Customer reviews for XPS 8300

XPS 8300

XPS 8300
4.54 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,162 reviews
5 Stars
844
4 Stars
215
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
22
1 Star
46
4.5
 / 
5
(1162 reviews) 1058
1,076 out of 1,15893%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 8300
Review 1 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveMack
(Staten Island, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I think it's a great computer

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The machine works great.Plays all the top games on it.Video card rocks ATI radeon hd5770.And the price was pretty good too! Hope this hekps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bertjuh070
(The Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Onboard lan

PostedApril 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The onboard lan is gone for a while now i was connected with wifi cause i was near the router and wanted no cables. Now when i try to connect by lan it cant find my lan driver tried many things also reinstall to fabric. but all doesnt work
Pros:nice performance
Cons:networkerror
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:msVicki
(Yulee, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Does not last long without catastropic failure

PostedMarch 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer worked great for 23 months. Then one of the Arrayo (sp) hard drives and the upgraded video card quit working. A big "swoosh" sound and down she went. For the price of this computer, I would have expected at least four years or better use. Very disappointed and I have been a loyal Dell customer for years. Unplugged the bad drive and pulled the upgraded (Soundblaster) video card and the computer is limping along now. Skeptical of another Dell purchase.
Cons:unreliable
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedUser99999
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Two Catastrophic Failues: Less than one year

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell has replaced the power core and now the hard drive. The computer is used infrequently. I no longer have any of the programs that came with my computer as they just gave me a blank drive. My XPS 400 still works, but sadly I halfway expect this computer to go down again. It seems that the quality has just dropped off and customer service is of little assistance. For the price, I think I will look elsewhere next time.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Icaughtfire
(CHATHAM)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

not a good computer

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
this computer is no good the hard drive failed just over a year of owning this computer my warranty expired and dell will not do anything bad review for dell they will never get and business from me again which I've done allot and also sent people to dell never again
Pros:personal
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dgkp
(USA)
Title:

Do not hesitate to buy from Dell Outlet

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I unexpectedly needed a new Desktop and before buying from Dell.com I checked their outlet store and they had the previous years model with the options I wanted so I bought it through Dell outlet. I have had this for a month and the computer was well worth it. I believe it was not refurbished, just an older model so it appeared in the outlet store. It is reliable, fast, no problems or issues so far. I have purchased from the Dell outlet before and one laptop that I bought about 6 years ago still works without any problems, so do not hesitate to buy from the outlet.
Pros: Price, options, small foot print, several USB ports and other media ports. The on board audio system includes 5.1 stereo and allows for a digital IO connection, so do not need a separate audio card. Internally, there is additional space for another hard drive and CD or Blue Ray player, and it includes additional power connections if you add them. Also, it has a power connection if you want to upgrade your video card. There are two fans and the unit runs quietly and it is cool.
Cons: Little room for expansion. If you want to upgrade your video card to a Radeon 7770 for example, it will take up two of the additional spaces. Also, they can provide at least a 500 watt power supply, the 450 is adequate but if you are a gamer, I am not, you will want a larger power supply.
Pros:working at home on word excel, video streaming, checking e mai, Video Editing, banking, streaming audio to stereo system, streaming video to flat screen tv
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:potatoboy56
(Sacramento)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bug Dell Won't Fix

PostedNovember 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Computer is actually ok overall. It should come with 16 gigs of RAM standard but whatever. The big issue is that the LAN connector will not turn on after a cold boot. Dell will NOT fix this issue even though they are well aware of it. Please see the discussion thread below.
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/network-internet-wireless/f/3324/p/19411982/20010450.aspx#20010450
Pros:software development, home entertainment hub, Gaming
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ravo
(Sydney Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A super quiet speed machine

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my XPS for almost 18months now and not a hitch, I have an excellent service contract for 3 years at least and would recommend it to anyone for piece of mind.
Dell give you regular reminders when your computer has been scanned for faults and gives you plenty or resources to find information (that is if you ever need it, mine has been faultless)
I even bought a second one for the lounge room and have it all networked....a breeze....love it
Pros:home business work, home leisure & web browsing, excellent games machine, home network
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaveJ
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

My last Dell purchase

PostedOctober 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am sad to report that my Dell XPS 8300, which was my fourth Dell system purchase since 2000 (3 desktops and 1 laptop) will be my last Dell purchase. I have been deeply disappointed at the major quality problems I have experienced with this purchase, which was something I never encountered with prior purchases.
Within the space of a few months, I have experienced a total OS failure and reinstall, followed by a separate hard drive failure, which will require me to install a new drive and deal with the headache of reinstalling all my software -- again. It seems to me that Dell has shifted to inferior components, and it has not served me well. I should have listened to my wife and gotten the Apple. Oh well, lesson learned. Even though I have always been a die-hard PC guy and long-time Dell customer, I can no longer recommend Dell products.
Pros:home/school, streaming video
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SamW619
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Blue screen 3x per week after 1 year

