Customer reviews for Vostro 1520

Vostro 1520

Vostro 1520
3.774 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Star
4
3.8
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 62
38 out of 5569%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1520
Review 1 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Deepak
(Malerkotla)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeff
(Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unreliable model in a great line

PostedJune 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm using Dell notebooks for the last 10 years. Latitudes, XPS, etc.
I still have the original 1500 (the first Vostro) and I'm very pleased with it.
When I needed another item for my partner the choice was simple yet it turned out to be a disappointment.
There were three small issues with this laptop (comparing to the original model) and one huge.
1. Inadequate cooling. No matter how hard the fans struggling the laptop stays hot.
2. When not being subjected to a such load, fans are getting on and off all the time. Could be be pretty irritating.
3. The screen panel. Definitely a downgrade from the original model. I probably would not get one with such screen nowdays.
And the main issue is that it broke after 15 month.
The original 1500 is still working well after 3.5 years.
+27points
33of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:scudette
Title:

Great cheap Linux laptop

PostedMay 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this laptop to replace an old Inspiron 6400. I was particularly attracted to the simple, businesslike appearance - no excessive glitz. The palm rests are not shiny (a great positive) and the screen is nice and shiny.
The left palm rest does get hot, as notes elsewhere. But I didnt find it unbearable. I ordered the optional Intel wireless card and its working great.
I installed ubuntu 10.04 on it and everything worked great out of the box - including the webcam.
Pros:software development, video
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nozuhur
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very good

PostedMay 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this computer few weeks ago and really liking it so far. Use it for business and personal use, although i have had some errors with is such as windows explorer but that was only once. At first I didn't like it but it was easy to customize it to my own liking, the keyboard has such a good feel and so does the touchpad. I'd highly recommend this to anyone! The sensitive media keys do put the laptop down though... as you have to keep pressing the volume button to adjust it instead of holding it.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mehul
(Hyderabad)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedMay 16, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Abhishek Thakur
(Indore, M.P. India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Simply Superb

PostedMay 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I run this machine with Fedora Linux installed on it . The performance is awesome. A perfect blend of computing needs and money. Performs amazing in day to day programming needs as well enthralls with the
multimedia output.
A must buy, value for money computer.
Pros:software development, multimedia, linux
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MorrisE
(Brighton, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Its OK.

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Upsides - plenty fast enough for software development, running W7. Decent size of (1440x900)screen - thats what I was selecting for, as 800 high is silly, I dont know why so many screens are that letterbox size.
Its relatively quiet, compared to previous Latitude.
Downsides - as others have said, the mouse pad is sticky, nowhere near as good as my previous Latitude D610.
Same with the keyboard itself, keys are flatter, which does make typing more difficult, and the layout of keys which I use all the time (Home/End/Insert/delete/pgUp/pgDn) is not intuitive, I have to hunt and peck for them. At least its better than my wifes netbook - that requires the Fn key to use those buttons.
Also, the touchsensitive media keys mean that wiping dust off flicks the sound on/off.
The screen is clear - but could do with being brighter - possibly the TrueLife version is better?
Havent had any issues with peripherals.
Pros:software development, home use.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DelphCreative
(Alloa, Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good basic work laptop

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We purchased two of these for basic office, work and internet applications. Have found them to be efficient and reliable so far and very happy - have had issues with some old legacy peripherals - the drivers have had conflicts with some of dells software but we have been able to overcome these.
My only gripe is the built in mouse pad buttons which are very poor and sticky on both machines. This results in the mouse being stuck on and having to repeatedly click to unstick it. Easily overcome by plugging a mouse in - but still very annoying.
Pros:data entry, internet research, office applications, marketing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BillyAndrews
Title:

Awful VGA support

PostedMarch 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Vostro 1520 has TERRIBLE support for an external monitor. It only provides ONE mode for widescreen monitors, 1920x1080, which is a disaster for most applications. I had to increase the system font size to a custom setting, and there are still innumerable unsolvable problems. I'm having to go back to a 4:3 monitor, and the Vostro even produces a blurry picture in the graphics modes for these monitors.
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Londoneric
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Really good money for value

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Won't be to play video games or to do some complexe video editing but definitely a really good basic product. The great advantage is of course that it still runs with Windows XP, which makes it even faster to use as it is way less heavy than W7 or Vista.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vsantoro
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Highly Recommend

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought the Vostro 1520 in Dec.and have been very pleased all around. Use as main computer to run a small business using MS Office, Act!, Quickbooks, internet. Upgraded the processor and using System 7. So far it has run like a charm and has been rock solid. I connect a wireless keyboard for in-office use but the one on the laptop has a great feel and response. Very sleek look and feel. Also use external speakers so some of the complaints about the built in speakers not relevant to me. Had some minor start up problems that went away once Windows updates were installed. Battery life seems to last as promised...I've run about 5.5 hours on battery and still plenty of life left. I was a little concerned about the Deep Cherry Red color but it looks great...very subtle.
Pros:small business
+72points
83of 94voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mukul Saraogi
(gwlior delhi)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Utter Porfessionalism by after sales team

