Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)

XPS 13 (L321x)
4.278 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 478 reviews
5 Stars
291
4 Stars
105
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
18
1 Star
29
4.3
 / 
5
(478 reviews) 451
408 out of 47885%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 13 (L321x)
Review 1 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hank217
(Ridge, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 13 ultrabook

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a lightweight thin computer. Light up keyboard automatically adjusts to your lighting. I'm using windows 7 home edition. Pretty fast. My only regret is not getting the 256gb hard drive and 8gb memory. You can't add more memory its soldered to the motherboard and the hard drive is a solid state drive. You can upgrade the hard drive if you want. That's nice. All around a good computer so far.
Pros:thin and small
Cons:non upgradeable memory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HollyCB
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great size, but works oddly

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I LOVE how small and travel-able it is, but the track pad is so sensitive! If your wrist or sleeve or bracelet touches it even barely, it moves your mouse drastically and messes up whatever you're typing, repetitively.
Pros:size
Cons:keypad / trackpad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chino69
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great sexy and sleek machine

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my XPS13. It has a great design. It works smoothly and has touchcreen capability so I can handle my applications directly in the screen
Pros:design, weight and thin
Cons:need more usb, unable to accept memory stick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nycarpenter
(Hauppauge, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 13

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
IT IS MUCH BETTER THAN MacBook AIR 13 - It's very light weight - Very affordable - It's just awesome!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joeyh
(Oregon, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice Computer, but Faulty Keyboard Backlight Sensor

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
In general, I am very happy with the computer. It is portable and reasonably fast (W7, i5, 4gb, ssd 128gb). In hindsight, I would have liked to purchase a W7, 8gb, ssd 256gb, but they didn't make them at the time and don't at the time of this review.
My primary complaint was impact the FAULTY KEYBOARD BACKLIGHT SENSOR had on performance. It caused the machine to lose "focus" on the application I was working on in a seemingly random manner. This resulted in difficulty completing a sentence as I would have to click on the application I was working on several times a minute. DELL SHOULD HAVE INFORMED PURCHASERS OF THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM. IT RESULTED IN SEVERAL DAYS OF LOST PRODUCTIVITY.
Pros:portable, relatively fast
Cons:faulty backlight sensor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BonnieJean
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

xps 13 ultrabook

PostedMay 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this laptop. It looks pretty, but that's it. This laptop is straight garbage. I bought this laptop for my son. It freezes and you cannot get through writing anything because of consistently having to press ctrl alt delete. Most important of all is the fact that he has to save his work to go work on a different computer. This laptop is only good for watching low resolution videos. You can't even watch Youtube videos without having problems. This is the first bad computer that I have ordered from Dell. Now, I have to get him another computer. I am very upset and so is he.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 23, 2013
Hello BonnieJean,

I am sorry to hear that your son's system is freezing during use. We want you and your son to be happy with his new laptop. Please reach out to our support team. They can help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause. You can reach our DellCares team using the following:

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

I hope they are able to resolve your concerns quickly.

-SaraT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheOtherJake
(Chicago, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerful and compact with a few inconveniences

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 13 Ultrabook is a very powerful and quick machine with a very sleek, stylish, compact appearance. The 1080p display is very bright and clear and will stand up against any laptop display in quality. The solid-state drive boots everything up in seconds and I haven't thrown anything at the computer that it couldn't handle quicker than expected.
The computer is expensive. It lacks some convenient ports (only 2 USB, no HDMI out, no card reader). And the touchpad is annoying: it's inconveniently unresponsive.
If these flaws are not deal-breakers for you then this is a powerful and high-quality machine with an impressive size and quality.
Pros:high quality 1080p display, sleek design and size, fast boot solid state drive, high quality build materials, fast performance on almost any application
Cons:expensive price, small number of ports and connections, annoying unresponsive touchpad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ejaz
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

If you don’t need good WIFi than you can buy.

