Customer reviews for XPS 12 9Q33

XPS 12 9Q33

XPS 12 9Q33
3.435 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
3.4
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
38 out of 6261%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 12 9Q33
Review 1 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ReadyToGo
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Little Machine!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new Dell XPS 12; coming from a 17" XPS I was a bit leery... but I decided to give it a try and it's just as powerful in a smaller kit. The only drawback is it's a bit heavy for a tablet (hands get tired holding it for a while) but that's to be expected; it's not really a tablet. Besides that, I bought Dragon Premium and forget looking for apps! "Launch Visual Studio 2013" is all I need to say, or "Launch Microsoft Word" etc.
The customer service team is excellent by the way.
There was one issue: I had to download the latest drivers for the WIFI card, and that fixed the issues reported about losing Internet connections -- resolved! No problems now. Good work Dell!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Morayma
(Compton, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Ghosts ghosts ghosts

PostedMarch 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I couldn´t enjoy it sudenly lots of ghosts in my screen, first a speaker blew now this... they say they will repair it...well they repaired speaker but...espeakers change, screen change it seems a refurbished unit to me for a premium price it is not fair, they said they will contact me when a fix for ghosts will be available I´m still waiting....my warranty expired and still waiting, Ghosting is worst. I guess I´d like my money back.
Pros:style
Cons:quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dishartened
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Expensive paperweight

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent computer in so many ways reduced to an expensive paperweight by Windows8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:M111
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product is knowingly being sold with defects

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The XPS 12 has two known issues which Dell is well aware of, yet it continues to sell the product without informing consumers.
1. There is an image retention issue whereby images burn into the screen and stay there after the image/window has been closed.
2. The auto-rotate sensors stop responding during use, requiring a reboot to get them to work again.
There are hundreds of complaints posted on Dell forums regarding these issues and tech support simply wastes everyone's time performing useless part replacements and diagnostics.
If you unfortunately have purchased this, be on the lookout for a class action suit to be filed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimmyNZ
(Auckland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Extreme noise when running 'big' software while charging

PostedMarch 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using Dell products for 15 years. I have never been disappointed before.
However, this xps 12 has pushed me to the limit. First of all, the first unit that I received had an uneven bottom. So I got a replacement unit after 2-week waiting.
The 2nd unit is the one I am using now and writing this perhaps useless comment. Ever time, when I plug in the AC adapter and run software such as PhotoShop, sketchUp at the same time, there is a ridiculous and annoying noise coming out under the keyboard.
I called Dell service 3days ago, I got an adapter replacement. However, the noise continues. I called Dell service again today. A technician told me to turn off Intel Speedstep under Bios. And noise continues. The funny thing was the technician searched online when we were talking on the phone. Apparently someone else had the same issue. And he gave me a long lessen about Intel speedstep which did not help at all. He did not want to admit it is a design/hardware issue at the spot. And of course I understand why.
But my question is what shall I do now? Obviously this had to be solved regardless if it is related to speed step or not. Or even if speed step setup change could solve the noise issue, I should not be expected to turn it off to run some so called 'demanding' software. If the pc is not capable of running certain types of software, I think Dell should tell people.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mfarrell
(Boise, ID)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The perfect business tool, thats unavailble in Dell's business line

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I can’t believe that Dell has finally come out with a laptop/convertible that fit our business needs and it's not available in the business line. What a shame! We moved away from Dell and went with another company about three years ago for this very reason. Nothing thin/light for our owners, executives & salesmen that are always traveling and need something portable. The XPS 12 has brought us back!
The XPS 12 is the perfect business tool for us and everyone that has it within our company is absolutely raving over it. This machine is an absolutely perfect blend of laptop & tablet. It really allows you to enjoy many of the great functions and features built into Windows 8.
Really hoping that Dell will move this machine into the business line, make a docking station for it and continue to improve upon it.
Pros:just what we've been hoping for from dell, perfect business tool, makes windows 8 fun to use!
Cons:not available in business line, no product specific docking station (only usb)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Burton52
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Exceeded my expectations

