Customer reviews for Vostro 3555

Vostro 3555

Vostro 3555
4.471 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
16 out of 1794%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 3555
Review 1 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:force4surfer
(Canada and Mexico)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Solid Workhorse

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I bought this model because it is a basic business model, without the bloatware of home models. As well, this model comes with 4xUSB ports (3xUSB3), built-in bluetooth, a VGA connector in the rear, a comfortable keyboard with a decent size Enter key, and a quiet fan rating - options that I personally looked for. I opted for Win7 Pro and Office 2010. This is my 4th DELL, and I have yet to be dissappointed.
I am really pleased at how quiet this laptop is. My laptop has the AMD A6 quad core with 4GB RAM. Considering speed, it is not a rocket, but meets my expectations. My 3555 nicely has a rating of 5.8 on the Windows Experience Scale. I love the built-in bluetooth as it, frees up one USB port and, works perfectly with my cell phone.
Most of the time - unless I'm travelling - I have this laptop plugged into an external 21" monitor with an external keyboard/mouse combo. This combination works well. The 3555 plays movies as it should - well.
Cons
This laptop comes with TREND MICRO security software. Personally I'm not happy with it. A number of times it has failed to start on startup, and I'm not fond of TREND'S Web-Based client. And its local interface takes way too long to drill into a folder to scan a new file - poor design. It needs a right-click and scan feature. I have NIS on 3 other computers, and after working with TREND for about 4 months, would have preferred NIS as an option. I am considering changing to NIS.
Review
If you want a solid laptop of good value, that does its job out of the box, then this is a good model for you.
Pros:home office, internet music and movies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hylux
Title:

could be better

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
metal shell, I like it very much.
but this computer performs slowly, the reason I guess has two: too any software and 5400rmp samsung harddrive.
I don't understand why Dell use Samsung harddrive, whose quality is not durable comparing than others. I recommended all purchasing this model to replace your hard drive as soon as possible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MountainMan9966
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good for the price

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pro: Good Price
Nice looking, seems sturdy, quiet
Cons Pretty slow for this day and age, an option for more RAM would have been nice, 4GB running Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit is not much. Forced to take 64 bit Windows 7.
I have had very little to no problems with Dell and I buy for our business. I bought this one for an employee to replace very old Dell. Aside from the speed issue I don't have any problems with this one.
Pros:basic business
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IT16389
Title:

i trust dell

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i have 7 laptops from dell and i recommend dell laptops to everyone but one thing i do not like about dell laptops that they have alot of unwanted stuff installed on them that i have to uninstall but this particular laptop is great and so is there service if u are not sure adout this laptop i recommend u contact dell before buying any thing
Pros:software programing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ECLLC
(Connecticut)
Title:

Vostro 3550 is GREAT!

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the Vostro 3550 to upgrade my wife's HP laptop and what an improvement! She loves the speed of startup, the feel of the keyboard, the display and Windows 7 (she had Vista on her old laptop). The was a problem with the webcam and the Dell service people were great when we contacted them. They had a service man come to our house the next day to replace the webcam and check everything out. He was very efficient and pleasant to work with. We are very satisfied with this laptop.
Pros:author - for wrting manuscripts, email, skype
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kokowawa
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 3555

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
great system that has amazing features and nice body style
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cbigfoot
(Nashville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great system for the money

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this system to replace my older XPS M1530 and wanted an AMD based system and LOVE it. I got the A8-3520m and upgraded memory to 8GB 1600MHz Corsair vengeance memory and a Crucial c300 256GB (benchmarks below) System games great for what i need.
Pros:
- System is very fast and responsive
- Awesome battery life i bought the optional 9 cell battery and get about 6.5-7 hours out of it
- Great build quality not quite a latitude but much better than previous gen vostros
Cons:
-I would Like to have a 1080 Screen
-Would like a discrete card like in the 3550 that the APU can work with.
Benchmarks:
GeekBench(32Bit) - 3840
3D Mark Vantage - 3197
PC Mark Vantage - 7140
3D Mark 2011 - 833
PC Mark 2011 - 2737
WIn 7 EXP
CPU - 6.8
MEM - 7.3
Graphics - 5.9
Game - 6.6
HDD - 7.7
Pros:Gaming, Travel
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JKnows
Title:

Almost everything what we need

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Vostro 3555; A6-3400M, 8GB RAM
Vostro 3555 features USB 3.0 ports, SD card reader, backlit-keyboard and nice design. It also has strong hardware inside; four CPU core and 6520G Radeon graphics. You can play new games on medium graphics setting.
Nice option to be able overclock and undervolt the CPU with 3rd party software. Upgrading with SSD and undervolting the CPU you can get an absolutely noiseless laptop which won’t warm up your lap during gaming or watching HD video!
The problem; Dell does not offer high resolution screen and A8-3550MX APU.
Pros:business, video, Gaming, desktop replacement
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mingyuansung
Title:

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good for the price. Case design is very attractive. It is good enough for home use, word processing and web browsing. May be slow for games.
Pros:word processing, web browsing
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RahulG
Title:

Great laptop, average battery life

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the version with 3500M. My primary uses for the machine are gaming and graphics applications, and on both of these it delivers splendidly for its price. I really like the matte screen which cuts out on reflections and appreciate the connectivity options (USB 3.0, expresscard, HDMI, eSATA etc).
Overall i love the laptop but wish the battery life was slightly better. I get under 4 hours (more like 3hr 30 minutes) while browsing the web over wifi. However, this was not a dealbreaker and recommend the product.
Pros:Gaming, software development, graphics applications
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rudgemeister
(Somerset UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Promising but evidence of poor inspection

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Looks good and works as expected straight out of the box.
Only issue is two build quality points.
1. the main bottom panel will not sit flush in one corner over the DVD drive as the lug won't engage with the plastic frame. No way of fixing it. The frame pressing looks a bit raggedy in the area so its probably just a misfit. Not good, as it was obviously passed by QC, when it shouldn't have been,
2. the cover for the DVD was disconnected at one end, not sitting flush. I was able to reseat it with careful pressure. A second inspection failure.
Neither of these is acceptable and indicate a deeper process failure.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kayak
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Vostro 3555 as a replacement for my aging Vostro 1500, and boy was I disappointed.
The pros - its a good looking laptop. Nice bright screen, fast bootup, lightweight (compared to my Vostro 1500).
The cons - the touchpad is terrible! Its very large (which is good) but even at the most sensitive of settings it was laggy, unresponsive, and inaccurate. The simple act of trying to get the thing on the red X to close a window took several tries as it would get oh-so-close but never actually on the X. Apparently this is a known issue for newer Vostros. For me, it would be mandatory to use an external mouse to even use the laptop, and that is a dealbreaker since im always on the go. Also, as I use this laptop for work on the go, I constantly am on Skype. No matter what setting (or driver) I used, the internal mic sounded like I was whispering from a different room instead of talking loudly 2 feet from the mic. The internal mic is absolutely useless.
While the speed of the laptop is great and the screen is nice, the components are cheaply made and barely work. In all honestly, the components of my 4 year old Vostro 1500 are far superior to the ones in the new Vostro 3555. I used to be a strong supporter of Vostros, but this one really shows how Dell's quality has gone downhill.
Pros:business, personal
+18points
25of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

For the price, hard to beat

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I prefer the Latitude over Vostro for the most part, but this is top of the line for a budget biz model. Fast, easy on battery, relatively light for a 15" display, and all the extras e.g. USB 3.0, eSATAp, fingerprint slot, handy HD15 VGA and HDMI ports; dual-band wi-fi would've been nice but it's not as if I paid MSRP.
The caveats are minor: the island-style/chiclet keyboard leaves something to be desired (as I said the Latitude is my typical choice) and the screen brightness-reflectivity is not ideal. Silence freaks will be disappointed with the faintly whirring fan on the side but I never notice it during normal AV use.
Pros:tech support, tv
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mariusz
(uk)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

