Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)
4.278 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 478 reviews
5 Stars
291
4 Stars
105
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
18
1 Star
29
4.3
 / 
5
(478 reviews) 451
408 out of 47885%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)
Review 41 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nesterian
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Snappy Proccessor, Beautiful Design, Excellent

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is not a laptop but a Ultrabook. The Keyboard is Great, The Corning gorilla glass makes the Look gorgeous, The trackpad is Big, and the Backlit Keyboard is nice.
For me I have used this for gaming and runs minecraft on short rendering distance very smoothly at around 40fps. on normal, it'll range at around 20-40fps. Team Fortress 2 Runs very smoothly, Metro 2033... Not all that great... but I did expect that.
This Computer is very fast and runs games expectionally Excellent on certain games. This version is the i5 version 128gb ssd.
One con about this Ultrabook is the Touchpad.
when I use the touchpad sometimes the pointer stops moving when I use the touchpad for some time. I have to call Dell About that later, but now, it isnt really a issue because I am using a wireless mouse.
Great Job Dell! Really loved it and wont buy a new one till It has a Ivy Bridge Intel Proccessor.
These Ultrabook are Ultrabooks and are as fast or even faster than a regular sized laptop. It is Definitely not a Netbook.
Pros:Gaming, Travel, email, web browsing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Today
Title:

Excellent

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop for work because it is portable and capable of everything I needed to do. I have always loved my Dell products and I am incredibly pleased with the ultrabook. The size is perfect. It is light enough for me to carry in my purse but the screen is large enough that I do not feel as though I need another computer to use at home. I'm very pleased with my purchase!
Pros:Travel, work
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AndyJWoodrick
Title:

Outstanding

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
By far the best product I have purchased in years. Yes it's incredibly fast, looks great, designed perfectly and has exceeded all my expectations. But what really inspired me to write a review was the fact that it still works after flying off the hood of my car this morning and landing on an asphalt highway...at 55 mph! Amazing machine! Thanks!!
Pros:business
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LadyLett
(Starkville, MS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJune 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
So light! Needed a laptop to take back and forth to campus, this XPS was perfect!
Pros:Travel, School
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stephenson
(West Palm Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Thinnest & Powerful Ultra-book ever.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro: excellent Sound quality,face recognition,keyboard,dell webcam central,thinnest and beautiful design,boot up speed, multi-gesture track-pad,battery life, and very portable.
Con: none yet.
Pros:streaming video, Travel, school works, browser the web, typing, video-chatting
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sbenisto
Title:

Great Buying Experience

PostedJune 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I can't say enough about how pleasent this buying experience was. The customer service was unbeatable. There was a mistake in the term of interest free months and they quickly fixed the problem without question. I spoke to three represntitives over the buying period and they were all very helpful.
As for the computer. I have no complaints as of yet and I don't foresee any popping up soon. It's stylish, fast, reliable and comes with a lot of cool features.
I would certainly recommend the XPS 13 all if it suits you.
Pros:business, pleasure
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigmac50
Title:

Finally, A Mac-like Dell

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 13 ultrabook is the most Mac-like product ever with regard to styling and manufacturing quality - yet runs Windows! It starts really FAST with the solid state hard drive, excellent screen and resolution, a total winner. With the weight and tiny AC adapter - this is my NEW travel laptop. Dell, keep it up!
Pros:Travel
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:InterSys
(Tempe, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Superb laptop computer!!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS
I have been a Dell customer for many, many years -- -- I just won't consider using any other manufacturer -- -- and have had a succession of Inspiron laptops. I currently have an Inspiron 1765, and a Mini-10 netbook that I use all the time "on the road." I recently replaced my Mini-10 netbook with the new XPS 13 Ultrabook with I7 processor and 256 GB drive, and I was completely blown away. This is a superb computer: so fast, sleek, light, long battery life, easy to use. The almost instantaneous bootup is a sheer joy after the loooong wait for the Mini-10 or even the 1765 to start. The very fast response during use and when opening and saving files makes life sweet. Now I am seriously considering using the XPS 13 Ultrabook as my sole computer and giving the 1765 to my wife to replace her old Inspiron 1501.
CONS
My only very small con would be to wish for a bigger drive. I was previously using a 750 GB HDD in the Mini-10 (I have lots of work files!)so the 256 GB is a come down. But I have adjusted to it and, if necessary, I can connect a USB drive that uses one of my old laptop drives in a housing. I imagine there will be a larger drive upgrade at some point in the future so I can wait.
Very well done, Dell!! Another great product!!
Pros:powerpoint shows, email, publications & fliers, Travel, office, meetings, web browsing, smart board
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lovemytrips
Title:

Beautiful and functional

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have always been slow and reluctant to upgrade my PCs/Laptops in the past due mainly to the hassle involved in transferring information between machines. But the offer of a free XPS 13 was too good an opportunity to miss – and WOW am I pleased that I now have this beautifully designed, elegant and effective piece of kit. I now feel fully mobile having a machine that is as powerful as my old laptop but with the mobility of a netbook. Battery life appears to be good lasting a good 3 hours plus with constant use. But it is the reboot speed that is really impressive, booting up almost instantly which makes working on the go fantastically easy. The fast access face recognition also works well.
My main usage is for internet browsing and blogging for which the machine seems to be ideally suited with excellent reliable wireless connection both at home and on the road, and lightning fast processing (certainly set against the standards of my previous laptop). Also love the backlit keyboard which has made working in various grades of lighting more than acceptable.
So far the only negatives I have come across are the sensitivity of the touchpad which can be a tad unpredictable, and dome issues with Google Chrome and Internet Explorer but the latter issue appears to be more to do with Windows 7, so just switched to Firefox which is working fine
Pros:Travel, home
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rwp30
(Essex)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excelent Laptop BUT

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent Laptop
I love this thing money well spent in my book it delivers on performance, weight, size and battery life. The facial recognition login works really well.
My only criticism is about Dell datasafe local backup I upgraded to pro level online using the preinstalled software paid my money but over a week later I still do not have my activation code I have since found that datasafe is branded “Dell” but run by a number of other companies that seem to have no interest in supporting their customers.
I have pro support and as usual the support has been excellent my support rep has been dealing with my issue with datasafe but even he has had no luck.
I am now trying to get my money back.
I love the laptop would and have recommended it hard to anyone in the market or a laptop/ultrabook but just remove datasafe as soon as you complete you out of the box setup don’t bother with it go to a different provider for online backup.
Love Dell love the machine HATE Datasafe backup
Rob
Pros:it support
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TnDoc
Title:

Exploring India with my XPS

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Without belaboring things, let me just say that I love this computer. Faced with a lot of travel, I was looking for a more compact version of my newish Inspiron.
I am writing this commentary, in fact, on my XPS13 from a small hotel in New Delhi. We have carried this little laptop all over Europe and India and it has performed flawlessly in every location.
Beautifully crafted, it is rugged and very fast. It has proven to be the perfect laptop for our travel AND everyday needs.
We even used it to watch a movie on the rain back from Amritsar to Delhi last night! What a treat.
We also bought the nylon carrying envelope to protect the laptop in our travels. It has proven to be a valuable accessory.
I really am in love with this machine! I am glad that I spent the extra dollars to try this laptop.
Thank you, Dell!
Pros:Travel, medical practice
+9points
22of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aceimus
Title:

Ultrabook Extraordinaire

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Exceptional,Rugged,Lightweight,Economical,Efficient,Attractive. These are just some of the words that can be used when describing the XPS13 Ultrabook. Simply put it runs fast,looks good,and Sounds great. I would highly recommend to anyone who likes to stay on the cutting edge. I guarantee you wont regret this purchase. Best of all it's a Dell. This will be the 9th Dell computer that I have owned and I can say personally nobody offers the "After You Purchase Support" like Dell. They really have all the bases covered. I can't say enough about just how good they really are. Their Computers are great, but their support is outstanding. It is the best in the business.
Pros:Travel, web browsing, streaming video, listening to music, picture editing, video chatting
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BlaqViper
(Philly)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Air's Cousin

PostedMay 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would never take away anything from the MacBook Air when running Mountain Lion, given that I do. And it is rock solid. But I now finally have an "Air" th the Throne for the Windows platform. The XPS13 is truly the close cousin to the Air. In design, performance and just overall sexiness. They even share the same mini display port to VGA adapter. If you're looking for solid Windows performance in an ultra book, but have always had Air envy, stop looking!!!
Pros:business travel
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EvenLongetimeDellCustomer
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Coolest Dell ever

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using Dell machines for over 10 years now, desktops, servers, countless laptops both personal as well as for work. Between my girlfriend and myself, we own laptops including a netbook and an ultra portable.
I must say, by far this is the coolest Dell product I have ever come across over the years. Usually if you are looking for build quality in laptops, Latitude is the way to go. But the 13z is simply a killer. With drop dead gorgeous looks, extreme usability, extraordinary power packed into a tiny profile, it's simply incredible.
I can't find anything wrong with it yet. The fan noise complaint from other posts might be legit, but appears -- at least in my case -- related to how you use the laptop. Basically all the air vents are located at the bottom of/under the laptop. Which means, if you place the laptop on any surface that does not allow for the props (the two horizontal rubber supports) to create space underneath the laptop, such as a bed, then there is no outlet for the hot air, which ends up heating the laptop, and soon the fan will start wailing. Put it on a hard flat surface or hold it on your lap for a few minutes, and it'll go quiet.
Pros: Stunning looks, incredible performance, really fast startup speed (despite pathetic Win7 OS -- seriously the worst OS ever), keyboard's super quiet and easy to use (your fingers can just glide over them), awesome (sharp and clear) display (don't know what a couple of other reviewers were looking at), I can go on.
Cons: hmmmmm, yeah none so far.
Possible improvements:
- screen could have been designed to open further, the current max angle is a little limiting if using it lying down or something. by no means a deal breaker.
- couple of additional usb ports would have been nice.
- IMHO, Dell could have made the cover logo (behind the screen) illuminated, similar to the Macbook or some of the other laptop manufacturers. I think that little addition would take this lean mean machine to a different league.
Pros:travel email word processing, systems maintenance software development
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Pensacola, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Ultrabook