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a laptop I could use at home and the office, and double as my tablet for e-reading and browsing when traveling. This unit does the job beautifully. I also bought 2 Super Speed USB 3.0 docking stations and an extra power cord so I could use detached keyboards and monitors and mice and connect by cable to the networks both at home and at the office. It's a great setup.
Cons:windows 8.1 but that's not dells's fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oneahead
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very noisy most of the time

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Between work and home use, I have about half a dozen various Windows tablets, convertibles and laptops running Windows 8.1.
The XPS 12 is the most versatile without too much of a weight penalty compared to the lighter notebook only or slate only devices. With the i7, 8Gb RAM and a 256GB SSD it's performance is right up there with the best of them. I run the screen at maximum resolution in both Modern UI and Desktop UI mode. The 1920 x 1080 is very usable on the 12.5" display. 2560x1440 is a bit too small even for the 13.3" laptops out there - if you run the UIs scaled up a bit, why bother with the higher resolution screens unless you are into looking at sharp high-res photos. The screen is bright and sharp - good for outdoor use and is dimmable when used at night in bed :) even in total darkness.
The biggest flaw - which is a showstopper in my mind is the fan noise. It would be fine if it came on 5-10% of the time when the machine was under heavy load. But it's on 90% of the time even with light loads such as simple web browsing. It's noisy when watching movies or when just simply editing a Word document or web browsing. No power setting option eliminates this problem although if you set the maximum CPU utilization to under 50%, it helps a little - but then why buy an i7?
Net is I'll likely return this and not recommend it
Pros:versatile, great performance, sharp display
Cons:noisy most of the time, heavy as a tablet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WedgeSoftware
(Tulsa, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Amazing construction, performance, battery life

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I received my XPS 12 in the mail several months ago it arrived in a fabulous, refined-looking box...something akin to a fancy cigar box. It was so nicely packaged I kept the packaging.
The unit itself is very rigid and beautifully crafted. The hinge/flip mechanism is firm yet clicks open and closed easily and smoothly. The operating system (Win 8.1) responds easily to these transitions.
Configuring Win 8.1 to work with all my Gmail services was a snap, and the laptop features integrated with no problems. I do not know why so many people complain about Win 8.1. After a few days I find it to be highly productive...but alas I'm an advanced, 25-year software developer veteran.
I got the high-rez 1900 display. It is crisp, clean, responsive and ultra sharp playing a dvd.
The performance is amazing (I did buy the top of the line, most memory, and SSD drive). It boots in 7 seconds, and the battery life is nearly 10 hours (as advertised I believe).
Using it as a tablet is great...but it is a little heavy after a while. I find that the "wide screen" is bizarre in tablet mode and find that I now read in dual page mode indead (like my Nook or Acrobat readers).
The backlit keyboard is ultra-important, and super-handy when surfing at night. I also use this laptop for voice dictation using Dragon. The power of the laptop keeps up with the dictation easily and the quality of the built-in microphone is accurate enough to provide near-perfect results (without a headset). This was surprising.
The cooling fans almost never come on. I can throw it in a small sleeve for protection and be gone all weekend easily (at the inlaws) and get some reading (or writing) done.
I highly recommend this ultra-portable. It is the most amazing toy I've ever owned! (Except my 10s Camaro, lol).
Regards,
Jason
Pros:craftsmanship, battery, performance, display
Cons:none
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MCramer99
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A bad deal

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this computer for several months now. Two weeks ago, it was repaired and the tech looked lost.
Last week it stopped working altogether. It took a while for Dell to respond and today they tell me it will be 9 days before they get the parts they need.
After my initial enthusiasm, I find this computer less and less reliable. Avoid it.
Cons:support is sub-par.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NeoCraig
(Marietta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Innovative

