Customer reviews for Studio XPS 9000

Studio XPS 9000

Studio XPS 9000
4.591 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 511 reviews
5 Stars
371
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
7
1 Star
11
4.6
 / 
5
(511 reviews) 492
477 out of 51193%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Studio XPS 9000
Review 1 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Th1rt33nth
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

After two years...

PostedMarch 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I'd like to point out that I have owned this for two years and while it was amazing at first, after one year it began to slow down. Even after updgrading the RAM from 8GB to 20GB, and clearing the excess software and files, it's still incredibly slow. I'm looking into upgrading the processor and the graphics card, and possibly adding an SSD but I'm not convinced it will help/be possible to find compatible parts. Hate to say it but became obsolete after one year (with what I do - intense 3d modeling/animation/rendering).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Glenstr
(Lac la Biche, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

OK desktop, but poor external ports

PostedMarch 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall I would have to say the CPU performs ok, but the external ports, especially USB on the Dell are very poor. Front ones work when they feel like it seems, but only for the most rudimentary things. Anything that requires more than minimal power will not work or just work some of the time. I have a 2.5" hard drive unit that will not read from ANY of the Dell USB ports, even the rear one, but my lenovo lap top and my lenovo desktop at work read it from any USB port, front or rear.
After I bought my XPS I was talking to our PC tech at my work place and he told me Dells are notorious for under powered USB ports. The SDHC card reader only worked for the first couple of months as well, and has been dead since.
Since I have many devices that require external USB now, this alone will prevent me from purchasing another Dell desktop.
Pros:fast cpu runs programs ok
Cons:underpowered usb ports, sd card reader inoperative
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JosephThePoet
(Barrie, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent computer

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have found the computer to be excellent right out of the box, and quiet. I am sure the large size helps it remain cool because things are not crammed into a small space with a fan constantly trying to push air around the small space. The open space makes it easier for the heat from components to dissipate away and increases the ability of the fan to move air around to help the cooling process.
I have only one complaint with the total computer package which is a Dell notice that always pops up whenever I open Windows Explorer, to inform me that Windows Live collects data it sends to Microsoft and tells me where I can go to read Microsoft’s information about that. I asked Dell to get rid of it so I didn’t have to always first click it shut before I could use Explorer and I thought they did when they reset Explorer but I found out later that because my security setting had been reduced it stopped but if I use the “delete all cookies and history upon exit” setting the stupid thing keeps showing up. Why the programmer didn’t include a check box for the customer to cancel it ever showing up again instead of designing it to be a constant anger causing irritant to the customer I don’t know. And it took too much of my time and cell airtime as I got bounced around before connecting with someone who was capable of at least trying to solve the problem for me to want to go through that again. I’m hoping that when Explorer 9 comes out and I upgrade it will disappear otherwise I may try to find out if it is placing a cookie so maybe I can trace the irritation to delete it. In the meantime I am using the lower security setting to avoid continually becoming angered by the stupid thing.
Pros:writing, gaming-not online, internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RVMcD
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A fast quiet machine

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Our old Dell was an 8600 and we thought it was pretty good. Not compared to the 9000 with the i7-920 processor, 12 GB of RAM, the highly rated radeon 5870 video card and an SP2309W monitor. We have had XPSes for a decade now and they keep getting better and better.
We use it mostly for pedestrian stuff like surfing, pictures and office. It works great for that. Our daughter is a gamer and we ran some games on this, comparing it to the 8600. What a difference in speed and clarity!
It is convenient too. There is a big "Dell" sign to easily tell that it is on. There are three USB ports, a headphone jack and a microphone jack on the top of the machine. They are recessed back so that a ZIP drive cannot accidentally be wrecked by bumping it, like happened on the 8600. You can barely hear the machine running.
This is a very good computer for a reasonable price.
Pros:general use, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:STCNH
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Battery backup

