Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)
4.278 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 478 reviews
5 Stars
291
4 Stars
105
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
18
1 Star
29
4.3
 / 
5
(478 reviews) 451
408 out of 47885%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)
Review 141 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:drpatel
Title:

A new age of mobility

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Definitley the lightest most powerful laptop i've ever had. Macbook Air ? Who cares!
Pros:trave, personal
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 142 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steinkobold
(Airway Heights Wa 99001)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

XPS-13

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's new XPS 13 is not only Thin, Light & Powerful it just may be the sexiest laptop ever be produced. Add to that the fact that it is a work horse and you have the most complete laptop to date. The XPS 13 is in a word GREAT!
Pros:work
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 143 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:johnsch
Title:

Great laptop, unable to remove recovery partition

PostedMay 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Great PC, light weight, very fast.
Cons: Only 92GB of hard disk space left for the user. When trying to remove the recovery partition to free up more space received the message:
"Virtual Disk Service error:
Delete is not allowed on the current boot, system, pagefile, crashdump or hibernation volume."
I called technical support and they remotely logged in to my PC, went through the same steps I had already performed and proceeded to rename the partitions, delete files, format and reboot the PC. When it came back up it hung at a black screen with the message BOOTMGR MISSING. The rep did nothing with C drive so I can only assume that for some reason the system is set to boot off of the recovery partition which makes no sense. The rep wanted to see it reboot and as I sad no luck there. It has been over an hour and he has not called to see what happened.
Pros:Travel, business
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 14, 2012
Hello johnsch,

Sorry to hear that you are having problems deleting the recovery partition off of the XPS 13. Considering that deleting a partition can be a technical and sensitive process, I would advise at this point that you contact our experts on the Dell Community Forum (DCF) to get assistance for your ‘Next Steps’ to resolve your issue. They will be able to assess your situation and have your up and running in no time at all.

DCF – Laptops:
http://dell.to/ITUB2x
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 144 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tadatada
Title:

Wish I'd have bought something else

PostedMay 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have previously bought lots of Dell laptops over the years because you can build to your own specs and they always perform. I just bought an xps13(i5) and this is the first time I have been dissapointed. (I also have an XPS15 i7 bought 2yrs ago which I still love). I purchased the XPS13 (i5) for its mobility - it does deliver this. The xps 13 is compact & light, but its not the 'crafted without compromise' as advertised. The worst thing about it is the screen clarity/resolution. It is not good, in fact it is bad - very bad. Had I seen the screen beforehand, I wouldn't have bought it - the poor readability is enough to buy something else. You can adjust the brightness etc to make it better but really, it is very 'under par' - like screens were 4 or 5 yrs ago!!! I also think they could have squeezed in another USB port and the keyboard is old-fashioned too. You may need to purchase a USB hub as there is only one port, also a dongle (for ethernet cable) and a connection for a screen cable if you are doing presentations/connecting to a screen - but that's ok, it is very small and light and they can't squeeze everthing in! Overall, I wish I'd have waited another year to buy the upgraded/improved version. I forgot the golden rule - never buy the first version of anything!!!
Pros:work/ms office software mostly, internet, Travel
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCUSTOMER REVIEWSMay 14, 2012
Tadatada,

Thank you for taking the time to review your latest Dell acquisition in the XPS 13 Ultra Book. I am very sorry to hear it fell short of your expectations. We designed the XPS 13 to be the leading Ultra Book on the market.

The issues you mentioned lead me to believe you would be much happier with an XPS. It may not have the ultra portable design but, it would have all the ports you could handle and a screen upgrade option to boot!

Thank you again for your time,
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 145 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrJoe
(SC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ultrabook's fatal flaw - buyer beware

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the past 12 years I have had 13 Dells. 9 are still in service: 2 vostro desktops, 2 optiplex, 4 Latitudes and a mini-10. The new ultrabook may be the best ever! I love it!
Pro: Light, stays cool, fast, good looking, great screen, great keyboard, GREAT BATTERY LIFE. I don't know what all of the negative reviews were talking about - I have zero problems and it is a great macine!
Con: It's addictive! When I use it I think about how nice it would be to replac the other 9 with Ultrabooks. I may have to report this to the FDA! It' addictive. Buyer beware!
Thanks Dell - THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE!
Pros:daily office use email letters internet skype, reading ebooks, spreadsheets scanning
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 146 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JustT
Title:

Touchpad is a Deal-Breaker

PostedMay 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted to like this unit- great size, great look, but the Touchpad is so bad on this thing, that I have come to hate using it. I've used probably 10 different laptops in the last 5 years & this is the worst. Sometimes hyper-sensitive and sometimes won't respond at all (at the same sitting- no difference in finger tip moisture). Nothing else really matters if the input method is poor, so I won't bother mentioning other performance topics.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 9, 2012
Hello JustT,

Sorry to hear you are not having a great out-of-box experience with your new XPS 13. Based on similar reviews and customer comments regarding the touchpad, Dell has released an updated driver to improve upon the responsiveness of the touchpad.

