Customer reviews for XPS 12 9Q33

XPS 12 9Q33

XPS 12 9Q33
3.536 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
15
3.5
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
44 out of 6964%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 12 9Q33
Review 1 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tenili
(Tempe, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Really love this laptop

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop 5 months ago mostly for school, so that I wasn't sharing with my daughter. I got the i7 with 8GB of RAM. I really agonized over the features versus the cost and what I really needed to what I would like to have versus when I would need to replace it. I have not regretted the decision. It is really light weight, and really fast. I love the versatility. I thought I was going to find the screen too small but it is very clear and I don't miss my larger monitors at all.
Cons:the only problem i had was that mccaffees was requ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobLZimmerman
(Tampa, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best for traveler

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
For me money was not an issue. i7, 8GB RAM, replaced the 256GB SSD with a 1TB SSD, also have every available adapter and external Blue-Ray reader/writer. I travel 5 days a week, fly average 6 times a week Hotel 4 nights week.
This is the fastest machine available. I never hesitate to run multiple CPU intense programs and run all 4 cores at 80% and still have functionality. My main machine has dual quad core Zeon's with 32GB RAM and 7 TB drives with a 256GB SSD boot drive and it is slower than the XPS12.
Best feature, turn it to tablet mode and you can use it as a hand held device and use it 100% of the time on the airplane.
Pros:fast and powerful, rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CB47
(Superior Twp,MI)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Passion

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my XPS 12. Very nice looking, like the silver and black. I have Windows 7 on my PC, love Windows 8.1 now.i7 processor is fast. Great size. Go to Starbucks with it. Good job Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tara2015
(Cincinnati, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

The audio device is a NIGHTMARE

PostedJuly 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this computer for a little over a year now and I haven't gone more than a month without the audio device uninstalling itself. When it does this there is NOTHING you can do to reinstall it, I've tried everything. Every couple months it seems I spend hours on the phone with customer service to no avail. The computer is fast and very portable, which I like, but having to deal with the audio device uninstalling itself at random is what makes this computer my worst nightmare. Luckily I kept my old computer, but without it I would have to deal with having no sound (not good for a student who has to regularly watch lectures) at random, for an indefinite amount of time. I did not pay to upgrade to a nicer computer just to have to keep my other 4 year old laptop on the side. The fancy features and portability of this laptop are fun for a while, but they are absolutely not worth it when you have to spend hours of your life on the phone with customer service and weeks at a time with no sound on your laptop. I would hope that every model is not like this, but BEWARE, because you do not want to have the same experience I have had. It has ruined Dell computers for me forever.
Pros:lightweight portable fast
Cons:no sound
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Saheb123
(Birmingham, West Midlands, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Worth it !!

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought dell XPS 12 , two in one .
its really awesome , fast and windows 8
i was an apple user but now i am really comfortable with dell xps. its great and as a student you have a discount on it too , dell customer care is really nice. i ordered and i got it within 2 working days. I
Pros:fast, user friendly, design, light weight
Cons:delicate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:harrisa
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Versatile and Fast

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this machine. It is crazy fast, touchpad and keyboard work well and provide great tactile feedback, audio is clean with decent range and display is bright and high definition. And having both a laptop and a tablet in one device, with a well executed design, is a great convenience. The machine is also thin and light and easy to carry around.
Boot times are typically less than 10 seconds and feel almost instantaneous. Touchpad is so reliable and predictable I rarely use a mouse. Device drivers are solid and all features are fast, stable and responsive.
Not a lot of ports but this seems to be the norm with recent ultrabooks. There are plenty of inexpensive adaptors available for card readers, Ethernet and video.
I do upon occasion notice mild image retention, as noted in some previous reviews, but only with grey backgrounds and only along the perimeter of the display. After 5 months it is still not a problem. This behavior is not limited to Dell products.
Finally, customer service has been exceptional. Fast and responsive to my needs.
Pros:fast, convertible, well designed, stable drivers, clean audio, bright hd display, comfortable input devices
Cons:lack of ports
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WuanInDallas
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is an excellent machine! Dell should create more like this!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent product. Dell should be creating more of their laptops with this sort of configuration. Furthermore, I am baffled as to why Dell has not created a mass marketing campaign to show off this machine. This machine rivals in quality of design any of those of the other manufacturers including Apple. I have owned my machine for over eight months now and I have been extremely happy. I was even happy with the packaging of this product. In fact, I have kept the packaging just because it was so nice. The packaging was just too nice to throw away in the trash. I have never felt that way about any product packaging including that of Apple's. Dell really should focus on this machine and promote it more. Good job Dell! Keep them coming like this and I will definitely be purchasing more of your products.
Pros:beautiful and elegant design, great perfomance
Cons:packaging too nice to throw away!, touch pad requires you too push down to click
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Morayma
(Compton, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Ghosts ghosts ghosts

