Customer reviews for XPS 12 (L221x)

XPS 12 (L221x)

XPS 12 (L221x)
4.029 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 208 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
15
1 Star
16
4
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 206
167 out of 20880%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 12 (L221x)
Review 41 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GopiK
(Pune, Maharashtra, India)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Masterpiece !!!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have to say this is a masterpiece from Dell! Worth the price, extraordinary performance and awesome design. I never ever had to repent on my decision to choose this one.
Pros:superfast. its up by the time the lid is open, looks superb and rich, lightweight, lovely keyboard touch experience, great screen resolution great display, excellent loud and crisp sound quality
Cons:camera not that impressive comparatively
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frostzor11
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing Quality, Super Fast...Whats Not to Love?

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received this product for my B-day, and I have to say its pretty amazing.
In terms of home use, web browsing is fast and fluid, and videos look amazing with the 1080p display
For school, I have had no problems with it so far on Microsoft Word and researching for school.
For gamers, the graphics card may not seem like the best, but when playing games like Minecraft and Hawken, I don't feel any lag at all. for heavy gaming, it will work fine as long as you set the quality a little low.
The flip maneuver is really smooth and doesn't wobble when I use the touch screen. the battery is really good in moderate uses(about 5 hours for me) and decent in heavy use(3-4 hours depending on usage). I find that I really don't use the battery indicator since it tells you when you swipe from the left. BE WARNED that windows 8 takes around 25 GB of space, so 128 will really be around 100 GB(I got 65 in the beginning because I heard the i7 processor takes up some space too).
All-In-All:
Really great computer for the average home user, student, gamer, and office man.
Pros:
1. Amazing display
2. The flip is smooth and doesn't cause a problem
3. Really good build quality
4. 5 seconds to wake, 18 seconds to turn on
5. Amazingly fast
4. Tablet mode is fast and easy to use.
Cons:
1. Track pad isn't that fluid
2. touch screen messes up once in a lifetime, but can be solved by putting it to sleep for a few minutes.
3. Fingerprints get on the screen ALOT
Pros:using the web, video streaming, Gaming, School
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HJK
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Beautiful machine!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a well-crafted 'laplet' and it certainly stands out as one of the best machines to run Windows 8.
Let's start with the materials. The matte and smooth carbon fiber exterior looks and feel so good, sometimes you just don't want to put it down! This is easily a magnificent stand-out feature in the sea of glossy or plasticky laptops. The hinge is solid (as you can tell from the attached photo) and I really do not fear that it will give way some time in the future.
Next, the screen. You really cannot argue against a 12.5" 1080p IPS screen, unless you have bad eyesight and the sharpness is lost on you. You can either squeeze in more text into a screenful (less paging around) or leave it at a more comfortable sizing to enjoy less fuzzy-looking text. Touchscreen works wonders too, which is really great when paired with Windows 8.
Let's not forget about the humble keyboard. It is surprising that this is *not* one of the things Dell cut corners on in order to make it wafer-thin, like some other makers do. There is still enough spring in the tactile feedback, which aids greatly in typing. The backlit feature is also a nice icing on the cake - it literally brightens up your typing experience and I am finding it harder to return to non-backlit keyboards.
Unfortunately, it is not all a bed of roses for this machine. I do not use the two USB ports very often and hence I do not see any issues putting them side-by-side. However, I reckon there will be some users who prefer them to be spaced further apart (or preferable on both sides) - this can be important for SD card readers since this laptop is lacking one. The trackpad's driver is still not 'tuned' well-enough, but again it is ok since you have the brilliant touchscreen to work with. I have also encountered a few and far in-between software issues that makes the CPU work unnecessarily hard (and causing the fan to spin unnecessarily loud), but I am attributing these to Windows 8 issues for now.
I will end of this review with one small feature request, if anyone at Dell with the appropriate title is reading this. It will be perfect if we can use the keyboard when the screen is unlocked. This can be useful in cramped spaces whereby you may not have enough space behind the laptop to tilt the screen backwards normally. Or if you just want to position the screen a little closer to you without shifting the laptop. Unfortunately the keyboard is disabled the moment you unlock the screen. I hope there can be a software update to introduce this as a new feature!
Pros:personal use
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Agsbaseball09
(Nacogdoches, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Fantastic PC, has its flaws like all others, BUT VERY OVERLY-SATISFIED!