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed to get a new computer device for school. I was thinking of buying a Surface Pro 2 but because of its new release this past Christmas, no one had it in stock. After going to a Microsoft store, I realized how small the Surface Pro 2's keyboard is. I was shown a few other Laptops and Tablets. The last one that was present to me was a Dell XPS 12 Ultrabook. It was absolutely perfect for what I would be using it for.
I'm very impressed by all of its feature but the design of the Ultrabook its self is by far the the best part. I love the carbon fiber exterior and illuminated keyboard. The touchscreen is beautiful and very receptive to touch responses from your fingers and my Stylus. The keyboard is a decent size for my hands and is not too uncomfortable to write papers with. The price I received at the Microsoft store was unbeatable. The Ultrabook runs reasonably fast for my standards. I know some people expect the instantaneous awake feature that tablets have, but gotta remember it's a hybrid. I love the clarity of the display as well, crystal clear! I really enjoy being able to turn it into a tablet. That, of course, is the best feature of all.
I was concerned with the flip-hinge durability but was told that it was very durable and sturdy. It has a 20,000 flip life cycle. But my question is: What happens when you reach your 20,000 flip? What happens with the clips and hinges?
There are a few things that I'd list as a Cons.
The biggest con is the mouse pad. It cannot read the movements on the pad at times and it seems to freeze, until I point on the screen its self and then move the mouse on the pad. The short cuts on the pad, like zooming in and out, swiping accidentally from left to right will bring up the last program you used. The most frustrating though is scrolling pages with the mouse pad. It wont read the pressure of my fingers and I resort to scrolling by touching the screen.
I should have known that the Carbon Fiber material picks up fingerprints and oil very easily. That can bug me a bit but I was told by Dell Support to use water and a soft cloth. Have yet to try this.
The clickers to lock the screen in place worry me a little bit. One side clicks out of place easily and I'm always clicking it back in.
Window's 8 can be a bit of a challenge to work with. I'm used to classic Windows and it's taking me awhile to figure out where everything is at and what direction to swipe to get there. The short cuts on the mouse pad can become annoying at times when you have no clue what you just did to make the screen zoom or flip to another program.
I wouldn't mind having a disk-drive, as that's something I forgot about. For the way that I use my XPS, it's not a necessity.
Limited Connection with USB cords.
At first, my XPS had trouble keeping connected to the internet after waking up. After a few updates though, that issue has been resolved.
With the YouTube App that you download from the store, it always seems to have an error with displaying bookmarks. I have already downloaded the HTML 5 player and it still wont update. Overall I think more compatibility with other programs with Windows 8.
I'd like to see many many more apps that are offered from the other app and play stores.
Over all, I really enjoy this Ultrabook! I'd reccomend it to anyone. I'll also be looking forward to the improvements they make as a whole with programs and the store.
Pros:size and weight, hinge-flip screen, quick to respond from being asleep, over all design, touch screen capability
Cons:windows 8 (getting used to the program), mouse pad, keeping the carbon fiber clean-oil & fingerprints, clickers locking screen in place, limited usb port, limited apps on microsoft store
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AvalonHavoc
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

One word "garbage"

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very excited to receive this product and waited about a week and then I actually got the machine... where do I start the touchscreen stops responding usually after about an hour of use. after only a month it will no longer charge for the ludicrous amount of money that was spent on this it comes no where to living up to expectation do not buy this product
Pros:ingenuitive swiveling screen, very attractive
Cons:touch screen stops working frequently, requires an immensely expensive dell charger or wo, will no longer recognize any charger after a month, screen does not lock securely in place, plastic on sides of laptop is very brittle
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Traveler47
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Love my XPS 12