PostedMay 7, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Ultra book’s WiFi is very weak. I have proven of that. I am a student of Seneca College, Toronto, Canada (Newnham campus). Most of the time I don’t get WiFi connection in my class or in library.
First, I thought the college’s WiFi is weak, but it is not. One day, my ultra-book is showing "limited connection" and frequently "disconnected" in class room. At the same time, same thing happened another classmate who using Dell tablet. But another classmate she was using "another brand’s laptop" and she was browsing internet without any interruption. I was very sad.
Sometime also cursor disappear or hang for 4-6 seconds.
Other than WiFi connection I recommend the Ultra book- very light, slim, good design.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 9, 2013
Hey Ejaz,

Glad to hear overall that your XPS 13 is working out well for you. Sorry to hear about the WiFi issue it is having.
Use the link below and it will take you to our Home Support Page. Please check to see that all of your drivers are up to date as this could be part of the issue with the WiFi.
Home Support-
http://dell.to/ZLxFiW
If there is anything else we can help you out with, Please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Better Screen Please - But for now I am stuck.

PostedMay 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reviews I read online said that the screen for 2013 was much better than for 2012 and comparable with the MacBook Air.
I had a Dell V13 just over 3 years that stopped working. Here are screens better than this XPS 13 Ultrabook - with better emphasis on character clarity
* 3+ year old V13
*Dell U2410
*Dell U2412M
*Iphone 4s reading internet
* 3 year old iPad before retina display.
For The screens above I may not require my reading glasses but for the XPS 13 Ultrabook I am kind of really tempted to use my glasses. The characters appear a little bold and not as sharp as on the screens listed above. If you don't need glasses or wear your glasses the screen may be pretty good (yet not as good as screens listed above). It is too bad that Dell figures that customers don't want a really good screen - and they can't just source the same screen as on the MacBook Air.
In terms of brightness, you can crank the brightness up to that/exceed iPad/MacBook Air. However, if this is what I want then I have to revisit the brightness controls every time I turn it on. Plus the brightness likes to vary a lot depending on usage which is annoying. When plugged into power the brightness is good - but it should be optimised for portability.
It has the gloss reflectiveness as a MacBook Air which gives it kind of an expensive look but it is annoying. Maybe Dell was thinking the only reason why people like the MacBook Air screen was because it is glossy. No - it has to do with the screen behind the gloss. I prefer low gloss of my V13, U2410, U2412M.
I find myslef adjusting the resolution too frequently. If I do remote desktop to the cloud it kind of looks like the screen on my 24 inch 2410 but on 13 inches - really almost too small to see labels of desk top icons. Just dumb down the resolution and it looks of better size.
Backlit keyboard is good. But the light should not also come out underneath the keys. I saw an old MacBook Air that does this so I suppose I will forgive.
The look of it all is real good. Plus my old bag for the V13 has a lot of space in it. Dell should sell nice bags as well.
On my V13 I was wondering about missing the disk drive, now for this one the Ethernet port - for which I purchased an adaptor which is much bulkier than an ethernet jack. I did not seem to find issues with the track pad although sometimes it seems to click when I only want to point and have not yet clicked. I have a USB bluetooth mouse. The USB part sticks out a bit.
The unit is very quick. i7,8 MB, 128 SSD. And I do find humour in Dell WebCam Central where you can put lots of different effects into a Skype video call - put up party banners etc.
Overall - I did not buy last year because of reports about the screen. Are all Ultrabooks cursed by screens not as good as a MacBook Air? My over expectation was for a really good screen. I paid a lot of money for this product to get a really good screen - same price as for my V13 3 years ago, and I am disappointed.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 9, 2013
Hi there!

First off, I want to thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed and well thought out review of the XPS 13 Ultrabook! It's great that you find the WebCam Central video effects so fun because we have fun with them here at Dell too! In regards to your suggestions and concerns about the screen specifications and other items, I recommend posting them to IdeaStorm. Dell engineers read the posts here and often incorporate the suggestions into future Dell products!

IdeaStorm -
http://dell.to/SNwb29
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RPS53
(Dhahran, Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great lightweight & powerful

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my third Dell laptop and love the size, weight, and features. The fast boot up is awesome!
Pros:size weight & performance
Cons:no hdmi jack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bugg
(Pensacola, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Think twice before you buy this one – it fails on many levels.