PostedMarch 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I couldn´t enjoy it sudenly lots of ghosts in my screen, first a speaker blew now this... they say they will repair it...well they repaired speaker but...espeakers change, screen change it seems a refurbished unit to me for a premium price it is not fair, they said they will contact me when a fix for ghosts will be available I´m still waiting....my warranty expired and still waiting, Ghosting is worst. I guess I´d like my money back.
Pros:style
Cons:quality
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dishartened
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Expensive paperweight

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent computer in so many ways reduced to an expensive paperweight by Windows8.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:M111
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This product is knowingly being sold with defects

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The XPS 12 has two known issues which Dell is well aware of, yet it continues to sell the product without informing consumers.
1. There is an image retention issue whereby images burn into the screen and stay there after the image/window has been closed.
2. The auto-rotate sensors stop responding during use, requiring a reboot to get them to work again.
There are hundreds of complaints posted on Dell forums regarding these issues and tech support simply wastes everyone's time performing useless part replacements and diagnostics.
If you unfortunately have purchased this, be on the lookout for a class action suit to be filed.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimmyNZ
(Auckland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Extreme noise when running 'big' software while charging

PostedMarch 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using Dell products for 15 years. I have never been disappointed before.
However, this xps 12 has pushed me to the limit. First of all, the first unit that I received had an uneven bottom. So I got a replacement unit after 2-week waiting.
The 2nd unit is the one I am using now and writing this perhaps useless comment. Ever time, when I plug in the AC adapter and run software such as PhotoShop, sketchUp at the same time, there is a ridiculous and annoying noise coming out under the keyboard.
I called Dell service 3days ago, I got an adapter replacement. However, the noise continues. I called Dell service again today. A technician told me to turn off Intel Speedstep under Bios. And noise continues. The funny thing was the technician searched online when we were talking on the phone. Apparently someone else had the same issue. And he gave me a long lessen about Intel speedstep which did not help at all. He did not want to admit it is a design/hardware issue at the spot. And of course I understand why.
But my question is what shall I do now? Obviously this had to be solved regardless if it is related to speed step or not. Or even if speed step setup change could solve the noise issue, I should not be expected to turn it off to run some so called 'demanding' software. If the pc is not capable of running certain types of software, I think Dell should tell people.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mfarrell
(Boise, ID)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

The perfect business tool, thats unavailble in Dell's business line

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I can’t believe that Dell has finally come out with a laptop/convertible that fit our business needs and it's not available in the business line. What a shame! We moved away from Dell and went with another company about three years ago for this very reason. Nothing thin/light for our owners, executives & salesmen that are always traveling and need something portable. The XPS 12 has brought us back!
The XPS 12 is the perfect business tool for us and everyone that has it within our company is absolutely raving over it. This machine is an absolutely perfect blend of laptop & tablet. It really allows you to enjoy many of the great functions and features built into Windows 8.
Really hoping that Dell will move this machine into the business line, make a docking station for it and continue to improve upon it.
Pros:just what we've been hoping for from dell, perfect business tool, makes windows 8 fun to use!
Cons:not available in business line, no product specific docking station (only usb)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Burton52
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Exceeded my expectations

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted a laptop I could use at home and the office, and double as my tablet for e-reading and browsing when traveling. This unit does the job beautifully. I also bought 2 Super Speed USB 3.0 docking stations and an extra power cord so I could use detached keyboards and monitors and mice and connect by cable to the networks both at home and at the office. It's a great setup.
Cons:windows 8.1 but that's not dells's fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oneahead
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very noisy most of the time