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent a lot of time looking at different ultrabooks from many makers and settled on the Dell XPS 13. I was concerned by many internet reviews about the display and viewing angles, but after using the dell, I can say that the display is fantastic. I have no issues with the viewing angles or color representation. Battery life is great, the device is quick and boots fast. Very, very satisfied with this purchase. Great job Dell.
Pros:blogging, writing
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stourvalley
Title:

First Ultrbook

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Needed to buy a new laptop for the business, needs to be small enough to travel well, almost bought a Mac until I happened on the Dell site, read the reviews bought the i5 with 256, 9 days from order to delivery, though this did include a bank holiday, communication good with constant updates by e-mail from Dell.
Arrived and unboxed, online within ten mins, what a fab piece of equipment, all the things you read shouldnt put you off owning one of these, fan cust in and out but is no noisier than any other, to be fair I wouldnt have noticed it if it hadnt been mentioned on here. Track pad is fine, having not used a click pad before its much better than my wifes Compaq. Battery life is good, like all things depends on how you use it, love the key board, as a two finger thumper I seem to be able to type much faster on this key board?
Cons.....? The leather case isnt brilliant at £40 ish but fits well enough, face recognition a bit odd to use.
Bought my last desktop from Dell about 18 months ago, cant believe how much things have moved on since then. If you're toying with the idea of buying one of these, go ahead, you wont regret it, treat yourself, it may seem expensive but you'll see where the extre £££ has gone as soon as you open the box.
Love it Love it.......
Pros:home, work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IvanhoeDB
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I spent several weeks looking at MacBook Air's and came very close to buying one several times. I liked the form factor and wanted something that looked great and performed at a high level. When I saw the Dell XPS13, I had to pause and give it strong consideration, largely because it offered nearly the exact same specs for a few hundred dollars less. The initial reviews for the XPS13 were pretty good, notwithstanding the track pad and fan issues. I decided to take the plunge and purchased the XPS13 and haven't looked back even once. This is a wonderful computer.
The form factor of this machine is everything I had hoped it would be. It's the perfect size for me and feels sturdy and well built. Beyond that, the performance is excellent in my opinion. I don't understand the reviews from a few complaining about the display. It's a great display, sharp and clear, and provides the perfect amount of real estate for my needs. The updated driver for the track pad has solved all issues in my opinion, and I don't think complaints about this have much merit anymore. I will say that even with the BIOS update that included some fine-tuning for the fan acoustics, the fan is still a bit loud when it runs, but it seems to run minimally and for me isn't that big of a deal. I love how quick the system boots up, and wakes up after putting it to sleep. The 128 GB solid state hard drive is quick but is on the small side in terms of capacity. You will have around 70 GB free when you receive the system. My preferred use of the machine doesn't require me to put a lot of stuff on it, so for me it's fine, but if you want to store pictures or videos on it, you may want to opt for a larger drive. My only complaint would be that getting 8 hours of battery life is not realistic unless you turn off wireless and lower the sreen brightness way down and do nothing but word processing. For me, with browsing the internet along with some writing, I would say I get more along the lines of 5-6 hours on average, which is not great in my opinion.
Overall, I would highly recommend this computer. It's a great value and beats all other windows based ultrabooks hands down. I would say that it gives the MacBook Air solid competition in terms of overall performance and beats it hands down in terms of price. If you're looking for a great laptop designed for high portability and medium level usage (i.e., internet, office work, medium level gaming, etc.), you can't go wrong with this computer.
Pros:browing internet, Travel, writing, streaming movies
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:drpatel
Title:

A new age of mobility

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Definitley the lightest most powerful laptop i've ever had. Macbook Air ? Who cares!
Pros:trave, personal
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steinkobold
(Airway Heights Wa 99001)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

XPS-13

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's new XPS 13 is not only Thin, Light & Powerful it just may be the sexiest laptop ever be produced. Add to that the fact that it is a work horse and you have the most complete laptop to date. The XPS 13 is in a word GREAT!
Pros:work
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrJoe
(SC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ultrabook's fatal flaw - buyer beware

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the past 12 years I have had 13 Dells. 9 are still in service: 2 vostro desktops, 2 optiplex, 4 Latitudes and a mini-10. The new ultrabook may be the best ever! I love it!
Pro: Light, stays cool, fast, good looking, great screen, great keyboard, GREAT BATTERY LIFE. I don't know what all of the negative reviews were talking about - I have zero problems and it is a great macine!
Con: It's addictive! When I use it I think about how nice it would be to replac the other 9 with Ultrabooks. I may have to report this to the FDA! It' addictive. Buyer beware!
Thanks Dell - THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE!
Pros:daily office use email letters internet skype, reading ebooks, spreadsheets scanning
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 23