PostedMay 12, 2013
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Dell XPS 12 i5 due to the freshly released Windows 8. I was drawn to the XPS 12 i5 for the looks of the PC as well as the reliability of a Dell. Now to the review of the PC:
1. The computer is well built, very sturdy and anyone with concerns about the flipping aspect of the screen need not worry. I have put it through quite a bit of stress and wear since January and it still acts brand new.
2. The Samsung solid state drive is magnificent. I have always had the traditional revolutionary hard drives and the SSD is blazing fast. This computer has the fastest start up time I have ever seen. I believe this is due to the great new Windows 8 OS however.
3. The one flaw and one adjustment I have had to make:
Flaw - I have had a few problems with the reliability of the Cypress trackpad. Sometimes it requires a few tries to react to my input of my finger, but all in all it is not a significant hindrance and believe this will be fixed in the very near future due to the number of "complaints" I have seen about it.
Adjustment - When first using the PC, I struggled constantly with having the spacebar recognizing when I strike it for input. I believe this is due to the difference in keyboards however, people who have used my PC have commented that they must strike the spacebar rather aggressively in order for it to work. But you get used to it after a month or two and are typing flawlessly on the well manufactured and sleek keyboard.
4. Windows 8 OS:
- W8 is a fantastic OS! The utilization of the new start screen tiles is very helpful and I find myself using them constantly while still using the recognizable W7 desktop for MSWord/PPT/Excel.
- The most useful feature I have found, which assists in my college courses and I believe will compliment everyday professionals would be the ability to "snap" windows on the desktop (i.e. Microsoft word and a PDF) so they are viewing side by side. Also, the ability to do this with apps is more useful that you can imagine. While taking notes during school, I snap the W8 finance app which has my watchlist of stocks next to my desktop so about 1.5" of the side of the screen has my stocks which is constantly updating while I type on MS word. GREAT FEATURE!
- I could say so much more about W8 but I would have to recommend you just buy the XPS 12 right now and experience it for yourself.
In summary, the Dell XPS 12 is a superior product in the marketplace right now. Although it is in the high-end price range, it is like most everything in life, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR (except for Macs, don't even bother with those)!
One last note about Dell, I am not supposed to write about customer service, but I just feel compelled to. Dell customer service is amazing. I have trouble explaining it, but each CS rep I have talked to has made me feel like a highly valued customer and that my business is very much appreciated. If you have any other questions post them, and I will do my best to answer them. BUY THIS PC!
Pros:reliability, speed, windows 8, flawless touchscreen, battery life (8 hours w/ half brightness), flipping screen to make it a "tablet"
Cons:cypress trackpad, widi compatability w/ netgear p2tv 3000 is spotty
+15points
24of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NKSDell
(Southampton, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great for what I wanted

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I chose the XPS12 since I couldn't decide between a powerful laptop and a tablet. The XPS12 is exactly what I wanted. The HD display is fantastic, the touchscreen excellent (initial problem solved by downloading the drivers from the Dell community page), the speed from start-up is great (5 secs?), really nice backlit keyboard. I trust the solid state harddrive will survive jiggles and the kids. I was worried about the lack of CD drive but this has turned out to be misplaced. So too were my worries about the robustness of the flip screen mechanism. I typically use my XPS12 for internet, email, games and TV catch up. I bought the mini-port to HDMI adapter and the picture and sound quality is excellent too. It even looks sexy - but then again I'm an engineer so carbon fibre and aluminium gets me every time! So far, so good. Great product and worth the money in my humble opinion.
Pros:internet, email, tv catch up, games
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RackOnInNC
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best decision I've made on a laptop lately

