Customer reviews for Vostro 1000

Vostro 1000

Vostro 1000
4.498 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 261 reviews
5 Stars
155
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
4.5
 / 
5
(261 reviews) 220
247 out of 25995%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Vostro 1000
Review 1 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JakeJones
Title:

Its ok

PostedAugust 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my dell vostro 1000 for a couple of years now and over the years I have upgraded it as much as possible so im currently running 2 gigs of RAM, and a 250 GB ssd (Solid State Drive), And windows 7 OS. I have a 2006 imac that has equal processor and ram and the mac runs WAAAAYYYY faster then the vostro ever did.
Pros: Perfect for itunes, or music streaming.
Cons: Battery doesnt last long, over heats alot (even on a granite counter top), Cpu is working at a constant 100% just watching youtube videos! Slow at start up and shut down.
Pros:video editing (dont even try hd vids), professional dj, music streaming
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Syzygy
Title:

Vostro 1000

PostedOctober 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had the Vostro 1000 since '07.
Pros:Solidly built and the hardware has been mostly maintenance free. I've just had to replace the back bulb for the LCD.
Cons: SLOW!!!!! Even with a memory upgrade. Driver problems that have never been resolved.
Seemingly endless problems with applications.
Display issues when connecting to an external monitor.
These are all software issues, though. And friends tell me 7 makes up for it-that doesn't help me though, or change the aggravating experience I've had with this laptop.
The battery only lasts 1.5 hours and it has become unusable way too soon.
One hardware problem is its tendency to over heat! It overheats on a cold granite counter-top!
Pros:business/entertainment
+41points
44of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Essex)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Best budget laptop.

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you have reasonable expectations you will be very happy with this product.
Pros:Best value anywhere, cheap price but decent build qualty.
Cons:Couldn't really fault this product as it does exactly what I want and came within my strict budget, it was not the all singing, all dancing model but the best I could get for such a cheap price.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Valjean
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Title:

Excellent Vostro

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Dell's Vostro notebook was delivered quickly and has performed beautifully. It was a pleasure to receive a machine that was clean and did not require hours to remove unwanted software. This basic machine outperforms the cluttered HP notebook I boutght last year for twice the price.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SouthWestGolf
(South Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Excellent Value

PostedOctober 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just to make it clear, I upgraded the processor to a Athlon X2 and RAM to 2G. Other than that it is a base model.
Pros:Price is the best feature on this laptop. I had been looking for an inexpensive laptop on sale and found I was able to get the Vostro at regular price below what most sale prices were at local retail stores. The Dell web site made it extremely easy to upgrade features and customize so I only had to pay for the additional features I needed. My computer with a processor upgrade and added RAM was under $500. Delivery of my computer was less than one week from the time I ordered it and it arrived in perfect condition. It is fast and I have had no issues with it, even running Vista.
Cons:I hesitate to list any cons with this computer as I am absolutely pleased with it. The only thing I would consider a con is the appearance. It is a flat black case that shows finger prints. Having said that, I would still buy another one and have already recomended it to my friends.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StefanToronto
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Title:

Wow!

PostedOctober 10, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's my first laptop. My 4.5 year old desktop is a Dell and that is the reason why I bought a Dell Laptop.
Pros:- Price (You really can't beat the price, paid $620 Canadian including taxes). - Design (It's a nice looking laptop). - Flexible screen (It can go all the way back).
Cons:- Heavy (A little bit heavy but I'm being real picky now). - Battery (I have a 6 cell and without the adapter I get just over 1.5 hours on high performance however, on power saver I get 3 hours).
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rikkipsm
(Minneapolis, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Vostro1000

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I did not think I would like Vista, but actually, It seems to be a ok program. I'm not going to say it is better than Windows, but once you get used to it, it runs very well with a big enough hard drive.
Pros:Really nice looking computer, great features, great extra's, everthing is really good.
Cons:At first, I kept having a thing pop up at shut down because of the Norton and Computers AntiSpyware, but it has since pretty much come to a holt.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dec56
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Sempron™
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Excellent budget lapop

PostedSeptember 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Absolute bargain for the price. Compares well with laptops that cost twice as much!
Pros:Excellent budget laptop. AMD processor is far superior to comparable Celeron D processors. This laptop does everything you would expect for the price. Perfect for office tasks internet etc, and also some basic multimedia work. DVD writer and built in multimedia card reader are a nice addition.
Cons:Built in speakers are next to useless as they pop and crackle at even low volume.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Carlow, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:60GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Brilliant

