Customer reviews for XPS 15 (L521x)

XPS 15 (L521x)

XPS 15 (L521x)
3.584 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 238 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
34
1 Star
31
3.6
 / 
5
(238 reviews) 233
150 out of 23863%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 15 (L521x)
Review 1 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Used for School

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop to help complete my classes for my master's degree in Statistics. This laptop has had the horsepower, memory, and drive capacity to handle my most complex and sophisticated computations, reports, and general office activities. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Touch Pad

PostedJanuary 28, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
The touch pad is sensative and does not respond to the adjustments withing the touchpad properties. Movement and speed is adjustable, but the click function is issue. I often find myself victim of a random click just because my hands are near the pad.....frustrating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Watch out for wireless card.

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Excellent laptop with poor wireless card. Had to be fixed under warranty and connectivity is mediocre at best with short range compared to other devices in house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

L521X Style and Function

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Sleek and thin; rapid start up; tough as nails look. With the SSD, I believe this is the start of a long relationship. At least longer the the last laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Review

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
The screen is good enough, but there are some problems such us sometines can;t connect to wifi and some system problems. Whatever, its good, I think, but not excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

good device , i had no problems with.

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
good device , i had no problems with it at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Very Extreme Performance

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like this PC of mine so much. The body, system, Graphics, everything. It helps me so much in my course especially for developing purposes. Thank You very much :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everyrhing about this laptop is top notch. My only complaint is that the wi-fi range is weak.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

They do try

PostedJuly 12, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this XPS L521X for about 2 years and caught a bug or something within the 1st 3 months of using it. The computer has been giving me Blue screens and Screen freeze ever since. I've work with Technical support multiple times in trying the solve the issue but keep having the same issues. I've had 4 or 5 techs stop by to repair it, Dell remote access tech work on it over 8 or more times and i've mail the laptop back to Dell twice to correct the issue and here i am still having the same issue. So all i would like to know is when is it time to replace this defective device? I really want a happy experience with a dell laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Wifi

PostedJuly 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wifi is not working properly,Wifi Range is very low
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Power supply is heavy!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The power supply is heavy! I am replacing my Samsung Series 9 NP900X4D which is very light and thin (notebook and power supply). So, it is a lot heavier than the Samsung. I was very happy with my Samsung but the monitor deteriorated after less than two years (don't get Samsung though!). I travel often so weight matters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Vacaville, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Known WIFI issues NOT fixed "BUYER BEWARE"

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my third refurbished laptop from Dell in the last 12 years. As with the 2 previous laptops (Inspiron 9100 & XPS M1530) it arrived in perfect condition, not a mark on it. Out of the box, the XPS is pure eye candy.
I use the laptop primarily for Photoshop CS6 , Lightroom, and the NIK photo suite. Simply stated, this computer smokes anything file type I throw at it.
Okay, let’s talk about the “KNOWN” WIFI issue; my computer is one of the units that has the problem. My old XPS M1530 with a Centrino WIFI card is able to operate at 15 to 20 KBps and the new XPS with the Killer WIFI card has difficulty achieving 6 KBps. After 90 minutes on the phone with tech support I was given the choice of returning the laptop or having the antenna/screen replaced. Initially I elected to return the unit.
Upon further consideration, I decided to keep the unit based on what I paid for it, what it was going to be used for. I once again called tech support to initiate the repair. Even with a support reference number it took 90 FRIGGIN minutes to initiate the repair. WHY?????
The repair (replace WIFI card and screen/antenna) was completed in a timely manner, unfortunately the WIFI issue persists, the WIFI speed continues to be 6KBps.
Now let’s talk about Dell’s review page. Reviews should be listed by date, NOT the highest reviews first. Defaulting to the highest review first is as unfair as defaulting to the lowest reviews first. Be fair and transparent with customers. If reviews were listed by date, perspective buyers could easily research whether an issue with a particular model or component had been resolved.
Pros:eye candy, great for photo post processing
Cons:wifi is faulty, wifi does not work, did i say wifi does not work properly?, wifi issues
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

