Customer reviews for XPS 8500

XPS 8500

XPS 8500
4.461 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 683 reviews
5 Stars
475
4 Stars
128
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
22
1 Star
29
4.5
 / 
5
(683 reviews) 638
618 out of 68390%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8500
Review 1 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

The Right Choice

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has continued to keep pace with staying ahead of the competition from a product side and customer service perspective. A combination that hard to beat..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

XPS 8500.... A GREAT Product

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This powerhouse of a computer satisfies every home need. Blazing fast with an I7 processor complete with many extras that were ordered to build this magnificent unit, we have all enjoyed this Dell product and will continue to utilize Dell for our technology needs. Thank you for creating a great product which has evolved with over time to compliment any household environment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

xps 8500

PostedDecember 28, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
this machine has never worked proper from the begining and with win 10 it is even more concerns
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

it is fast

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm working with GIS and Remote sensing softwares and it fulfill all my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Hard Disk Crash

PostedDecember 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only two years old and the hard disk crashed resulting me having to replace the drive reinstall all software. Took me two days to einstall software and recover my data.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

XPS 8500 Special Edition

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great value in a PC. Pretty good for most games, and excellent for productivity. Great experience with this computer over the years we've owned it. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Very pleased

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a few problems at first with errors that resulted in a restart but I believe that it was caused by Windows 8 bugs. I downloaded System Mechanic from Dell and am most impressed with the results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

With Windows 8.1 plus mod

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I was looking for a new computer, I wanted to build a muti media beast. I did my reseach because I wanted to find a good base to build out from. I picked Dell because I had a list in my head, you guys click ALL the boxes. It also helped that every time I went out some part that i was going to add was on sale.
It came with Windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

xps8500

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought new with win7, just upgraded to win10. No problems, system is very fast and I have NO problems. Just as it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

8500 XPS

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had very problems with the 8500. Most issuses with the unit came from Microsoft updates not the unit itself. Most of the CPU's I have bought from have lasted 12 to 15 years before failing. The money for this unit was well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

brilliant machine!

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
have owned this machine for 3.5 years - solid build quality, lightning fast performance (SSD), great reliability -(the only repair that has ever been needed is CD-ROM drive replacement and Dell support were excellent) - and have just upgraded to Win 10 with no problems at all, notwithstanding that Dell advised that this model was not being tested for Win 10. Dell remain the best in my book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Experiece with Dell XPS 8500

PostedSeptember 22, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had an excellent experience with my Dell XPS 8500! I have had no major problems out of it and I've owned it going on 3 years now! Dell and Mac are the only two computers that I will probably ever purchase for my own personal use or business related. HP computers are not bad but they cannot out do a Dell as far as speed! Dell are great computers and I deal with Mac's also because I am definitely a IPhone fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Hardware, Dell System Detect, and other Dell 'Support' software.

PostedJune 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
In 3 years have had BSD 7 times, Dell System Detect - does not detect 'recommended' drivers even after theirvinstallation/updates.Dell System Detect requires a certain procedure to actually begin to 'detect' a 'Signed-in customers computer'. Requires redownloading the 'already installed' Detect software to detect your system. What happened to install, set it and forget it, except when ones system really requires driver 'current/latest' update(s). I have had mouse 'freezing' problems that have required me to literally shut down my computer/restart to continue using it!I have had to replace my hard drive 2 times in less than 3years, due to the failure of each since November 2012. 1st hard drive failed in 12 months. Today is 6 months short of my Dell 3 Year Warranty which is 'Excellent' has been at getting me my replacement hard drives to me within 3 to 5 days each time. Dell Update does not update other than itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Mercer Island, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great features and great refurbished price

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Dell certified refurbished unit from Eritech Intl and I must say this is a lot of machine for the refurbishment money. My configuration is 2GB HDD, 24GB RAM, 256GB mSDD, AMD 7770 Video Card with W8 Pro and I love it. Power, speed, quiet, capacity, it just has it all. If you can get one refurbished buy it. Amazon has 3 new XPS 8500 of my same config with a different video card for $1850 but that price will continue to drop as they do not sell keep your eyes out for that and buy more for less.
Pros:power, speed, quiet, hdd and msdd, usb 3.0, bt 4
Cons:few usb 3.0, weak wifi card
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

USB or win 8.1 problems

PostedJune 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two Hitachi 3TB external HDDs which work fine when attached to my XPS laptop running win 7 pro, but when I attach them to the XPS desktop they are not added to the devices list. Using device manager it shows no partition or sectors on the hard drives. When I try to add devices using the USB ports I often get 'insufficient usb resources...' Each USB is supposed to connect to 127 devices, yet several ports fail at adding ONE device and this is after having the mother board replaced. The only way for me to transfer files from the Hitachi drives is to network to the laptop and transfer that way, but transferring 40+MB photo files at several minutes per transfer is totally unacceptable. So,for my needs the XPS 8500 was an expensive mistake.
Cons:usb system is terribly flawed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Too many failures

PostedApril 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I was happy with the computer I ordered. It arrived in a decent amount of time, and worked. Windows 8 took some getting used to at first, but it was a good item. Then just around the point I had owned it for a year, everything started to fail. The sound card quit working and was no longer recognized by the system. Next to go was the wireless modem. Finally the hard drive crashed. The Dell backup system never worked. Everytime I tried to create a system recovery disk, or backup the system, the program would crash.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Cottage Grove, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Desktop for Family Use

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We use our desktop for email, internet browsing, banking (database), word processing, spreadsheets and hobby photography and video. This desktop was a reasonable price for the power it has. We have been very pleased so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Phoenix, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Quality Computer

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I keep Dells for a long time, and have always had great experiences in owning them. This computer is no different. Recommended for cost and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Daly City, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This PC is very fast on the boot-up

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased a XPS 8700 PC with Windows 7 operating system, a Seagate 1TB backup drive, a 23 inch monitor, and Windows Office 2013. This PC is very fast compared to what I had previously.
I had a minor problem with the installation, but the Dell Service Support was superb in resolving it. I would recommend this product to all.
Pros:fast on boot up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Product

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very happy with the out of box set-up process. It did not have extra software I did not want. It started up and is the fastest computer we have owned. Very happy with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32