PostedAugust 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Get this laptop, Its fantastic. Should come with colour options, looks boring after a while.
Pros:Very cheap, good sized RAM, decent anti glare screen and works very well with XP. Unbelievably tough, takes all kinds of knocks and just sponges up any abuse. I got it nearly a year ago and it hasn't let me down.
Cons:A bt heavy, Vista is TERRIBLE on it, changed to XP pro and now its much faster and better, Keyboard is a bit mixed up with buttons though after the cahngeover, may get that seen to.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:weldertim
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

A great deal

PostedJuly 27, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The Voltstro 1000 computers are a great value. We puchased 2 of them and have been impressed with the durability, speed and price. We have not seen any other laptop that will compete with these for price per performance
Cons:Computer use expesscards for expansion, etc. These are a little hard to find. Would be great if the older PCMCIA card and express cards both could be used.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sebz
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Amazing, except for one flaw

PostedJuly 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the price, I don't think this computer can be beat. However, you'll probably want external speakers if you want to fully enjoy music or movies. Great laptop!
Pros:The Dell Vostro 1000 is fast, light, has a good screen, and the graphics card has handled most of what I have put on it. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion even works. I would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend. However, there is one small-ish problem, which I'll address in the cons.
Cons:The speakers... they're horrible. Mine even make odd popping and crackling noises when any sort of audio is playing. I think that the popping and crackling are due to some sort of defect. I'll probably send it in for repair or replacement, sometime.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HighwayDesigner
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Vostro Rocks!

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Reliable & Excellent performances!
Cons:None!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JMS3
(Charlotte, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Love it

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would like to purchase another one but do not want Vista.
Pros:Solid machine that does not have all of the clutter of other machines. Very fast with XP installed. Good screen, fast speed
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shelstev
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Title:

Excellent buy!

PostedJuly 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Excellent value. It's as good as my Latitude and better that my Inspiron. I just needed a cheap machine for web surfing and this really fits the bill. The key board is responsive - big screen. I got the extra stuff (ram etc) but don't know that I really needed it. Have already recommended it to a person in a big box looking for an XP computer.
Cons:Haven't found any yet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wigster
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Good Computer

PostedJuly 6, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just a great computer. The only thing is that it gets very hot on the bottom and concerns me even though it doesn't affect its performance.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PeterG
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Nice, affordable alternative

PostedJuly 4, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Even with the neccesarry upgrades in order to make this machine function to my level of needed performance it's still a great buy.
Pros:This laptop gives plenty of bang for the buck. Processing power is sufficient in Vista with the dual core processor, but was dismal with the non-upgraded AMD Sempron. Put $100 into hardware upgrades and an aftermarket battery and you have a GREAT machine!
Cons:The stock battery is very short living. Dell charges $299 for a full-capacity replacement.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TJ
(chawla.tanuj@gmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Worthwhile

PostedJuly 1, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
go for it....
Pros:I love the 64 bit AMD processor technology...amazing speeds, intel stands no where if you have a good configured lappy..
Cons:doesn't work longer..after 3hrs. of continous use,,it'll burn u away...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tarnold
(london)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Sempron™
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Excellent and will buy another

PostedJune 28, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Good specification Great value for the price Great support as shipped with Vostro and i wanted XP. Support was rapid. Reliable totally so far-unlike another make i had before which began with an H and last initial like Baked Beans.
Cons:None for price
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCgeek1
(Kentucky)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Great for Gaming as well as Everyday use

PostedJune 25, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The only problem I had was with the CPU Driver, I downloaded from Dell's Update site.
When I installed it, it told me I had a 793mhz Single Core.
Instead of the 1.9ghz Dual Core.
A simple uninstall of the Driver and a rollback to the XP installed driver fixed that though. Other then that A GREAT BUY and a FANTASTIC Laptop...
Pros:Worked "GREAT" Out of the Box, more then enough computer for even the above average user. I ordered XP because I wanted to Dual Boot with Linux, with it but am planning on trying Vista on it soon, Have no doubt it'll run it, I use Vista already on my desktop. As for Linux it also work Out of the Box I installed Sabayon Linux without a Hitch, a little config for my Wireless and I was up and running. I'd highly reccomend it to any one, It is far better then your Average Laptop on the Market today. BUY ONE You won't be sorry.
Cons:Absolutely None!!!!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vostro 1000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:turtlehurder
(Ojai, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Much better than I thought

PostedJune 25, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was very nicely surprised with how good my 1000 is working.
Pros:Does everthing you need to do.
Cons:driver issues with Vista
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11