Customer reviews for XPS 15

XPS 15

XPS 15
4.241 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 224 reviews
5 Stars
137
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
11
1 Star
15
4.2
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 219
189 out of 22484%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 15
Review 1 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jonathan07
(Minnesota, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Disappointing Product

PostedAugust 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The XPS 15 is by far the most troublesome product I have purchased from Dell. I have had several issues in the 15 months I have owned it. First, my screen needed to be replaced because of many dead pixels. Second, a tech removed a piece a metal that didn't belong in the machine which was causing a very loud rattling noise which was thought to have been the hard drive or fan making the noise. Now I have received the 2000-0142 hard drive error which means I will have to replace the drive and reinstall the OS. The XPS 15 has given me way too many problems in the short time I have owned it. The customer service was good but perhaps I will consider a different brand next time.
Pros:great 1080p display, plays games well, good sound
Cons:bulky, hardware issues
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Breather
(Foster City, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Exceptional Laptop

PostedJune 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was one of the best purchases I have ever made. Durable, fast and a quality product that even shocked me. Great for a power user.
Pros:compact fast and versatile.
Cons:none that i could find.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 12, 2013
Hey Breather,

Thanks for the great review on your XPS 15 laptop. This really is an awesome system. Hope you continue to enjoy!

Thanks again!! JGB
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alen2332
(Kochi)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

My Powerhouse..

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own this system since 2010.. its really mind blowing.. an awesome product from dell.. performance wise, battery wise, quality wise, it's nothing other than awesome..
Pros:100% perfect
Cons:i can't find any yet.. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:odayabbas
(smyrna)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great but freezes

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This has been my best deal ever with laptops; but unfortunately, it has recently been freezing. This problem has been going on for few months in which many dell users are complaining and DELL is not doing anything about it.
It has been freezing randomly and dangerously, and i simply have to force-shut it down.
Dell is not leaving any comments about this problem in the forums.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DBB2012
(Hercules, Caliornia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

The USB 3 issue is a killer

PostedAugust 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give it a single star for just one terrible issue – the USB 3 ports work sporadically and lately I cannot make them work at all. They worked fine for the first 3 months and now I have to say a prayer every time I plug in my external hard drive… Sometimes the prayer helps, but I am tired of praying… I have not been able to define the exact pattern of how and when they are detected and when not, but the problem is obvious several external hard drives that I have tried. No, I cannot ignore the USB 3.0 ports as they are a critical feature. I have tried all of the various suggestions from the forums as well as having the latest drivers, but to no avail. For many months now DELL has not offered any meaningful resolution or work around.
Otherwise the rest of the laptop is great and has performed flawlessly.
Pros:software development, personal computer
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JonasB
(Atlanta, GA)
Title:

Everything it is advertised to be...and more

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop does it all; when really cranking on a game the fan is heard, but certainly not annoying, and cannot be heard over the AMAZING sound system built in. I have had not one glitch with this machine..no BSOD's, no crashes, nothing. I just does what it is supposed to do; compute and not annoy.
Pros:entertainment/movies, business at home
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mnavon
Title:

Very disappointed

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got the XPS 15 on February 2011 (one year ago) with a one year warranty, one week after the warranty has expired the motherboard of the compute died.
Dell wants to charge $504.00 for a $700.00 computer… I called them 3-4 times every time I spent more the 60 minutes on the line… no help what so ever.
Very disappointed, will not recommend this to anyone.
Pros:design
+44points
52of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Librajm
Title:

USB3.0 have high possibility of initial failure

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you don't need USB3.0 port, this laptop will be nice laptop to buy.
It has high possibility of getting initial failure at USB3.0 port.
There are tons of people have same problem at forum, but it had not been solved till now.
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/p/19353745/19778023.aspx
+26points
31of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisJD
(New York)
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has been just good to me since I got it out of the box. It handles all my tasks efficiently and never stops working. I sometimes leave processes open which use a lot of ram (such as video games) and forget I even have it open while doing other things. Doesn't crash, the battery life is pretty good if you use it on energy saver, and I would have to say this is one of the best windows computer on the market
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Umair01
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nice to have if u love laptops

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
XPS is a gr8 series, good for performance. I use laptops very roughly and I am glad this product isnt sensitive.
I keep it powered on for weeks, speed remains gr8.
Never halts, nor does it have ANY sort of sound.
Good for movies, games, and for normal day to day work.
Drawbacks:
1. Left side heats up a little more than it should (because of fan)
2. Overweight
Key features
1. Excellent sound
2. Speed is awesome
3. Display is good
4. Battery life is good
5. Keyboard is user friendly
Pros:streaming video, Gaming, day to day work
+23points
27of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sabrebill30
(California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS Well Worth The Price

