Customer reviews for XPS 8500

XPS 8500

XPS 8500
4.456 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 689 reviews
5 Stars
478
4 Stars
129
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
22
1 Star
30
4.5
 / 
5
(689 reviews) 644
623 out of 68990%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8500
Review 1 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

MY XPS 8500

PostedApril 15, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
This isnt the first computer I have bought from dell..Buts it been the MOST reliable onbe I have ever owned...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

XPS 8500 User Experience

PostedApril 15, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased an XPS 8500 tower several years ago, for both business and personal use, and I've never been disappointed. It came with Windows-7 and I've recently upgraded to Windows-10. Paired with a large, 22" monitor, and a second internal backup drive, I've loved it... It's consistently fast, responsive, reliable, and easy to configure and use. Nothing not to like...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good but not great (what more can you expect?)

PostedApril 8, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have two XPS 8500's for several years and I've had similar experiences with both. They have both been fine and have performed well until they didn't. Typically, the problems have been software related, meaning Windows 7, but not always. The Windows problem on one computer was great enough that after about 3 years I had to do a clean install, a real annoyance to be sure. On the other computer, I had a hard drive probelm that required that the drive be replaced.
These are problems that are likely to affect all computers after a period of time. There are only two ways to deal with them. 1) Buy a new computer. 2) repair the existing one in hopes of extending its life. For me, buying new computers seemed to be wasting money since the demands of computing have not obsolesced computers as quickly as it used to. So I bought Dell's Pro Support package when the original warranties were expiring and it has been great, so different than it used to be. So my computers are still alive and I expect to get a number of more years use out of them. And when I buy new computers I expect they will be Dell's again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

No Problems, Great Performance, No Worries

PostedMarch 16, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my 8550 for well over two years. As will most Dell products, it does what it says it will do, relentlessly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Never again

PostedMarch 16, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never again shall I pick dell, fo a PC , for I have never had so much trouble with any other computer as I have had with this one. Slip in an an upgrade that I did not want during an system update. Now I have a few program that I can no longer use because they are not comapitible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

A good buy. Plenty of power

PostedMarch 16, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over four years the XPS 8500 has been a great computer to use and rely on. As you know a good operating system helps and it is that which has sometimes been a problem. However the XPS does not slip into glitches because of it. Mine does not have wifi. Probably newer ones do and will benefit from it.
My one complaint is what I have fould with previous Dell systems, the Disc drive cd/dvd/bd Rom loses communication with the system and must be to do with connectivity rather than software as system restoration, even recovery does not repair it. Whether it is due to age or something else I don;t know but it happened with my Dimension and bow the XPS,.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

The Right Choice

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has continued to keep pace with staying ahead of the competition from a product side and customer service perspective. A combination that hard to beat..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

XPS 8500.... A GREAT Product

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This powerhouse of a computer satisfies every home need. Blazing fast with an I7 processor complete with many extras that were ordered to build this magnificent unit, we have all enjoyed this Dell product and will continue to utilize Dell for our technology needs. Thank you for creating a great product which has evolved with over time to compliment any household environment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

xps 8500

PostedDecember 28, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
this machine has never worked proper from the begining and with win 10 it is even more concerns
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

it is fast

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm working with GIS and Remote sensing softwares and it fulfill all my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Hard Disk Crash

PostedDecember 22, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only two years old and the hard disk crashed resulting me having to replace the drive reinstall all software. Took me two days to einstall software and recover my data.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

XPS 8500 Special Edition

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great value in a PC. Pretty good for most games, and excellent for productivity. Great experience with this computer over the years we've owned it. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Very pleased

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a few problems at first with errors that resulted in a restart but I believe that it was caused by Windows 8 bugs. I downloaded System Mechanic from Dell and am most impressed with the results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

With Windows 8.1 plus mod

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I was looking for a new computer, I wanted to build a muti media beast. I did my reseach because I wanted to find a good base to build out from. I picked Dell because I had a list in my head, you guys click ALL the boxes. It also helped that every time I went out some part that i was going to add was on sale.
It came with Windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

xps8500

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought new with win7, just upgraded to win10. No problems, system is very fast and I have NO problems. Just as it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

8500 XPS

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had very problems with the 8500. Most issuses with the unit came from Microsoft updates not the unit itself. Most of the CPU's I have bought from have lasted 12 to 15 years before failing. The money for this unit was well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

brilliant machine!

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
have owned this machine for 3.5 years - solid build quality, lightning fast performance (SSD), great reliability -(the only repair that has ever been needed is CD-ROM drive replacement and Dell support were excellent) - and have just upgraded to Win 10 with no problems at all, notwithstanding that Dell advised that this model was not being tested for Win 10. Dell remain the best in my book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Experiece with Dell XPS 8500

PostedSeptember 22, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had an excellent experience with my Dell XPS 8500! I have had no major problems out of it and I've owned it going on 3 years now! Dell and Mac are the only two computers that I will probably ever purchase for my own personal use or business related. HP computers are not bad but they cannot out do a Dell as far as speed! Dell are great computers and I deal with Mac's also because I am definitely a IPhone fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Hardware, Dell System Detect, and other Dell 'Support' software.

PostedJune 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
In 3 years have had BSD 7 times, Dell System Detect - does not detect 'recommended' drivers even after theirvinstallation/updates.Dell System Detect requires a certain procedure to actually begin to 'detect' a 'Signed-in customers computer'. Requires redownloading the 'already installed' Detect software to detect your system. What happened to install, set it and forget it, except when ones system really requires driver 'current/latest' update(s). I have had mouse 'freezing' problems that have required me to literally shut down my computer/restart to continue using it!I have had to replace my hard drive 2 times in less than 3years, due to the failure of each since November 2012. 1st hard drive failed in 12 months. Today is 6 months short of my Dell 3 Year Warranty which is 'Excellent' has been at getting me my replacement hard drives to me within 3 to 5 days each time. Dell Update does not update other than itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Mercer Island, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great features and great refurbished price

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Dell certified refurbished unit from Eritech Intl and I must say this is a lot of machine for the refurbishment money. My configuration is 2GB HDD, 24GB RAM, 256GB mSDD, AMD 7770 Video Card with W8 Pro and I love it. Power, speed, quiet, capacity, it just has it all. If you can get one refurbished buy it. Amazon has 3 new XPS 8500 of my same config with a different video card for $1850 but that price will continue to drop as they do not sell keep your eyes out for that and buy more for less.
Pros:power, speed, quiet, hdd and msdd, usb 3.0, bt 4
Cons:few usb 3.0, weak wifi card
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33