Customer reviews for XPS 420

XPS 420

XPS 420
4.599 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 930 reviews
5 Stars
660
4 Stars
208
3 Stars
33
2 Stars
17
1 Star
12
4.6
 / 
5
(930 reviews) 738
877 out of 93094%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 420
Review 1 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kenoh
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Multimedia / Gaming PC

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the XPS 420 June 2008 and have had it for the last 4 years with no major issues at all.
Pros:
Awesome Multimedia PC: I watch a lot of movies, tv shows, anime, etc and listen to a lot of music and with the 24inch dell ultrasharp monitor and the bose sound system, this computer is great! Video playback is incredible as well as music.
Great for gaming: I'm not the biggest pc gamer but for games such as Counter Strike, Team Fortress, Halo 2 Vista, etc. this pc is excellent!
Great for Video and Audio editing: My package came with Adobe Premiere and Soundbooth and both run great on the xps420. Great for editing.
Customizable and Upgradable: I recently installed a new power supply and more ram. Now I'm using a 600W powersupply and 8gb of ram and it runs even better than it did when I got it 4 years ago.
Cons:
Windows Vista: Vista starts off great, no problems. Then over time you start to see why everyone hated it so much. Updates fail, buggy program errors, random error messages and more. However, I recently upgraded my pc from Vista Ultimate 32 bit to 7 Professional 64 bit and the performance is excellent! I highly recommend upgrading to 7 if yours comes with vista.
Messy Compartments: As I said above, the computer is definitely upgradeable, but the problem that you may notice is that the insides of the computer are not as neat as some others. However you can work with it but it can make installing new hardware a hassle.
Pros:Gaming, multimedia, Video Editing, web browsing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

XPS 420

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After 5 years with my XPS 420, the motherboard finally packed in. I must say, Dell gave excellent customer service within that time and even offered a new motherboard out of warranty as a good will service gesture! (Turned out I didn't need it but the offer was nice)
Pros
+ Long lasting. 5 Years for a desktop that was used on average 7 hours a day is NOT bad! I think the thermistor was the component to blow so there wasn't much that could be done about it...
+ For time of purchase it was state of the art. brilliant tool less case, nice sleek design that still holds up today against new PCs..
+ Quality components. My 320GB HDD that came with the 420 five years ago will be used in my new build. As will the graphics card(out dated but will do until I get more money to buy a good one)
Cons
- I found the miniview a novelty but never really used it too much. It was good to monitor temps but the apps never amounted to much.
- The biggest floor is the form factor... I had never noticed that the WHOLE PC was backwards. Which means I can't re-use the case as the motherboard was very non standard. It's a shame because the case is such good quality.
- Also the bios is very limiting. No overclocking unless you want to risk a flash and lose your warranty.
Overall I LOVE this product. Played new release games even though it's 5 years old. I’m ashamed to admit I spent more time on it that I did with my family of friends. And now it’s now raving it up in the big LAN party in the sky... RIP Optimus.
Pros:Gaming, general use, programming, Video Editing
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:applefreak1228
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

3 year computer

PostedAugust 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got the XPS 420 as a Christmas gift in 2007. 3 year later in May of 2011 i go to start up my computer and, noting. It didn't even light up. I thought it was a bad power supply so i went to Best Buy and purchased a new power supply. Installed it and it still didn't. I had my friend look at it (who is an IT director). He said that the motherboard is "fried". After that i took the hard drive out and all the salvageable parts and threw the rest away. Now i bought a MacBook.
Pros:internet browsing, light gaming
-21points
5of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bluemidnight43
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My first XPS desktop will be my last

PostedOctober 6, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have always purchased the Inspiron series desktops and have never had a problem. I will give Dell the benefit of the doubt here, but two years old and my XPS power supply is dead. (The Inspiron that the XPS replaced is 9 years old and still kicking in my 7 year old son's room) Of course, I checked my service tag and it's out of warranty. Not a very expensive fix, but also not the point. This computer is mainly used for internet, e-mail, listening to music and word processing, not gaming. I am extremely disappointed with this computer and will no longer spend so much money on a computer that's DOA after just 2 years, when I could buy 2 computers for what I paid for this XPS.
Pros:ms office, web surfing, e-mail, music
+5points
22of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Echostatic
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

3 years, rock-solid.

