to cover the majority of users, and for those that are in need of higher specifications, we do offer after the point of sale components to upgrade as well as the next step up in systems, which is Alienware.

In regards to purchasing recovery discs, this system will include DataSafe 2.0 Local, which allows you to create your own recovery discs or USB key and restore your computer back to its original factory settings. There is a second partition on each hard drive that contains the contents of a recovery disc as well. If by chance you do not create discs and cannot access the hard drive on your system to use the partition, you can now request a one-time set of backup discs from Tech Support.

We are always looking for feedback to improve upon our products and services and we appreciate your feedback.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Motsimoto
Title:

Died within 48 hrs.

PostedJune 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is suppose to be the Ferrari from Dell. And it broke down within 48 hrs of arrival at my home. Don't know what else I can say.
Pros:home business
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 15, 2012
Hello Motsimoto,

We apologize that your XPS 8500 out-of-box experience was not perfect. I understand that this must be very frustrating for you. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct this situation.

Please contact our Social Support Team to be assisted promptly. The will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:shnjohns
Title:

BIGGEST PIECE OF TRASH

PostedJune 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
When your not having hardware problems you are going to have software problems. There are NO PRO'S to this computer. The first week I had the computer I had to replace my harddrive, Three months later I had to replace my hard drive, motherboard and power source. And now a few months after a total rebuild I am having software problems, they told me that I need to purchase system mechanic and it would fix the problem. Twenty calls later still having problem
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 28, 2012
shnjohns,

I am sorry to hear that you have not had a very good experience with your Dell system. As it turns out, the system you are referring to is the XPS 8300, not the XPS 8500 which has only been available for a few weeks.

We are always trying to improve all of our products and services, so thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are here and we are listening. Please feel free to reach out to any of our Technical Support teams at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
+13points
22of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:123harv
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

USB or win 8.1 problems

PostedJune 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two Hitachi 3TB external HDDs which work fine when attached to my XPS laptop running win 7 pro, but when I attach them to the XPS desktop they are not added to the devices list. Using device manager it shows no partition or sectors on the hard drives. When I try to add devices using the USB ports I often get 'insufficient usb resources...' Each USB is supposed to connect to 127 devices, yet several ports fail at adding ONE device and this is after having the mother board replaced. The only way for me to transfer files from the Hitachi drives is to network to the laptop and transfer that way, but transferring 40+MB photo files at several minutes per transfer is totally unacceptable. So,for my needs the XPS 8500 was an expensive mistake.
Cons:usb system is terribly flawed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kevin68
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Too many failures

PostedApril 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I was happy with the computer I ordered. It arrived in a decent amount of time, and worked. Windows 8 took some getting used to at first, but it was a good item. Then just around the point I had owned it for a year, everything started to fail. The sound card quit working and was no longer recognized by the system. Next to go was the wireless modem. Finally the hard drive crashed. The Dell backup system never worked. Everytime I tried to create a system recovery disk, or backup the system, the program would crash.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:daverich282
(Madison, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

So Far, Not So Good

PostedJune 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here's the problem with me writing this. I haven't had a chance to get a lot of experience with this computer yet, and that's a big part of the problem. I have had many issues that have prevented me from even being able to use the computer, including shutting down on its own (after a blue screen according to my son, that part was not verified, but I believe him), then it wouldn't boot up at all, and the most common problem I have with it is that intermittently, when the computer wakes up, the monitor claims that there's no cable connected. I have contacted technical services, and (mostly directed by them) have had to do 5 hard resets on my brand new computer! Oh and it's still happening. I was actually considering making another purchase from Dell before this, but now am considering sending back the initial computer itself! I think this is a ridiculous problem to have on a brand new computer, especially one that is somewhat higher end. I haven't gotten to the point where I will tell people specifically not to go with Dell, but I cannot in good conscience recommend them anymore.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 19, 2013
Hey Daverich282,

Sorry to hear about your issue with the XPS 8500 desktop. Please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ontario
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