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect combination of laptop and tablet. Sure, it's a little heavy in tablet mode, but I knew that going in. The best part is that if you get stuck on a web page or something that won't work with touchscreen it's just a simple matter to flip the screen and use the keyboard or touchpad. I really didn't want to spend that much on a new laptop after buying one a less than a year ago, but I'm so glad I did. I guess the only thing I have to complain about is the battery life. it really doesn't last very long on battery, so if you are taking it on a car trip you might want to invest in the car plug or a power inverter.
I was worried about the screen readability based on other reviews, but I had no problem adjusting things so i can read most things well. At 50+ that can sometimes be difficult, but I haven't needed my reading glasses yet!
Pros:small and light, backlit keyboard, bright sharp display, flip screen works smoothly, great sound for a small laptop
Cons:touchpad sometimes unresponsive, ac comes out on left so gets in the way of a mouse, no sd card slot, battery life, no os media
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KrishVR
(Redmond, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Ultra book that provides best of laptop and tablet

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is been almost 2 weeks that I am using Dell XPS 12 convertible laptop and I have very high configuration that uses i7 processor, 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD drive. Display is beautiful, key board design is very good and is easy to type. The performance of the laptop is very good and I like the design that convers to tablet and laptop. But I have my fair share of complaints as well. Autorotation is really bad. If it is on, it completely turns to landscape while I am in portrait, etc. This forced me to turn off auto rotation. Occassionaly there is a fan noise even while I am not working. Disappointed that it didn't come with stylus (ordered one today) and no SD card slot.
Pros:display, keyboard, performance, design
Cons:autorotation, fan noise, no stylus with device, no sd card slot
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jason36
Title:

Great computer; flashy but effective

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm 14 years old and a freshman in high school. I got this laptop for Christmas after begging my parents and all of my relatives to go in on it. It is a great machine. Lots of people thought it would be all show, but it functions perfectly, and I use it as a laptop, tablet, and video streaming device.
Pros:
-Responsive
-Great keyboard
-Good trackpad, but 80% of time I use touch
-Amazing with video streaming
-Good speakers
-Amazing startup time (3 sec from sleep and 18 sec from shut off)
-Windows 8 works flawlessly with touch
-Gestures with windows 8 are extremely easy to use, learn, and make it easier to use than windows 7, macs, and ipads
Cons:
-Sometimes screen randomly dims and wont turn back for .5-10 minutes
-Spaces in between screen and bezel surprisingly distracting
-Sometimes (twice so far) touch screen doesn't work and I have to reboot it
-Windows 8 nearly impossible to use without touch
-Battery isn't great, I can generally use it for about 4 hours
Overall, this is an amazing machine and worth it to anyone who can afford it. If you have used laptops long before this and cant see yourself using touch, than don't buy it. Windows 8 is fantastic, but it is clearly optimized for touch, and it is very frustrating trying to use it if you don't like touching your computer. I would suggest buying a stylus (less than a dollar on amazon) as one can make using this much easier. It doesn't have the seven hour battery of the MacBook pro, but I rarely run my computer out of battery. Again, great product!
Pros:video streaming, homework, games
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidC1
(BC Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Dell XPS 12