You can visit the Direct2Dell Blog link below, which includes the updated driver for the Dell Cypress TouchPad (A01 2.3.6.33):
http://dell.to/GW8mT8

As always, thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you being an early adopter of our new Ultrabook!
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 147 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kstockton
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome XPS 13 - Great Performance - Small & Light

PostedMay 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought the XPS 13 for our employees in our company. All of them travel in and out of the United States, and having a solid, light & powerful laptop was key. The screen is excellent, the overall build of the laptop feels sturdy, and the keyboard feels awesome to type of. The laptop has more than enough power for our business, and it is small & light, and looks really, really good. I do have two negatives, (1) The power supply seems a little loose and wiggles when plugged into the laptop. (2) The fan is loud on the laptop when it is on full-speed, but the fan generally only kicks-in when the laptop is sitting in the sun, not when used during normal office conditions.
Bottom line - Awesome laptop; exactly what we need for business and Dell's warranty service is the best in the business.
Grade: A+
Pros:business email, traveling for business, business writing, voip for business
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 148 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffSea
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not suitable for medium-sized business

PostedMay 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
These XPS13 are great for personal use, but not suitable for medium-size business. They lack three key IT support features: no hard drive password reboot bypass, no hard drive password Security Erase, and no PXE boot. I sent my two XPS13 demo units back.
First, the hard drive password is on or off. There is no reboot bypass option in the BIOS.
Second, there is no Security Erase feature on the hard drive. On a Latitude or Precision laptop when you set the hard drive password, you are asked this question, "The hard disk drive supports Security Erase. If you enable this feature and then unlock the drive using the Dell supplied recovery password all data on the drive will be erased and cannot be recovered. Do you want to enable Security Erase for this drive?" On the XPS13, Dell will still supply the recovery password, but it doesn't erase the drive. So, a clever thief could impersonate you and get into the computer. We use the hard drive password with Security Erase and Windows BitLocker for encryption.
Third, there is no PXE boot, which means you can't image the laptop. I saw a post where someone had figured out how to do this with a third party USB-to-Ethernet card, but that doesn't scale well in the enterprise.
In summary, the XPS13 is primarily meant for the consumer, not the medium-sized business.
However, if you just need a personal laptop, the XPS is fast, light and works great.
Pros:medium-size business
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 7, 2012
Hello JeffSea,

Thank you for your review of the XPS 13. This system is primarily geared toward the consumer for a personal laptop.

Dell does offer the XPS 13 for purchase in the Large Enterprise section of the Dell.com website which will include additional security features, such as a built-in TPM chip and the option to upgrade to Windows 7 Ultimate for BitLocker support. These additional features make it more fitting for a professional environment. At this time, these security features would only be available in the Large Enterprise segment.

Again, thank you for your review; we really appreciate feedback like this that can help us improve our products and services!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 149 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kimali
(Washington)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice and light....so far so good, a little smaller than I might have liked but overall is a great little laptop. Start is nice and quick, love the back light keyboard.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 150 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:karsten
Title:

Won't be ultra-useful until it can have 8gb RAM

PostedMay 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used almost nothing but Dells for the last 15 years in my business (but also have a 11 inch MacBook Air). I would love to have a windows-based ultra book as I find I take my MBR with me everywhere and leave my heavy e6400 at home mostly. The major downside with this laptop and the MBR is the 4GB RAM limit. Because of this VMWare workstation (or Mac Fusion) is VERY slow. Since MBR has had 4GB for over a year now, I would have through the Dell Ultrabook would at least have an 8GB option. If it did, I would readily dump my MBR for this.
Pros:Travel, consulting, vmware
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 7, 2012
Karsten-
Thanks so much for being such a loyal Dell Customer. Currently, as you are aware, we only offer the XPS 13 Ultrabook with a maximum of 4GB of RAM. There aren’t any rumblings right now about increasing the RAM to 8GB. That doesn’t mean it isn’t going to happen, but with with the XPS 13 being so new we just haven’t gone down that road yet. If you have an idea, please let your voice be heard on
http://www.ideastorm.com/. This is a great place to share and be heard, and the addition of 4GB of RAM to this system is a great idea.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 151 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bstrle
(Littleton, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bullet fast & light as a feather

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my XPS 13 for field work for my photography business. I have an XPS 17 as my primary computer, but needed something lighter and more nimble for field work. The XPS 13 delivers on everything as promised. It boots in seconds, is bullet fast and and light as a feather. It is an awesome machine and goes with me everywhere outside the office. I highly recommend this machine, you'll be thrilled
Pros:photography, e-mail
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 152 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:benetar12
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell XPS 13 ultrabook

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great machine. Very solid, good construction. Spped what you can expect from and comparable to other ultrabooks. No complaints as a former MBAir user. The only issues are the trackpad and battery life. The trackpad can make life difficult sometimes- not very smooth movement and kinda jumpy, sometimes both hands are required when one should be enough. Anyway just a little finicky in general. Battery life is 4 hours at best, this is probably the lowest in the ultrabooks market.
Pros:leisure
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 153 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bpss
Title:

Awesome machine

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
One of the best machines I have used. Has incredible features, amazing look. Awesome gaming machine. The best part is the 3-Year XPS Premier Service with Complete Cover warranty. An ideal machine.
Pros:video, Gaming
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 154 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RevKev
(Up Nort)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just As Advertised

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell sought to provide a thin, light & fast powerhouse. XPS13 is that. I chose, because of reviews, to go with i7 chip and largest HD available.
I reviewed Toshiba, Acer, Samsung and Apple "ultrabooks." I went with Dell because
* most of my software for work is MS
* the XPS offered what I needed and was pretty and new.
Pros:word processing, research, Travel, internet & games
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 155 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMS44
Title:

XPS 13

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell outdid themselves on this one. Light, very stylish, compact and most important, very quick to boot up. The backlit keyboard is a great feature, the screen is brilliant. Very happy with this purchase for my business.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 156 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChadFromLeicester
(Leicester, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very Happy

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Light, fast, quiet, sturdy. Ticks all the boxes.
Pros:software development, casual browsing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 157 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ev50
Title:

Easy to use, and easy to travel with

PostedMay 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I usually travel a lot and this laptop is great for that. I have found no problems with it so far.
Pros:business, personal
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 158 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CSCPBC
(Boynton Beach, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great ultrabook...smaller screen than I expected

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is one of the best ultrabooks on the market. It came in the mail in a solid wood case and dazzled us from the beginning. The keyboard and touchpad is spaced just right (even for larger fingers). Everything is lightning fast with the SSD hard drive and the i5 processor. Our only complaint is the screen size. The laptop has a 13” display (we measured it because we didn’t believe it at first), but appears to have the same size screen as our Latitude E4300 which has a 12.1” display. We assumed that it was going to be similar to the Macbook Air with a 13.3”, but is closer to the 12.1 because of the aspect ratio. In addition to screen size, we wish it would have included (or at least mentioned that we needed) a VGA/HDMI adapter. Don’t get me wrong…we love this ultrabook and don’t want to sound unhappy. You won’t be sorry if you decide to purchase one.
Pros:Travel, presentations
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 159 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mbrown33
Title:

Awesome Machine

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I saw this little workhorse in a store awhile ago, and was blown away by how ultraportable this machine was. I spent a couple of weeks researching this before I picked it up, and I'm very happy I did.
My other machine is a 15" samsung i7 laptop, and I had been planning on getting a Macbook air for awhile now because I wanted something more portable and had better battery life. The only thing that held me back was the price of the model with the larger hard drive, because I would need the extra space to run a Windows 7 partition. I am a computer science major, so the program I use the most is Visual Studio 2010, and when I saw a Dell made a windows machine with about the same specs as the air I was very excited.
This machine is perfect for my needs. Its tiny (barely bigger than my girlfriends ipad and is dwarfed by her 13" Macbook pro) which makes it very easy to take to class and work. The battery life is also pretty good. On the balanced setting I can get around 6 hours on a charge. The ssd and i5 makes this the fastest machine I've ever used. All the programs (Word, Excel, Visual Studio, Eclipse) load up in a snap. The backlit keyboard is very comfortable to type on and the trackpad seems to work pretty well, although I don't really use it too much because I plug in a wireless mouse. Another plus is it doesn't get too hot while sitting in your lap.
To me it wasn't worth the extra $300 for the larger hard drive. Flash drives and other external storage are cheap, and I'm able to fit all the programs I need on the 128gb HD. Although you only get about 70gb of free space to start off with, so that's something to consider.
I didn't buy it as a gaming machine, but it will run most games on low settings really well. I've tested Skyrim, Starcraft 2, Portal 2, WOW, COD, and Sims 3 and they all run very smooth on low settings. Again, this isn't made for gaming, but it is a plus that I can play a little on it and at the same time go 1.5-2 hours on a battery charge.
So overall I'm very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend this as a work machine. It's lightning fast and super easy to carry around from place to place.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 160 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jhonypapa
Title:

A Great Deal

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
XPS 13 has got some incredible features. It has got not only an amaizing look (not a surprise when you are buying dell)but also many mindblowing technical features. It has got 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD and 13.3" HD (720p) Truelife WLED Display which makes a perfect recipe for gaming and watching HD videos. Moreover, it's 3-Year XPS Premier Service with CompleteCover warrenty is an icing on the cake.Also, it's one of the lightest laptops in the market which makes it compfortable for mobile operations. And dell's technical support is very cooperative, committed and fast in action. Thus, all these makes 'DELL XPS 13' an ideal choice among laptops.
Cons
It comes with an integrated graphic card and thus not providing dedicated graphic card which may be required in some particular applications.
Review
If you want to make a reasonable and last longing deal, go for it.It won't let you down.
Pros:studies, Gaming, software development, videos
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... 23