PostedAugust 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the xps9000 in april 2010. I have purchased 5 or 6 previous systems and have been happy and returning to dell to purchase again. The performance of this unit has been fine, but I installed it on the battery backup that I had in place on the old computer and I find that this unit will not run with the backup. In reading reviews on the internet I find that I will need to purchase a pure sine wave backup in order to keep this unit running. I don't really want to spend $500.00 on a backup so I am not happy that I didn't see anything about this when I purchased this unit. I just purchased a new computer yesterday to add to my office network. It wasn't a Dell. First time in a long time that I haven't bought from Dell, but I didn't even look to see what you had to offer.
Pros:server in an office network
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chellybean
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Powerhouse

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell XPS9000 is a great work horse. It's been able to more than handle any tasks I've given it. Playing video games while encoding a movie and listening to music while chatting with friends. Intel's I7 processor makes it quick to get things done. The case itself is a piece of art, although I was a little surprised when I took it out of the packaging how large the tower is. However, once I plugged it in and turned it on I was immediately impressed how quiet it runs. I would definitely recommend this system to anyone looking for a high quality multi-function computer.
Pros:web design, photo and video editing, video games, multimedia
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GrtWhtNorth
(Winnipeg)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Trouble Free and Power to Burn

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got the 9000 in March 2010 and have been using it daily since. Love the boot-up speed and just how fast my browsers and programs such as WORD pop-up. I went with the 12 gig of RAM which was overkill, 6 would have been more than enough for my non-technical usage.
This is my 2nd Dell Desktop in past ten years. I also have a Latitude D810 laptop that is now 5 yrs old and refuses to die.
I've had no problems with any of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:greerd
(Dartmouth NS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works great with Mint Linux

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Quite, powerful, well designed, lots of room.
Got this machine, made a recovery disk. Then shrunk the main partition, installed linux in a dual boot config. I use Mint Linux as my OS and Bible5 pro as my photo editing software and this machine is a joy to use.
This machine is replacing my old Dimension 3000 running Mythbuntu and also has Bibble5 pro. It would take ~55 sec/image to process with my old machine, with the 9000 it takes less than 5 seconds !!! What a difference. Applying layers/sharping/etc is almost instantaneous on this beast.
I can max out all 8 cores, 4 x 2 (threads/core) when doing a batch job in Bibble, The temperatures increase from its idle temperature of ~36-40 Celsius to ~ mid 60 degrees. Fan speeds increase about 20% but its still very quiet. This is with a 30 picture batch job, so at 3 or 4 sec per file, the cores aren't running full for very long, so the temp might get hotter with longer max run times. Also note that at idle the cores frequencies are 1600 MHz (in Linux) and only jump up when needed, which isn't very often.
Also installed PS3 Media Server (pms) that will transcode .mkv video files on the fly to serve the PS3. Hardly even noticeable on my conky core's display.
Very nice machine and I'm glad I got it, but I don't give out 5 stars to anything. I give this 4 stars, the 9100 has a larger PS (525 watts) which could come in handy in the future.
Pros:photo editing, video transcoding, video serving to ps3 (pms), the usual
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:studyhallqueen2
(Adirondacks)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

it's hot even if your not !

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:college
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jen84
(Home, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Right out of the box this machine was nothing but first rate. Very easy to set up and start surfing the net. Only problems have been with me making mistakes.
Pros:pictures, spread sheets, word processor, digital conversion
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PECC26
(Orlando, FL)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I Love This Computer!