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this product on a whim, though I knew I would get a Convertible Ultrabook of some sort.
I'll go over the pros quickly.
-Durable hinge design
-Convertible!
-League of Legends gets 20-24 fps in 1920x1080 most settings high with except shadows. That was quite a surprise. I think mainstream games like WoW and LoL would run pretty well
-10-point touchscreen with Windows 8
-Nice keyboard. Low travel doesn't hinder its operation much
That is to say its not without its flaws. I love the device, but its not perfect. Problems seems to be all on the software side. All drivers are updated to the latest, except for the graphics driver.
1. The touchscreen stops working sometimes. I've had that happen 4-5 times during my 3 week or so ownership. Reboots fixes it, but since the touchscreen is so important, its a big issue
2. I do not mind the trackpad being bad because I use the keyboard and touchscreen for most scenarios. But when I really need it, it is quite terrible. Today when for the first time I used the trackpad for more than 30 seconds, I realized how bad it was. The mouse pointer either disappears or stops recognizing I'm moving my fingers at all!
3. The power button and drive. I'll tell you why they are related. Although the system wakes up fast, it still does take few seconds. So sometimes when I can't hear the fan, I think its not responding.
Two scenarios:
1. In short usages it seems to go to sleep and just opening the ultrabook wakes it up
2. In longer sleep modes, it seems I need to use the power button to wake it up. Even though I have the hibernate and hybrid sleep off.
In those two cases, because when I was first using the device I thought it would wake up almost instantly when opening the device. When it didn't I flicked the switch. If its in #2 mode its ok and it'll wake up. But if its merely sleeping and I use the power button it does something I don't know. Then the entire device don't wake up, which forces me to hold power button to turn it off.
When I force shutdown though, the disk drive goes missing. I found out the solution is to try reboot, which still says boot sector is missing but also gives me an option to run a diagnostic utility. Just running the diagnostic utility for even a minute, cancelling it and rebooting it will fix the problem(which is drive not being recognized).
I don't know what's the issue there, but I hope Dell reps shed some light into what's going on, IF its not a software issue. If it is a software issue I hope it gets fixed soon.
Pros:streaming video, playing games, web browsing, electronics software, simulation software
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeaLevel
Title:

Dell XPS 12

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my initial review after having this computer for 24 hours. I have the unit with the i5-3317U processor, 8GB, and 256GB SSD.
First impression: This is a very solidly built computer, and it looks and feels good when you use it. It came safely packaged in a Dell box, and was shipped via FedEx. The screen is easily rotated inside the aluminum frame, and it looks like the design will hold up over time. When opening or using the laptop, I haven't had any problem with the screen staying in place until I wanted to rotate it.
Pros:
- It boots fast.
- The screen is beautiful.
- The keyboard is great, and its backlight shuts off automatically when not in use.
- The trackpad supports swiping from the left and right sides.
- It runs cool. I'm not a gamer, so I haven't pushed it as hard as some people would.
Cons:
- It's a little heavy when used in tablet mode, but I knew that going in and plan to use it that way when sitting on the couch, or on a flight.
- I've had a couple of glitches, like having the mouse stop working after waking up, where I had to reboot it.
Pros:email browsing, software development, Travel
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wagner
(Waterloo, ON)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great PC, Bad Transaction

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have my XPS 12 now for almost a month. I really enjoyed the spinning screen, the Full HD, the really fast boot, the comfortable and really fancy keyboard and the toughness in general of the laptop.
I didn't like a few things, easy that Dell could have done and would make this computer even better. No HDMI?! No Ethernet?! Only two USB ports?! The battery is not very good either.
Also, I have a question. If I want to format this computer, how should I proceed? Cause there is no disk slot or anything to re-install the system and everything if needed.
An unhappy thing about the laptop is my screen is starting to fledge because of the spinning thing. Didn't Dell made 20,000 cycles and notice that?! Other thing is that the keyboard is made of a material that absorbs finger oiliness. After two weeks, even cleaning the keyboard and touch pad is already with marks.
But the thing that is really bothering me is that I didn't pay for this computer!!! Yeah, looks great, Dell gave me this computer for $0. I already sent e-mails to Dell but nobody answers me. The transaction through PayPal didn't complete, I got my laptop but Dell didn't got paid. I don't know what happened so please contact me asap.
Pros:boots fast, awesome full hd screen, delivered in very protective and fancy box
Cons:screen fledge, no hdmi, no ethernet, only two usb ports, batery don't last long
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:acidsnow
(Guelph, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Cool machine, but needs support

