Customer reviews for Vostro 220

Vostro 220

Vostro 220
4.25 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
4.3
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 41
43 out of 4791%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 220
Review 1 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:matthew
(south of brisbane)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

great product that took forever to get here

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
the only drama i have had so far is that it spent a month sitting in a warehouse before i got it. almost 6 weeks from order to delivery, insteadof the advertised 7-10 days.
no contact from dell to let me know they had problems. i had to call them, at least i know the staff are helpful if i ever need it.
otherwise simple to put together, worked well, vista is pleasant to use compared to xp.
Pros:remote data recorder, basic software development, data analysis
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BILLbodde
(KC, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 2 dells
I like the LIKE PC but do not try to downgrade to XP on your own. You will be charged for help. and when they got done it still did not work correctly and they wanted more money to tell you why.
You will get charged for info and help to setup your pc for xp and then still does not work correctly after they get it installed.
Still have one pc can not use yet. Not going to spend $149.00 more with them to fix it so I will proably look at it for awhile then put Win7 back on it.
+24points
31of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tempelton
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

OK system with some issues

PostedMay 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Took a while to get the system. Wait time was more than 3 weeks. Could not take advantage of the $99 printer because there were other discounts attached to the system.
After 2 weeks, the Multi-Card reader quit working. Still have not been able to make it work, even though I've reloaded many drivers for the device. Dell driver site under support says that it's a card reader with Bluetooth which is not correct. Trying to load that hung the system.
Lost the mouse control several times. Had to unplug and plug in the mouse to reactivate it. Strange behavior. It seems like there is a USB controller issue with the system. From 1-10 (10 being the highest), I'd give this system a 7.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Video Editing, Travel, Gaming, Music & Movies, School, Finances, Presentation
+38points
43of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:danica
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Saved me lots of money

PostedFebruary 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
My 8 years old Pentium 4 2.4GHz desktop just died in January 2009, so I ordered a "Scratch & Dent" Vostro 220 Mini Tower from Dell Outlet about $360 including S&H. It has a Core 2 Duo E8400, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 16X DVD +/- RW, Vista Home Basic, 250GB Hard Drive. If I buy the same configuration brand new, it would cost hundreds of dollars more. So I think I got a pretty good deal, considering the Core 2 Duo E8400 retail about $190 and Vista Home Basic retail about $200, those 2 parts along cost more than I paid the whole computer. The computer itself is good design comparing to previous Dell models, but I really hate the front plastic panel, it looks cheap and easliy scratched, also, the Windows Vista and Core 2 Duo labels were sticked onto the front panel without paying any attention, they were not even straight, not cool if you ask me.
Pros:Cheap but gets the job done
Cons:Almost all parts made in China
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:collideascopic
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Vostro 220 2.66 Ghz core2 duo + ati 3450

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
it's a great purchase as an additional office computer. the ati 3450 video card upgrade from dell is not worth it.
Pros:very cheap system. light weight( could be a negative too feels cheap ). The monitor that it came with had a vga AND dvi cable. Very pleased about that. The 3450 vid card had hdmi, dvi and vga. The drivers for the 3450 include digital Audio Out on the hdmi port.
Cons:came with vista which i don't like. I think with the ati 3450 upgrade it scored under 4 in the vista experience. 2.66 core 2 duo with 2 gig ram was underwhelming in starting xp. It's slower to a clean xp desktop than a dimension 4700 3ghz p4 with 1 gig ram. ati 3450 card is slower than my old agp ati x850 video card so i'd purchase it separately for under 40 with shipping or get another card altogether. Only 2 Memory slots and both are used up in dual channel setup so you'll have to remove the existing memory if you plan to upgrade.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EVBuilder
(Arlington, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ok for the money spent.

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't tie it to Google, let me choose
Pros:It was sold and promised as advertised
Cons:It came with too much of un-usable software, that I had to delete.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RalphS
(Wisconsin Dells, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Consider the 420 instead

