Customer reviews for XPS 720

XPS 720

XPS 720
4.426 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
4.4
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 124
116 out of 12990%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 720
Review 1 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vaughnbl
(Central Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 2 DIMMs
Monitor:24 inch UltraSharp™ 2407WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

It's a tank on steroids!

PostedNovember 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you want to game, I recommend Windows XP on this baby. I play simulators, action, and first-person shooters on it and I love it.
Pros:Visually stunning! It's size and forward-leaning look says "This is no toy!" I LIKE the big size and the fans kicking off in high-speed on boot-up. I bought it to be a gaming machine with no compromises and it fills the bill.
Cons:Mine had an original version system board and had suffered from a lot of thermal spontaneous reboots and blue screens. Field service technicians replaced the system board with a newer rev that had an additional mini-fan on a heat sink, and the problems went away.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Somthor
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

overpiced

PostedJuly 9, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Buying this model was a mistake, should have built my own or gotten the 730.
Pros:12 month intrest free financing
Cons:despite the better faster cpu that is availble and is less expenisve there was no option to "upgrade" this model is locked into yesterdays upgrades and is not future gaming forward
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Josh1230
(Winnipeg, MB)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 2 DIMMs
Monitor:20 inch UltraSharp™ 2007WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:256MB nVidia GeForce 8600 GTS
Title:

Great PC!

PostedJune 6, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Could it be any better? (i think not! ITS THE BEST!) GOOD JOB DELL!
Pros:Awesome....Just runs the best ever! Nothing much to say other than its ultimate quality, performance, GOOD JOB DELL!
Cons:Start up is loud for 3 seconds, then the computer is quiet, nothing else i can think of!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hrothgar
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:24 inch UltraSharp™ 2407WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 Ultra
Title:

Pain in the ...

PostedMay 26, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine is simply impossible to use for word processing. It will bluescreen in the middle of writing a document and cause you to lose everything that you have written! I purchased this machine because I wanted blazing speed. It cost me a huge amount of money; in fact, it is the most expensive computer that I have ever purchased. However, I bitterly regret my actions. It is also the most unstable computer that I have ever purchased.
Pros:Very fast.
Cons:This machine bluescreens all the time!! It is extremely unreliable!! I have never previously owned a computer that was as unstable as this one is!!
+18points
39of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maverick4Ever
(Flowood, MS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6700 (4MB L2 Cache,2.66GHz,1066 FSB)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Awesome PC!

PostedMay 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is by leaps and bounds the best PC I have ever used. I'm running both Windows XP and Vista in dual boot mode. I can honestly say that XP is BY FAR more problematic than Vista. Vista runs a lot smoother and it even has less trouble installing stuff. I upgraded to a Creative X-FI Elite Pro soundcard. It took me hours and a LONG session of trouble shooting with Creative's technical support to get it running under XP. With Vista, I just popped in the CD and a few minutes later it was all done.
The only thing I have had a problem with on Vista is a Philips Windows Live Messenger VOIP phone. Philips claims it works with Vista, but it just wouldn't work. Other than that, Vista has worked like a charm. I in fact avoid using XP as much as possible.
I actually have the following components, Dell just doesn't have them listed here:
Core 2 Duo E6850 3.00 GHz 1333 Mhz FSB
4GB DDR2 SDRAM @ 800MHZ
Samsung 245T Monitor
512MB Nvidia GeForce 8800GT
Pros:+Very big, so plenty of space for upgrades(Also not easy to steal) +Extremely quiet. +Slick looks +Excellent customer service +Blazing fast, takes anything I throw at it +Games look awesome!
Cons:-Sounds like a jet engine at startup, but only lasts for a split second, so not really an issue -A little on the pricey side, but still quite reasonable
+17points
27of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lytsu
(Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