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Before I purchased my XPS 9000, I probably looked at every computer Dell had to offer. For that matter, I probably didn't need a computer of this magnitude. However, the XPS had so much to offer, and the price was right with discounts, etc...that I couldn't resist. I love it! It is lightning fast, and the navigation process is great. The only hindrance that I have, is the size of the tower! It is enormous, and I can't close my cabinet. But, I don't care. It is a top notch quality computer, and I am thrilled with it! I am so glad to be back in Dells capable hands!
Pros:non-profit organization, creating flyers streaming video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Metallurgist
(Tucson. Arizona)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent buy/Excellent performance!
Pros:general purpose
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bill260
(Sedona)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No Backup

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The program disks for MS Office are no longer included. I am having a problem which I am working with support, but it is a slow process to fix the problem. Having the program disk would make it easier to solve.
Pros:volunteer work for non profits, email to family, personal finance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TechSmiths
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Superior Product

PostedAugust 11, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
During the depths of the national recession, it has gotten difficult to find top-performing computers from the big mainstream vendors. There's been far more action in netbooks and other weak machines. To its credit, Dell has made available a very competent and powerful computer for the people who need or want that power. And it's far cheaper than high-end builds from gamer boutique houses, even after a video upgrade.
I got my XPS9000 configured with an i7-920 CPU, 8GB RAM, and dual 640GB disk drives configured in RAID 1 (data safety). With the default GeForce 310M video card, the machine is completely silent - a pleasant relief after hearing fans huffing for the last 7 years on my old HP desktop. On the WIN7 readiness test, it scored 7.9 for all but video and hard drive.
I made a planned addition of a Radeon 5750 and video went to 7.9 as well. (I can hear a fan now; it is the Radeon's, but it is not loud or intrusive.)
My rating is 5 stars, but that does not cover the peripherals. I got the default keyboard and a Dell laser mouse. I like neither and will replace them.
I only have two other slightly negative comments. The XPS9000 is not available in other case styles or colors. (Dell is making a big deal of such things in their laptops; why not for desktops?) But that's a customization issue, not a problem with the build, which looks solid. And the media reader takes a couple minutes to react to inserting an SD card and offering a directory - I could wish that to happen faster.
I also got the 21.5" LCD monitor ST2210. It is big, and bright, and big, and sharp, and big!
Pros:Gaming, web browsing, photoshopping pictures, audio editing
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DStritchko
(Longmont, CO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Studio XPS 9000

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Computer is great. Plug & play. Everything was ready to go when I received it from Dell. This thing is a power house.
Pros:home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:artdavid
Title:

OK performance. Terrible monitor. Poor appearance

PostedAugust 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This XPS performs well but looks lousy with the strange external white parts. The monitor is terrible. It has a unusual display ratio (extra wide-screen). Characters in DragonAge look like stick figures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:edvroone
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 9000 delivers

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I have been very happy with the unit. My main use is for photo editing and it hasn't slowed me down at all.
On the gaming side it has handled Crysis and Fallout 3 along with some of the older games without problems. This machine has proven to be stable and fast which is a nice change. The unit is quiet with the cooling fan running only rarely. Usually for short durations. I would recommend this machine for photo editing and gaming.
Pros:photo editing, Gaming, online work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vista350
(Onatrio Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Studio XPS 9000

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my fourth Dell product. My new XPS 9000 is 2 months old. It is very fast,quiet and runs like a finely-polished machine. I spec'd it right to start and it delivers everything I asked for and actually much more. I easily migrated my old files from XP Professional to Windows 7 and the total tweak time for everything was less than three hours. I have had no issues that required Dell support so far. The case is both elegant and sexy. It is big and heavy and that is good! The graphics are amazing. I am very satified with this computer so far and would recommend it to anyone that needs a Extreme Duty Diesel Dell!
Pros:home office, entertainment & video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jmad777
Title:

Rocks

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is just power. Simply luv it! I'm running vmware workstation on it and have 4 vms running without a hitch.
Best purchase I've done in awhile.
Con
The size of it... man it's heavy to carry around.
Pros:virtualization, video streaming, internet, home server
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Studio XPS 9000
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MacJester
(Lake Arthur, LA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My Retirement Present

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
After retiring my former Dell computer after seven years, I purchased my new Dell Studio XPS 9000 as a retirement present to myself. I use Dell computers at work and love the computer and services. My one problem was finding out how to open the DVD drive. After a month of manually pushing it close, I found the button. Keep up the good work.
Pros:photo storage, editing video, email
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25