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop in first week of dec.
I start as the things kept on going.
1) Delivery
the time specified was jumped due to accident on route but upon delivery the package impressed me. It was packed in such a manner that if drop from 15 feet nuthing will happen to machine inside, with atleast 5 inch of foam around.
2) the machine look mean with ample of space to keep my palm while typing, i use external mouse so cant say anything about the touch pad but the matte finish inside n over screen (non reflective) n glossy external covers give it a mix look of both trendy along with comfort of professional laptop.
3) heat & after sales & battery back up
the battery back up as of now working on MAYA & photoshop simultaneously gives me 2 hr n 40 minutes every time before poping at 7% alarm.
after reading other reviews i took risk for heating n to my bad luck the laptop was heating at worst in winters where the temp is hitting all time low of 2 degrees, i launched a complain n to my surprise they gave me the best possible service other co. can provide n replaced all the parts n Bingo no more heating issues, so whomsoever complains abt heating should get in touch with dell technical team.
Not Happy
I m not happy with the glossy cover as it got millions of scratches n finger prints within 1 week so i advise to opt for matte cover
signing off
mukul
Pros:graphic designing, 3d lighting, rendering
+33points
39of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carmelman
Title:

All-In-One

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought Vostro 1520 last Thanksgiving and now I am very satisfied with it!
I had bad experience with Dell Inspiron 1101 back in 1004 and the laptop came with lack of some software code so I had all kinds of problems with it, I called Dell tech support many times. But it did not blow up all my Dell desire and this time, 5 year after, I wanted to give it a shot again.
This Vostro 1520 has all feathers I want as a small businessman, after careful researches among several brands, and Dell offers a very good deal online too. After a few months of use, I have no problems with it whatsoever.
Left palm resting area turns a bit warm as I read some reviews, it is all right. Also, I found wireless switch on the left is built a little loose, it works thought, not an issue.
I highly recommend it, if you use it for both work and leasure.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeFromCalgary
Title:

Vostro 1520 Workhorse

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I order my Vostro 1520 a couple of months ago -- 2.4 Ghz Core 2 duo, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD w/ freefall sensor, Dell 1510 b/g/n wireless, 1440 x 900 premium flatscreen. Dell delivered the computer promptly, just as ordered. The Dell internet ordering process is the best of any vendor I've tried.
I was a little concerned about previous reviews that mentioned overheating under the left palm rest. I have not had any overheating problems with my system.
The system has been "rock solid". I'm really pleased with the premium 1440 x 900 flatscreen; highly recommended.
I'm running Windows 7 Pro (64 bit) with Office 2010 (Beta) (64 bit) and a number of common (typically 32 bit) tools and utilities -- Skype, iTunes, uTorrent, AnyDVD, etc. Everythings works well.
My previous three laptops were IBM ThinkPad with 14.1" displays, so it took me a couple of weeks to get used to the slightly larger (wider) size to this system, but I can now say that I'm very pleased with it. It is a "rock solid" workhorse ... and I really love the 1440 x 900 flatscreen. If I were re-ordering a new Vostro today the only change I would consider would be adding the discrete video option.
Great system. Good value. Highly recommended!
Pros:work, vmware test platform, multi-media, web surfing
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBaker32
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very poor Video with External Monitor.

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have other Vostro 1500 laptops that have been what we expect from Dell but with the newest 1520, the external Video is very poor quality compared to any of the other Dell laptops we have purchased in the last 10 years.
If you are using this just for a "laptop" only, perhaps a home user without hooking it up to a monitor, then this is a pretty good machine.
Buyer beware; External Video quality is not good at all.
Support has let me send back two laptops now and even tried upgrading to their best video card, but graphics are still sub-par.
Pros:mostly like a desktop computer, little travel
+65points
67of 69voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TelecomConsultant
(uk)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent laptop

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this laptop 2 weeks back,I use this laptop for professional work. Its 2.2Ghz ,350GB, 3GB RAM config.I used it for more than 8 to 10hrs a day but it does not seem to get heated up. Keyboard is quite comfortable to type and a good desinged professional laptop (cherry red). I did not like the right USB connections being closer to my side.Performance is good, but I am using xp.
I am really satisfied with this laptop and a great value for money.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ko1013
(US)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Consulting Vostro 1520 Review

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Computer: Core 2, 2.2GHz, 3GB 800MHZ, 320GB/7200RPM SATA, XP Downgrade, Bluetooth, 8X DVD+/-RW, integrated camera/mic, 6-cell battery
Pros: Great package w/reasonable pricing. Looks good, easy to use, good WiFi, fast hard drive and overall response. LED back-lit display is awesome, good battery life, and built-in bluetooth for external mouse works great.
Cons: None as yet, but not sure if/when I will move to Windows 7.
Review: Great laptop for business or pleasure.
Pros:use as consultant - ms office, consultant - web research
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dissapointed
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dissapointed