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
These days it seems impossible to buy a product and the product actually performs as stated. Fortunately I am not experiencing that with my XPS12. I have owned it for 5 months now and I really love it. I also have a MacBook Pro which I like but the problems I have with the memory always freezing up is frustrating. I love the size of my XPS 12 and still am amazed at how thin it is. If I was to have one issue, it would be with the flip screen. The design is great but sometimes the screen image doesn't match its position and I end up flipping the whole computer to try to get the screen to match the computer position. Other than that the performance has been stellar and I love how fast it turns on and the battery lasts much longer than I expected. I am not computer expert but I love this computer.
Pros:great small size, reliable, long battery life
Cons:screen rotation when flipping is hit or miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marty17
(Auckland, New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Much better XPS 12 than previous version. Top in class performance!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought the latest i7 model with the 4th Generation Intel Core i7-4500U processor, 256gb SSD and Win 8.1.
I bought the last model with i7-3537U processor about 6 months ago and found it terrible with a whole lot of updates required when new and still very buggy. Unfortunately it was stolen.
I was weighing what to get after my last experience with the XPS 12 but on reading recent reviews of the new model decided to bite the bullet with another XPS 12. I have not looked back since and now am glad that the last XPS 12 was pinched.
Although it is a convertible I have only used it in laptop mode- makes a perfect ultrabook. The keyboard works brilliantly and the touchpad does not interrupt the use. I used the laptop installing apps that I use, browsing the web and emails continuously for 3.5 hours last night and there was still 3.5 hours of battery life left after that.
My kids love the tablet form for their game apps.
Windows 8.1 took a bit to get used to but now I like it better than Win 8.
Only grudge is the noisy fan when the CPU is working at full speed when installing apps etc.
Overall a great buy.
Pros:superb battery life, fantastic track pad and touchscreen, works perfects brand new no updates needed, fast start up
Cons:noisy fan when cpu working at full speed
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Samnang123
(Sydney NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very dissatisfied customer

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my first time ordering a Dell product and definitely will be my last.
I've ordered a Dell XPS 2-in-1 ultrabook and expected it to be of excellent quality, yet it comes with too many bugs and inconvenience.
Bugs (Dell's fault):
- You can't put this laptop to sleep after 15 minutes, that function doesn't work
- The Wireless network disconnect every few hours (it's not my Wireless internet modem, since my PC's internet still works)
- The screen randomly dims itself, then brightens itself randomly even when I'm actively using the laptop
- The screen rotation doesn't work
Inconvenience:
- the laptop heats up if you use it on your lap
- if you connect the power cable to your laptop while using it, it heats up really badly on the side that connects with the cable
- the laptop's ventilation is poorly designed
The amount of bugs that come with this laptop has caused me to believe that Dell does not ensure that this product is Quality Assured.
I feel very angry about spending $1500 on this product that comes with too many bugs/errors and poorly designed features.
Pros:start up takes less than 3 seconds, fast performance able to multitask, lightweight
Cons:too many bugs/errors listed above, heats up too easily, screen says 1080hd but feels like 480p quality, battery doesn't last very long if you watch videos
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TBorham
(Saudi Arabia)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

my wishlist for the product.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish if this product would have 16GB of memory, and at least 512 GB SSD or more, and a more powerful Battery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VishG
(Indianapolis, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Promising but issues to be aware of

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this hybrid for over a month now -- a 4GB RAM/128 GB SSD configuration. While the whole package seems quite promising, there are a few issues that a new buyer needs to be aware of:
1. Understand your RAM requirements before selecting a configuration.
2. The track pad hasn't been thought out/implemented properly. The default setup is unworkable because the pad acts very "twitchy" -- the pointer jumps around at the slightest provocation. Luckily, there is a configuration utility that can be used to alleviate some of the problems.
3. The touchscreen has some driver issues. A) Periodically touch stops working -- usually when the machine has been inactive for a period of time and therefore has gone into some sort of sleep. I am somewhat tech literate so I am able to go to the control panel and reinitialize the related drivers which fixes the issue. B) Updating to Windows 8.1 has broken the screen orientation feature. In the tablet mode, the screen frequently gets stuck and won't rotate. Even reinitializing the drivers/restarting only works for a little while before the problem returns. This screen orientation thing wasn't an issue while I had Windows 8.
4. I have also run into problems connecting the machine to a 802.11n router at a relative's place. I had to switch the router to B/G mode for the connection to happen. At home I use the B/G mode. And the one public place (a Starbucks) I have taken this machine to, was fine.
I selected the "would not recommend to friend" option. However, if my friend says that he is primarily looking to use this device as a laptop then I would recommend it to him. If you are truly planning on using this machine as a hybrid, I would advice you to wait until at least the touchscreen issues have been resolved.
Pros:good battery life, quick restart, wonderful keyboard, good/compact build
Cons:poor trackpad, touchscreen issues
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:E227
(New Jersey, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Think Twice