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Between work and home use, I have about half a dozen various Windows tablets, convertibles and laptops running Windows 8.1.
The XPS 12 is the most versatile without too much of a weight penalty compared to the lighter notebook only or slate only devices. With the i7, 8Gb RAM and a 256GB SSD it's performance is right up there with the best of them. I run the screen at maximum resolution in both Modern UI and Desktop UI mode. The 1920 x 1080 is very usable on the 12.5" display. 2560x1440 is a bit too small even for the 13.3" laptops out there - if you run the UIs scaled up a bit, why bother with the higher resolution screens unless you are into looking at sharp high-res photos. The screen is bright and sharp - good for outdoor use and is dimmable when used at night in bed :) even in total darkness.
The biggest flaw - which is a showstopper in my mind is the fan noise. It would be fine if it came on 5-10% of the time when the machine was under heavy load. But it's on 90% of the time even with light loads such as simple web browsing. It's noisy when watching movies or when just simply editing a Word document or web browsing. No power setting option eliminates this problem although if you set the maximum CPU utilization to under 50%, it helps a little - but then why buy an i7?
Net is I'll likely return this and not recommend it
Pros:versatile, great performance, sharp display
Cons:noisy most of the time, heavy as a tablet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ReadyToGo
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Little Machine!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new Dell XPS 12; coming from a 17" XPS I was a bit leery... but I decided to give it a try and it's just as powerful in a smaller kit. The only drawback is it's a bit heavy for a tablet (hands get tired holding it for a while) but that's to be expected; it's not really a tablet. Besides that, I bought Dragon Premium and forget looking for apps! "Launch Visual Studio 2013" is all I need to say, or "Launch Microsoft Word" etc.
The customer service team is excellent by the way.
There was one issue: I had to download the latest drivers for the WIFI card, and that fixed the issues reported about losing Internet connections -- resolved! No problems now. Good work Dell!
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellVoCMay 21, 2014
Hi ReadyToGo,

Thank you for taking some time to write about your experience so far with the XPS 12 Convertible notebook. You make a great point about the importance of keeping your system’s drivers updated. Drivers are files that help the internal hardware of the computer communicate with the operating system (ex. Windows 8.1) and any other software installed as well. Dell is always listening to feedback from our customers and will provide driver updates whenever they are become available.

My favorite way to check for driver updates is via the My Dell program that comes pre-installed on most systems. You can configure it to notify you of new driver releases and even take you straight to the Dell Support website for easy downloading. The My Dell program performs a myriad of other helpful tasks besides driver notifications and I recommend checking out this video to learn more:

An Overview of My Dell (Video)
http://bit.ly/RV3svL

In most cases, all you need to do is download the driver file to your hard drive and launch it from there. The driver application will check your system and walk you through the entire update process. If you are interested, a more detailed driver installation guide is available below:

Detailed Driver Installation
http://dell.to/Pu5qmp

Thank you for choosing Dell,
JonathanNforDell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WedgeSoftware
(Tulsa, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Amazing construction, performance, battery life

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I received my XPS 12 in the mail several months ago it arrived in a fabulous, refined-looking box...something akin to a fancy cigar box. It was so nicely packaged I kept the packaging.
The unit itself is very rigid and beautifully crafted. The hinge/flip mechanism is firm yet clicks open and closed easily and smoothly. The operating system (Win 8.1) responds easily to these transitions.
Configuring Win 8.1 to work with all my Gmail services was a snap, and the laptop features integrated with no problems. I do not know why so many people complain about Win 8.1. After a few days I find it to be highly productive...but alas I'm an advanced, 25-year software developer veteran.
I got the high-rez 1900 display. It is crisp, clean, responsive and ultra sharp playing a dvd.
The performance is amazing (I did buy the top of the line, most memory, and SSD drive). It boots in 7 seconds, and the battery life is nearly 10 hours (as advertised I believe).
Using it as a tablet is great...but it is a little heavy after a while. I find that the "wide screen" is bizarre in tablet mode and find that I now read in dual page mode indead (like my Nook or Acrobat readers).
The backlit keyboard is ultra-important, and super-handy when surfing at night. I also use this laptop for voice dictation using Dragon. The power of the laptop keeps up with the dictation easily and the quality of the built-in microphone is accurate enough to provide near-perfect results (without a headset). This was surprising.
The cooling fans almost never come on. I can throw it in a small sleeve for protection and be gone all weekend easily (at the inlaws) and get some reading (or writing) done.
I highly recommend this ultra-portable. It is the most amazing toy I've ever owned! (Except my 10s Camaro, lol).
Regards,
Jason
Pros:craftsmanship, battery, performance, display
Cons:none
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MCramer99
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A bad deal

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this computer for several months now. Two weeks ago, it was repaired and the tech looked lost.
Last week it stopped working altogether. It took a while for Dell to respond and today they tell me it will be 9 days before they get the parts they need.
After my initial enthusiasm, I find this computer less and less reliable. Avoid it.
Cons:support is sub-par.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NeoCraig
(Marietta, GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Innovative