THE BEST VOSTRO MODEL FROM DELL EVER

PostedDecember 5, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
this laptop is the best from vostro models
nice looking laptop and very good performers for realy low price
new amd cpu is very very good also gpu is excellent
very good rating from windows is well
recommended for every one
regards
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mrcmtl
(Montreal, Quebec)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent choice for the price

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Vostro 3555 configuration: A8-3500M, 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD.
The Vostro 3555 is an excellent laptop. The specs are great for the price. The 2.4Ghz turbo also helps a lot in single threaded situations. Even in web browsing, I feel that turbo makes everything a lot more smooth. The star of the APU isn't the processor but the graphics chip. The Radeon 6620G is a blast for an integrated chip. I only play Starcraft II as a modern game and the APU can run it no problem at high settings at above 40fps even though it seems it is CPU limited. My old laptop would struggle at low/medium at around 30fps.
I like the aluminium feel of the outerbody shell. However the black plasticky feel of the inside could be better. The build quality is great except a few caveats. The area around the arrow keys on the keyboard feels jerky. I do believe it is the optical drive that causes this problem. Even the reaction sound when pressing the arrow keys is different than any other letter key. When I press my finger on that area, I can see the black plastic being pressed down as if it was shallow underneath. Another point is the battery doesn't seem to lock fully tightly. It can wobble by a few millimeters up and down at the back of the laptop.
The backlit keyboard is a nice feature. The touchpad could be improved as it doesn't feel as smooth and precise as my old Synaptics touchpad. The default display is quite horrible but after tweaking gamma and other visual settings through the VISION control center, I feel it is very acceptable. Resolution is a bit low but that's not something that can be changed.
Battery life is excellent. I can get more than four hours of web surfing life and three and a half hours of video at around 30% brightness and more than six with the system in idle and lowest brightness. I do however disable turbo when on battery as the APU goes as high as 1.35V on the CPU for turbo. The system doesn't feel hot. The CPU ranges between 40-60C depending on workload. However, I think that the laptop's bottom doesn't have enough clearance and the bottom tends to get warm after an hour of use.
Overall, in my opinion, best AMD laptop for the price. Best business laptop for the price. I can't really compare them to standard laptop as their purposes differ.
Some benchmarks for the curious:
WEI CPU: 6.6
PCMark Vantage: ~4800
3DMark06: ~5700
3DMark11: ~750
CrystalMark HDD read: ~90Mb/s write: ~90Mb/s
+70points
73of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Speedbird
(Florida, USA)
Title:

Powered by Fusion APU

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Vostro 3555 with AMD A6-3400M APU, 3GB RAM and 320GB HDD.
Firstly I surprised the laptop is so easy comparing with my old Latitudes. It looks sturdy, but building quality not as high as the Latitude models. My cons is the the DVD drive tray does not fit well, looks like a poor quality fit.
The backlit keyboard is very useful in the nights, easy to use. The nice big touchpad also works great, I might do not need mouse any more. Disappointed with the low resolution monitor, 1366x768 pixels simply not enough for 15-inch screen. However I won’t charge Vostro with this mistake, because hard to find any other laptops with higher resolution.
The best thing on this laptop is the processor which called APU. It integrated with strong graphics and you get excellent CPU/GPU balanced performance. You can use this laptop for everything; work, multimedia and games too. Whatever you run on this APU, it do not gets hot and fan will stay quiet. I like it!
Regards these specs on this laptop are very good for the price. I just would wish to have these details in smaller laptops, like Vostro 3355, 3455, Latitude E6325.
Finally some bencmarks:
3Dmark 2001SE: 16493
3Dmark 2003: 14325
3Dmark 2011: 666
+97points
99of 101voted this as helpful.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Ratings-only reviews for Vostro 3555
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product