First poor experience with Dell

PostedJune 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have purchased around 6 Dell computers in the last 10 years. This is the first negative experience. Maybe there is an issue with quality control, but this computer refuses to start many times, giving me a message that I have to go back to a previous state, where one user account drops off. In general, it is much much slower than a no-name computer that I aslo have. It's even slower than my old Dell running windows XP which we bought about 7 years ago and runs the same programmes. I wish I had returned it within the 30 day return window.
Cons:really slow., refuses to start up on many occassions.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 5, 2013
Hello Ontario,

First, thank you for being a long-time Dell customer. I am terribly sorry to hear your latest experience has not been up to your expectations. You know from your experience, this is not what you should have expected. Make sure you reach out to our Dellcares team, not only can they diagnose your system, they may be able to help, if other steps are needed.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)


I know they can help!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AkiraDell
(Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

A misleading product - It does not live up to your desires

PostedMay 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off all, after 2 months of having this product I can say with 99% certainty that I do not fancy Windows 8 and find it odd I could not order Windows 7, just a minor detail.
-- Advantages:
It is not that expensive and it feels really quick while running basic programs such as your internet browser.
-- Disadvantages:
The graphics card and other hardware, are REALLY LOW BUDGET. You can't play games such as Skyrim or GTA, you can forget about that. Secondly, it has a nasty habit of stuttering to adjust its performances, even while you are looking a video, so you will have to rewind a few times.
-- Conclusion:
All in all, you will feel happy with the purchase untill you realise that it is low budget hardware - Not the mention I had to wait a few weeks before I even received my product.
Do not believe the countless reviews on this site - Copy&Paste the Hardware into Google and read actual reviews about it! It is Low Budget!
Pros:it feels quick - if you don't play games
Cons:low budget hardware
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 30, 2013
Hey AkiraDell!

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences about the XPS 8500 desktop! I just wanted to point out that as of today (5/31/13) you can choose a build with Windows 7 pre-installed. These two Windows 7 builds are on the second page of the 8500 customization page. I feel that these desktops come with great features like on-board RAID, 460 Watt PSU, SATA III, S/PDIF, 32GB memory capacity and more! Naturally if you want the premium gaming experience, you are going to want the top of the line video card as well. This is a great system to use before making the dive into the Alienware lineup, including the Aurora R4 powerhouse.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:roadbiker
(Powder Springs, GA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Windows 8 or XPS???

PostedApril 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had my XPS8500 since December and it has been nothing but problematic. I was using an Inspiron with Windows 7 and it was fine, but I need more performance to run Adobe Lightroom and for photography and some video editing programs and the Inspiron just couldn't handle it. I "upgraded" to the XPS8500 with Windows 8 and high hopes that it would be the performer that I hoped for. I was sadly disappointed.
Right from the start I was having problems with the PC not turning on. I would activate the power button and it would act as if it were starting, and then would shut down. 80% of the time I had to hit the power button twice to get it to start. I also found that I was constantly having to restart it, and sometimes it wouldn't restart on its own unless I made a cold shut down and start up. Dell sent a tech over and he replaced the CPU and the Power Supply. That solved the power-related problems, but this PC is plagued with issues causing me to repeatedly restart it. I have already refreshed the system once, and that is a pain in the you know what. When you do this, it restores the PC back to factory settings and you lose all of your programs and user data. Even though I had everything backed-up, it is a major inconvenience and there are certain user-specific setting that are not restored.
Internet Explorer is a particular frustration. I think that many of the issues that I am having may be OS related, but I regularly hear the drive moaning and huming as if it is strained.
I will have to say that the Dell support is very on top of it. Once the call was opened, they are very diligent about following up and trying to resolve the issue. I wish they were in the USA rather than India, however.
My problem right now is that they want me to refresh the drive again, which I really do not want to do. I think I'd be happier downgrading the OS to Windows 7. On the other hand, I have been advised that Microsoft will soon be releasing an update to Win8, so I am hopeful that will resolve the OS issues and fix the behavior of Internet Explorer.
If I were to do it again, I would probably get a different PC (a Dell) with Windows 7 running on it.
Pros:lots of memory, lots of disk space, easy to set up, integtrated wi-fi
Cons:windows 8, internet explorer, loud drives
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 17, 2013
Hello roadbiker,

