Customer reviews for Vostro 3500

Vostro 3500

Vostro 3500
4.022 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
4
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 89
67 out of 8579%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 3500
Review 1 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sale
Title:

cooling system is terrible

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
cooling system is terrible
it gets hot and turns off. Warranty fixed it once but it startet turning off again very soon. It was a waste of money to buy this
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cheree
Title:

Useful large laptop bag

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm with the earlier reviewers and find this bag to be top quality. More recent reviewers may have encountered a bad batch.
The bag is large, really does easily hold two laptops with power chords, mouse and keyboard and much more. I can even fit a smaller camera bag in it.
Terrific for use as carry on and it truly is checkpoint friendly.
Pros:travel with laptop, travel without laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StinkFoot
(NE Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Disappointed

PostedAugust 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having owned several Dell desktops and a notebook I did not shop other brands when I bought the Vostro 3500. Cons: After a year and a half of infrequent use, it shuts off unexpectedly with no warning. The sound is very weak. It is big and heavy. Pros: It is fast enough for me and I like the screen quality. It seems to be sturdily built. (In China) I regret buying this notebook as I certainly expected it to last more than a year. I will hold my next notebook in my hands before purchasing it. I will also shop other brands.
Pros:Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1998dellcust
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

jittery video from any internet location

PostedNovember 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
unfortunately, the video capabilities of the laptop are flawed in some form. it is jittery when streaming anything from the internet.
it works well with the DVD and videos on the hard drive however something about the way the graphics card [and software] interacts with the network components is flawed. i have tried it multiple ways at various different locations so confirmed it has nothing to do with poor speed.
i have also had my network tech friends and dell hardware support look at it and come up empty handed.
bummer. my other computers stream fine just not this one. i think it is a compatibility problem, the components when tested individually check out ok.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sandeep84
(Kalimpong, India)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Its Just Awesome

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my dell vostro 3500 recently and love this product... its awesome.. hats off to the creators of this product
Pros:business, animation and graphic design
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sarweswr Reddy.M

PostedJune 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Corso
(Melbourne Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Vostro 3550 for home office

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
After 2 Dell desktops (and happy with all of them) I finally changed to a laptop at home (I have been using a laptop at my principle place of work for in excess of 15 years). The Vostro has met all expectations in terms of ease of use, speed and capability, I'm even getting the hang of Windows 7! (Corporate policy at work is about to change and move to Windows 7). I run the full MS Office 2010 and personal accounting software. The most impressive feature so far is the graphics support for my Dell flat panel screen (couple of years old) - it's great.
Pros:personal finance, music downloads, streaming tv shows, general email web etc
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ravish
(Delhi)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Bought a wonderbook Vostro 3500

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought it 7 months ago & now i am a fan of it.
Flawless design & work as much as you can it never gets slow..Great value for price !!!!
Pros:for online conferences, data storage, emailing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:heroarma
Title:

Worthy to spend

PostedMay 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have bought a Dell Vostro 3500, until now, it sounds perfect for my use. Thank Michael Dell ^^
Pros:programing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robbo
Title:

happy chappie

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop has lived up to expectations. Good value for money.
Pros:Travel, desktop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TEConsulting
(seattle)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

the Light Durable Vostro 3500

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
the vostro 3500 is a great all round laptop it is not top of the line but it is also not the bottom for price it is the best in its class. There is only one thing that i dont like about it and that is that it does not come with the nvida 330m like the vostro 3700 the nvida 310m's are fine for surfing the web but are not the best for graphics intensive games like Crysis or Dirt 2
Pros:Gaming, office, Travel, watching movies
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yanish
(Mauritius)
Title:

vostro3500

PostedApril 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is a very good laptop..i have been using this laptop for the past months.works perfectly with no prob...praise dell works..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wwwmicrohoundcom
(Monroe, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop for Business and Personal use.

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an awesome laptop, the design is great. This machine with the 2.4Ghz Core I3 processor will crunch anything you throw at it.. The webcam is crisp and microphones work well. The addition of HDMI is so convenient. Has an SD card reader for pictures. I tell you what has really started to impress me with dell is the implementation of 7200RPM hard drives in their business laptops as standard equipment. This machine runs faster versus a standard 5400 RPM drive you will find in most consumer laptops. Buy this, you will enjoy it!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:V G NAIR
(bastacola)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedApril 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Travel
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John Dominic
(India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

perfect for what you spend

PostedApril 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
What I like the most is... Sometimes Looks matters, and most of all its performance is good... I think its perfect for what the money you spend, and not only the money, most of the time speed matters... you can work and I am sure it will help you comeplete your work faster when compared to other laptops I have tried... I guarantee that you wont be wasting your money for repairs... I like this laptop... battery life is long... whatelse you need!!!
Pros:most of my research work i do on my laptop, quick molecular graphics, in my chemistry research it helps me in analysis
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gusso007
Title:

Good lightweight machine

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice laptop, works well and it does what you would expect from a computer like this.
The downside is that the speaker system is poor and the battery protruding from the main body at the bottom (not so obvious in the overview pictures shown in the Dell website) makes it cumbersome to get in and out of the bag/backpack (more design thought needed here!).
Pros:work while commuting, Travel
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KlytusLord
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Wonderful Linux Laptop

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Vostro 3500 has excellent Linux compatibility; Almost everything works correctly with most Distros. The one small glitch, and it is very small, is that WiFi will not work out of the box, so you need to connect to a wired network and get the proprietary drivers, and after that you're good to go. Battery life is about the same as in Windows.
Pros:development
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnEuc
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

vostro 3500

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased 3 new 3500's within the last 3-4 months. 2 of the 3 hard drives crashed, the third is limping along. when i spoke to the warranty group in TN, they were extremely pleasant and helpful in getting new hard drives sent out, but when i dealt with them from another country, not so helpful. had a vostro 1500 for 4 years, no problems, this version has been nothing but a headache!
Pros:small business
+18points
28of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TGraves
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 3500 Great for UBUNTU! 10.10

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased the Dell vostro 3500 with the intent of dual booting ubuntu with windows 7, After installing a 4 gb stick of ram totalling 6 gb and Ubuntu 10.10 64 bit flawlessly!! 14 secs to completely boot up in ubuntu!! Simply amazing!! I highly recommend this system for anyone who wants to escape the Microsoft BOX. I have actaully removed Win 7 completely from my hd.
Pros:work, media
+12points
22of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 3500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:anu

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5