Customer reviews for XPS 8500

XPS 8500

XPS 8500
4.463 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 670 reviews
5 Stars
465
4 Stars
128
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
22
1 Star
28
4.5
 / 
5
(670 reviews) 625
607 out of 67091%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8500
Review 1 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marques
(Mercer Island, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great features and great refurbished price

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Dell certified refurbished unit from Eritech Intl and I must say this is a lot of machine for the refurbishment money. My configuration is 2GB HDD, 24GB RAM, 256GB mSDD, AMD 7770 Video Card with W8 Pro and I love it. Power, speed, quiet, capacity, it just has it all. If you can get one refurbished buy it. Amazon has 3 new XPS 8500 of my same config with a different video card for $1850 but that price will continue to drop as they do not sell keep your eyes out for that and buy more for less.
Pros:power, speed, quiet, hdd and msdd, usb 3.0, bt 4
Cons:few usb 3.0, weak wifi card
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:123harv
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

USB or win 8.1 problems

PostedJune 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have two Hitachi 3TB external HDDs which work fine when attached to my XPS laptop running win 7 pro, but when I attach them to the XPS desktop they are not added to the devices list. Using device manager it shows no partition or sectors on the hard drives. When I try to add devices using the USB ports I often get 'insufficient usb resources...' Each USB is supposed to connect to 127 devices, yet several ports fail at adding ONE device and this is after having the mother board replaced. The only way for me to transfer files from the Hitachi drives is to network to the laptop and transfer that way, but transferring 40+MB photo files at several minutes per transfer is totally unacceptable. So,for my needs the XPS 8500 was an expensive mistake.
Cons:usb system is terribly flawed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kevin68
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Too many failures

PostedApril 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, I was happy with the computer I ordered. It arrived in a decent amount of time, and worked. Windows 8 took some getting used to at first, but it was a good item. Then just around the point I had owned it for a year, everything started to fail. The sound card quit working and was no longer recognized by the system. Next to go was the wireless modem. Finally the hard drive crashed. The Dell backup system never worked. Everytime I tried to create a system recovery disk, or backup the system, the program would crash.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RedDogGirl
(Cottage Grove, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Desktop for Family Use

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We use our desktop for email, internet browsing, banking (database), word processing, spreadsheets and hobby photography and video. This desktop was a reasonable price for the power it has. We have been very pleased so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:funeshun
(Phoenix, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Quality Computer

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I keep Dells for a long time, and have always had great experiences in owning them. This computer is no different. Recommended for cost and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CaryS
(Daly City, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This PC is very fast on the boot-up

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased a XPS 8700 PC with Windows 7 operating system, a Seagate 1TB backup drive, a 23 inch monitor, and Windows Office 2013. This PC is very fast compared to what I had previously.
I had a minor problem with the installation, but the Dell Service Support was superb in resolving it. I would recommend this product to all.
Pros:fast on boot up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BH8500
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Product

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very happy with the out of box set-up process. It did not have extra software I did not want. It started up and is the fastest computer we have owned. Very happy with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Uller
(Arlington, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 8500 Desktop w/ Windows 8

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Once it arrived, the XPS 8500 was easy to setup and get running. It has good features and has performed well since I have been using it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:creeperreaper306
(Vermont, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Desktop for Student

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great desktop for younger student (10 years old) that needs to do school work and likes to game
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jmgoble12
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The XPS 8500 is overall a great PC

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This PC is great for people looking for an office or home computer. The memory that came with my computer (1TB) is more than I will ever need. The computer lets me run games at high graphic settings like COD or some of the MMO's. Overall great for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:adamecelectric
(Tupelo, MS, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

good deal for the money

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Only been using it for a week & new to win8. Replaced my inspiron with this one for my business. Gotta love this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OldDog10
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Machine

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works great, is fast, has lots of ports. Good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jay79
(Palisades Park, NJ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

xps8500

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
xps is good game system! if you know how to do it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveNH1
(Rye, NH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice high performance machine

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased this XPS 8500 desktop PC to use in my home office to do data analysis and programming tasks. It has 16G of memory so it can handle lots of data, and the Core i7 processor is fast and works well for the types of analysis that I run.
The XPS is a very good high performance machine and I highly recommend it.
Pros:very fast, handles a lot of data
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnnaL1942
(California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great computer at the price point

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great workhorse computer. I use it as a "server", for four other computers and it works great; it's much less expensive than the cost of a dedicated server. I also use a NAS system for data stoarage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:yensen
(Corona, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great features at a bargain

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the second XPS 8500 desktop pc I bought, impressed with the performance of a more powerful configuration of XPS 8500 bought earlier this year. The performance is fast and solid. The option of being able to select Windows 7 OS was a plus. Only wished the previous purchase had the same option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Weezy
(Sioux Falls, SD, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super fast!!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product is super fast and it runs all of my programs flawlessly. I highly recommend this product for people who need power and speed to run specialized software.
Pros:super fast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jtobe30
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The Desktop is definitely NOT dead!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
With 16GB of RAM, 7200 RPM 6 Gb/s hard drive, and an i7 Gen 4 processor... there is no comparison to the speed and cooling capability between this monster and a laptop! The XPS 8500 runs cool and quiet with minimal effort thanks to the large heat sink. I can truly appreciate Win 8 now that I have the performance to match the OS. Don't get me wrong... I love my Dell laptops, but they cannot come close to matching the raw power and agility of this XPS 8500! Now... perfection will be in the form of a stable, 256 GB SSD hard drive upgrade in the future.
Pros:1gb nvidia card, bluetooth 4.0, hdmi, i7 4th generation, super quiet operation, heat sink
Cons:a solid state drive would've been nice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Slowjogger
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Enough computation power for my purpose

PostedNovember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use this PC for editing full frame photos and HD videos. With an U2713HM monitor, it works very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:noseknows
(WA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great refurbished XP8500

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
A worthy upgrade from QX6700 CPU. Very pleased with the performance and quality of this refurbished PC. I have at times shied away from anything with a title of refurbished due to previous bad experiences. But this refurbished PC looks brand new. No issues.
Highly recommended to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32