Sorry to hear you had so many issues with your 8500. I too am waiting for a Windows 8 update for a couple changes. If you run into any other issues, make sure you reach out to our Dellcares team. They have support methods, conventional Technical Support cannot do.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thanks for sharing!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:3DRenderer
(Las Vegas, NV, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

its ok

PostedMarch 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
soon as i got the computer I have been getting the blue screen of death! I have upgraded the Bios to the current and still have problems with the AMD graphics card crashing it crashes atleast 5 times a day! Not pleased with it. its hard to Run a Graphics business with a computer that keeps crashing while you are in the middle of a job. the processor is great for 3D renderings one positive thing about it!
Pros:great intel processor
Cons:graphics card crashes
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewMarch 18, 2013
Hello 3DRenderer,

Sounds like the XPS 8500 is taylor made for you and your needs. I am sorry to hear you ran into issues. Please contact Technical Support so they can get that system working perfectly for you.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Hope they can help!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Misfire
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hardware: Too few USB connections. Unable to use all video and sound connections. Seems so slow for i7 processor with 16G RAM. Harddrive performance is lowest performance indicator at 5.9. No FAX modem available from Dell for cable modem phone connection. 2003 Dell Dimension XP Pro with 3G P4 and 4G RAM worked FAX just fine.
Software: Windows 8 is hard to use with PC. The OS is hard to use on PC with mouse, is slow and seems poorly fitted to PC user with 20 years experience with everything from Commadore 64 to Windows 7. Windows 8 is likely to set back PC manufacturers and drive more sales of other OS computers. OS has all sorts of instructions for remote control user! If the low level OS can know my hardware how come the UI can't? Old software bugs from Vista day still present, e,g. Mouse Trails on means disappearing mouse in in Media Center. No help available for Media Center and Windows Defender Firewall problems so if you want to watch or record turn off the firewall - both are from Microsoft and seems the two are not compatible. The 2003 XP Pro has MS Security Essentials and NPVR for watching and recording and the firewall rules were easily trained, not so in Windows 8 with Windows Media Center.
Pros:i'm still trying to think of one...., i can probably sell it at a good price i7 16g
Cons:i actually paid money for this bad experience, no telephone connection, absolutely lousy os
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 26, 2013
Hello Misfire,

I am sorry to see that the XPS 8500 did not surpass your expectations. If you need more than 10 USB ports, there are USB hubs such as this one (
http://dell.to/YClKBR) that can give you an additional 3 ports if you need. A fax modem is less common place nowadays, but we do offer adapters (http://dell.to/105LSDT) if you need a 56K modem on your system.

I understand that Windows 8 is a big change from previous version of the operating system. We do have some support information on Windows 8 that provide more information. You can find helpful videos, tutorials and even a "Free Windows 8 for Dummies E-Book" that you can download to help you with the new User Experience with Windows 8. This may have some tips to help with the transition.

Windows 8 Tutorial Videos:
http://dell.to/PSe0Kw
Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dm1943
Title:

Disappointed at delivery

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Been a long-time Dell owner - love 'em, but was disappointed this time around. When I opened the box and took out the computer I noticed several things. The first may not be a problem, but it is different than previous purchases. There was nothing in the box but the computer, driver disk, keyboard, and mouse. I'm used to getting several other things: Warranty info, setup guide, Operating system backup disk (one was sent after I mentioned it with problem 2). If this is the new method of delivery - so be it; but I was a bit disappointed.
The next thing I noticed was that the case was out of alignment. There was a 1/4 gap between the front piece and the rest of the case. While I was looking at that, I noticed a piece of metal/plastic jammed in one of the top USB ports. I was going to take the cover off and realign it, but decided to call tech support to let them know of the problem. The first guy I talked to about the plastic in the port said that it was because I did not order a monitor. With the help of the second tech guy, I took off the side, front and top of cabinet. When I took of the front piece, one of the clips broke. The USB port plastic fell out and it was time to put the case back on. The front piece only took 15 minutes. They sent me a new one. Now only one side has a gap.
Many crashes during early use. Several a day until today. This morning I could not go 10 seconds without the black screen of death. Upon the last restart, I was asked to perform one of several functions. I did the Windows refresh, lost my installed software, but since then I've had no problems. Since I got the computer, I have had one memory error, one procedure where the memory was checked, and today's windows refresh.
Not happy, but...I still have it.
Pros:home/small business
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 15, 2013
Hey dm1943,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Dell XPS 8500.