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm just gonna get to the nitty gritty, nice machine but the touch pad completely ruins the entire experience. THE TOUCHPAD IS UNUSABLE. Its garbage, unfortunately I got the latest drivers and this thing is garbage, you need an external mouse. It unfortunate Dell does not seem to be making an effort to correct this, I'm gonna guess its a hardware issue since the last couple drivers I tried helped a little but still unusable.
Dell should replace the touch pads for current owners as it doesn't seem very fair.
Another issue is network - I updated the driver only to find out that the computer starts up quick but unfortuantely the nic takes over a minute to connect to wifi - so having a computer that starts in 8 seconds doesn't mean anything if the still cant' use your wifi. Also disconnects randomly - definately a driver issue.
sounds great so have a 1080p screen resolution, but unfortunately thats kinda unusable to as it makes your desk top too small to read or even use as a touch screen - you need to lower the resolution to something lower, which makes your realise you need a bigger screen now - catch 22.
Touch screens acts ups intermittently.
Pros:nice keyboard, looks cool
Cons:touch pad does not work, battery only lasts 4 hours
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 5, 2013
Hey acidsnow,

I assure you that we are working to improve the touchpad experience on the Dell XPS 12.

Please visit:
http://en.community.dell.com/ and reach out to DELL-Terry B and he can further assist you.

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for choosing Dell.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stepehn
Title:

Perfect combo of form and function

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the best of the next generation hybrids. The screen is clear, crisp, and bright. The laptop is fast, and I mean fast. It boots in seconds and comes out of sleep instantly. Trackpad is a little wonky at first, but getting use to it and adjusting some settings and you'll be good to go. Track pad is the only reason it didn't get a 5. Island keyboard is comfortable. To sum it up: Clean, industrial, light tablet notebook.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JSpass
(Spokane Valley, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Enter a new age...

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had scoured the web reading every review I could find on every Windows 8 device entering the market...and looked at as many of these devices as I could at Best Buy, Staples, etc. Those devices I had seen firsthand left me feeling quite underwhelmed. Like many, I needed something that would allow for productivity as well as "consumption" enjoyment, which is ultimately what had me veer in the direction of the XPS 12. I WILL NEVER LOOK BACK. This is hands down the most impressive device I have ever owned...and it's a real gamer changer for both Dell and Microsoft. I haven't been this excited about a device in years! Everything about this little hybrid screams quality. They say you get what you pay for...for once, I would have to agree.
Pros:work/education, liesure
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mike D Tan
Title:

Luscious build and finish, desirable machine

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got my XPS 12 for Christmas, this is a seriously sexy notebook and its carbon finish just says WOW right out of the box. Its slim, stylish with good ergonomics, a little heavy.
XPS 12 flip screen is really a great idea, not only for use as a tablet (a bit heavy to hold in this way) but you can also flip the screen with base as a stand. Amazing. (Great for reading on bed). The revolving pins seem sturdy enough but as with most electronics these days, don't think we can afford to drop or jar the screen so I invested in a shock proof back bag to protect from accidents when carrying around.
Screen resolution and the smudge free gorilla glass really looks crisp with good contrast. For me, 12" is a good compromise between portability (weight!) and font visibility.
Battery life can be better as a full charge lasts only about 4.5 hours new. I made full use of win 8 power and display tweaking to 1) maximize battery life, and 2) screen display size. Seems best to drop screen resolution by 1 notch from recommended resolution (fonts are larger) and set brightness to 25% on battery.
Overall very happy with my new XPS 12 (if I don't need more than 5 hours of battery life).
But ... Microsoft really needs to improve Win 8 as I am forced to use keyboard and mouse on many occasions when the touchscreen keyboard just refuses to automatically pop up and also unable to right click for options. Even when surfing, some links don't seem to work with touchscreen and if in tablet mode, I am forced to flip it back to use the mouse pad. However, this is not an issue with XPS 12, just that after being pampered by the ease of use of an iOS, windows seriously still feel like an early iteration, Hope that MS does something about this in its service packs. Otherwise, I don't think my next notebook should come loaded with windows anymore. It just seems difficult for MS to provide the usual Windows functionality we want in touch screen format, not sure why.
Pros:surfing, dtp / word, photo editing, entertainment
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigWes
(Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Exceeds Advertisement & Then Some!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my XPS 12 four days ago and have been putting it through many tests to see how it performs. Results so far--Exceeds all expectations. This computer was purchased to replace an XPS 15Z as my main desktop/laptop workhorse. I have been purchasing Dell computers for over 20 years and I have never once been disappointed. I did read a few reviews that complained about its size as a tablet, WiFi connectivity, and track pad issues. I have not experienced any of these issues. This computer is very light and not at all too big in the tablet mode given how much more productive it is over my iPad. I can now be creative/actively productive on the go with my XPS 12. It begs for me to upgrade my external monitor to a touch screen to take full advantage of this computer in the desktop mode. Thanks Dell for a GREAT product.
Pros:
Quality build/materials
Size & Weight
Powerful Performance
Cons:
No SD card slot
Only 256GB SSD...needs a 512GB SSD option
Pros:Travel, business, destop, entertainment/games
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TWSE
(Southeast US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Gotta Get the Touchpad Fixed

