Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)
4.251 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 487 reviews
5 Stars
293
4 Stars
106
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
21
1 Star
31
4.3
 / 
5
(487 reviews) 460
412 out of 48785%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)
Review 141 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Philly)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Air's Cousin

PostedMay 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would never take away anything from the MacBook Air when running Mountain Lion, given that I do. And it is rock solid. But I now finally have an "Air" th the Throne for the Windows platform. The XPS13 is truly the close cousin to the Air. In design, performance and just overall sexiness. They even share the same mini display port to VGA adapter. If you're looking for solid Windows performance in an ultra book, but have always had Air envy, stop looking!!!
Pros:business travel
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 142 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Coolest Dell ever

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using Dell machines for over 10 years now, desktops, servers, countless laptops both personal as well as for work. Between my girlfriend and myself, we own laptops including a netbook and an ultra portable.
I must say, by far this is the coolest Dell product I have ever come across over the years. Usually if you are looking for build quality in laptops, Latitude is the way to go. But the 13z is simply a killer. With drop dead gorgeous looks, extreme usability, extraordinary power packed into a tiny profile, it's simply incredible.
I can't find anything wrong with it yet. The fan noise complaint from other posts might be legit, but appears -- at least in my case -- related to how you use the laptop. Basically all the air vents are located at the bottom of/under the laptop. Which means, if you place the laptop on any surface that does not allow for the props (the two horizontal rubber supports) to create space underneath the laptop, such as a bed, then there is no outlet for the hot air, which ends up heating the laptop, and soon the fan will start wailing. Put it on a hard flat surface or hold it on your lap for a few minutes, and it'll go quiet.
Pros: Stunning looks, incredible performance, really fast startup speed (despite pathetic Win7 OS -- seriously the worst OS ever), keyboard's super quiet and easy to use (your fingers can just glide over them), awesome (sharp and clear) display (don't know what a couple of other reviewers were looking at), I can go on.
Cons: hmmmmm, yeah none so far.
Possible improvements:
- screen could have been designed to open further, the current max angle is a little limiting if using it lying down or something. by no means a deal breaker.
- couple of additional usb ports would have been nice.
- IMHO, Dell could have made the cover logo (behind the screen) illuminated, similar to the Macbook or some of the other laptop manufacturers. I think that little addition would take this lean mean machine to a different league.
Pros:travel email word processing, systems maintenance software development
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 143 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pensacola, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Ultrabook

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent a lot of time looking at different ultrabooks from many makers and settled on the Dell XPS 13. I was concerned by many internet reviews about the display and viewing angles, but after using the dell, I can say that the display is fantastic. I have no issues with the viewing angles or color representation. Battery life is great, the device is quick and boots fast. Very, very satisfied with this purchase. Great job Dell.
Pros:blogging, writing
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 144 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great laptop, but flaky touchpad

PostedMay 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love almost everything about this compact laptop! Unfortunately, the touchpad is too big and too sensitive. Even with the highest touch level settings the cursor flies all over the place when typing from accidental tapping. This leads to deletions, insertions, and all kinds of crazy stuff happening. I'm waiting for a revised driver that should shut off the touchpad when typing. I hope this helps, because it's the only thing keeping me from giving it a top rating.
Pros:business applications, blogging, surfing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 145 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Austin TX)
Title:

Stellar build quality; insanely fast boot times

PostedMay 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My last home system was a MacBook pro and this system's build quality is on par with that unibody construction. I'm impressed with how quickly this machine boots up when completely shut off (under 20 seconds) and also how quickly it wakes up when sleeping. Overall the best Dell system I have used to date.
Pros:photo editing, music, web surfing
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 146 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Strange whining sound from motherboard

PostedMay 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried two of these laptops, but hear a high pitched electric "squealing" or whine coming from the keyboard area. I think it is the motherboard or one of the electrical components. Distinctly electric in nature. I exchanged my first unit for another new unit, but same problem.
Granted it has to be very quiet for you to hear it, but sitting at my desk at night it is extremely irritating.
I even tried disabling Intel Speedstep in bios because I remember my old desktop's power supply unit used to make the exact same noise when SpeedStep was enabled. Not it. Still squealing away as I type this.
Am I alone on this or has anyone heard of similar problems? Is there a fix or something we have to live with?
Otherwise, build quality is good. I like the keyboard. Screen is bright, but color reproduction is so-so, but I was expecting that. Touch-pad is not the best, but not horrible. Fan is very inconsistent, might have something to do with heatsink size. I have taken mine apart and the heatsink is tiny. Bios update doesn't really help, my fan noise is like a rollercoaster even at idle at room temp. Also very annoying.
The only things I can honestly praise about this laptop after coming from a macbook pro are the build quality (just about on par, not quite), keyboard (better), and form factor.
Need driver updates or recall!
Pros:student
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 21, 2012
Molermoler ,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with the XPS 13 Ultrabook. The fan cycling is not just the heat sink. The diminutive size inherent in an Ultrabook, is going to make airflow a vital part of cooling the system. As for the whining, this is new to me. You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares), and they can take a look at your order history and maybe offer you some assistance. At the very least, they can document your issue for our engineers to investigate.

