Customer reviews for XPS 10 Tablet

XPS 10 Tablet

XPS 10 Tablet
3.408 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 98 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
17
1 Star
19
3.4
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 96
62 out of 9863%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for XPS 10 Tablet
Review 1 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DropRT
(Denver)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

RT is proprietary and isolated

PostedJune 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love the Dell side of this product: reliable, designed for purpose, intuitive. However, the RT operating system prevents me from adding programs or applications that aren't in the Windows Store. I cannot add Fitbit, Quicken, my printers, you name it...if I want to make the device more usable, the applications I want are not able to run on this proprietary OS.
Pros:battery life
Cons:windows rt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ScottEarl
(Missoula, MT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

XPS 10 has poor features

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I see why they dropped this product!
This darn thing wont run any of the apps that I need. I should have bought one with Windows instead of RT. Things like Quicken, Chrome and other basic apps just won't run on it. It's just a glorified Kindle. Waste of money!
Pros:none
Cons:no apps run on it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brossau
(Mooresville, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Hardware Product

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This tablet is great. I've had it for over 6 months, no issues. Fast, light, and the touch is very responsive. My only compliant is Windows RT. The full version of Windows is MUCH better.
Pros:fast, responsive, lightweight, great battery life
Cons:windows rt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:terapnstn
(Bellingham, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Want to review customer service experience

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
So, we all write negative reviews when we have a bad experience. I think it's too early to review the tablet (only had it 3 months), but a week or so ago the touchscreen stopped working and the docking keyboard worked for some things but not others. I couldn't find ANYTHING online about this issue. I called customer service, dreading the call even though I knew my 1 year warranty ("limited") was still good. Put in the service code and was immediately connected to a lovely young woman (yes, in India, but easily understood) who was very patient, clear with instructions, and walked me through resetting the tablet to factory settings. Since the process would take about an hour, she said they would call back the next day to check if it worked. Then she transferred me to a supervisor who asked for feedback about my phone experience, re-iterated that they would call back to check, and gave me a direct line to call back if I needed to. And the next day they called back to check if it worked, which it did.
Class act - they have clearly learned that when we have a bad customer service experience we aren't likely to purchase from them again. Nicely done.
Pros:great customer service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:billvwi
(Ashland Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XPS 10 is a Great Tablet / Laptop

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this tablet. Once you take the time to learn Windows 8 - this tablet is a breeze ! I hear people complaining about app availability. How many 'apps' do you need ? I mean really ! Its a tablet computer. I can watch video, listen to music, run Office, get my mail, etc... What else do I need ? I have a desktop for that.
This tablet is excellent. Great response. I like that RT is a 'Sole" program. Its keeps the crazies out of my tablet. If I can only get apps from the app store that means they are being evaluated and checked BEFORE they are offered to the general public. Think about it. It makes perfect sense.
This is a great combo machine. With the extra battery in the keyboard I always have enough power.
Student Office RT came with at no charge and that is a great option to have. The Bluetooth works flawlessly as does the WIFI.
It's easy and fun to use and still a good worker if needed. Mine came with the keyboard dock which has 2 USB ports and an HDMI port.
Ya gotta love it.
Pros:too many to list
Cons:none
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steveymacjr
(Charlotte, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Title:

Great tablet for watching and listening to music, as well as magazines.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the tablet, its so light, and easy to use..
The LTE access is wonderful, being able to use it on the go is a very convenient thing to do! I love the styling, and form factor, the back is just soft enough that it is easy to handle. When the keyboard dock does work, I love the travel of the keys, and the touchpad is excellent too.. The screen is nice too, making reading magazines a breeze.
The last thing I want to mention is the speakers, in a word, WOW.. they are powerful, and clear. I enjoy loading up the VEVO app and watching music videos on it.. so clear!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:klg908
(Chicago, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I like my xps 10 tablet

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is user friendly I got a refurbished one from dell outlet and works great no owners manual came with it, I found everything easily, set up was a breeze, loaded all my apps with no problem I will get my moneys worth out of it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnHG
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Killed by RT OS

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tablet itself looks almost flawless in design and performance, but the feeling is quickly killed by its operating system.
I'm a high school student in my junior year and I was looking for something to run MS office and basic IDE's for my programming class, but not be as bulky as a laptop so I would be able to carry it around easier. unfortunately the inability to download other cloud services or run able IDE completely destroys the reason I bought it. It simply does not have the right apps
If you're just looking for something to just run the web and play basic app games then this will be fine for you otherwise don't bother.
Pros:good design, very light, very small
Cons:rt operating system, only download apps, empty app store
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 19, 2013
Hello JohnHG,