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too many challenges with this one. Touch screen poor and text jumps all over. It also shuts down at least once a day. If you are a heavy user and need dependability you will be extremely disappointed. Poor quality and definitely not worth the money. If you want "bells and whistles" consider another product.
Pros:lightweight
Cons:everything
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 16, 2014
Hello E227,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experiences with your XPS 12 convertible laptop. We apologize for the frustrations you have been experiencing. We have made a few updates to improve your touchpad experience and recommend updating the latest system’s drivers that can be found from Dell’s Support website.

Dell Drivers –
http://support.dell.com

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience!

Thank you for choosing Dell!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:etcha
(Toronto, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Recall?

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the latest 4th gen Haswell -
SCREEN BURN IN:
I believe a recall on this product should be issued with the amount of users experiencing screen ghosting and burn in. I only had mine 4 weeks and this screen issue started happening to me as well. Overall the product is a great idea and could be a great little device, but when you pay the price you pay for this notebook and for a screen to fail after 4 weeks I am disappointed. I am in the process of waiting for the Dell engineering team to manufacture a new model with a screen that works as Dell has acknowledge that a replacement right now will only yield another screen that will fail and have the same ghosting issue. I would hold off until they have worked out the issue and brought out a new model or you may end up with a great screen in the start but then starts burning in after only a few weeks.
Cons:screen burn in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xjf1776
(Toronto, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

NIce Concept but Defective Hardware and Poor Software

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a beautiful hybrid laptop with a gorgeous screen. The i5 Haswell Intel CPU makes this a powerful laptop that executes all my tasks without any noticeable lag. It is very nice constructed and relatively light. I especially enjoy using it as a tablet when reading the news. The lack of input and output ports (ethernet, hdmi, only 2 usb) was slightly disappointing but I wasn't too perturbed by it.
However, the reason why I gave it 1 star is due to the fact that this laptop (both the first and second generation) has a defective screen. 1 day after purchasing this, I noticed that the screen has an image retention problem. I started noticing little Windows button on my screen and first thought it was just a Windows watermark. I later realized that this "watermark" is actually image retention from the Windows start button. I then began testing my laptop and found that image retention would occur simply by leaving a static image on my laptop for 3 to 5 minutes.
Based on the experiences of many other owners, this problem will only get worse with time. When I called Dell support, I was told that Dell has not record of this problem on the new Haswell units. But Dell was willing to replace my screen after some prodding on my end. Instead, I exchanged my unit for another new unit since I was still within the return period window.
However, my new unit also has image retention out of the box.
Dell support in North America appears to be denying that a problem exists but a web search will easily show that many other owners have this problem.
This is simply unacceptable on an expensive premium laptop. It cannot be simple coincidence that both of my units with different ship dates have the exact same problem. There is no point in having a nicely constructed laptop if one of the most important and visible component is defective.
Also, Dell is not doing a very good job of updating its drivers for the Windows 8.1 upgrade. My Haswell unit came with Windows 8.0. After upgrading to Windows 8.1, my autorotate feature when in tablet mode does not function properly. It would work for a brief period of time, and then the autorotate feature would stop working. I would need to put the unit in and out of sleep mode to get it started again.
Cons:image retention, auto-rotate not working well
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4