PostedOctober 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 1 year of use, started to blue screen at least 3 times a week for all different reasons. From memory to storage issues. Mainly memory. Ran all Windows diagnostics and 3rd party diagnostic tools and everything is fine. This means the likely culprit is either bad firmware or bad driver software. Either one I can't fix without Dell releasing updates.
Just like the Dell speakers that I bought with this system. After 1 year of use... when you are on your own... Oh well... good luck if you are buying Dell Products
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HerbT
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Product and Price

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product was purchased to be used as a test server running virtual machines. It is funtioning great even though it was not designed for this purpose. Good quality and excellent features. Price was great.
Pros:server, email testing, virtual servers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Escence
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell XPS 8300

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the person who plays games, does alot of music downloads or online streaming. This little pc does everything with Ease. My husband was a little upset his custom built rig took 3 hours to update World of Warcraft and My pc was up and playing in 30 mins. You can max out the graphics and everything you can put to the test this machine does. Perfect for Gamers and beyond@!!!
Pros:Gaming, photo editing, music/ video
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PatelSoft18
(Overland Park, KS)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unreliable Machine

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell is one of my fav. brand till i have purchase this machine. I have compare, configuration and price of this money with other popular brand and found this is one of best and smart choice, but dell proves me wrong.
I found this machine is not reliable at all. On very first month dell call a recall of this pc, after that i have noticed that when i am turning on my PC it is getting overheated and making noise as if i have started a truck. Just a day before it had display problem and now it is completely dead machine.
It is almost little over 1 year and pc is dead, it is shocking... anyways i have 1 laptop with dell also and i had a very bad experience with dell customer support.
Few of my colleague were telling me that dell is unreliable but i have overlooked everything and paid price....
Pros:software development, browsing internet
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Palaimon
(Kentucky)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Just One Word

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent!
Pros:Gaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AttorneyCindy
(Toledo, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Exactly what I needed

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am extremely happy with my new XPS. It is very fast and easy to use.
Pros:creating documents, accounting, email
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:53Halloweenbaby
(Pewaukee, Wisconsin)
Title:

So far, so great!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought the XPS to replace a 7 year old Vostro running XP. Decided to make the leap to a 64 bit system as we run a lot of multi-media now. Bought the XPS as a refurb, so it really fit our budget at the time, and upgraded Windows 7 to Ultimate in order to get the XP Mode download. Now, we can run our older software on a parallel, virtual XP environment without issue and the rest on the "7" side. The computer is lightning fast and we love the ease of use and overall look. VERY nice.
Pros:multi-media, web development, word processing/writing, graphics development
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BS45
(Baltimore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Increased Performance!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell 8300 met my needs of needing a video card with more RAM built into it. Plus increased RAM built into the computer (6 gigabytes) plus a larger hard drive
Pros:photography
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mr2darcy
(New Hampshire, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell once again comes through!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had been using Dell products for nearly 10 years at the radio station group I worked for (most of them received upgrades, but were still the original machines - they're workhorses!), so when it came time to upgrade my own computer, I did not hesitate to contact Dell. It was easy to put together the exact package I wanted, and customer support was on the ball: Due to an issue with my bank, the computer did not arrive on time; rather, when I called support the day AFTER it was supposed to have arrived, I was told it hadn't even shipped yet! Neither the bank nor Dell knew why I hadn't been apprised of the issue, but Dell's customer support people took care of things immediately, got everything processed, and overnighted my entire system at their cost - so I ended up getting it less than one week later than originally planned. I was amazed at the ease and speed of Dell's support staff. Loving the computer now, and am recommending Dell to everyone!
Pros:writing, audio recording/production
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JG4887
Title:

Buy Direct From Dell

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased my computer direct from Dell. It allowed me to build the computer that fit my needs. This XPS8300 is very fast. The monitor is clear and vivid. The Bose speakers are such a pleasant audio upgrade from anything I've ever had before. Plenty of storage capacity. Plenty of external ports, an all around great value. The Dell Support Team is the best in the business. I had to call them with a problem that I later discovered was my fault but they called me and sent me emails numerous times until I answered them because they wanted to make sure my problem was solved to my satisfaction. You'll never go wrong buying from a company with such a great support staff.
Pros:home office/ personal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 8300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gtoman1
Title:

XPS Review

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the speed of my XPS since it offers a new experience that I have not had before. Although I don't really know what all I can do with Windows 7 I am excited to learn. The big drawback is the Media Player when trying to record a CD. I have gotten very frustrated with and have had problems getting to actually record. My old 2000 gateway had a Roxio CD software that was the best, easiest to use software for burning a CD that I have ever seen. With this new XPS Media Software was like that old Roxio software; but I can only dream what was back then.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 53