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Vostro series is hawked as being perfect for small businesses with little or no in-house IT support. That's me. I can find my way around a PC, but have a business to run and don't want to invest too much time fixing my tools.
I should have been more careful when 'customizing' on line. I opted for 2 DVI monitors, so why didn't the web site tell me I NEEDED to upgrade the video card if I wanted to actually use both? The site is ‘smart’ enough to suggest you add a second monitor, and they have flags suggesting other possible conflicts or upgrades. So why not a warning that ensures the system will work out of the box - and they can even talk you up a few more dollars while they’re at it?
Anyway, the 220 has only 1 VGA port on the back. So I called Dell and ordered a video card with 2 DVI ports. They said they had one on sale which also had one HDMI. $100 and one week later, I take the Radeon HD2400 out of the box: 1 DVI, 1 VGA, and 1 HDMI. (I can’t find this on the dell.com, but the HD3450 seems identical.) Back to the phone… First call to again try buying a 2 DVI port card lasted 45 minutes, and was disconnected; they didn’t call me back, so I started over on the second call, 35 minutes, and I was given a Dell part number to consider. According to dell.com this new suggestion also does not have 2 DVI ports. So, I decided to use the HD2400 card (monitor 1 on DVI, monitor 2 as ‘primary’ on VGA). Now I lost the monitor rotate feature, and monitor 2 never turns off. I will search for fixes to these issues. But, again, I wanted to buy a configured PC that I could just start to use without playing IT guy.
I don’t know how much happier I would have been with a 420 series. But the base 420 already has the dual monitor HD3450 video card. If you want a 220 with dual monitors, there is currently a $70 upgrade for that card. And if you want XP, the 220 has the extra $100 downgrade fee. With those two items, that makes the 220 & 420 about the same price. And the 420 has more expandability – for example, it is compatible with the 2 DVI GeForce 8800GT card if you really want to spend the money. (And the 420 has a slightly larger power supply.)
Conclusion: Choose wisely Grasshopper. If you want dual monitors, seriously consider the 420. And don’t expect much help from Dell after the initial sale.
Pros:Cheap Available with XP Overall it seems well designed/built
Cons:As others mentioned, front panel is a dust magnate. (So is the flat black 1320c printer.) The "Pro" of cheap is evident in a lack of features.
+74points
78of 82voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bboyyak1
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Improvement needed

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I realize this is a "lower end" Dell Desktop with some decent upgrades and I probably got what I was paying for since it was a great price. However, I've have been buying Dells for 7 years for both business and personal use and this is by far the most disappointing product they have produced. I did and still am considering returning and either upgrading or making the move to a MAC.
Pros:Slightly faster than my Dimension 4600c and 5150. Price.
Cons:Way slower than expected for a duo-core and 2mb memory. I'm sure some of this is caused by Windows Vista, however, I was not shelling out $99 for XP. I THINK Dell should have either included the additional OS on ALL systems or offered a choice. My "old" Dimension 4600c with 1mb memory and a pentium IV is almost as fast...with the Vostro slightly faster because it can handle running a few more apps at the same time. Less USB ports than all other Dell's I've purchased in the past. Shipped with a 20" digital monitor, however no HDMI port. New "shiny" plastic front is staticky causing it to attract dust. Static electricity is obviously not good for a desktop and it's parts (caution if upgrading memory, video/audio,or wireless cards.) New front with push button cover for DVD player cover is cheap which I think will just add wear and tear on the drive's tray.
+71points
77of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:knickname
Title:

vostro 220 ati card

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Support was allowed to remote in to the box and wasted about an hour of my time.
Cons:I upgraded this box to get the hdmi port on the ati card. The installed driver would not support a new acer 24" monitor at any resolution with digital output (letter boxed output). Chat with dell tech was not helpful. Downloaded updated driver from dell site and fixed problem but lost catalyst. Dell support was again worthless.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CGS1
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Vostro 220 is a good system. With almost all printers connecting via USB now, I would prefer to see six USB ports in the back rather than four.
I ordered this via FastTrack, which worked fine except that the extra software I ordered wasn't included. Dell shipped that out the same day I discovered the error.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimHouston
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Vostro 220

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this computer and Windows 7. Even though it's a desktop I got a wireless card and really like that it connects to our home network without wires. The set-up of new devices and connections with Windows 7 is effortless. Love the crisp flat panel display. I added a sleek, thin wireless keyboard and mouse (HP Elite) after the purchase and they work flawlessly with the Dell computer. They are a big improvement (looks-wise) over the standard wired keyboard and mouse.
Pros:home use
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mjruffell
Title:

Great value for a good computer

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Vostro 220 with 22 inch Monitor arrived today. I had it up and running in about an hour mostly because I am fussy about the wiring and position of components on my desk. It booted up with no problems, it runs very quiet, and it scores well on the Vista performance mark in terms of CPU and memory speed (avg 5.7). The graphics score is low (avg 3.4) so I am going to get a graphics card soon. Overall it appears to be about twice as fast as my old Pentium-D I bought from Dell just two years ago. The look and feel of the Vostro is minimalistic; however the performance of the system is excellent. Performance is what matters in my world. I also look forward to running Windows 7 on my new Vostro soon which should also provide a boost. In my opinion the Vostro line of computers are a great value for a good computer as opposed to many high end systems which are often a good value for a great computer.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Finances, multimedia
+36points
43of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AbrahamLincoln
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great value, but a pain to upgrade