If you don't have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell's Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/wPdrET

A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide her name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you again for your time,
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 147 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

First Ultrbook

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Needed to buy a new laptop for the business, needs to be small enough to travel well, almost bought a Mac until I happened on the Dell site, read the reviews bought the i5 with 256, 9 days from order to delivery, though this did include a bank holiday, communication good with constant updates by e-mail from Dell.
Arrived and unboxed, online within ten mins, what a fab piece of equipment, all the things you read shouldnt put you off owning one of these, fan cust in and out but is no noisier than any other, to be fair I wouldnt have noticed it if it hadnt been mentioned on here. Track pad is fine, having not used a click pad before its much better than my wifes Compaq. Battery life is good, like all things depends on how you use it, love the key board, as a two finger thumper I seem to be able to type much faster on this key board?
Cons.....? The leather case isnt brilliant at £40 ish but fits well enough, face recognition a bit odd to use.
Bought my last desktop from Dell about 18 months ago, cant believe how much things have moved on since then. If you're toying with the idea of buying one of these, go ahead, you wont regret it, treat yourself, it may seem expensive but you'll see where the extre £££ has gone as soon as you open the box.
Love it Love it.......
Pros:home, work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 148 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

First ultra book

PostedMay 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the first ultra book I have owned.
I have had it for about 3 month and love it.
Pros: nice size and quick speed. WiFi connect very smooth. I bought this instead of the MacAir and I am glad i did.
Cons: Speaker could be better. Would like to upgrade to the i7 and 256GB drive.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 149 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent several weeks looking at MacBook Air's and came very close to buying one several times. I liked the form factor and wanted something that looked great and performed at a high level. When I saw the Dell XPS13, I had to pause and give it strong consideration, largely because it offered nearly the exact same specs for a few hundred dollars less. The initial reviews for the XPS13 were pretty good, notwithstanding the track pad and fan issues. I decided to take the plunge and purchased the XPS13 and haven't looked back even once. This is a wonderful computer.
The form factor of this machine is everything I had hoped it would be. It's the perfect size for me and feels sturdy and well built. Beyond that, the performance is excellent in my opinion. I don't understand the reviews from a few complaining about the display. It's a great display, sharp and clear, and provides the perfect amount of real estate for my needs. The updated driver for the track pad has solved all issues in my opinion, and I don't think complaints about this have much merit anymore. I will say that even with the BIOS update that included some fine-tuning for the fan acoustics, the fan is still a bit loud when it runs, but it seems to run minimally and for me isn't that big of a deal. I love how quick the system boots up, and wakes up after putting it to sleep. The 128 GB solid state hard drive is quick but is on the small side in terms of capacity. You will have around 70 GB free when you receive the system. My preferred use of the machine doesn't require me to put a lot of stuff on it, so for me it's fine, but if you want to store pictures or videos on it, you may want to opt for a larger drive. My only complaint would be that getting 8 hours of battery life is not realistic unless you turn off wireless and lower the sreen brightness way down and do nothing but word processing. For me, with browsing the internet along with some writing, I would say I get more along the lines of 5-6 hours on average, which is not great in my opinion.
Overall, I would highly recommend this computer. It's a great value and beats all other windows based ultrabooks hands down. I would say that it gives the MacBook Air solid competition in terms of overall performance and beats it hands down in terms of price. If you're looking for a great laptop designed for high portability and medium level usage (i.e., internet, office work, medium level gaming, etc.), you can't go wrong with this computer.
Pros:browing internet, Travel, writing, streaming movies
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 150 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

A new age of mobility

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Definitley the lightest most powerful laptop i've ever had. Macbook Air ? Who cares!
Pros:trave, personal
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 151 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Airway Heights Wa 99001)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