PostedApril 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been buying Dell computers for years and this is the first one that was a big letdown. It arrived with missing driver device errors and an event log full of errors. The battery stopped charging, the wireless card drive failed and now the system drops the connection every few minutes. I am a systems administrator and have been working on computers for about 12 years now and have been struggling to keep this one running well. I have owned it for just two months and am very unhappy with the system.
Pros:very thin
Cons:poor wireless performance, no sd card slot, no touch screen, costs too much
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 29, 2013
Hello Bugg,

Sounds like you have a variety of issues with your XPS 13 Ultrabook. You mention device driver errors upon arrival and I want to send this information to our engineers to see what they think about that. The system event log often has errors that have no relevance on the functionality of the OS or the Ultrabook. Have you reached out to Dell Support yet?

Dell Home Support –
http://dell.to/8rIkGe
Twitter @DellCares -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8
Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Glycerin9
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Last Time I Buy a Dell

PostedApril 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this ultrabook for about 13 months now, and I should have spent more money to get the MacBook Air. The trackpad isn't that great and the updates doesn't seem to improve it. The fan gets way too hot and loud.
Pros:lightweight and compact, lighted keyboard
Cons:fan gets too hot, loud fan, mediocre trackpad
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 23, 2013
Hi Glycerin9,

The XPS 13 was Dell's first soiree into the Ultrabook market and it was a smashing success. We heard some feedback from customers about the responsiveness of the touchpad and fan activity. We have made several improvements in these areas and provided driver updates accordingly. Keep checking back for updates since we are always working towards perfection in these areas!

Dell Drivers -
http://dell.to/sCpz1d
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stingray
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Different Touchpad,hard to get used to

PostedApril 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everything is nice abt this laptop,the only issue I have is the touchpad.I prefer traditional touchpads where I can left click by touching the pad instead of clicking the buttons for the XPS13.There a way to fix this?
Pros:excellent startup and shutdown time, very fast at tasks
Cons:bad design for touchpad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bala Sundram
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Poor design problem with Dell XPS 13 Z

PostedApril 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased Dell XPS 13Z one year before. Since staring we found an overheating( 85degree centigrade to 97 degree centigrade) problem with the system.Also my display angle is clear only at 90 degrees where as a display unit shown in the advertizement is still 178 degrees. I lodged my problem to dell customer care. Dell CC came to my home and replaced almost whole parts except SSD but the problem is still persisting. I observed that this overheating problem is only due to design failure because the heat is not dissipated properly due to the design of laptop structure. I will never recommend my friends or even my enemies to purchase these laptops. Also the claim of display angle 178 degree is false.
Hope you should not go on the attractive look of the laptop and waste your money.
Sorry to Dell and thanks to all.
Cons:worthless
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 15, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you are having concerns with your purchase. Overheating is not common on this system. If the technician that came out to your home was not able to fully resolve your issue, please feel free to reach out to us. We are also available online through Twitter- @DellCares (
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7) or on the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/pwws14).

-SaraT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:29erJoseph
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Outstanding laptop with a few small issues.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'll start by saying that I would definitely recommend this to others in spite of the few issues I have with mine. My job is that of the typical consultant. I carry my gear with me everywhere, so size, weight and looks is important. No gaming here, productivity, productivity, productivity. This little guy delivers.
The 1080p display is flat out awesome. Beautiful colors and clarity, I can find no fault here; I'm glad I held off until 1080p was offered. Performance from the i7 and SSD are amazing, this thing is truly fast. Performance bests the i7 with SSD MacBook Pro it replaced, no regrets!
My gripes...I concede they are small but still bothersome. The left CTRL key is finicky. If they key is not depressed straight from center it will not activate. This is a true PITA when you're doing lots of cutting and pasting. The touchpad has difficulty registering taps on occasion as well as moving even though my finger is firmly planted against it surface. I'm sure this is a driver issue and hope that they get some new software out soon.
All in all, you need to buy this thing. Its a sexy piece of equipment and worth every penny paid.
Pros:blazing fast, beautiful display, dead sexy looks
Cons:touchpad issues
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Charles104475237
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