Thanks for taking time out of your busy school schedule to post a review of your new XPS 10 tablet. Also, thank you for your praise about the design and build of the XPS 10, Dell is really proud of this machine. I see that you are frustrated with the limitations of the applications that are available for Windows RT, from the Windows Store. It is true that Windows RT is limited to running programs from the Windows Store only but as of today, the store offers over 100,000+ apps and is growing daily! The Windows Store is still not yet a year old and I truly feel that all of your software needs will be available soon. I posted a link to help navigate the Windows Store below. If you have any technical or customer service issues with the XPS 10, I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter:

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/18PGSrH
Windows 8/RT App Store Help -
http://dell.to/19juRsS

Hope this helps!
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RAS406
(Arbil, Iraq)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My constant travel companion. Takes the place of my laptop.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This little tablet/keyboard convertible is greatly misunderstood. Don't be put off by the negative reviews. Some early adapters may have had defective devices and nobody fully understands Windows RT yet. If you put the time in to learn RT basics (only a few days), you will have a delightful and versatile device that is far more intuitive, useful and capable than the comparably priced iPad. It has completely replaced my laptop for extended trips.
Admittedly, I am not a user with high capacity demands. I just want access to my email and internet, to create or save the occasional document or spreadsheet and have a good variety of apps to fulfill my appetite for news and entertainment. The XPS 10 does all that better than the iPad 4 I bought for my wife last year. I am listening to my favorite playlist through the keyboard dock enhanced speakers while typing this review.
The XPS 10 with dock has many well thought out advantages:
- 18+ hour battery life with the dock.
- Two USB ports.
- HDMI mini connection to watch Netflix on your flatscreen.
- Decent speakers on the tablet and better speakers on the keyboard.
- Micro SD card slot compatible with the latest 64 GB cards.
- Take the tablet alone or pair it with the dock to double battery life and add all the ports.
- It becomes basically a high end netbook with 4G LTE connectivity for just over $500 - amazing!
Concerning one repeated complaint I have read in the other reviews about lacking a search function in the Windows RT app store: There is a search function. Just open the store, then swipe the charms on the right side of the screen. Click "search" and use the window to search for apps. They just recently added the CIA World Fact Book which I found this way and Windows is adding apps every day.
As to the "does not work" complaints: I have not had a single problem with my XPS 10. It has been reliable right out of the box and fun to learn. Windows RT/8 is an acquired taste, but I am beginning to like it a great deal. The most useful suggestion I can make to Microsoft is to allow users to install apps from outside sources. Don't restrict us to the Windows RT store - still admittedly limited.
By the way, the Poetic case for the XPS 10 works great for either the tablet alone or the dock and tablet. Attractive and well thought out.
Pros:battery life, usb ports, hdmi micro port, 4g connectivity, 64 gb micro sd slot, display is excellent
Cons:slightly bulky and heavy when docked, limited apps in windows store
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RJ3Rd
(Harlingen, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Surprised

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had my all in One PC stolen. Decided to try this tablet out to see if it could do what I used the all in one for and it does for the most part. I use it for taking my online training my job is constantly requiring some type of continuing education. I can use it for work. The Microsoft Home Office package it comes with handles most of my needs. The mini USB to standard USB cable it came with was a nice surprise since it allowed me to transfer files with an USB drive. The life of the battery is great too. The SD memory chip add is nice. It does not handle the extra memory like your PC does but you can store files, music and pictures there. One thing that is disappointing is there is no App yet for Windows RT to connect to my corporate network. Android and Apple both have the App but not Windows RT.
Pros:battery life
Cons:windows rt apps are not like apple and droid
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tgater
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Garbage, I wasted my money