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First, the ugly:
This would be a 5-star machine all around (like most of my Dell purchases), except that the touchpad driver is just not ready for prime time. Mouse movement is erratic and jerky. Sometimes the cursor disappears. You can move move around the screen highlighting things, but you can't select anything. Sometimes the touchpad just locks up completely - no mouse, no buttons, nothing. In those cases, you can still navigate by the touch screen which is awesome, and keeps this from being a "send it back" defect.
HINT: If you go to the Mouse settings in the control panel and change just ONE minor setting on the touchpad, everything starts working again. I'm convinced this is a driver problem and that Dell will have to lean hard enough on the vendor to get it fixed, or they'll have pallets of these things coming back.
The good:
This machine is SMOKING fast. Boots or shuts down in about 5 seconds. Big SSHDD, i7 processor and lots of memory make it a powerful machine in a small package. Wife likes the light weight.
Win8 is a bit of a challenge - finding drivers that work, app compatibility, etc. Part of being an early adopter.
Pros:office automation, email/web apps, electronic banking
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 30, 2012
Hello TWSE,

Thank you for sending in your feedback on the XPS 12. If you haven't already tried this, I recommend uninstalling and then re-installing the touchpad drivers. To uninstall your driver, go to Search > Control Panel > Programs > Right click on Cypress TrackPad > Select Uninstall. Once that is complete, you can use this link,
http://dell.to/SoDSL9, to re-download the driver. If you are still experiencing issues with your touchpad, I recommend you reach out to our technical support agents. They are available in a variety of ways, including the Dell Tech Support Forums (http://dell.to/NjitjY), Twitter: @DellCares (http://dell.to/Tgt5D7), and Dell’s Facebook Support Form (http://dell.to/OO2MDG). They may be able to assist.

I am glad that you really like this new system. It does seem to find that great balance of speed and power along with portability.

Thank you for choosing Dell! -SaraT
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrAlex
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Computer - Useless trackpad

PostedDecember 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would like to preface this review by saying the XPS 12 is a very beautiful and powerful computer. I love the screen, I love the keyboard, I love the tablet interface. The battery life is only so-so, but for the amount of power under the hood this is to be expected.
Now let me get to the reality of this laptop.
I don't use it, I want to use it, but I cant. The trackpad issue is so frustrating that it makes me put the computer down and have to walk away before I break the trackpad by clicking on it repeatedly. The drivers or hardware behind this trackpad are fundamentally broken. It will randomly stop working and just as randomly start again in a completely different part of the screen. Unless you use the touchscreen or an external mouse I can not recommend this otherwise perfect computer to anyone. Please dell, fix this issue. And yes I have the Dec 7th drivers installed, minor improvement, still worthless
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 12, 2012
Hello DrAlex,

Sorry to hear that you are not having a good experience with the new XPS 12. I understand that it can be very frustrating to have a system that you would otherwise love if it was not for one aspect of the computer. If you have not already, please check the sensitivity settings on the Palm rejection to see if this alleviates the concern (Go to: Control Panel; Hardware & Sound; then Dell TouchPad). You will also want to check /select the “Hide pointer while typing” option (Go To: Control Panel; then Mouse Properties).