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Recently bought the XPS 15 L502X model and I'm blown away. Touch screen is awesome and the JBL speakers will blow you away. The backlit keyboard is great in lowlight situations. The support I received while waiting for delivery was awesome and I even recieved the laptop a day earlier than promised. If you are looking for a good PC laptop then this is the one. Didn't give it the full 5 stars because no matter what, everything can always be better!
Pros:home
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Adi
(Pune (India))
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Beast Unleashed!!!

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop Specs:
1. Intel Core i7-2630QM processor 2.00 GHz (Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 2.90 GHz)
2. 8GB Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
3. 15.6" Full HD (1920x1080) B+RGLED
4. 750GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
5. 2GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 540M graphics with Optimus
6. 9 Cell Primary Battery
First of all, I would like to thank Dell to launch such a beast. There is nothing that this laptop cannot do. Let me write this in terms of pros and cons.
Pros:
It can play each and every game... very smoothly.(tried COD-Black ops, dirt 2, GTA 4, NFS Hot Pursuit, Crysis 2). Crysis 2 runs very smooth even at 1920x1080!!!
The Full HD Screen is a must (esp for Blu Ray movies). And as they claim, JBL speakers are the best one can have in a laptop. The speaker quality is way better than any other speakers.
And the remaining few things such as ports and all are perfectly fine and in right position.
The Design is very Graceful. The two USB 3.0 ports work absolutely great.
Long story short, This the best laptop in the market.
Cons:
The battery and a bit heating problem.
The Battery runs out within one n a half hour if switched to Nvidia High Performance GPU.
(Switching to NVidia high performance GPU doesn't make any sense as the GPU already has Optimus Technology.)
If not switched to NVidia, you can get a nice battery life of upto 3 n a half hours.
The left side of trackpad heats up very quickly. But the temprature remains const. at certain level.
Though you wont feel the heat on your lap!!!
Thank you DELL...
Pros:Gaming, programing, movies (mostly blu ray)
+67points
69of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JaroSK
(Bournemouth)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Gaming Laptop

PostedApril 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hi, after a month of using Dell XPS I can say that it is very very good laptop. Mostly I use it for Photoshop and gaming. I play AVA and have all details high in highest resolution and still get between 45-70 fps. It has very good internal speakers as well as sound card is wonderful. Only in setting you need to set that you have connected big speakers. Nevermid.
In Photoshop I do HDR's and it works very fast, even comparing to my old duocore T5555 1.8 Ghz
Webcam is excelent as well, nice high resolution and works very good in low light.
Some cons? Well, only 2 USBs on left side, no card reader, no VGA or SVIDEO for connecting to projector, when touchpad is off, its light indicator is on.
Otherwise it is very nice laptop, recommended for quality and price!!!
Pros:photoshop - hdr, games (ava crossfire)
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeanGecko
Title:

XPS 15 a Dream to use. AMAZING

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
System config
System Config:
Intel Core i5 460m
4GB RAM
500 GB HDD
720p Screen
9 Cell Battery
The sound is amazing
The graphics are beautiful
I think the 720 p looks great
Got it for 812 and for a desktop replacement and for a student computer this has been amazing.
Pros:poker, videos, music, downloading, reading comics
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ceaser28
Title:

Exceptionally good display and very good sound

PostedApril 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a programmer(server appllications with java, ruby, ,net) and my review is primarily for programmers. I got the xps just yesterday.
my specs:
1. core i7 quad 2nd generation 2.2 GHz. 2.0 Ghz is cheaper and i reccommend that over my 2.2 which is expensive.
2. 8 GB ram.
3. Blue ray writer.
4. 640 GB 7200 rpm hdd. Wish I could afford the SSD.
5. Full HD screen. A MUST.
6. Back lit keyboard - strongly reccommended.
7. The other specs should not matter.
The full HD(1900*1080) display is a must. Thats where the XPS 15 (L502x) stands out. The JBL speakers are very good but playing movies and audio is a low priority to me.
DO NOT get the default 1300*768, you will regret it as a programmer.
One down side is the software. There is a lot of bloatware (1.6 GB is the overall memory footprit with none of your dev apps/tools running) you would want to get rid of. I am planning on getting windows 7 prof and doing a clean install. I will setup a ubuntu dual boot.
I am very impressed with the asthetics of the xps.
DO NOT get the 9 cell battery unless you really need it. The xps is on the bulky side and the 9 cell would make it even more so. I reccomend getting an additional battery if u need extra time. The 6 cell battery gives me a little over 2 hrs.
The xps performs very well. I have many apps and a few servers running and the xps is still very responsive.
Pros:software development
+44points
46of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AAYUSH
Title:

looking for new laptop

PostedApril 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
if u r looking for new laptop...then now thinking is over here.. jst go for dell XPS..
u will nt get better than this,,.
bt the only problem in this is the usb...all 3 placed in different sides...
if u ignore usb... then its the best product with great performance...
speaker is fabilous... u wont b needing to buy any extra speaker or woofer..like in other products...
Pros:software developedment, video streaming, playing games
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ashutosh
Title:

A Decent pick!

PostedApril 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
-Backlight is just superb!
-Fantastic music and display quality
-Microphonage and Camera...
-ShortCut keys
-Looks and design
Cons:
-Battery Life and Heating
-Shortcut keys, not much shortcut keys
-Price is a BIT high
NOTE: this is my 3rd day of heavy usage!
Pros:multimedia, Gaming, softwares
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Billy
(Trois-Rivières, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Perfect for performance and media

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop mainly for performance (bought it with a quad-core i7), and I am satisfied. I run heavy programming software without problem.
The lcd screen was broken when I received the laptop. Dell arranged with purolator to pick up the laptop, and the laptop was returned to me less than a week later, with no cost.
The 1366x768 lcd screen is very bright, but the resolution is a bit disapointing, althoug it is the standard for 15 in screens. 1600x900 would have been nice.
The quad-core came with the 9-cell battery. Although I did not expect this, I was pleased with that, even if I hate inclined keyboards. The inclinasion caused by the 9-cell battery sticking out is minor, and I even would say it is an advantage. The 9-cell battery gives the battery a good life, from 3-5 hours depending on usage.
The keyboard is great : IT HAS NO NUMPAD !!! :D I hate numpads because it wastes space. Without numpad, the arrow keys are not reduced in size and the keyboard is centered with the laptop, which is great. The top row keys can be configured to use the shortcuts (ex. : Sound, media control) or the function keys (ie. : F1, F2, etc).
The touchpad is ok, although not great. The multitouch works well.
Although I wasn't looing for that, the laptop is great for media. I usually hate the sound on laptops (I am quite fussy with sound quality), but this laptop has IMPRESSIVE SOUND. It's subwoofer and good speakers convinced me that a laptop can have good sound. I actually like watching a movie with the speakers, which is quite convenient.
Pros:software development, internet, office work, watch movies, virtual machines
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Suva Boy
Title:

Considering Buying this laptop

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hello,
You are probably considering purchasing this laptop.
I just did, and have been using it for a day now.
Nothing wrong with the specifications. The speakers are as good as they advertise. The Full HD screen is the reason why I got this laptop. The extra real estate on the screen is worth it. I have compared it to my other Dell laptop and deskstop screens - and the XPS screen has a better gamut. In complete darkness the screen still has a bit of backlight to it; but which screen doesn't.
Backlit keyboard is nice.
Using it on my lap for about an hour - and I could feel the warmth (even though I have the 9 cell battery). It is not as bad as almost all other laptops (I work in IT). There is just one section in the middle that is slightly warm.
This laptop is meant for desk use.
Bundled software is great (there is the usual crapware)
I went for the core i5 and the 1GB Graphics - because they have a lower TDP (generate less heat). I would not want the i7/2gb graphics option - unless you love your games and are bothered by waiting a few seconds more for media intensive operations.
I can't seem to find another laptop similar to this with sandy bridge.
Wish list (for Dell if your listening):
- Do some engineering and make your laptops thinner
- Better heat dissapation (apple does this well)
- Bluetooth audio output (just like mobile phone) I am sure that the hardware is capable - but I can't find the software.
Enjoy.
Suva Boy
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 15
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:minx781
(scotland)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

my laptop

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think the dell xps laptop is fab. The keys on it is set out just nice for me. Its got 3 usbs on it which is handy for me instead of buying a hub, and its got a built in card reader which is also fab. Battery life is good too. Overall this laptop is brill.
Pros:picture and video editing
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11