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me start out by saying that I have used Dell products for over 10 years without issues until now.
I have over ten laptops, seven desktops and three servers.
My home network consist of two Dell power connect 28 series 24 port switches. So when it came time to try a tablet I choose Dell.
I bought this unit to take on the go and have not been able to go anywhere with it yet. Very slow, MS updates took more than 1 day and several reboots. Once the MS updates were applied I lost the ability to get the "charms menu" I had this for less than 48 hours, and tech supports answer to resolving the issue I was having was to do a refresh of the OS, a process that they are not familiar with. Tech support does not understand the "Bit Locker" process which is essential to reloading the OS. It was a very painful 1 and a half hour call on the phone with tech support and my issue was somewhat resolved by me restarting the refresh process and reading through the prompts and doing my own research on the MS website.
The only way I would keep this item if I were offered US based Pro support for two years at no additional cost to me.
Pros:price, usb slot
Cons:tech support, slow performance, music sounds tinny
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsSeptember 24, 2013
Hello tgater,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your recent experience with the XPS 10 tablet. I apologize about your very strange and disappointing out-of-box experience with the laptop. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter and see if they can help you resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner. Due to the nature of your issues, I hope that they will go out of their way to win you back as a satisfied customer of Dell! Since you seem to be person with vast technical expertise and also wanting Dell Pro support, I recommend talking to our team about the Latitude 10 tablet. It features Windows 8 and more enterprise-level options as well.

Latitude 10 tablet -
http://dell.to/18WxBeT
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
Dell Support on Facebook -
http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:peanutsdad
(Ferris, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Does what I need without problems

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my xps 10 with my purchase of the xps 18. I primarily use the xps 10 for internet, reading, netflixs, flixster ect.
I've used it to pay my bills, look up stuff online when Im at hotspots and typically, I use it a lot for reading.
I've found the touch screen to be more than adequate for what I paid, it flips between apps easily and I only need to reboot it typically once or twice a week.
The only downside I've found to it is microsofts typical lack of support via the app store. There just are not the apps out there for RT. But my big apps are there-- kindle, netflix, flixster, my own bank app.
No real search function available on the app store, it's hunt and seek to find what you need.
So, the tablet works well, too bad it's chained down by microsoft's lack of effort.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DLO65
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Flash for HS student

PostedAugust 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Extremely disappointed. when I purchased a expensive laptop along with the xps10. I was told that my kids can do their school work (student portals) on line without any problems. Apparently the person who sold me the tablet did not know that this tablet does not allow Flash to be installed not will it allow ITunes to be installed...wasted my money on this and I DO NOT recommend this tablet! BTW if you call the help desk for a simple answer as to when or is there a way to install flash player...expect to get frustrated
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 29, 2013
Hi DLO65,

Thank you for posting your experiences with your new XPS 10 tablet, featuring Windows RT software. It is true that Windows RT is a new experience vs Windows 8, mainly that internal architecture is different, requiring all software to be re-written to be compatible. The Windows Store website is the only repository for downloadable software and unfortunately, Apple has decided to not release a iTunes version that is compatible with RT.

In regards to Flash, with the latest Windows Updates, Flash is enabled on Internet Explorer 10 (except for a few sites that Microsoft has placed on a "blacklist"). You do not need to install Flash but you want to make sure all of your RT software is up to date and you are using IE 10. Find the latest updates by swiping from the right edge to get access to Settings > Change PC settings > Windows update and tap Check for updates now. I apologize for your experience so far with the software limitations of RT but Microsoft has been vigilant with listening to customers and improving the Windows RT experience for everyone!

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/18PGSrH

Hope this helps!

+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:betheany
(Worcester, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Cheap, Deceptive, Poorly Designed, and Misleading