As you mentioned, new systems from Dell do not ship with as much as information as they used to, but all of this information is easily accessible online. This is an effort to be more environmentally conscience.

You can learn all about your warranty here: dell.to/VI1kqt
Backup disk information can be found here: dell.to/8Qqoz6
You can view all manuals and setup guides here: dell.to/X23cG9

I am glad that the XPS 8500 was working at the time of your post, and I hope that it continues to run smoothly. I understand that it can be frustrating when your computer does not function correctly.

If you ever have any other technical questions or concerns, you can reach out to one of our Online Support Teams and we can find a best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for being a loyal Dell customer, and I hope that we can continue being your first choice into the future.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Meh1799
Title:

Unhappy customer

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro
XPS8500 overall performance and value.
Con
The issue I have is with the video card and not XPS8500.
XPS8500 came with an AMD Radeon HD 7570 video card installed. The card was Dell’s recommendation. Although, the monitor resolution was set to 1920X1080 (HD) but the resolution through the HDMI port was poor. The picture and characters were very grainy and there was a black one inch border around the screen. I spent about 12 hours searching, reading and installing and uninstalling every possible video drivers for my video card. I checked previous reviews on XPS 8500 and AMD Radeon HD 7570 video card published on Dell and AMD websites. I Googled any related issues with AMD Radeon HD 7000 series video card. The link http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3515/p/19466532/20184709.aspx#20184709 on Dell websites very closely resembled my issue with the video card. Nothing worked to get rid of the graininess of the pictures/characters and the black border.
Since the video card has a DVI and an HDMI port, I connected the DVI port to my monitor. The resolution was incredible. I then decided to connect both the DVI and the HDMI to my monitor DVI and HDMI ports as monitor 1 and monitor 2. The HDMI display was still grainy. Nothing could help despite several total drivers uninstall, and reinstall and many reboots in between. I finally, gave up and decided to use the DVI port and routed the sound through the main board audio.
I contacted Dell to report the issue with the video card. The support person was cordial. He asked several question to make sure I knew what I was doing however, Dell could not resolve the issues and asked me to return the computer to Dell. This would have taken me many hours of backing up my personal files to a different computer, a total erase of my data and I had to redo everything when I get a new PC. Also, I had to arrange with software companies to transfer the licenses from the XPS8500 being returned to the new XPS8500. Due to the amount of time required to return the PC, this option was not acceptable to me. Dell did not offer me any other solution to resolve my issue.
Pros:home use, video, Gaming
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steve3256
Title:

Windows 8? I think not

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good desktop, but the odd new file system format with windows 8 is bad for everyone, yay, now you need to get a new printer, and nothing you used before works, Microsoft forced another operating system onto its customers through their hardware vendors. Pffft
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 3, 2013
Hello steve3256,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the XPS 8500. We are sorry to hear that your experience has not been a positive one. This is certainly not the experience that we intend for our customers.


Our systems that ship with Windows 8 also come pre-installed with a “Getting Started with Windows App” available on the Start Screen, to teach some of the basics of Windows 8. You might also find the Support information and tutorials that we have on Windows 8 on our Dell Community Forums helpful.

• Windows 8 Tutorial Videos
http://dell.to/TlrIBo

• Windows 8 FAQ's:
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk

You can also contact our Online Support Teams. They will be able to gather more in-depth information to assist you in this matter. They do have the same capabilities as our Phone Support, but through social media outlets; and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues.

• Online Support Teams Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/pYZ8vP); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that we can get this resolved for you and restore your faith in our products. Thank you for sharing and have a great day!
--Gina

+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jkatsuda
(Honolulu)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedDecember 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
First couple of weeks was great! Then, began to get black screens, graphics darkening.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 31, 2012
jkatsuda,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell XPS 8500!

I encourage you to reach out to one of our online Social Media Support Teams as soon as possible because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.
• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks again, have a great day!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 32