XPS 15 - replaced my 2006 Latitude graphics workhorse

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Latitude from 2006 finally took a dump, and I needed a new computer that could do graphics editing (photoshop/illustrator/sketchup) but for a good price. Dell was having some sort of sale...and I picked up the computer with shipping for less than $700. So I'm super stoked about the price. The computer is beautiful but heavy and the screen is glossy which can be obnoxious. I love that I was able to get Windows 7 still and a CD/DVD drive! I like that it has an HDMI output, and the 3 USB ports are good. Only drawback is sometimes it's a bit slow, I think I need more than 6gb of RAM - but it is expandable (which isn't hard to do). It has a 'dedicated graphics' card...but it's not much which was kind of disappointing, but so far no major issues with it.
Pros:windows 7, beautiful, backlit keypad, 2 aux jax, cd/dvd, hdmi, price
Cons:heavy, 6 gb ram, not enough dedicated graphics
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The ultimate school/home/work laptop

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've owned this laptop for over a month now and because of that, Dell has changed the way I feel about PCs. I made the switch because everything I do at work is Internet Explorer based. This laptop is lightning fast thanks to an impressive Intel I5 processor, Intel Rapid Start technology, and a 32GB SSD. I have yet to be held back by the performance of this computer. I also love the touch pad and amazing HD graphics.
Pros:lightning-fast, ssd and hdd
Cons:no finger-print scanner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS15

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have owned this laptop for nearly 2 years. Solid machine with great features. Got my son a different machine and I regret it. Should have gotten him the same as I have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

2012 verison of XPS15

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good, fast machine. The 32 GB solid state drive is used for cache to startup and launch applications very fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Rochester, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

High End Laptop-Low End Shopping Experience

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 15 is a solidly made, has a gorgeous screen, and it runs cool and quiet. It also comes with a premium price tag, so it's reasonable to expect premium service.
Unfortunately, over the years the Dell shopping experience has become progressively more confusing and disjointed, and is anything but premium. As one example, the "Advantage Loyalty Program" is supposed to yield a 5% discount and free second day shipping. The signup and tracking of that program seems completely disconnected from the rest of my Dell account. Instead of a simple 5% discount, there's a gift card with an expiration date that comes weeks later, more confusing redemption, delays with shipping, etc.
So, if a powerful desktop replacement is your thing, the XPS15 is a good choice. Just be ready to tolerate the Dell "Experience" that goes along with it.
Pros:beautiful screen, ability to have 1 tb of storage
Cons:some win apps don't support hi res - look tiny, 1 tb model has mediocre (4 hr) battery life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Paterson nj)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best computer I ever try

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
the xps 15 is the best computer I ever try I recoment it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Value Purchase

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Good configuration at this price;
Beautiful design.
Cons:
Kinda heavy;
Battery durability below average.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 15 (L521x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

EXCELLENT Customer Service and EXCELLENT laptop

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I want to note that I do not work for Dell and was not paid money for this review or asked to write this review. I am simply a loyal Dell consumer impressed especially by the customer service offered during this transaction.
I purchased a brand new XPS L521x about a month ago from Dell. This was to replace my Dell XPS M1530 which I have loved and had no problems with for 5 1/2 years until it finally overheated. I purchased the L521x laptop at a great price. However, when I received the first L521x, I was one of the unlucky few to receive a laptop that had a terrible wireless connection. It constantly disconnected and was extremely slow online. So I called Dell and arranged for an exchange. Customer service was excellent, they promised me that the new laptop's wireless would work and although I was skeptical at the time, they were absolutely right. After waiting about two weeks for the replacement and using my tablet in the meanwhile for internet, I received the new laptop. The wireless works great now, it's at least the same speed or even faster than my old M1530. I was especially amazed by the customer service because every other business day while waiting for the replacement, I received a phone call from an agent updating me on the status of the new laptop. Plus, they upgraded me to free one business day shipping which was an added bonus. They also did not charge me to send back the original L521x. Overall, this whole experience has been wonderful. Dell turned a possibly bad experience into a worthwhile experience. If you are hesitating buying one of these laptops, please don't, you won't regret it. Not all of these laptops have a wireless issue, just be certain you ask to have yours personally tested before it is sent to you. In addition to all I've said about the Customer Service, please see below for my list of benefits about this laptop's features:
Pros:slim design (much slimmer than xps m1530), good battery life for a 15.6" laptop, modern trackpad single button/two finger scrolling, great price, backlit keyboard, fast boot-up good processing power, dell = great customer service thanks michael dell, windows 7
Cons:2012 model is not touch screen
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12