PostedAugust 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have more than one or two simple issues with this tablet. Let me preface this with I did not have unreasonably high expectations, nor was I expecting to be able to land the space shuttle with it. I ordered this item as an iPad replacement, period. I did not order it as a laptop alternative (even though I did like the idea of having a "real" keyboard as I dislike the touchscreen "keyboards" immensely, AND, I also liked the idea of having MS Office "on-the-go".) HOWEVER, none of these added benefits can overcome its flaws:
First: straight out of the box the keyboard wouldn't work. The system refused to recognize it no matter how many times I un-docked it and re-docked it. I restarted the system, checked for newer drivers, and basically did everything I could find as a suggestion (since others appear to have had this problem as well), but nothing worked. In and of itself, this is not a deal-breaker. Annoying, but not enough to force me to return it.
But wait, there's so much more...
Second issue: when using the onscreen keyboard (since, you know, the keyboard dock won't work), it doesn't automatically display when the cursor is placed in a field requiring text input. MAJOR annoyance.
Third: Having the numerical keypad only on the second screen of the onscreen keyboard and configured like a phone keypad rather than a calculator keypad is disorienting. I'm not expecting to dial a phone, I'm expecting to use it for numerical reasons, whether calculating something or entering numbers in a field.
Fourth: No "official" Facebook app. Using FB on a web browser with such a small screen is uncomfortable and awkward. Also, the screen doesn't zoom in or out when it's docked to the keyboard. MAJOR drawback.
Fifth: No Amazon Prime app
Sixth: (And this is a complaint I have with my Dell desktop as well, but I really don't use apps on that, so I can live with it)...the Dell store is TERRIBLE. How hard would it be to offer an alpha sort or a search box? Why should we have to browse through over 6k entertainment apps to TRY to find what we're looking for? Epically poor programming. Take a page from iTunes and drop in a search function, Dude. It'll make everyone's life a lot easier.
Seventh: It's slow
Eighth: Landscape view as the default on what's supposed to be a tablet is just plain weird.
Ninth: The camera is beyond terrible. No really, it's the most horrible picture I've ever taken with a mobile device, hands-down.
I think I've covered everything that I noticed since 7:30 last night when I picked it up (it's now 8:42 the following morning), so I had it in my possession for all of 13 hours. It's packed up and I'm awaiting authorization to return it.
I'll be taking my iPad to the Genius Bar and getting it tuned up until I can pick up a new one.
I'm incredibly disappointed with this item, Dell. I expected better.
Pros:it's returnable
Cons:where do i start?
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 21, 2013
Hello Betheany,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your XPS 10 Tablet. I wish it had been a better experience for you. It sounds like you would have been better off with the Latitude 10 versus, the XPS 10. Many of your issues are related to the Windows RT OS and the Latitude 10 comes standard with Windows 8. Check it out here:
http://dell.to/13GdBl9

While we appreciate your review, leaving your ideas for improvement on Ideastorm.com, can get your voice heard. Here you can have your voice heard on what could make the next great Dell product.

Thanks again for sharing,
+3points
12of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nikki031
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not worth it

PostedAugust 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I purchased this tablet I was so excited because I've had nothing but great experiences with the TVs, lap tops, desktops, and surround sound system that I've purchased. However this tablet has been awful. The tablet does not have good apps and the ones I do use freeze up all the time. So I just use the desktop portion of the tablet and it is so slow and also freezes up on me. I know its not the internet connection because all of my other electronics work fine. I don't know what to do anymore, its just become a really expensive desk accessory. I do not recommend this tablet at all!
Cons:slow, freezes, not a good app selection
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 19, 2013
Hello nikki031,

Thank you for taking the time to post here about your experiences with your new XPS 10 tablet! In regards to your freezing issues, I recommend using the Windows Update feature of RT to make sure you have the latest drivers, as they are constantly being updated and further stabilized:

http://dell.to/1eXQrX5

In regards to your feelings on the availability of apps for the tablet, Windows RT is unique in the way it only allows apps from the Windows Store (click on the Store icon). The number of apps available here is increasing daily! If you have any questions or still need assistance with your XPS 10, please contact our @DellCares team for prompt assistance:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

Thanks!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryS55
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Only as good as the OS

PostedAugust 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had my XPS10 for just over a month and still trying to get used to Windows 8 RT. At the time of purchase I wasn't fully aware of the lack of applications and the enabilty of an RT device running Windows applications. RT applications are severely limited. Some comparable apps on the Android or iOS platforms would be really helpful to make this tablet better.
If you are thinking about running normal Windows applications you should look at the Latitude because more than likely "there's not a app for that". If you are looking for a robust tablet I'd look elsewhere than Windows RT devices.
Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to thoroughly evaluate my XPS10 before the return window expired and Dell will not take allow a return or even exchange for a Latitude tablet. Also, with the recent price drop in the XPS10s I can't even sell this unit for half of what I paid for it a month ago.
I'm a long time Dell customer having purchased desktops, slews of laptops and even the old Axiom PDA's back in the day but I can honestly say that Windows RT is draggind down this device... I'm EXTREMELY dissatisfied with this purchase and wouldn't recommend a Windows RT device to anyone.
Pros:great form factor and hardware-wise a nice unit
Cons:windows rt missed the mark, lack of apps, can not run company applications
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 8, 2013
Hello LarryS55,

Thank you for taking the time to review Windows RT. Just like with any new offering of an OS, there is a ramp time for compatible applications. I am sorry to hear they have not come along fast enough for you to enjoy the XPS 10. Checkout the link below for the latest in Microsoft's RT apps.