I would highly advise that you reach out to our experts on our Online Support Teams. They will be able to gather more in-depth information to assist you in this matter. They do have the same capabilities as our Phone Support, but through social media outlets; and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues.

• Online Support Teams Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/pwws14); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope that we can get this resolved for you and restore your faith in our products. Thank you for sharing and have a great day!
--GinaVforDell
+12points
20of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dreamengineer
(London UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic device!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
after spending far too much time with apple products and various laptops and desktop machines I decided I wanted a windows 8 tablet. and I had never owned a Dell, reading the reviews on this amazing device all but twisted my arm. I could not get it quick enough! thankfully Dell delivered it way ahead of schedule so I didn't have to wait too long. needless to say the box was virtually ripped open. instantly powered on, smooth and slick to the touch on both the screen and the keyboard. impressive screen quality and the speed of access to data and applications is phenomenal! Battery life is fair (perhaps because I cannot put it down) and I find myself charging it quite often.
all in all this device is going to take some beating. I was concerned about the flip mechanism and thought it would be flimsy and prone to problems, I could not be more wrong! its strong and sturdy just like the device in general!
all I can say is well done Dell and thank you for a great piece of hardware!!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kenqyu
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Top class hardware design 3rd class software driver

PostedMay 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 12 I has top hardware spec. at the time, i7-3687u, 8GB ram and 256 SSD. The form factor, convertible flip screen design, build quality and mulimedia quality are all second to none. Yet the basic windows 8 laptop features, touchpad, battery life and energy saving design (e.g. control when and how the hardware responds to command) are very much disappointing.
xps 12 is almost half year after its initial debut, hence there is no excuse some of the hardware drivers are continued to perform with flaw. Be it hardware related or poor software driver, the end result of this is unacceptable at best, but lame to be fair.
For example, I'm not able to disable the laptop automatically switch to "power saver" plan once I check the "Dell extended battery life" setting configuration. There is no going back. The touchpad gesture to slide from edge for windows metro will active not only when swipe from edge but the entire touchpad, so whenever move the cursor around the screen the metro bar will appear as if I swipe too fast. Why can't the swip for metro is limited to be from edges only? "Features" such as these made me wonder if these are software bugs or simply the software designer's "fine" work.
Similarly, the wifi can't seem to manage between falling to sleep to save energy and wakes up when needed. This result frequent wifi idle with no data transmitted or slow speed. Change the power plan option to maximum performance made no difference. Again, not sure this is a hardware problem or software driver, but the issue has been seen on both my xps 12 and xps 13, as well as the xps 14 which was returned due to this.
These are some of the fundamental computing functions which cannot be tolerate, yet these issues are seen reported widely on internet.
However, the laptop/tablet is not lack of love and I'm willing to keep the hope that Dell will release the driver update or fix the hardware issue within the 1 year premium support time. Although I returned my lenovo Yoga 13 which does have anything of these problem, I don't want to feel regret by the decision of continue to remain as a xps laptop consumer after this.
Pros:build quality, form factor design, tablet design, looks sexy and pro., 1080p ips screen
Cons:touchpad needs tweak, wifi malfunction intermittently, battery life is less than average in its class, 1080p on 12.5" screen
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 14, 2013
Hello kenqyu,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the XPS 12. I am glad that this system has a lot of features that you love on it. I have a few suggestions that might make your experience a little better. For the touchpad being overly sensitive to the swiping motion, first try installing the latest touchpad drivers (
http://dell.to/ZHh9wO) and then configure you settings in the driver. You can turn the sensitivity down and that may help.

For your wireless settings, I would check the wireless adapter in the device manager. There should be a power management tab and under the tab make sure that “Allow the computer to disable this device to save power “ is unchecked.

I am glad that you love the specs, design, and build of this system. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to our Social Media Support team. They are available to help through any of the following channels:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

Thank you again for your review and I hope some of this can help.

-SaraT
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 11