So noisy!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everything is good, just the fan kept running from the laptop is turned on and never stopped, the sound is very noisy, and I really can not stand.I have another Dell laptop, model is Inspiron 11Z, the fan will only work when it needs, and the sound is hardly feel it's there. Should we not find the way to make the fans to take a break? this is really a shame, such a design problem in such a good computer is simply a disaster. My BIOS is A07, the system is windows 8. Perhaps I changed to windows XP or windows 7?Able role?
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 8, 2013
Hey Charles104475237,

Sorry to hear about the fan issue with your XPS 13 Ultrabook. Use the link below and chat with our technical support or use one of our online tools to help diagnose and alleviate this issue.
http://dell.to/ZvDsu5
If there is anything else we can, please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
www.facebook.com/Dell
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobRitts
(Southwest)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Worst Trackpad EVER!!!!!

PostedApril 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love Dell products and am a die-hard, long-term Dell snob, so I don't say this lightly... Everything except the trackpad are magnificent about the XPS13. But - the trackpad is SO BAD, it makes the XPS13 as a whole, worthless. Dell, my friends, you were so close, this was almost a perfect ultrabook. I really really want to love this thing, but the trackpad is REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD. I have owned the XPS 13 for a few months, and even though I read the reviews about the trackpad, I crossed my fingers and hoped the other reviewers were wrong... but they were all spot-on. The trackpad registers clicks when there are none. Finding the button area vs. the tracking area is hard, so it always thinks you are pushing the track area in two places and the mouse freezes. Seriously people - BELIEVE THE NAYSAYERS when they say the trackpad is junk. All the things people have been saying are TRUE! Please be warned that after a few months of owning the XPS 13, you will want to smash it with a sledgehammer out of pure frustration at the trackpad's erratic behavior.
Pros:wonderful look-and-feel, long battery life, super-fast startup, good screen
Cons:trackpad!, screen only opens to ~100 deg, trackpad!?!
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 4, 2013
Bob,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with the XPS 13 Ultrabook.

Please, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
www.facebook.com/Dell
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PBen
(Saskatoon, SK, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect Solution

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the XPS 13 Ultrabook in March 2012 to replace a 7 year old Latitude 600D. I was looking a compact, lightweight, fast computer that would travel well and give me the access I needed to my VPN and business applications regardless of where I was. Given that the unit is primarily designed for wireless I have purchased a TrendNet TU2-ETG ethernet adapter for those locations where I can only access the net via a wire. It works very well. I have used the computer in North America and Europe with a variety of connections and had no issues.
I did have an issue with the battery not taking a charge and luckily kept it plugged in and charging. I called Dell and had great help trying to determine what the problem was. A service technician came out within two days to replace the battery but also brought along a replacement motherboard. It turns out that the motherboard was the problem as it was not allowing the battery to charge. Both the battery and the motherboard were replaced on the service call.
My computer runs WIN7 and from the comments I have read I am glad that it does.
Pros:lightweight sleek design, very fast to start, excellent battery life, backlit keyboard, trackpad works well but i prefer a mouse
Cons:only two usb ports, would like a sd card reader option
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Benbinbeen
(Florida, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very nice looking and portable laptop

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 13 is a small laptop with plenty of power than I can throw in my backpack and be on my way. The only qualms I have with the XPS 13 is the trackpad is horrible so I have to use a Bluetooth mouse and it is too expensive for what you get. I have had this laptop for a week and although I do like it I have debated several times about sending this back and getting the XPS 12 which is basically the same price with a touch screen.
Pros:looks sleek, screen is beautiful, little powerhouse
Cons:way too expensive for what you get, trackpad is garbage
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 13 (L321x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Soder
(Sweden)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Finally a working linux laptop out of the box

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
When my recent laptop got stolen in Barcelona. I scanned the market for a new laptop and find the neat xps 13 ubuntu edition. When I received it yesterday it has been a positive experience so far. Everything seems to work out of the box.
If I could wish for anything that would be a larger ssd > 512 GB. A larger version 15" with a high resolution screen > 1920 and some more memory 16Gb. But until then I'm happy with this one.
I hope that Dell stays on this track and contuine to release high quality laptops with ubuntu preinstalled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23