Customer reviews for XPS 12 9Q33

XPS 12 9Q33

XPS 12 9Q33
3.535 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
16
3.5
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
47 out of 7166%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 12 9Q33
Review 1 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sohailniazi
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

awesome machine by dell

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
loved to use it and its having awessome look with unique dual function
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PhilBrighton
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best laptop I have had

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have the 9Q33 model with Haswell I7 and Synaptics touchpad.
Had it 9 months and bought from outlet store (with 500mb hdd which for some reason was not on normal sale website)
I love it. I have got the touchpad working like a dream with two finger scroll etc. Dell have now added an option to disable the touch feature from the mouse button zone so the mouse pointer does not move when I click - well done for listening to feedback. Touchpad 99 per cent as good as MAC.
Screen is great. Battery life is Great. Power is amazing. Initially I used it as second computer to my group of Lenovos I have - I think because of its small size and not me not seeing it as a serious computer - but now it is my main computer as it is the most powerful and useful. I write android apps using studio and it is very good - touch screen allows great use of emulator.
Windows 8.1 is very unfinished but like others I converted it to look like windows7 with Classic Shell - I do not ever use Metro.
Dell should make the XPS15 flip like the XPS12 - not to replace my tablet but to make it easy to watch films on the train etc. Come on Dell a XPS15 2in1 - it would not cost much to do
Pros:best computer in class, as good as mac air but more versatile
Cons:windows 8.1 unfinished but classicshell fixes this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pos1121
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best 2 in 1 in my opinion- Dell redeemed themselves!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
If I wrote this review earlier in the year it would't have been very good. I purchased an Ivy Bridge version and had the issues that seem to have been prevelant for that model-
1. Image Retenion
2. Wifi Dropout
3. Touchpad issues
4. Battery drain and failure to wake from sleep when
opening the screen.
So I went on my mission to get the screen replaced. I sent it to Dell once to get serviced and it came back the same as it went to them- was NOT happy.
After this debacle coupled wih some patience, I finally got some positive response from customer service. They were very generous in sending me, much to my surprise an updated model with the latest haswell processor. It is the I7 version with the 8 gb of ram and 256 ssd. I was floored but still had my doubts.
This was approxiamtely 5 months ago and I don't see any of the old issues. They are in the past(for me anyway), save for the sleep issue, which is now hit or miss. That I can deal with.
Overall, I love the screen, the design is the best of the 2 in ones I've tried, surprised there aren't more of this desgn type.
Now a very happy customer and thought it was time to let you know that the latest version is a very nice machine.
Kudo's to Dell for makng it right!
Pros:solid design, nice display, excellent keyboard, good battery life, fast
Cons:sleep issues, no sd card slot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:C130
(Douglasville, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Problems right out of the box

PostedNovember 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing but problems right out of the box. less than 1 month old the battery would not charge beyond 66%, giving barely 1 hour of battery life usage. The motherboard was changed out then the SSD drive failed. Battery still will not charge. The unit spent more time being repaired than used. Backlight for the keys will not stay on even with all power save features turned off. I do like it for the screen flips back over the keyboard for the tablet mode so the keys are not exposed under like other tablets. Its compact and lightweight size are the other nicety and has enough umph to even run full AutoCAD without hesitant.
Pros:compact size, powerfull to run autocad
Cons:only had 2 usb ports, no stylus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RolSor
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

After screen replacement...

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had problems with image retention and display flickering. Dell replaced the display. No more image retention, and flickering is a thing of the past.
Pros:well built fast powerful and good display
Cons:none for my usage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TxAggie92
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

I like this Computer

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Initially I was a little worried about its small size as my last laptop had a 17 inch screen, but it is so light and easy to walk around with. I like the flip screen and use it often and of course a great touch screen. I had a little issue to start with but Customer service fixed it super quick. My only complaints are, wish there were more USB ports, its small but I miss my number pad on the bigger computer and like everyone else I hate windows 8 but that is not Dells fault
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rich71
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice laptop let down by drivers

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
When it works then it's a nice laptop. But too often core devices stop working, like functions of the touchpad sometimes when it wakes from sleep (the mouse pointer will disappear) and every now and again the wireless network will stop working until the adapter is reset. On a laptop where the only connectivity is wifi that's not all that good. Also, it won't take a "kensington" style cable lock, there is a security hole, but it's for a proprietary cable from one manufacturer.
Pros:display, reversible screen, size, battery life
Cons:touchpad, wifi, proprietary security lock
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:t1328
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Nice but very unreliable (hopefully mine is a lemon)

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
While the XPS 12 is one of the nicest tablet/laptop hybrids around, I've had 4 serious hardware malfunctions in 1.5 years, each of which has required the use of Dell's overnight at home service to replace a major component. 2 motherboard replacements, 2 screen replacements. Hopefully mine is a lemon. Other than these issues it's been very nice.
Pros:versatility and performance (when it works)
Cons:reliability is terrible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chris1187384
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Flawlessly Perfect EXCEPT-

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the best computer ever made in the history of existence. However, like most other Dell XPS 12 owners, objects such as the windows taskbar get burned into my screen. I also do not know how to use the InstantGo feature that Dell has advertised is and optional feature with the Dell XPS 12.
Pros:everything
Cons:screen burn-in
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimWV
(Detroit, MI)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Do not buy this machine

PostedAugust 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My issues started within 24 hours of purchase - the black screen issue, which continues four months later. Shortly after purchase, Windows malfunctioned and had to re uninstalled and reinstalled. Repeated connectivity issues, irrespective of location. Using this machine is an exercise in frustration and I can not recommend at any price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hayes96
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Sick and Tired of Having problems with XPS 11 battery