XPS-13

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's new XPS 13 is not only Thin, Light & Powerful it just may be the sexiest laptop ever be produced. Add to that the fact that it is a work horse and you have the most complete laptop to date. The XPS 13 is in a word GREAT!
Pros:work
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 152 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great laptop, unable to remove recovery partition

PostedMay 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Great PC, light weight, very fast.
Cons: Only 92GB of hard disk space left for the user. When trying to remove the recovery partition to free up more space received the message:
"Virtual Disk Service error:
Delete is not allowed on the current boot, system, pagefile, crashdump or hibernation volume."
I called technical support and they remotely logged in to my PC, went through the same steps I had already performed and proceeded to rename the partitions, delete files, format and reboot the PC. When it came back up it hung at a black screen with the message BOOTMGR MISSING. The rep did nothing with C drive so I can only assume that for some reason the system is set to boot off of the recovery partition which makes no sense. The rep wanted to see it reboot and as I sad no luck there. It has been over an hour and he has not called to see what happened.
Pros:Travel, business
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 14, 2012
Hello johnsch,

Sorry to hear that you are having problems deleting the recovery partition off of the XPS 13. Considering that deleting a partition can be a technical and sensitive process, I would advise at this point that you contact our experts on the Dell Community Forum (DCF) to get assistance for your ‘Next Steps’ to resolve your issue. They will be able to assess your situation and have your up and running in no time at all.

DCF – Laptops:
http://dell.to/ITUB2x
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 153 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Wish I'd have bought something else

PostedMay 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have previously bought lots of Dell laptops over the years because you can build to your own specs and they always perform. I just bought an xps13(i5) and this is the first time I have been dissapointed. (I also have an XPS15 i7 bought 2yrs ago which I still love). I purchased the XPS13 (i5) for its mobility - it does deliver this. The xps 13 is compact & light, but its not the 'crafted without compromise' as advertised. The worst thing about it is the screen clarity/resolution. It is not good, in fact it is bad - very bad. Had I seen the screen beforehand, I wouldn't have bought it - the poor readability is enough to buy something else. You can adjust the brightness etc to make it better but really, it is very 'under par' - like screens were 4 or 5 yrs ago!!! I also think they could have squeezed in another USB port and the keyboard is old-fashioned too. You may need to purchase a USB hub as there is only one port, also a dongle (for ethernet cable) and a connection for a screen cable if you are doing presentations/connecting to a screen - but that's ok, it is very small and light and they can't squeeze everthing in! Overall, I wish I'd have waited another year to buy the upgraded/improved version. I forgot the golden rule - never buy the first version of anything!!!
Pros:work/ms office software mostly, internet, Travel
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCUSTOMER REVIEWSMay 14, 2012
Tadatada,

Thank you for taking the time to review your latest Dell acquisition in the XPS 13 Ultra Book. I am very sorry to hear it fell short of your expectations. We designed the XPS 13 to be the leading Ultra Book on the market.

The issues you mentioned lead me to believe you would be much happier with an XPS. It may not have the ultra portable design but, it would have all the ports you could handle and a screen upgrade option to boot!

Thank you again for your time,
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 154 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(SC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ultrabook's fatal flaw - buyer beware

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the past 12 years I have had 13 Dells. 9 are still in service: 2 vostro desktops, 2 optiplex, 4 Latitudes and a mini-10. The new ultrabook may be the best ever! I love it!
Pro: Light, stays cool, fast, good looking, great screen, great keyboard, GREAT BATTERY LIFE. I don't know what all of the negative reviews were talking about - I have zero problems and it is a great macine!
Con: It's addictive! When I use it I think about how nice it would be to replac the other 9 with Ultrabooks. I may have to report this to the FDA! It' addictive. Buyer beware!
Thanks Dell - THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE!
Pros:daily office use email letters internet skype, reading ebooks, spreadsheets scanning
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 155 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Touchpad is a Deal-Breaker

PostedMay 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted to like this unit- great size, great look, but the Touchpad is so bad on this thing, that I have come to hate using it. I've used probably 10 different laptops in the last 5 years & this is the worst. Sometimes hyper-sensitive and sometimes won't respond at all (at the same sitting- no difference in finger tip moisture). Nothing else really matters if the input method is poor, so I won't bother mentioning other performance topics.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 9, 2012
Hello JustT,

Sorry to hear you are not having a great out-of-box experience with your new XPS 13. Based on similar reviews and customer comments regarding the touchpad, Dell has released an updated driver to improve upon the responsiveness of the touchpad.