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed to get a new computer device for school. I was thinking of buying a Surface Pro 2 but because of its new release this past Christmas, no one had it in stock. After going to a Microsoft store, I realized how small the Surface Pro 2's keyboard is. I was shown a few other Laptops and Tablets. The last one that was present to me was a Dell XPS 12 Ultrabook. It was absolutely perfect for what I would be using it for.
I'm very impressed by all of its feature but the design of the Ultrabook its self is by far the the best part. I love the carbon fiber exterior and illuminated keyboard. The touchscreen is beautiful and very receptive to touch responses from your fingers and my Stylus. The keyboard is a decent size for my hands and is not too uncomfortable to write papers with. The price I received at the Microsoft store was unbeatable. The Ultrabook runs reasonably fast for my standards. I know some people expect the instantaneous awake feature that tablets have, but gotta remember it's a hybrid. I love the clarity of the display as well, crystal clear! I really enjoy being able to turn it into a tablet. That, of course, is the best feature of all.
I was concerned with the flip-hinge durability but was told that it was very durable and sturdy. It has a 20,000 flip life cycle. But my question is: What happens when you reach your 20,000 flip? What happens with the clips and hinges?
There are a few things that I'd list as a Cons.
The biggest con is the mouse pad. It cannot read the movements on the pad at times and it seems to freeze, until I point on the screen its self and then move the mouse on the pad. The short cuts on the pad, like zooming in and out, swiping accidentally from left to right will bring up the last program you used. The most frustrating though is scrolling pages with the mouse pad. It wont read the pressure of my fingers and I resort to scrolling by touching the screen.
I should have known that the Carbon Fiber material picks up fingerprints and oil very easily. That can bug me a bit but I was told by Dell Support to use water and a soft cloth. Have yet to try this.
The clickers to lock the screen in place worry me a little bit. One side clicks out of place easily and I'm always clicking it back in.
Window's 8 can be a bit of a challenge to work with. I'm used to classic Windows and it's taking me awhile to figure out where everything is at and what direction to swipe to get there. The short cuts on the mouse pad can become annoying at times when you have no clue what you just did to make the screen zoom or flip to another program.
I wouldn't mind having a disk-drive, as that's something I forgot about. For the way that I use my XPS, it's not a necessity.
Limited Connection with USB cords.
At first, my XPS had trouble keeping connected to the internet after waking up. After a few updates though, that issue has been resolved.
With the YouTube App that you download from the store, it always seems to have an error with displaying bookmarks. I have already downloaded the HTML 5 player and it still wont update. Overall I think more compatibility with other programs with Windows 8.
I'd like to see many many more apps that are offered from the other app and play stores.
Over all, I really enjoy this Ultrabook! I'd reccomend it to anyone. I'll also be looking forward to the improvements they make as a whole with programs and the store.
Pros:size and weight, hinge-flip screen, quick to respond from being asleep, over all design, touch screen capability
Cons:windows 8 (getting used to the program), mouse pad, keeping the carbon fiber clean-oil & fingerprints, clickers locking screen in place, limited usb port, limited apps on microsoft store
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AvalonHavoc
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

One word "garbage"

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very excited to receive this product and waited about a week and then I actually got the machine... where do I start the touchscreen stops responding usually after about an hour of use. after only a month it will no longer charge for the ludicrous amount of money that was spent on this it comes no where to living up to expectation do not buy this product
Pros:ingenuitive swiveling screen, very attractive
Cons:touch screen stops working frequently, requires an immensely expensive dell charger or wo, will no longer recognize any charger after a month, screen does not lock securely in place, plastic on sides of laptop is very brittle
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 12 9Q33
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Traveler47
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Love my XPS 12

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
These days it seems impossible to buy a product and the product actually performs as stated. Fortunately I am not experiencing that with my XPS12. I have owned it for 5 months now and I really love it. I also have a MacBook Pro which I like but the problems I have with the memory always freezing up is frustrating. I love the size of my XPS 12 and still am amazed at how thin it is. If I was to have one issue, it would be with the flip screen. The design is great but sometimes the screen image doesn't match its position and I end up flipping the whole computer to try to get the screen to match the computer position. Other than that the performance has been stellar and I love how fast it turns on and the battery lasts much longer than I expected. I am not computer expert but I love this computer.
Pros:great small size, reliable, long battery life
Cons:screen rotation when flipping is hit or miss.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4