PostedJune 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I pretty much agree with whatever else has been said here, but I'll add a few things. I have one w/ a core2duo. The motherboard apparently can't support a power supply over 300W. Dell won't say this anywhere on their website, you have to talk to the right person at tech support.
So after learning that the hard way, I just put in the best video card that it could handle which was the HIS 4670 512mb. So far I've played everything in the Orange Box set and it pretty much all runs on max settings except for a few small tweaks.
Anyway, if you want to do anything with this other than what Dell is marketing it for, talk to someone in support first to get the facts straight. However, don't listen to their upgrade recommendations--they were pointing me to really old, pricey graphics cards.
Pros:more than enough power for the vast majority
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stevencinn
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good Deal

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is a far superior system than my previous one.
Pros:I bought a complete system,including a 22inch flat screen. .Dell.com could not help
Cons:The only complaint I have is that the CD drive WILLNOT play DVD's on the power DVD setting or the media player.Dell.com could not help after being online with me for 2hours.
-2points
9of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrownCounty
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Power Supply Issue

PostedFebruary 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would rate this system a solid 5 stars if Dell had not cheapoed the power supply. I can not beleive that manufacturers actually make a power supply nowadays that does not have at least 1 6 pin video connector.
Pros:You get want you want at a great price. Core 2 Duo/2gig dual channel RAM/250g HDD. I also received the 2209w monitor with the system.
Cons:Power Supply. This computer has everything you need to run XP or Vista very well but a decent video card. I thought I would purchase a GT9600 nVidia based card and all would be could. Not so. The power supply that came with my 220 did NOT have the additional 6 pin power cable needed for higher end video cards. Other Dells I have purchased in the past did have the additional cable tucked away in the case for future use. So if you,like me, intend to add a video card for Vista make sure it does not need the 6 pin cable or you will have to purchase an additional power supply.
+25points
33of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Whootowl
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

47-Watt Server

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased for use as a low-power Windows Home Server. Install accomplished after a BIOS tweak; all drivers available. Works well under WHS. 47-watt idle power consumption with two 1-TB WD Green drives (only slightly higher than hoped).
Pros:Uses a low-power (35-watt) Celeron processor. Easy enclosure for performing upgrades.
Cons:Fan is a bit noisy. BIOS tweakability is limited.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UncleBill
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ordering a Dell Online

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:ZERO
Cons:Good Luck when you want to get info on the system. I tried 4 TIMES to try and place an order. It was a disaster!!! There also was a $99 color laser available to order...We did. Received an email that the printer was on backorder. 2 days later, received an email that the printer had been cancelled! This was after I responded to an email telling them I would wait for the Backordered printer. There is some sort of government notice that cancels a mailorder purchase when it is placed on backorder for I don't remember how long. I called Dell to get this resolved and the person I eventually spoke with (4 more tries) got me the printer, but had to re-enter it as an order. Dealing with Dell on the web was a nightmare.
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chasbot
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJanuary 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
QC needs to check finished product more closely.
Pros:Easy to hook up, runs smoothly
Cons:When I received the CPU, the face plate was not connected properly. I had to physically adjust and manipulate the faceplate that was approx. 1/4" off center and snap into place. Right out of the box pkg. However, runs fine.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ColumbiaBusinessSolutions
(Columbia MO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great for Small Businesses

PostedJanuary 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Would buy these over and over again. Good quality, extended warranty, sleek design, Don't understand why people buy the optiplex over these.
Pros:Cheap can't build a computer anywhere near this price with a 3 year warranty Windows XP Pro Better design for the cd-drive Fast
Cons:Upgrades are over priced has Ps/2 ports on the back, comes with USB keyboard and mouse, can't figure out why they did this, would rather have 2 more USB ports
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 220
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KGPAZ
(Tucson, Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer at a Great Price

PostedApril 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got a great price on this desktop. Was an upgrade from my Sony I'd been using for 4 years.
The fact that I could still get Windows XP on a 32 bit system in 2010 was fantastic. Not looking to complicate my computing life right now with a 64 bit or other operating system but when I do, Wondows 7 is pre installed.
Had a minor issue with the DVD drive, Dell had the part sent to service person in Tucson and it was fixed at my home in 2 days.
The Vostro 220 is a good quality workhorse that you can expand as you need. Kudos to Dell for the Product and great Service.
I want to marry Dell (is Dell a girl or guy?)
Pros:internet, web design, office
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3