http://dell.to/19dO7xQ

Hope that helps!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tanjen2013
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Do NOT recommend this tablet at all!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the WORST tablet I have ever used! I was extremely disappointed in it within 30 minutes of turning it on. I purchased this to use to work and it is super slow! No way I would use it to work, it can't keep up so I found myself pulling out my trusty IPad again. I was going to just keep it and give it to my 17 year old to use for games etc. but it completely died tonight, will not turn on or anything and the battery was fully charged! Also noticed that the battery does not last nowhere near as long as advertised, if I didn't plug it up every night it would be dead the next day and that is after only using it for an hour or so. I also purchased the keyboard which is supposed to hold a charge for a really long time and it doesn't hold either. I have had it for less than a week so I am returning it for a refund! I do NOT recommend this product at all and I have used alot of tablets and computers over the years and this is by far the worst one I have ever had!
Cons:super slow, glitchy, not enough apps, completely died within a week, battery life is really bad
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 7, 2013
Hello tanjen2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with your XPS 10 tablet. I apologize that your experience was a negative one and I hope that you might have reached out to our Dell Support Team for assistance in these matters. Since you have decided to return the tablet, feel free to contact our @DellCares Twitter team too make the process smooth and hassle-free!

(@DellCares on Twitter)
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8

Thanks!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Crs94
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not Student Friendly

PostedAugust 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased the XPS 10 tablet, and was very excited for it to get here. I spent all summer saving up for this tablet and spent the spring researching the perfect tablet for school. I am on my second one, and as disappointed as I was with the first, if not more so.
I got this tablet because I wanted to have Microsoft Office features for when I start my sophomore year of college this fall. But, because I cannot connect to my home wireless network (CenturyLink) nor my school network on either of the tablets I have received, I can assure you that both tablets will be going back first thing tomorrow.
Cons:no connection to centurylink wireless network
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 6, 2013
Hello Crs94,

Thank you for taking your time to post this review about your XPS 10 tablet(s). It is regrettable that you have experienced issues connecting both tablets to your home and school Wi-Fi networks. The tablet is designed to connect to standard Wi-Fi networks like these, so I do not have an easy solution for you without further troubleshooting steps. I will just post what the XPS 10 manual states as the way to enable and connect to Wi-Fi networks from within Windows RT:

• Turning On/Off Wi-Fi:
1 Swipe from the right edge of the display to access Charms.
2 Touch Settings→ Change PC settings→ Wireless.
3 Swipe Wi-Fi icon left or right to turn Wi-Fi on or off.

• Connecting to a network:
1 Swipe from the right edge of the display to access Charms.
2 Touch Settings
→ Available
→ Select an available network→ Connect.

Feel free to reach out to our @DellCares team or check out our Dell Community Forum for answers if you wish:

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8
Dell Community Forums -
http://dell.to/10t69Dh
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:yankeedan
(Easthampton, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

very bad product

PostedJuly 31, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to mostly use watching live video streaming. After having problems at once followed the instructions for viewing from Desk top which I did and it worked fine. Then got a screen notice telling me updates would be installed and when they did the video streaming stopped working was told to do a "reset" which I did and the video streaming once again worked fine until today when automatic updates installed and once again the video streaming stopped working. If there was a way to return this product it would be on the way bak!!!
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 2, 2013
Hello yankeedan,

I am sorry to hear that after Windows updates, you are experiencing issues with streaming video. I would advise that you get in contact with technical support. They can help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause and help find a solution. Please feel free to contact our DellCares team using the following options:

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/13FmdJ4
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

-SaraT
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for XPS 10 Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Monty0013
(Alabama, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

I love it!

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The tablet itself if just as good as the rest. The only negative I can say is about the app store. Yikes that does leave a lot to be desired. You have to look through each and every app to find what you are looking for instead of just typing in the search bar and find it that way, like in the iTunes store. Also, there isn't a lot of apps. I think that is what scares people away from buying this tablet the most. For someone who likes a lot of apps, that is MAJOR. It's a shame but that is a Microsoft deal and kind of a go figure thing when you know it's the Microsoft App store. I still love the tablet though. I just got it to watch tv at night, Facebook and to read on.
For me, the Microsoft Office Home & Student is a waste of memory space. If you want to do that much stuff on a cheap tablet, get a laptop.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5