Customer reviews for XPS 8500

XPS 8500

XPS 8500
4.469 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 667 reviews
5 Stars
464
4 Stars
128
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
20
1 Star
28
4.5
 / 
5
(667 reviews) 622
606 out of 66791%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8500
Review 341 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dashwood
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent computer, very fast performance. I bought this PC for gaming, and I'm not disapointed. Exactly what i wanted.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 342 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:liz30340
Title:

My new PC

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROs
I have always purchased the Optiplex line for users at work and was hesitant to buy the XPS, but I am really happy with it. It is fast and reliable.
CONs
I did not remember that the new computers do not have parallel ports for older printers so I had to purchase a new printer. I also use dual monitors so I was only able to get one DVI connection. The other monitor uses VGA. You can really tell the difference.
Pros:email, office suite, photshop
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 343 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Memphomaniac
Title:

Awesome computer

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the XPS 8500 with the Bluray player to go in my living room as part of my entertainment system. I absolutely love this thing. From the convient location of the media reader, to the start up speed. The blu-ray works great. Out of the box it was easy to set up. Its only been a few weeks , but if the performance does not change, I will be totally satisfied. The online sales staff was very helpful and knowledgable as well. I recomend XPS8500 if you want an all around great performing system.
Pros:internet, home office, Gaming, entertainment
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 344 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SIMFLT1
(new jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

XPS XTRA SPECIAL

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
MY EXPERIENCE WITH XPS IS OVER 10yr. I could throw anything at it insofar as simulation.The xps 600 was perfect.
This machine has been a 747-400 simulator, 99& real
I had over 150,000 files which included Scenery Weather, Aircraft manuals, Aircraft Systems, full Navigation Maping, Real Traffic, Voice communications, Controls systems,it did all proceedures easily and effectivily. Had two massive color cards. I liked what I experienced.
For 2012, I decided to maintan the same simulator, so hence the Dell 8500. The machine fit the job I had planned, and I look forward to the next Ten years of excellent operation.I'm 72 with 30yrs a Dell man and still running strong.
Pros:flight sim 9
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 345 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jacqui
Title:

XPS 8500

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased the XPS 8500 to upgrade from a Dell Dimensions 2400. This computer is awesome. It's fast, quiet, and does so much. I am still learning all that it is capable of doing. It was easy to set-up, transfer files, and customer service reps go above and beyond their call of duty. I've been a Dell loyal customer for 8 years, and I've enever had a problem w/any of their products. I would highly reccomend this desktop.
Pros:word processing, artwork editing creating downloads etc., excel spreadsheets, internet email social media music downloads, pdf files
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 346 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kay9835
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very pleased with my new XPS 8500 desktop. I frequently have many applications open at once, with at least a couple of them actually "doing work" simultaneously, so I really appreciate the speed of this processor.
Pros:everyday tasks (e-mail etc), software development, photo processing/storage/organizing, web site development/maintenace, music editing/storage/organizing
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 347 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JackoWacko
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

My Dell desktop

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this computer! It has a ton of space & is super fast. I love that we were able to hook it up to a T.V so I have a nice huge screen :) The only real con of this is that it doesn't come in pink!
Pros:internet, photos, movies, Gaming
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 348 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cmills3
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

XPS 8500 REVIEW

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 8500 basically set itself up. True plug and play. It connected both the ethernet and wireless with no assist.
The Hotspot application is a great add-on.
I have purschased Dell desktops and laptops for over 10 years and will continue to be a loyal Dell user.
Pros:home office, work interface, entertainment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 349 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ComputerNewb
Title:

Definately a great computer investment

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros.
-I did not know what computer to pick because there are some many of them, so I spoke with a dell representative and he suggested this model. He understood what I needed and expected from a desktop.
-Computer is extremely fast, computer start up time is less than 1 minute
-Visual graphics are amazing
-No lag when switching between many open windows (alt-tab)
-I initially had an issue with my internet speed where it was extremely slow after I received the computer. The dell support team gave great customer service, showed tremendous patience,assisted in resolving my issue and followed up the next day to see if an issues lingered. In the end, it was my ISP modem that was giving me the trouble and not the computer itself.
Cons.
-I use 2 monitors when on my desktop. After I received and setup the computer, I found out that a dual monitor cable was not included with the computer. The ports on the video card are very close to each other(1 HDMI and 1 DVI). I used a VGA to DVI converter for 1 monitor and the converter takes up space, so instead of using a DVI to HDMI converter. I needed to buy a new DVI to HDMI cable, suggested by the dell customer service, for the other monitor.
Pros:web surfing, Gaming, multi-tasking
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 350 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MargeD
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Love it!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 8500 I bought is awesome! I was looking for a dual dvi 1-2g graphics card, I ended up with a graphics card I couldn't find a lot of information on, but the ports are one DVI and one HDMI. The ports are so close I couldn't even use an adapter, I had to find an hdmi cable that could convert to dvi to be able to use both monitors. Other than that, I LOVE my system! It's fast, has a LOT of usb ports, both v2 and v3. It's great!
Pros:music and video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 351 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dsilver
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The computer and accessories arrived in a short amount of time. I don't really need to computer for anything but classwork and internet and it's been great so far. It's super fast and I haven't had any problems.
Pros:internet, schoolwork
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 352 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cz59
(GEORGIA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 8500 i7

