Customer reviews for XPS 410

XPS 410

XPS 410
4.696 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 504 reviews
5 Stars
370
4 Stars
117
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
4.7
 / 
5
(504 reviews) 457
491 out of 50497%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 410
Review 1 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JayDeeBee
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E4300 (1.8GHz,800FSB) with 2MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:320GB SATA Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/ DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia Geforce 7300LE TurboCache
Title:

Nice Upgrade for a previous Dell Customer

PostedJanuary 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm surprised to have written a review for this computer since it's only a Year-and-a-Half old (got it at a retail store), I'm quite happy with it.
Pros:Fast, super fast than my Dell Dimension 4400 at 128MB RAM Pentium 4 1.6Ghz, I can finally multitask with Intel Core 2 Duo, and the fact that I can watch TV is awesome, I can do some graphics with this (couldn't do that with my old faithful machine), quiet and good expansion.
Cons:Slow in some performance quarters partly the fact that it's Windows Vista Premium, other than that, no other stuff to report.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GregoryB
(Stockbridge, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-4X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:1TB Performance RAID 0 (2 x 500GB SATA 3Gb/s 7,200 RPM HDDs)
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

Outstanding Machine!

PostedOctober 16, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Although the XPS is touted as a gaming rig, I'm very happy to have this system, with dual 750 GB hard drives, as the workhorse in my design business. I'm sure that it'll serve me well for years to come. After comparing both price and features, the XPS proved to be a better value for the money over the Vostro business desktop. Shop wisely and give the XPS serious consideration.
Pros:Powerful, fast, reliable, quiet. I researched this model thoroughly before making my purchase, and I'm very pleased with my choice. I'm a graphic designer, and so I run Photoshop, Adobe Acrobat, and other software under Adobe CS3 Design Premium, and the improvement in speed was immediately evident. Although my previous system, a 3-year old Dell Dimension 8400, had plenty of power with it's two gigs of ram, it just doesn't compare to this XPS 410. And I've never own a system that was this quiet. This system was very well designed.
Cons:Only that the Q6600 processor wasn't an option at the time I purchased, but had been offered before and since my purchase. So if there are certain options you wish to have that you know have been available before, might be worthwhile to hold off on purchase until the following Tuesday or Wednesday, when they seem to offer fresh options for the week.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:XPS410User
(Maplewood, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6400 (2.13GHz,1066FSB) with 2MB cache
Memory:4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-4X1GB
Monitor:Dell 19" E196FP Flat Panel
Hard Drive:250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM)
Video Card:256MB nVidia Geforce 7300LE TurboCache
Title:

Can't Keep Up With The Future...

PostedOctober 12, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
If your thinking about getting THIS computer then i think you should wait a while for a couple of years and get a cheap computer... Maybe in a couple years when computers can keep up with Vista then you can get this computer (but it's going to be very much more expensive)...
Pros:It's quite, cools down/doesn't heat up, the design is okay...
Cons:Slow with Vista, not very fast, and BIG....
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scottie191
(Great Lakes, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 22" Widescreen E228WFP Flat Panel
Hard Drive:500GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

XPS 410

PostedOctober 12, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very fast turnaround time, I ordered the computer on a Friday and received it 6 days later. I was surprised because they said the actual ship date was 2 weeks from order date. GREAT JOB!!!
Pros:Very quite machine!!!! I was impressed when I first turned it on, I didn't think it was actually on. So far this is by far the fastest computer I have ever owned and I am very happy with it. 22" wide screen monitor makes viewing a pleasure.
Cons:Only problems I am having so far is the Mouse seems to be a little erratic at times. I decided to give the Bluetooth option a try and was not very impressed. Maybe I have the settings wrong or something, however I will keep experimenting with it to see what the problem is. Other than that, I can't seem to find anything else wrong.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisfromGilbert
(Gilbert, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6700 (2.66GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-4X1GB
Monitor:Dell 17" UltraSharp 1707FPV Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Title:

Great Computer Package-Right out of the box

PostedOctober 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
DELL support came through again to make this a very pleasurable computer system purchase.
Pros:Installation and startup were very easy, typical of the Dell products that I have purchased in the past. No-brainer connections and great, step-by-step hookup documentation made getting functional easy. Software personalization was simple and straightforward and Vista exceeded my expectations. My son and his new bride are the new owners of this computer and were functional from the start. Great value for the price!
Cons:Difficulties getting the DELL 946 printer functional in Vista because of lingering XP drivers on the system was somewhat frustrating. Once special driver cleanup/update exec was run (downloadable from DELL driver download center), the printer was able to demonstrate it's great features and performance. Great DELL technical support helped minimize the frustration and initial pain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:spiderzvow
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Hard Drive:500GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
Title:

Nice comp

PostedOctober 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
...............the review oes not have most of the options for my comps specs
Pros:VERY fast and easy to use my game runs at almost top grafixc with only lag do to my modem and old wires
Cons:the case is annoying to get back on but nothing that affects preformance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gp541
(Springfield, Or.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:500GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
Video Card:768MB nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

XPS410

PostedOctober 8, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Extremely well designed and thought out!
Very Quiet!
Smaller size really freed up alot of desk top space!
Pros:Outstanding speed and performance. Has Quad Core Processor (Q6600) and 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800 mhz. Extremely convenient with flash card slots and usb ports located right up front. Additional usb ports on rear for those add-ons we leave hooked up all the time. Two teenagers, one high schooler and one middle school age, really LIKE the system! Mom and Dad like it as well, no worries about running out of disc space on this machine! Also like the TV tuner built in along with the 20 inch Ultra Sharp Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dbaker
(Caldwell Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 22" Widescreen E228WFP Flat Panel
Hard Drive:500GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia Geforce 7300LE TurboCache
Title:

Great PC

PostedOctober 7, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell is the tops with making the computer and with support, at the beginning I had a hard time with transfering my files from the old computer to my new computer ,they are very understanding with my situation.
Pros:I agree with another person that said great computer best one I have ever had. My old computer was very slow and with a lot of noise coming from it. I love the fact that this machine is very very quiet. Superior over the imitations one's. I am already very fond of this system, I hope it will last a long time. Another thing I like about the computer is it has Windows Vista on it. I thought windows xp was everything but, I was mistaken in my judgement. I will say it again love, love, love this computer. It used to be a pain hooking everything up to a computer, this new system was very easy to hook up, great directions that came with the system.
Cons:The only thing I can come up with is the transfer cable going from your old computer to your new computer did not work, one of the tech's mentioned using a flash drive, my advice also to use the flash drive, it was very easy to use and went fairly fast. I liked it because you can pick and choose what you want on your new computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tcanales
(Somerset, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" UltraSharp 2007FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:320GB SATA Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/ DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

Overall great product!

PostedOctober 7, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Within a week of purchasing my XPS, one of my optical drives went bad. Unfortunately, a technician had me reload my system and it seemed like bad went to worse. A month later, I am up and running again after finally getting imaged disks of the hard drive. Although I had this unfortunate experience, its to the readers advantage to know that the customer service I received was very polite and extremely helpful, with the last person I spoke to going above and beyond her duties. After all this, I'm sold on now buying a new laptop from Dell as well. Memory was upgraded to 800Mhz, and video card is GeForce 8600GT.
Pros:Very quiet, very fast, easy access to internal components, personalized Dell Support Center with your specific configuration accessible on the desktop.
Cons:Vista takes a little getting used to. Not all my prior applications running on XP are compatible with Vista yet. Internal card reader slightly loose inside chassis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cegtalk2u
(New Hampshire)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Title:

I love it

PostedOctober 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is not my first Dell nor will it be my last.
Pros:It's super quiet and lots of room for upgradeing in the future.
Cons:it's quite a big machiene. Too big for my desk
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RLT2007
(Chicago, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-4X1GB
Monitor:Dell 24" Widescreen UltraSharp 2407FPW Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:80GB SATA Hard Drive (10,000RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
Video Card:512MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GTX
Title:

XPS 410

PostedOctober 3, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Dell has design a remarkable computer in its XPS 410. It is fast, excellent with downloading movies, games, virtual realitiy programs, graphics, and other media related products. It works well with the programs that I use regularly. I am totally satisfied with my purchase.
Cons:I honestly have not found anything about my XPS 410 that I am unhappy with. This computer is everything that Dell says it is and more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Clown101
(Florida)
Title:

My fave of all dells.

