Customer reviews for Vostro 400

Vostro 400

Vostro 400
4.715 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 173 reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.7
 / 
5
(173 reviews) 155
165 out of 16699%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 400
Review 1 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:technolegal
(steveschiffer@mphlaw.net)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Little Business PC

PostedMay 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:We have bought two of the Vostro 400s during their initial release month with XP Pro operating systems. The performance was solidly better then the optiplex that was purchased just a couple months earlier, and the cost was a couple hundred less.
Cons:Only con is that I would prefer more rear mounted USB ports and less front mounted.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Skiedaddle
(Nashville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Pleased

PostedMay 5, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I worked for Dell several years ago and know how they are made. That is why I bought one now.
Pros:Fast, the Quad Q6600 works very well. From the start, the whole computer is working great. Big change from my old computer. Loaded my QuickBooks Pro went to work. Had the system in just a few days from when I ordered it.
Cons:Adjusting my first LCD Monitor. It is very clear and BRIGHT!. After some adjustments on the monitor, it is nice.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HeersMac
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Vostro 400

PostedMay 4, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
An outstanding computer for the price
Pros:quad procssors
Cons:Power supply should be larger wattage 450~ 500 watts. Multi card reader should be standard. 22'' monitor needs to higher quality. Covers for DVD drive block drive activity led’s. PS2 keyboard and mouse connectors on motherboard.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JNoy
(Chichester, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

3.0Ghz Duo, 3GB RAM, 640GB HD, 8600GTS, XP Pro

PostedMay 2, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
A great computer for both reliability and performance (it can happily run Ubuntu and Vista Virtual Machines simultaneously), especially when considering price, hardware reliability has been A1, software fine apart from BIOS / fans problem. I would thoroughly recommend this machine to any one whether for work or home and with the 512MB nVidia 8800GT it makes a good gaming platform as well.
Pros:Compact – especially regarding height Attractive – blue lights and black gloss metal sides look great and give quality feel Value – for the specification, nothing beats it Neatness – although space is a bit tight, wires are well controlled, DVD drives and media card reader covered by doors Quietness – apart from initial problem (see cons) runs whisper quiet Features – media card reader is great and easy
Cons:DVD drives – can be difficult to close when open Ports – some older connections require adaptors BIOS – fans were very noisy before BIOS downgrade from Dell website Minor problems – Intel and XP stickers on case are skew
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vostros
(Las Cruces)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Rock solid system with one minor flaw

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Vostro 400 is some of the best computer for your money!
Pros:Killer value for the money. Lots of power in a small case.
Cons:Poor air flow. With my 8800GT card and running two dell 22 inch monitors the system can run a bit on the hot side.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mary808123
(Hawaii)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 400

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my vostro! It runs great! I totally reccomend this to anyone.
Pros:Nice shiny black tower. The speed is awesome! Lots of usb outlets!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michael2559
(Marion,Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great PC

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would buy it again, great price
Pros:Fast, quite, great price and looks good
Cons:none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WoolyBully
(Mpls. MN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Saved me the time to build my own.

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This system was very easy to set up and proved to be powerful enough for my demanding photo processing tasks. With the 24" Ultrasharp monitor upgrade a grate deal.
Cons:As other users have indicated the CD and DVD doors are too flimsy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCLet
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Power To Spare

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
An additional unit may be in my future.
Pros:Plenty of power for all of my needs. Quad core w/800fsb Room for dual hard drives and enough expansion bays in a compact space.
Cons:At this time there are none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrMatt
(Orange County, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great System

PostedApril 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This system was very easy to set up and proved to be powerful enough for my demanding photo processing tasks.
Cons:None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jdubbin
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro Power

PostedApril 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very very fast computer. Gaming fast. XP ultra stable.
Cons:22inch analog LCD could have higher resolution
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KCP573
(Woburn, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro - Value and Performance

PostedApril 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was our first Vostro purchase. Most of our PC's are inspirons. Nice platform looking forward to seeing what the laptops are like.
Pros:Delivered on time Speedy box Very quite Cost effective
Cons:None
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John111
(Virginia Beach VA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Wow what a difference

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I highly recommend the Vostro as an upgraded system for those who use a desktop regularly and want some future expansion room.
Pros:I love my new Vostro. I upgraded from a dimension 2400. I got Win XP platform with NO trial programs (Excellent new offering from Dell). She boots in less than 2 minutes. I upgraded the memory to 3 gigs, added a 512 graphics card and went with the 20 in. widescreen. For the price it beat everything else out there, what a deal! Have no complaints with the machine at all.
Cons:Fan is a little noisey.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jodirector
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 400

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Fast, efficient and value priced. We love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jmoonhi
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 400

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Solid performance!
Cons:USB connection does not come in basic package.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:this
(Ogden, UT)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing speed

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think that Dell's rating should include "Dell Experience" which was excellent. Friendly staff, and low stress technical experiences.
Pros:If you have not tried a quad core processor yet, this is it. This processor runs extremely fast and because of the 65nm technology, it runs cool. A good value for the money.
Cons:Prefer the Inspiron case design. Would prefer larger fans that make less noise. A 120mm fan on the power supply and a CPU cooler with 'cross flow' (like the Arctic Freezer Pro)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tralfamadore
(Windham, NH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Kick-Butt Little Computer

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
You can NOT buy a better computer at this price point. You can't even build your own better at this price point.
Pros:Easy acess to Mb, fair amount of space inside cas, quiet, stable, fast, solid
Cons:don't like the tray for the DvD Drive-door gets in way of close button when tray is open. Not terribly well thought-out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dcubed
(Chandler, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Less = More

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Less = More: The less is the reduced footprint of this new system compared to my older technology processor and CRT. The More is the tenfold increase in performance and capability I now have for graphics rendering and software development/testing.
Pros:Fast, phat, and fantastic compared to my previous generation of hardware and software. I do graphics and web development and have found the right kind of horsepower to make my applications, mainly Adobe CS3, run smoothly and efficiently. With a Q6600 processor, 4GB of memory, and a 500GB Datasafe hard drive, I have lots of confidence. Surprisingly Vista Ultimate has also performed very well. The 22inch Ultrasharp digital monitor I purchased for the system is bright and crisp.
Cons:A minor concern is the DVD drive door, on each drive, which folds down on top of its load/eject button.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ozarkglen
(Missouri Ozarks)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best computer I've ever owned

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
My old Dell has been a great workhorse but I should have updated long ago.
Pros:This computer was everything I hoped for. Speed, memory, all the USB ports you could ever want and reliability. The fact that I could still get XP was a great plus for my application.
Cons:Haven't found a single one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Meso
(San Jose, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good deal for price

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you want to modify and expand with this base machine, it would be challenging. BUT the cost value is great, so if you want a stable machine with low cost, this one is yours.
Pros:Very quiet. Small. Have 8 USB ports. 4 DIMMS.
Cons:Only 2 HD can be installed. only 4 SATA ports. Can't change anything at BIOS.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8