Customer reviews for XPS 12 (L221x)

XPS 12 (L221x)

XPS 12 (L221x)
4.034 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 209 reviews
5 Stars
108
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
15
1 Star
16
4
 / 
5
(209 reviews) 207
167 out of 20980%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 12 (L221x)
Review 1 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MEBMEB
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

You can have your cake and eat it to.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use my XPS-12 for small business/home office work and mostly in laptop mode (70%) However, here are certain activities/situations that call for a tablet. The intuitive design makes the XPS-12 quick and comfortable to use in either mode. It was on the upper end of my price range but worth every cent, and then some.
Pros:long battery life, responsive backlit keyboard, speakers sound better than expected for a laptop
Cons:no sd slot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tom127
(Millington,TN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This is a great prduct

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This product is everything that you could ask for. With windows 8.1 it is very easy to navigate around. I first purchased an Inspiration Duo convertible this computer is a great improvement
Winth
Pros:very good touch screen
Cons:no rear camera in the tablet mode
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dan76
(Asheville, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Premium Convertible Ultrabook

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I honestly believe this is the best laptop on the market. I am a an IT Professional of 10 years, I've bought a new laptop for myself once a year for the last 5 years... after owning Lenovo, Asus, HP, Apple and Dell, I always come back to Dell for the premium build quality, speed and reliability and excellent support.
The XPS Ultrabook series have the absolute best keyboard of any Ultrabook on the market. Better than the Lenovo Yoga and equal to the Lenovo Carbon X1. The screen is brightest and most crisp than any other laptop.
This is what Microsoft should use to sell Windows 8... the touch screen is flawless, so fast and smooth, and the classic desktop is still there for the power user.
Batter life is solid at an average 6-8 hours depending on what you do.
Speed is incredible; I have the i7 8gb 256ssd and it blows away my quad core desktop.
I highly recommend to anyone in need of a premium portable laptop.
Pros:sturdy solid build, super bright screen, best keyboard!, fast - this thing rocks
Cons:just a little pricey i wish dell would lower it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnotherDisappointedCust
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

xps 12

PostedMarch 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very nice laptop, slim and reasonably balance on the lap. Excellent resolution/picture.
A pain in that when it goes to sleep it does not wake up! Had to drain battery to restart! No SD drive!
1hr 26min later on phone and remote with Dell, stll cannot resolve problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve513
(RI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best Computer I've owned so far

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had competitors laptops and the XPS-12 blows them away.
Of course a lot of it has to do with the i7 processor, 8GB RAM and solid state drive.
The display is the best I've ever seen including my tablets.
It runs my 3D CAD software "Salad Works", better than my computer at work hands down.
My image editing software, "Proto Shot" runs very well too.
I had one problem:
I bought a blue tooth mouse and when I installed it the blue tooth services failed. I was online with their tech support for a long time and they thought it was a hardware issue. They sent a service tech to fix it and the hardware was fine. Cudos to the hardware guy for finding the real issue. There was a USB device that was hung up during initialization that stopped the blue tooth service. He killed the hung USB service and all is well now.
Dell's service response was outstanding.
(Names were changed to protect the innocent)
Pros:extremely fast, best display i've seen, convertible option is cool
Cons:blue tooth is shaky, a bit too big for tablet mode., windows 8 - a necessary evil
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KarenFuller
(Knoxville IA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Excellent Product !

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second laptop/tablet convertible from Dell. My first one, i gave to my young daughter (8 year old) because she loved using it and was very simple to work. Performance is fantastic. I am not very computer wise but i can find my way around on this machine just fine. It is so fast and i have never had any issues with it. It is light weight. Picture quality is great. I would highly recommend this convertible for just about anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Elizabeth97
(Coppell, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS12

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very difficult to learn unless you are super experienced; Windows 8.1 very difficult; Apps for Windows 8.1 don't work well for a small business, ie. Yahoo, Facebook.
Other reviews were good which led me to purchase; way to pricey for the product and frustration.
Pros:converts to a tablet
Cons:windows 8.1, very small font on screen, very difficult to navigate, have to access yahoo and facebook through google, lots of time spent with customer service to upload
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:catsgolf
(San Diego)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 12

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned many Dell XPS models over the years, and I find this one to be the best one by far. It is extremely well made, very responsive to the touch, and I enjoy the option between laptop and tablet.
Well done Dell!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:inthecold001
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Touch Screen Failure