PC should be re-namedd to XPS H2Hotter

PostedMay 12, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very expensive, very hot, too many issues for a PC that has been around for almost 2 years.
Not worth your money: Better to look at a normal XPS 720 or the newer 730.
Pros:If you buy the extreme edition of the 720, you will get a very sleep piano-black finish. Very stylish. Extremely fast (when it works..) Can run almost any game out there (even cryisis with full settings on very high) You can overclock the 3.67 GHZ processor to 4.00 4.33 or 4.66. However for some reason with factory settings your computer won't even start up if you do it at any higher settings.
Cons:Extremely hot. The H2C stands for hot 2 cold. Thats wrong. Out of the box, this PC runs at a shockingly 76 - 80 degrees. What this means: the motherboard itself shuts off at 90. Once you have the system running for a while it'll shut off, lock down and create a series of disasters. -This PC is for the very experienced gamer, who knows his/her own in/outs of computers. Chances are you will be forced to go inside this computer to sort out its many issues yourself, within the first week. WEIGHS OVER 70 POUNDS. Extremely flimsy panels, my front panels fell off right outside of the box.
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KeithJ
(Oswego, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-2 DIMMs
Monitor:24 inch UltraSharp™ 2407WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Overheating

PostedMay 11, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
After having this machine for 3 weeks, I thought everything was fine. Boy was I wrong. I started getting the "Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered." error. I ran memory tests on the RAM and they failed. To me it seems the RAM is overheating as I would only get the error after running the machine for a while. When I was testing the RAM I had to pull it out and it was very warm to the touch. Dell is sending out a tech to replace the motherboard and the RAM but it just doesn't seem like there's enough air circulating through the machine.
Pros:I was very happy when I first got this machine. Right out of the box it put up a 17678 3DMark2006 score. This thing absolutely flies.
Cons:Overheating Heavy & large Not enough fans.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CoyoteBill
(Fremont, California)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Memory:2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 2 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Exlellent Computer

PostedMay 3, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am really happy with the 720 with E6850, this machine will last me a long time.
I am a light gamer
Pros:Quiet, Quiet, Quiet, After the Intel D series processor chips. I have gotten rid of my ear plugs. I studied and studied Processor chips after my BIG mistake with the D series. I finally settled on E 6750, I tried to buy it through Dell, but Intel no longer makes the chip. I found a XPS420 advertised with the E6750. I ordered the 420 and when it arrived, it had a E6850 processor chip. At first I was mad then I checked all my online sources. I was suprised at the overclock speed of 3.5 on air. I was also suprised when studying that the Quad 6600 is slower then the dual core. Plus the fact there is no or very little software written for it.
Cons:VISTA No matter what the processor speed is, VISTA will slow you way down.
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:notmyjob777
(Greenwood, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB,3.20GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Good machine

PostedMay 1, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good machine, runs VERY well and is quiet. I liked the LED's and how you can change them. The machine is great, but is HUGE!!! It is like 50 pounds, and is like 24in. long... But if you aren't planning to move it often, it is totally fine. Another plus about it is that if someone wants to steal it, then good luck because it weight a ton! But good job Dell!!
Pros:Great speed Quiet Cool Light Effects
Cons:Heavy and Big
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan47
(North Augusta, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 Ultra
Title:

Overheated

PostedApril 22, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I hope the replacement computer does not overheat.
Pros:Extremely fast and great looking. Graphics are truly incredible - Call of Duty 4 Love the imposing look of the machine and the colors of the lights are great. The 24" ultraclear monitor is beautiful - 2408WFP.
Cons:I have had to take the side off and point a $2 fan at the graphics cards and memory to keep them from overheating and crashing. A replacement computer is coming.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Johnny123
(Pembroke,ON)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:256MB nVidia GeForce 8600 GTS
Title:

Great Computer

PostedApril 22, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like the lights, but i can not use the light effects or the sound goes in and out also on the front of the computer when you use headphones you can hear a low to loud buzz from the different color's that are used that is why i gave quality a 3.
I also purchased Trend Micros Internet Security 14 but Dell forget to say it does not really work all that good on vista (until after two calls to Dell wondering why my Internet would suddenly stop working)
also this Pc is huge and weighs a ton two,and gives off a lot of heat
I still find this a great pc if dell ever fixes the lights so i can use them this pc would get a 5 out of 5 from me.
Pros:- it's a quick machine that will do almost or everything you throw at it -Lights -For a computer this big there is not much fan noise
Cons:- Buzzing sounds from the lights -Trend Micro Internet Security14
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Corndog53
(Midvale, UT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:20 inch UltraSharp™ 2007WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 Ultra
Title:

Great system, minor/fixable flaws

PostedApril 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had to go to Nvidia's website to get thelatest drivers to avoid the BSOD, which solved it, but the drivers still need some work. I also would like to see the newer QX9000 series processors put in to keep up with the times. This kind of $$ deserves to have the newest stuff available right off the bat. This is a great macine though, and cuts through any program with ease. All things considered i love this computer, but it needs to get a few things more finely tuned. A little bit more "polish" and this things would have been a perfect score all around.
Pros:Oh mama, does this thing scream. I can play crysis on high setting (1900x1050 res) without any performance problems, once the newer drivers were installed. Ridiculously fast. Quiet- No noise even after heavy gaming. Easy to tinker - Access to internal components is easy so upgrading is no sweat. Dell's support is great. Cool lighting effects are a hallmark of XPS external design
Cons:This thing is big. It barely fit into my car when i picked it up from DHL. Very heavy, but what would you expect from top of the line Still pricey, but not compared to what it cost a year ago. 5k vs 7k is better, but still not cheap - You get what you pay for though. I think the design is a little bland. I like the lights, but it could use a bit more flash.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Janko
(Slovakia, Komarno)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:20 inch UltraSharp™ 2007WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Excellent machine!

PostedApril 14, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this PC. It's better than I have ever dreamt of. Dell is the best!
Pros:Cool lights, when you play the music. Unique modern design. The H2C cooling system works perfectly. CPU runs at 3.73 GHz and the temperature is OK and everything is stabile. The side X pannel looks really nice. I can play all the new games on maximum details and the resolution 1680x1050 + 4xAA, 16XAFF without any problems, I have 50-60 and more FPS when I play. Good air circulation into the graphic cards and I can overclock them. Very fast. Vista runs fast. There is a lot of space on the HDD 2TB.
Cons:A lot of hot air comes out of the computer and it makes your room really hot. Sometimes blue screens. I am from Slovakia and you can't buy it here, so I had to order it from Austria and I had to wait for weeks till it arrived.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:L42yB
(London UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-2 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 Ultra
Title:

XPS 720 H2C Gaming PC

PostedApril 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this PC recently and overall I am very happy with it. I had read reviews about it overheating and getting blue-screens, but I haven't seen any of that since I got mine (knock on wood). I expect this is due to the new processor. The new XPS 720's come with a QX6850, and not a QX6800 like this review page is making me select...
I was a bit suprised when I saw the sheer size of the thing, it is bigger than any tower I have ever seen... and *really* heavy. But once you have it setup it looks good and so far it is running smoothly and quietly.
I had also seen the review on Tom's Hardware where they complained about the lack of options in the BIOS. I have the most recent update of the BIOS (01/03/2008) and I could quite happily overclock the CPU to 4Ghz (x12). I didn't leave it there (for fear of melting everything) but it is good to know that the option is there :) I also found the BIOS really easy to navigate, with good explanations of what everything did.
So in summation, I think that this is a great deal for anyone who (like me) is not willing to put the effort in to build their own PC from scratch :) Dell seem to have worked out all the kinks with this model now, so it's a really good option.
Pros:Very Powerful Looks cool
Cons:Really big and heavy Expensive
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NickB
(bowes01@bigpond.net.au)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:20 inch UltraSharp™ 2007WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Fast, Good Looking, But HUGE

PostedApril 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Fast Looks great because of the lights room to grow
Cons:Huge Heavy (way to big to take to a lan party) Headphone buzz (Dell took it for 4 weeks to try and fix but it came back exactly the same)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Braxt0n
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedApril 5, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 720 is truely amazing, but there are simple things that can be changed, like the casing. I never really mess with it because it almost feels like it's about to break everytime I touch it. Thats just something to throw out there because I want to feel like im getting my money's worth. But over all, im satisfied. I recommend this computer to any gamer out there who wants to take gaming to the next level.
Pros:This computer simply speaks for it self. -Runs fast. -Amazing start up time. -LEDs -Software included
Cons:-Heats up way to fast -Casing (flimsy, mostly plastic and aluminum) -Almost everything is intergraded.
+20points
26of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MORBID
(Troy,Oh.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Title:

great system, VISTA GAMING ISSUES!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 1, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The owners manual tells you to enter system set-up to adjust the LED's , it's much easier and faster to use the Dell quickset, it takes you directly to the LED adjustment screen, you can adjust color,intensity,and effects from here.
Q6600 quad, 500gb hd, xfi extreme gamer , 4 gb 800mhz ram, 8800gt ,
22" hanns g monitor , saitek eclipse keyboard, habu laser mouse, logitech Z 2300 speakers , cyber snipa gamepad.
Pros:Great system, runs smoothe,fast and quiet. graphics are great. Runs everything i throw at it without a hiccup, bioshock, cod4,call of juarez etc... all at 1680x1050 on high settings. Averages 230fps in css. LED's are cool. Sound is great with the xfi gamer and logitech z 2300 speakers(also purchased from dell on sale great deal) . Case is large and impressive, I always get a WOW! when people see it for the first time. Lots of room for expansion,side panel is easy to remove and replace. I would highly reccomend this system to anyone. The price you pay is worth every penny considering what you get for your money!
Cons:VISTA!!!!!!! Actually the only issues i have with vista are gaming compatibility issues, if it wasn't for those, i would really kinda like vista for everythig else I do. Hopefully the gaming issues are just growing pains that will eventually be resolved (I remember XP having alot of issues in th beginning) This is not a Con for the computer itself , but for it's operating system.The only small con I have for the system is one that has been mentioned many times before, the flimsy drive bay doors, the only weak point on an othewise strong system!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Flyboy1966
(near Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6600 (4MB L2 Cache,2.4GHz,1066 FSB)
Memory:4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-4 DIMMs
Monitor:Monitor Not Included
Video Cards:768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Monster machine, with monster performance

PostedApril 1, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great machine. I'm playing Crysis and CoD4 on it, at max. settings, and the machine is just humming along. Ran some data speed tests in SAS, and the results were 3x faster than my Duo-Core laptop. Impressive.
Pros:- quiet, once it gets running - blazing fast. Runs anything I can throw at it - quick boot time - received it in 10 days from order date - lots of room to expand - tons of USB ports, card reader is great.
Cons:-HUGE and heavy. Unit weighs at least 50lbs, and the case is massive - flimsy CD/DVD door - startup is very loud - always-on LED are annoying after the novelty wears off
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KAUKANIOHANA
(BIG ISLAND, HAWAII)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 2 DIMMs
Monitor:20 inch UltraSharp™ 2007WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:Dual 256MB nVidia GeForce 8600 GTS
Title:

THIS MACHINE IS AMAZING...

PostedMarch 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ALL MY FRIENDS WHO CAN AFFORD A DESKTOP OF THIS CALIBER. ALSO TO ALL MY BUSINESS ASSOCIATES WHO CHOOSE TOW WORK WHEN THEY WANT , YET HAVE THE ABILITY TO GAME WHEN THEYRE NOT.
Pros:THERE IS SO MUCH TO SAY ABOUT THIS HIGHLY INNOVATIVE MACHINE. OVERALL THIS IS THE ULTIMATE GAMERS TOOL, IT PROVIDES LIGHTNING QUICK PROCESSING AS WELL AS AN OUT OF THIS WORLD EXPERIENCE WITH INCLUDED GRAPHICS CARD. FOR AN OUT THE BOX PERFORMANCE IT IS UNMATCHED.
Cons:REALLY I HAVE NOTHING TO SAY ABOUT IT..EVEN OPENING THE CASE IS A CINCH..
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kooper1
(Vineland, New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6800 (8MB L2 Cache,3.73GHz Factory overclocked)
Memory:2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz OC'd to 1066MHz-2 DIMMs
Monitor:24 inch UltraSharp™ 2407WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel
Video Cards:Dual 768MB Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Dell 720 H2C

PostedMarch 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This system runs extremely fast and has excellent 3D benchmarks. My Intel QX 6850 factory overclocked to 3.66 GHZ would overheat until I updated the BIOS. I then set the CPU speed at 3.33 GHZ and everything now runs super cool. (CPU is 22-23 degree C at idle). The 2 Gig of memory, dual graphic cards and SLI compatible motherboard all compliment the fast CPU for superior performance. Crysis runs at 44.5 FPS average with all settings at high and 1600x1200 resolution. I expect to achieve better FPS with the updated Nvidia driver. All other games are 60+ FPS at their highest settings and 1920x 1200...MS Flight Sim 4.0, The Witcher, Hellgate London, World at Conflict, Jericho to name a few. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Pros:Modern design and finish. Quality components. Extremely Fast. Everything is sleek and neat under the hood. Maintanence free two stage liquid cooler. High end CPU. High performance dual graphic cards are standard. Factory overclocked Cpu. Factory overclocked memory. User selectable lighting colors and effects. Excellent Customer Support.
Cons:May run hot. Drivers and Bios may need updating. Not much to complain about.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7