PostedAugust 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mom bought me this laptop December of 2013 for college. At first I loved it, but five months after having it the laptop started saying my battery wasn't charging and to upgrade to a new charger, so we got a new charger. It worked for 3 months before stopping again. After calling about this problem they told us the motherboard probably needed to be replaced, and since I head off college soon I needed it fixed asap. Last week they came and fixed it and everything seemed well, but the exact same thing just happened again. It said it wasn't charging and to upgrade the charger. I messed around with it and it's now working, but I'm extremely frustrated. I leave for college on Thursday and now I might not have a laptop or I'll have a laptop that doesn't want to charge all of the time and my mom paid about a thousand dollars for a laptop that never wants to charge. I'm very frustrated.
Cons:charger doesnt work
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Thumper1279
(Boca Raton, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very Enjoyable system but to much buck not enough bang

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far i like it the convertible xps 12 is really a cool eye catching system
the carbon fiber make sit look nice
The screen flips with lots of ease very portable
super fast
bought it so that i could go to school and come home and not have to cary around a 17 inch laptop anynmore
also i will be going out of state for externship soon and wanted a tablet but also wanted a laptop to take with me
Pros:weight, convertible, speed, ssd, 4 gigs ram, tablet mode, 2 usb 3.0
Cons:usb ports to close to each other, no hmdi just a mini dp, no sd card reader
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PaulMcD
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Class-leading convertible

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I trialed a few of the competition, wasn't happy with their offerings, and settled on the XPS12. It's brilliant, I love it.It pulls off the near impossible by offering ultrabook performance for serious work and tablet convenience for casual browsing. The screen is amazing - albeit it does display signs of image retention - and the touch sensitivity is remarkably accurate. The keyboard is class leading too. This machine brought Windows 8 to life and is the most fun I've had from a tech purchase.
On the negative side there are limited ports and one of the USB ports drops out frequently. I would have liked the option of 16GB RAM too, but 8 does the job surprisingly well. Otherwise a very tidy package indeed.
Pros:battery life, screen, design and finish, solid specs
Cons:image retention on monitor, second usb port is flaky and drops out
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mander
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Less than 2 weeks...

PostedAugust 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
...and this thing would not start up!!! I really regret buying this product and it wasn't cheap. Even if this gets fixed I doubt it will be reliable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobLZimmerman
(Tampa, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best for traveler

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
For me money was not an issue. i7, 8GB RAM, replaced the 256GB SSD with a 1TB SSD, also have every available adapter and external Blue-Ray reader/writer. I travel 5 days a week, fly average 6 times a week Hotel 4 nights week.
This is the fastest machine available. I never hesitate to run multiple CPU intense programs and run all 4 cores at 80% and still have functionality. My main machine has dual quad core Zeon's with 32GB RAM and 7 TB drives with a 256GB SSD boot drive and it is slower than the XPS12.
Best feature, turn it to tablet mode and you can use it as a hand held device and use it 100% of the time on the airplane.
Pros:fast and powerful, rugged
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CB47
(Superior Twp,MI)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Passion

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my XPS 12. Very nice looking, like the silver and black. I have Windows 7 on my PC, love Windows 8.1 now.i7 processor is fast. Great size. Go to Starbucks with it. Good job Dell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tenili
(Tempe, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Really love this laptop

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop 5 months ago mostly for school, so that I wasn't sharing with my daughter. I got the i7 with 8GB of RAM. I really agonized over the features versus the cost and what I really needed to what I would like to have versus when I would need to replace it. I have not regretted the decision. It is really light weight, and really fast. I love the versatility. I thought I was going to find the screen too small but it is very clear and I don't miss my larger monitors at all.
Cons:the only problem i had was that mccaffees was requ
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Saheb123
(Birmingham, West Midlands, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Worth it !!

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought dell XPS 12 , two in one .
its really awesome , fast and windows 8
i was an apple user but now i am really comfortable with dell xps. its great and as a student you have a discount on it too , dell customer care is really nice. i ordered and i got it within 2 working days. I
Pros:fast, user friendly, design, light weight
Cons:delicate
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:harrisa
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Versatile and Fast

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this machine. It is crazy fast, touchpad and keyboard work well and provide great tactile feedback, audio is clean with decent range and display is bright and high definition. And having both a laptop and a tablet in one device, with a well executed design, is a great convenience. The machine is also thin and light and easy to carry around.
Boot times are typically less than 10 seconds and feel almost instantaneous. Touchpad is so reliable and predictable I rarely use a mouse. Device drivers are solid and all features are fast, stable and responsive.
Not a lot of ports but this seems to be the norm with recent ultrabooks. There are plenty of inexpensive adaptors available for card readers, Ethernet and video.
I do upon occasion notice mild image retention, as noted in some previous reviews, but only with grey backgrounds and only along the perimeter of the display. After 5 months it is still not a problem. This behavior is not limited to Dell products.
Finally, customer service has been exceptional. Fast and responsive to my needs.
Pros:fast, convertible, well designed, stable drivers, clean audio, bright hd display, comfortable input devices
Cons:lack of ports
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WuanInDallas
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is an excellent machine! Dell should create more like this!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent product. Dell should be creating more of their laptops with this sort of configuration. Furthermore, I am baffled as to why Dell has not created a mass marketing campaign to show off this machine. This machine rivals in quality of design any of those of the other manufacturers including Apple. I have owned my machine for over eight months now and I have been extremely happy. I was even happy with the packaging of this product. In fact, I have kept the packaging just because it was so nice. The packaging was just too nice to throw away in the trash. I have never felt that way about any product packaging including that of Apple's. Dell really should focus on this machine and promote it more. Good job Dell! Keep them coming like this and I will definitely be purchasing more of your products.
Pros:beautiful and elegant design, great perfomance
Cons:packaging too nice to throw away!, touch pad requires you too push down to click
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4