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is my third personal computer purchased from Dell over the years. It replaces my ten year old Dell Dimension 8250 which has become a storage and print server.
My XPS 8500 has taken over the 8250's duties for fun, financials, browsing and for FPGA and a little software development from home.
While I miss having my old non-USB laser printer close at hand, the number of simultaneous tasks and no waiting provided by the solid state primary disk and i7 processors more than make up for the inconvenience.
Pros:browsing web, financial analysis, fpga development and simulation, fun
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 353 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Dartmouth, NS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great product, great service!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received the product earlier than expected, customer service was amazing. My PC came perfectly packaged, set up was almost automatic, the first time ever that a plug and play product worked as advertised. Performance is awesome! Even though I did not get the SSHD start up takes less than a minute, and when I put the computer to Sleep, start up is less than 15 seconds!
Pros:work as a translator, surfing the net video streaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 354 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeanMcG
(Minnesota, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fast machine

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My new XPS looks nice and performs so much better than the few years old machine I am replacing. Nice to have something well made that looks good and performs well.
Pros:home banking, software development, internet browsing, movie watching
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 355 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kpandtp
Title:

Best desktop I owned!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this to replace a relatively new HP Pavilion i5 based desktop that had given me intermittent problems that escaped any solution.
At first receipt of the XPS 8500 I had a mysterious lockup. The next few days it happened again. To make a long story short, DELL replaced the motherboard on suspicion that it could have been the problem. Service was fast and professional, and I have upgraded the computer with an SSD and additional memory, all without a hitch. It has been fast and totally problem free since the repair.
Pros
Easy to upgrade, excellent documentation, fast, runs cool. Lots of USB 3.0 ports!
Cons
Only one SATA III port, with the others (3) SATA II.
Pros:photo editing internet research
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 356 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ShawnEi
(Salt Lake City, Utah)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

I knew this computer was going to be great!

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I knew this computer was going to be great! I just did not know how awesome it was until I started to use it. I have had several high intensity CPU applications running and not a hint of degradation. The components are the latest, allowing me the availability to utilize USB 3.0 or Bluetooth 4.0. I am also not concerned if any new application will work with my computer. I know I have a computer that is well built and do what I need now, and into the future!
Pros:Video Editing, data conversion
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 357 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DesignChick
Title:

One happy customer! = )

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great computer and I am very happy with it's multi-tasking capabilities. I can run several Adobe design software products simultaneously with no trouble at all. Can't even tell the computer is running it's so effortless! I would highly recommend the Dell XPS 8500. My last computer, a Dell XPS 400 went strong for nearly 8 years!!! The transition from the XP operating system to Windows 7 is a dream come true. (I am so glad I missed Vista!)
My only criticism would be that the computer came with MacAfee Security pre-installed and it I could not uninstall it without help from Dell support. It gave me some firewall issues as far as browsing the internet properly. I will say, however, that Dell support was incredible; friendly and efficient! Had my issues solved in less than an hour - all online! They even recommended a great program to keep my system running smoothly, eliminating spyware and other issues that may arise.
I would definately recommend this computer, and Dell in general, based on my own personal history with their products and support.
Pros:graphic design work, streaming video
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 358 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:artdepartment
(So. california)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

speedy n reliable

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a speedy reliable computer for our graphic arts dept and I needed it fast. We had a problem with our MAC and my art dept said once that thing goes they want to switch back to PC, specifically a Dell. I had it in their office in less than 48 hours. I need to order another Dell this week!
Pros:graphics, data entry
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 359 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fineartvideo
(Tequesta, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Blazing Fast iMac Smoker!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My main use for this machine is editing high definition video. After using an iMac and FCP, I got frustrated with the hours of time it was taking to transfer all my AVCHD files to Quicktime first, then having to do a time consuming second render just to preview the video so I could begin editing. Then, a third rendering process to create the master file and a fourth rendering process to create the final DVD. For a one hour project, this involves nearly 24 hours of rendering time!
The DELL XPS allows me to drop my AVCHD files directly into the VEGAS editing timeline and begin editing as soon as the files arer copied tot he hard drive (about four minutes for one hour of video). There is no secondary rendering process needed, so I can start editing in five minutes as opposed to five hours on the iMac.
The DELL blazes through the final DVD rendering in under an hour for a one hour program as opposed to nearly 16 hours for the iMac. Plus, I didn't have to convert my files three times, so the finished DVD looks better than the finished DVD on the iMac made from the exact same source files.
From start to finish, my one hour video DVD took over 24 hours on the iMac, and under two hours on the DELL XPS. I can pass that 22 hours of savings on to my clients in less cost to them,
Pros:Video Editing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 360 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Raven44
(Alexandria, VA)

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:personal and home office
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 16 17 18 19 20 ... 32