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this beast in December 2007 and it's still rocking my home studio. Well designed, great case air flow, and completely stable.
I had used Dimensions for years, and this sold me on the XPS line; well worth the price jump!
Pros:music production, hobbyist gaming, Video Editing, web/media design
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spacesda
(Peoria IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wonderful XPS system

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've owned this XPS 420 for over a year now. It runs very well. I've experience no problems at all. I would buy another in a heartbeat!
Pros:Gaming, productivity
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xps420review
(Bay Area)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

my first disappointing Dell!

PostedNovember 9, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've dealt with Dells for years. Used them at work, at home, recommended and set them up for friends. I purchased this system back in November 2007 and although it still works fine for me today, I have had some small annoyances with this system that I just want to get off my chest. They're small but just not what I've come to expect from Dell. Also in all fairness, most are probably related to the Vista operating system.
1. First, the whole "Media" PC Thing: The little LCD screen: Totally worthless and never used. Media Center: Over the years I've watched DVDs, Internet video, listened to music, etc. I never figured out the benefit of the media setup other than multiple ways to play video and music. But here is my biggest gripe: I'm listening to a video or music, then I hit X to close the program. The music and video continues to play! To this day, I have found no solution to this.
2. Busy hard drive: The drive just runs and runs and runs sometimes. I can't figure out what the program is. I'm somewhat of a techie so I know to go in and turn off applications, processes, check the I/O writes, whatever. Nothing! Very annoying not knowing what using up the system resources when the machine should be at rest.
3. The bluetooth mouse that came with this thing is the most uncomfortable mouse I've ever used. Sometimes has delayed reactions with lost connections. I've tossed it and use a regular wired mouse now.
Keyboard is ok.
4. The 2 disk drives were reversed. I always assumed E drive on top, F drive on bottom but it was the other way around. No biggie and I could have easily fixed it myself, but come on.
So thats it really. Not the end of the world, but so different from what I've been used to with Dell computers.
Pros:internet surfing, Gaming, dvd movies, music
+16points
27of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Xuthis
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Started off good, crashed fast

PostedSeptember 27, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I enjoyed this system greatly when I initially purchased it. It operated fairly well with most games, but had some lag issues on high intensity graphics games. About a month ago, I noticed an increased problem with lagging/slowing of my system. To my dismay, I woke up yesterday morning to find the dreaded steady amber power light on the cpu. I thought it was just in power save mode and made attempts to get it out, but was unsuccessful. After going through every possible support recommendation (removing all the components, memory, etc.), I even began swapping out the sound card with working sound cards, video cards, etc. The system still had the solid amber light. I read up on several other posts that seem to indicate the power supply is insufficient for the 8800 video card and is most likely in need of replacement. Unfortunately, Dell has been unable to help me with a replacement. This is the last Dell I will ever buy.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, Gaming, homework
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rick919
(Lawerenceville,Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Computer

PostedSeptember 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I enjoy this computer. I especially like the large monitor and the fact is that it perfect for photography.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, photograohy
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MLEE
(DALLAS, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

STANDARD BUSINESS CARDS

PostedAugust 5, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
VERY GOOD, BUT HAVE TROUBLE MOVING GRAPHICS.
Pros:Connecting with Friends
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:territwins
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedJune 21, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my XPS in January. In May the hard drive failed. I lost everything!! Mostly I lost my precious pictures that I can never get back.
Pros:School
-17points
12of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carl1
(Madison NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Desktop

PostedJune 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Dell XPS420 a little over a year ago to serve as the main computer in my home office. After putting this machine through its paces for some time I must say that I am highly impressed with this product. The Dell XPS line is beautifully designed and is extremely powerful and responsive with the Intel Quad Core Processor. I opted for 4GB of RAM and a 500 GB HD which more than suits my needs.
I use the XPS for storage of digital pictures as well as some very large files for my profession as an engineer. I very often dowmload some very large pdf files and this computer does it effortlessly.
The features on this machnine are great with 8 USB ports, Bluetooth capability, ATI Radeon graphics package and a 16X DVD/RW drive.
I plan on using this machnine for a good long time since it was built by Dell for the long haul.
I would definitely recommend the XPS Desktop line to anyone looking for a multimedia powerhouse
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Music & Movies, Finances, Presentation
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bomar1978
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6700 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.66Hz,1066FSB) 
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:No Monitor 
Graphics Card:128MB ATI Radeon HD 2400 PRO
Hard Drive:750GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache  
Optical Drive:Dual Drives: 48x Combo + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable  
Title:

Slick system

PostedApril 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very FAST! This was purchased exclusively for direct editing of AVCHD video files with Pinnacle software [v12 Ultimate]. It worked out of the box with no problems. Rendering large videos is FAST!
Cons:Vista can be a challenge. There were some 64 bit compatibility issues with some software [Adobe], but nothing insurmountable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mlamm
(Elkton, MD)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Quality

PostedMarch 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:the computer is up to the Dell brand. A lot faster than the old one. I recommend Dell to everyone, as I have had other computers and they do not work as well.
Cons:The Vista operating system is a mess. It is hard to get used to and hard to find things in. I really do not like the Vista, but that is not Dell's fault.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GSalem
(Akron, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:3GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs 
Monitor:No Monitor 
Graphics Card:256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT 
Hard Drive:500GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache  
Optical Drive:Dual Drives: 48x Combo + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable  
Title:

What a Great Computer

PostedMarch 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am so impressed with this unit. If you are a gamer or just a pc user, this will do the job.
Pros:Super fast, looks really cool. Does everything I want and then some. This is the second Dell I have purchased and haven't been let down yet.
Cons:So far, there are none.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hoxsie16
(Richmond, RI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Extreme QX6850 (8MB L2 Cache,3.0GHz, 1333FSB) 
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:22 inch E228WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel 
Graphics Card:256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT 
Hard Drive:500GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache  
Optical Drive:Dual Drives: 48x Combo + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable  
Title:

XPS420

PostedFebruary 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Performance is excellent. The unit looks great also. The Quad Core processor is really quick.
Cons:None so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foxxem
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6700 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.66Hz,1066FSB) 
Monitor:20 inch SP2008WFP Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor 
Hard Drive:750GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache  
Optical Drive:Dual Drives: 48x Combo + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable  
Title:

Fast, sleek, and good for the end user

PostedFebruary 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recommend getting a higher end processor and the 8 Gigs of ram for the machine. At the price ram and processors are running now it would be foolish to buy low end specs just to have to change them out in a year or two.
Pros:The XPS 420 runs smooth, it isn't overly expensive, and has good graphics. There is no lag in gaming and basic applications. It was also shipped within a week of the purchase date.
Cons:Windows Vista that's installed on it has some issues. Such as quadruple checking to make sure you want to make changes. Which for the basic home user it wouldn't be a problem. It's also a little slow on compiling developed java programs.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kbar
(Denver, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 4 DIMMs 
Monitor:22 inch E228WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel 
Hard Drive:500GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache  
Title:

XPS 420

PostedFebruary 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Cons:Windows Vista is not very friendly with old software and hardware.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RAllyn
(San Diego)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Monitor:24 inch E248WFP Entry Widescreen Digital Flat Panel Monitor 
Title:

XPS 420 problems and more problems

PostedFebruary 23, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:It is very fast. Great looking case. Easy to modify.
Cons:The imprint on the hard drive from the factory was faulty. Changed the hard drive. Bluetooth was faulty. Changed the Bluetooth. Still doesn't work correctly. Now the video keeps shutting off for a few seconds, then comes back on. The sleep mode doesn't work. When you try to wake the computer, it comes on for a second then goes off. You have to shut it down from the power button, then go through startup. Tried disabling sleep, but it sleeps anyway. Had it for almost a month and still cannot use it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 420
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jackmaxin
(baltimore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6750 (4MB L2 Cache,2.66GHz,1333 FSB 
Memory:4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Monitor:24 inch E248WFP Entry Widescreen Digital Flat Panel Monitor 
Graphics Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 8600 GTS
Hard Drive:750GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache  
Optical Drive:Dual Drives: 48x Combo + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable  
Title:

I love this machine

PostedFebruary 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:fast for online gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 37