PostedJanuary 19, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Specs are 160gb, 2gb ram, xp pro, Intel Core Duo T6670 2.2ghz.
I bought this laptop during the clearance sale before christmas to replace my 3yr old Acer Aspire 5100 laptop 32gb, 1gb ram, AMD Turion processor, whos only fault was the hard drive was beginning to fail. Its my first experience with Dell.
The price was cheap enough at $546, and i fully expected to be let down by the quality of the case, keyboard etc. True enough, the touchpad is difficult to use and seems to have a mind of its own and scolling is a waste of time from the touchpad. However i expected to get a boost in performance with 2gb ram and core 2 duo processor.
This aspect is the most dissapointing thing, i'm no expert so not sure if its to do with all the Dell software thats pre-installed...but its the slowest worst experience i've had using a computer since the turn of the century. Takes longer than expected to boot up an has frozen up on occasions when more than one programme is open.
You get what you pay for i guess...never again will i buy a pc online without physically trying it first.
+15points
23of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tone
(Adelaide, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good workhorse for a good price

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
- Casing is nice and solid
- Matte screen is easy to read
- Dell customer service is superb
- Excellent battery life with Windows 7
- Low price
Cons:
- Keyboard seems a little flimsy
- Mouse buttons feel loose
Bought this machine before Christmas when Dell had a clearance sale on the Vostro 1520 T6670/4GB/160HDD. After coupons, it came to an excellent price for a proper 15.4" dual core notebook machine with Win 7 Pro (by redemption as the machine came with Vista Home Premium out of the box).
The matte screen is nice. Whilst it might lack a little sharpness compared to a full gloss screen, it is much easier to keep clean. The image quality is good. The unit looks neat with a piano black lid and matte black casing without any unnecessary 'bling'. Very businesslike, but not really very stylish. I'm not complaining.
I had a minor issue when I received the unit, but this was solved very quickly by Dell Support.
About the only criticism I have is that the keyboard and mouse feel a little cheap. They don't have the nice firm feel that I'm used to from Dell. Having said this, this is the first Chinese made Dell I've had - all my previous Dell laptops were made in Malaysia and they had good keyboards and mouse buttons/touch pads on them. Will be interesting to see if I need to use the 3 year warranty at all.
Overall, if you can get one when it's on special for a good price, the Vostro 1520 is worth buying.
Pros:web surfing, desktop replacement, office software, watching movies
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 1520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:simpletruth
(Pennsylvani)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good laptop but not as good as the lat. D610/D620

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
specs: win7, 4GB ram, NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS 256MB, 320GB, 15.4 inch Premium WXGA
The main reason I bought this laptop was because I wanted a display that is 1440x900. I had no idea that most displays nowadays are 1280x800 and I simply don't like that screen resolution as I work editing a lot of documents, and they don't fit as good as they fit in a 1440x900 screen
I looked for laptops with 1440x900 resolutions, but only the vostro was the one that lets you add a separate graphics card and it was still under 800 dollars (before US taxes).
I have worked with a latitude d610 and d620 in the last 4 years, and I simply love the design of that laptop. The keyboards are well spaced and the corners of the laptop are rounded. The vostro 1520 unfortunately is not as well designed in those specific areas, but I do like the fact that the usb ports are on the side of the laptop and not in the back and one side as in the latitude's.
Something else that bothers me about the vostro is that there is plenty of real estate where the keyboard is, yet the up/down/left/right arrow keys on the lower right hand side of the keyboard are kind of 'shrunk'. Those keys are half the size of the other keys, and because I'm use to the latitude's keys which are 'normal' size, many times (specially when on excel), I over reach and miss the keys. Kind of annoying because there is plenty of space for those keys to be normal sized and spaced apart.
Again, I don't like the fact that the vostro's corners are sharp and not rounded, but the feel of the keyboard is good, and I don't really think is as cheap looking as many others have commented. I also don't like the 'latchless' lid, but I'm getting used to it now.
As far as speed, I do photo editing, PDF file editing, a lot of ms access and excel use, video editing and subtitling, and this laptop does a fine job in keeping up because at one given time, I have a video window open, there is music playing, I got my photo editor up, ms word, access, and excel are running, firefox and chrome are also open, pdf program is also fired up, and don't experience any slowness. I read other reviews where people complain about the hard drive being slow, but have yet to experience that. Also, have no problem with my wireless as others have reported.
Overall I'm happy with my laptop, but I just wished the corners were rounded as I find my arms sometimes hitting the corners as I type, and is not very comforting to be hit with sharp corners. However, given the fact that not many other laptops out there offer the 1440x900 screen resolution for less than 800 bucks, I think this vostro is a great buy. I found some lenovos, but they were in the 1500+ price range with similar specs as this vostro, so no competition there.
+65points
70of 75voted this as helpful.
1 2 3