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I liked the computer until I updated from Win 8.0 to 8.1 and then my touch screen stopped working. I went to dells driver page and when I went to install the new drivers they would not install and stated they were not for my system. Called Dell and they sent me a new set of disks free since my warranty had expired. I reinstalled the original configuration and the touch screen still did not work. Read through several MS sites and apparently there are many who have been frustrated about the same thing. Many have had to send their computer back to Dell. Not going to ever buy a Dell again online support for drivers is poor especially when they do not install.
Pros:worked good for a while
Cons:a hastle in driver support
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fred200
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

One of the best I've owned.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've tried other computers and always choose Dell for performance and reliability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lhinter
(Kingsland, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

xps tops all bargin's

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My XPS 12 DUO lives up to expectations. I 7 core, 8 gig memory, solid state drive all produce no waiting. Touch screen and fold over tablet lets me go anywhere and now weak wi-fi's in remote places are no longer a problem. I vote yes to the XPS 12 convertible.
Pros:fast, great touch screen
Cons:my finger is too fat for some screens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheOutlaw
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

XPS 12

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This has worked out better than I hoped. I was wary of Windows 8.1 and unsure of what I would think of the touch screen. I have loved this for school and have found that I don't care that I don't have a mouse with it due to the touch screen. I use tablet mode for reading ebooks and PDF files for school, they keyboard has worked well enough for writing papers. While I did purchase this for school work I have tried a couple of games on it just for fun (Diablo III and Hearthstone), it does run them surprisingly well, but it does get quite hot.
Pros:lightweight, tablet mode
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HarryS
(Aiken, SC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

this is a great combination machine

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS 12 is a just right combination of laptop and tablet with the power of my desktop. The machine functions very smoothly and does all that I have asked it to do. The machine is a very comfortable weight and the size is golden, not too big and not too small. The battery life makes it a very usable machinefor the work day.
Pros:battery life, touch screen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JTH12
(North Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great computer! Could use more memory

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall, I am very pleased with my product. It is lightweight, functions wonderfully, and operates on Windows 8 (Best OS I've seen in a long time). I love the dual function of having a laptop and a tablet if I need it. The only problem I have with the computer is no blu-ray drive (or disc drive at all for that matter) and it's internal memory isn't large enough. I can't even download iTunes with all my music and movies because I run out of space (and I am not one of those people who has a whole lot of music and stuff). However all that aside I would pick this computer over and over and over again.
Pros:leightweight, dual tablet and laptop interface, fast, windows 8
Cons:no disc drive, internal memory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rudy28
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

good computer

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
great computer hate windows 8love that it's convertible into a laptop are a touchscreen tabletwish it had a CD Drive though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joe4288
(Lake Orion, Orion Township, MI 48362, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS12

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I like the look and feel of the XPS12, exactly what I was expecting.
Pros:look and feel, flip top, long battery life
Cons:touchpad is no very friendly, no dedicated page up-down keys
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ECombs11
(Austin, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Versatile Computer only one small issue

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had my XPS 12 for about 2 weeks now and I love just about everything about it. At first I was just a little worried that a 12 inch screen would be too small for me, but it has worked out just fine. Being able to convert it to a tablet adds some cool factor and has actually been a functional advantage in more situations than I thought it would be. The one complaint I've had is that when scrolling through a document or webpage using two fingers on the touchpad it often skips to the end of the document or webpage. Not a huge issue given that you can simply scroll using the touchscreen, but slightly annoying. I'll be looking for a fix for this as soon as I have time. Overall, it has been amazing!
Pros:fast, versatile, lightweight, cool
Cons:touchpad scroll skipping
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Toni1984
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best Work Computer / Very Convenient

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this computer for work and it has been wonderful to work with. The touch screen can sometimes have issues but I believe it is an issue with Windows 8 because restarting it resolves the issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Randy13
(Lubbock, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great except for OS

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great product except for the Windows 8 operating system which is a serious drawback. I suppose if you are used to using Windows Mobile, it is probably alright. In my case, I use an iPhone and Windows 7 on my desktop & laptop, so I find Windows 8 very irritating and hard to use.
Pros:great hardware!
Cons:windows 8 is a dog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 12 (L221x)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jhaxx
(Austin, Tx)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell XPS 12 is a great laptop/tablet

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for my twelve year old daughter because she likes to work with programs written for Windows and yet she likes to use a tablet for movies, games and drawing.
I tried a touch screen for her desktop and a separate tablet for the tablety stuff. That just didn't cut it, she ended up not using the tablet and just looked uncomfortable on the desktop.
Once she got this computer it was love at first sight and hasn't changed. She takes it everywhere with her and I constantly see her switching from computer to tablet, running office and then drawing on it. It is light weight and very sturdy.
Now my wife wants one.
Pros:light weight, speedy is very zippy, robust
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11