You can visit the Direct2Dell Blog link below, which includes the updated driver for the Dell Cypress TouchPad (A01 2.3.6.33):
http://dell.to/GW8mT8

As always, thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you being an early adopter of our new Ultrabook!
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 156 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome XPS 13 - Great Performance - Small & Light

PostedMay 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought the XPS 13 for our employees in our company. All of them travel in and out of the United States, and having a solid, light & powerful laptop was key. The screen is excellent, the overall build of the laptop feels sturdy, and the keyboard feels awesome to type of. The laptop has more than enough power for our business, and it is small & light, and looks really, really good. I do have two negatives, (1) The power supply seems a little loose and wiggles when plugged into the laptop. (2) The fan is loud on the laptop when it is on full-speed, but the fan generally only kicks-in when the laptop is sitting in the sun, not when used during normal office conditions.
Bottom line - Awesome laptop; exactly what we need for business and Dell's warranty service is the best in the business.
Grade: A+
Pros:business email, traveling for business, business writing, voip for business
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 157 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not suitable for medium-sized business

PostedMay 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
These XPS13 are great for personal use, but not suitable for medium-size business. They lack three key IT support features: no hard drive password reboot bypass, no hard drive password Security Erase, and no PXE boot. I sent my two XPS13 demo units back.
First, the hard drive password is on or off. There is no reboot bypass option in the BIOS.
Second, there is no Security Erase feature on the hard drive. On a Latitude or Precision laptop when you set the hard drive password, you are asked this question, "The hard disk drive supports Security Erase. If you enable this feature and then unlock the drive using the Dell supplied recovery password all data on the drive will be erased and cannot be recovered. Do you want to enable Security Erase for this drive?" On the XPS13, Dell will still supply the recovery password, but it doesn't erase the drive. So, a clever thief could impersonate you and get into the computer. We use the hard drive password with Security Erase and Windows BitLocker for encryption.
Third, there is no PXE boot, which means you can't image the laptop. I saw a post where someone had figured out how to do this with a third party USB-to-Ethernet card, but that doesn't scale well in the enterprise.
In summary, the XPS13 is primarily meant for the consumer, not the medium-sized business.
However, if you just need a personal laptop, the XPS is fast, light and works great.
Pros:medium-size business
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 7, 2012
Hello JeffSea,

Thank you for your review of the XPS 13. This system is primarily geared toward the consumer for a personal laptop.

Dell does offer the XPS 13 for purchase in the Large Enterprise section of the Dell.com website which will include additional security features, such as a built-in TPM chip and the option to upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate for BitLocker support. These additional features make it more fitting for a professional environment. At this time, these security features would only be available in the Large Enterprise segment.

Again, thank you for your review; we really appreciate feedback like this that can help us improve our products and services!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 158 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Washington)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice and light....so far so good, a little smaller than I might have liked but overall is a great little laptop. Start is nice and quick, love the back light keyboard.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 159 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Won't be ultra-useful until it can have 8gb RAM

PostedMay 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used almost nothing but Dells for the last 15 years in my business (but also have a 11 inch MacBook Air). I would love to have a windows-based ultra book as I find I take my MBR with me everywhere and leave my heavy e6400 at home mostly. The major downside with this laptop and the MBR is the 4GB RAM limit. Because of this VMWare workstation (or Mac Fusion) is VERY slow. Since MBR has had 4GB for over a year now, I would have through the Dell Ultrabook would at least have an 8GB option. If it did, I would readily dump my MBR for this.
Pros:Travel, consulting, vmware
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 7, 2012
Karsten-
Thanks so much for being such a loyal Dell Customer. Currently, as you are aware, we only offer the XPS 13 Ultrabook with a maximum of 4GB of RAM. There aren’t any rumblings right now about increasing the RAM to 8GB. That doesn’t mean it isn’t going to happen, but with with the XPS 13 being so new we just haven’t gone down that road yet. If you have an idea, please let your voice be heard on
http://www.ideastorm.com/. This is a great place to share and be heard, and the addition of 4GB of RAM to this system is a great idea.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 160 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Littleton, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bullet fast & light as a feather

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my XPS 13 for field work for my photography business. I have an XPS 17 as my primary computer, but needed something lighter and more nimble for field work. The XPS 13 delivers on everything as promised. It boots in seconds, is bullet fast and and light as a feather. It is an awesome machine and goes with me everywhere outside the office. I highly recommend this machine, you'll be thrilled
Pros:photography, e-mail
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... 24