PostedOctober 2, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:-This guy is my favorite dell pc so far. -decent gaming performance -well built and well designed. -option of having up to 1 tb of hard drive space. -built for the future.
Cons:-none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigDaddyP
(Monroe, LA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:500GB Performance RAID 0 (2 x 250GB SATA 3Gb/s 7,200 RPM HDDs)
Title:

Upgrade from Inspiron 9300

PostedOctober 2, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wish it was SLI. Wish the power supply was more than 375 watts. (No problem with a 8600GT tho) Wish my cd burner would burn above 16X!!!!!!! Its not the media either. Bought three different types, maxing out at 48x. Sad.
Pros:Fast, cool, easy to upgrade video card, huge heatsink on cpu, runs fairly silently. The quad core processor is a feat to behold. Can rip two cd's, watch two seperate VCD on Virtual Drives, stream a movie online, and utilize my webcam all at the same time!! No real need to do all that, but if u need to, you can! I've only maxed out the processor once, when I was encoding an entire dvd to burn. But the response of the system never slowed. System also boots up very fast.
Cons:Hard drives are quite loud when active. I've got two of em running raid, and they are some loud buggers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LauraOREGON
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-4X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:500GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache
Video Card:768MB nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

XPS 410

PostedOctober 2, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wished I would have bought the speakers - still might.
The options of what I selected below are NOT what my computer came with - the actual options I got were not selectable i.e. Hard drive: 750GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst
Cache(tm)
Memory: 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 DIMMs
Processor: Intel(r) Core(tm) 2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2
cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)
Physics Accelerator: AGEIA(r) PhysX(r) physics accelerator
Pros:Love the widescreen, the speed and the ease of set up. Graphics are fantastic with the accelerator. This is my second Dell. My first one lasted 9 years. Still have it, just too slow to handle newer protection software.
Cons:The McAfee software that came with my Dell computer has caused all sorts of issues. FIrst, it wouldn't register and it took 1 1/2 hours on the phone with McAfee to fix it - resolved by fixing the registry entry. The McAfee add-in for Outlook caused Outlook to freeze on a very regular basis - had to remove the add-in. That's it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Movinman
(Alexandria, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6400 (2.13GHz,1066FSB) with 2MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 24" Widescreen UltraSharp 2407FPW Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:320GB SATA Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/ DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

XPS 410

PostedOctober 1, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Fast, quiet and powerfull. Great graphics and media center rocks with the HD satellite connection. 24 inch LCD provides ample viewing area to work and play. Numerous video inputs make connecting the XBOX 360 a breeze.
Cons:The lag in theBluetooth keyboard and mouse take some practice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steatite
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" Widescreen UltraSharp 2007W FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM)
Video Card:768MB nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Title:

Excellent buy!

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really, this is a great computer. It's the second Dell I've owned -- had the first one for 8 years and never had a problem with it. My only real complaint is with Windows Vista, not the computer itself. This computer is a great buy for the money -- games generally run very fast and look great on the wide screen flat panel monitor.
Pros:1. Fast shipping 2. Easy to set up 3. F A S T performance! 4. Easy to upgrade components
Cons:1. enamel coated metal case sides remind me of a cheap kitchen appliance (does not affect performance, buy hey, looks are part of the package) 2. Occasional video card problems when gaming (keep getting an error that the graphics card has stopped responding, blah blah blah). Drivers are current, could be software issues with Windows Vista.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1150
(Tennessee)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-4X1GB
Monitor:Dell 19" E197FP Flat Panel
Hard Drive:250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM)
Video Card:256MB nVidia Geforce 7300LE TurboCache
Title:

Quiet and Fast an excellent purchase for the price

PostedSeptember 28, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
There is ample room for upgrades on this computer when the time is right. Currently the 250GB hard drive and the Processer are more than adequate for my purposes at this time. The 4GB ram, though maxed out now is plenty and for my purposes at this time may be a bit excessive as the 2GB served me well. But, with the additional Ram I have ensured that I will have plenty for the future. For the kinds of games I play on this computer, this set up serves me well and will serve you well, unless you are a truely serious gamer and just must have the fastest with the mostest.
Pros:I've had this computer for approximately 7 months. As a general work and play at home computer I've found it to be of excellent quality. When I first purchased the XPS 410 I had 2GB Ram installed. Using the 50.00 rebate as part of my payment I upgraded the Ram to 4GB and noticed a significant increase in performance. I reviewing my choices I found it was actually cheaper to retrofit the Ram than if I had purchased it already installed. Dell Technical Support in their assistance with the upgrade was helpful and even when I inadverently disconnected the 13-1 reader, which I use for loading photos, and had to make a second call, they were very patient with me and talked me through locating the problem. Since then I have had no problems. The computer has been everything I expected.
Cons:None at this time.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ememi
(League City, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6600 (2.4GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 24" Widescreen UltraSharp 2407FPW Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:250GB SATA II Hard Drive (7,200RPM)
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

Dell XPS-410

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought with minimal ram, hardrive and graphics card and upgraded them all and added in Creative X-Fi Fatality card and EVGA 7900 GS and get decent framerates for most modern games at high resolutions. At the time when I bought it, I could buy upgraded components on the web cheaper than what Dell sold them as upgrade options. Computer was discounted at the time I bought it and I could not not assemble one for the cost.
I bought the computer at the time when only XP MCE was shipping with it with an Vista upgrade coupon. I've got the Vista upgrade, but have not upgraded and probably won't until I upgrade to a DirectX 10 graphics card and SP1 becomes available. Vista still has a ways to go before it catches up with XP in terms of driver support. This is a good overall computer for anyone looking for a general purpose computer and can handle gaming with a few modest upgrades.
Pros:Case fan noise is quiet, fairly roomy inside the case and nice layout of cabling to ensure good airflow, easy to upgrade processor, moderately fast, and on-board motherboard sound not bad. I had origianlly ordered with 7300E graphics card, which is useless for gaming, but I knew that when I ordered it
Cons:Not ideal for gaming due to small powersupply when running power hungry graphics cards like 8800 GTX and inability to overrclock the motherboard and the use of stock cooling Can build one cheaper, but would do so only if doing so for gaming ... this computer is my wife's computer and she loves it. Had a small problem with a screw for media card that caused a rattle in the case (Dell support helped me isolate the problem and sent me a screw, so no biggee)
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Larry23343
(Cincinnati, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 20" UltraSharp 2007FP Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:320GB SATA Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/ DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

Dell XPS 410 Quad Processor- great PC

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have not tried any newer games yet on it, but can't wait to see how they work and look. My son is wanting to get some new games to run on it.
Pros:I can't help but rave about the 410 because for the basic reason that I upgraded from a Dell Pentiium III 500 mhz. So with 2 GB memory, this thing flies. Video and TV work great. Web pages open faster. And it is very, very quiet. I love having the 13 in 1 media slots. Makes it very easy to copy digital photos.
Cons:Only Con probably has to do with Vista. I get an occasional error for some applications, but seem to not cause any problems, and applications work fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bbetter
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6700 (2.66GHz,1066FSB) with 4MB cache
Memory:2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHZ-2X1GB
Monitor:Dell 17" UltraSharp 1707FPV Flat Panel, w/ Adjustable Stand
Hard Drive:320GB SATA Hard Drive (7,200RPM) w/ DataBurst Cache
Video Card:256MB nVidia GeForce 7900 GS
Title:

My XPS410

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Would like to have a few more, it is just a good machine.
Pros:Quiet, no doors to open for access to the most used ports, Very versatal, good machine
Cons:None yet
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23