Customer reviews for Studio XPS 7100

Studio XPS 7100

Studio XPS 7100
4.546 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 302 reviews
5 Stars
215
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
7
1 Star
8
4.5
 / 
5
(302 reviews) 271
281 out of 30293%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Studio XPS 7100
Review 1 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wr1212
(queens, new york)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

still going strong

PostedApril 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just love this machine. i had it so far for 2 yrs, still running great. In fact, it seem to get better and better as i use it. I had a DELL demminsion 480 for about 9yrs, no probelm with it, but i felt it was time to get a new desktop, spoke to team leacy, jarrode suggested the XPS 7100, after he listen to what i wanted paitenly.I order it, easy-set,fast, bright colors, no noise at all!!!!, i love DELL, bether than HP, or any other name products, which i will not mention, NO CONS, I JUST LOVE THIS MACHINE!!
Pros:work, home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GloryinCo
(Denver)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

College computer for my daughter

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this computer for my daughter to use for college but I also wanted her and her boyfriend to be able to do some gaming on it as well. So far this computer has worked out perfectly for what we were looking for, my daughter enjoys the quick processor and her gaming experience has been great. This computer would not be enough for my son's gaming preferences, but for a less serious player it works well. She also uses it for online streaming and she has reported a positive experience with that as well.
Pros:Gaming, video streaming, School
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:thatguy1982
(Maryland U.S.)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Packs punch but lacks basic BIOS options

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This desktop is a must have for those who want a small footprint but big power. The micro ATX case is perfect for cramped conditions if you share space with someone else and its light enough that you dont need a gym membership to pack this thing up for LAN parties.
The AMD Phenom IIx4 945 processor is capable of being overclocked on its stock cooling from the standard 3ghz to 3.4ghz but the BIOS is locked by Dell and takes some creativity to get around.
The video card options are limited with this model because Dell has the Alienware desktops that they want to push as their top of the line premium PCs so certain video cards are left off of the customization list. This isnt to say that you cant just go to that fresh egg website and get a glorious 6850/6950 for this rig and make it a mini beast of a machine with bench mark scores rivaling the Alienware machines for $500 - $800 less. The case isnt gaudy and there arent the usual neon 'look at me lights' with this machine and thats the way I like it.
Its design is great for airflow too. there is a side vent right where the video card sits so the video card gets enough air and the front fascia has a spot for an extra 80mm fan for the extreme OCers out there to pull more air through the case.
Over all I am pleased with my purchase especially since I got it during the annual October sell off that Dell is known for. 20% off an already good price point was just money in my pocket.
Pros:Video Editing, photo editing, Gaming
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Angellison

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Gaming
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lynn111
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great desktop

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
What a great surprise! The desktop was so easy to set up and use it was like a dream. It is so fast that I'm sorry I didn't purchase it sooner! I would recommend this desktop to anyone.
Pros:shopping, schoolwork, work related documents, social networking, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:littlesoliders00
Title:

Good to go

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
In the past i had dell inspirion computers, i'm very happy with thier performance. but wanted something that wouldn't have to upgrade for a couple of years....
Pro...
-lots of ram
-better graphics cards
cons..
-fans are loud
Pros:internet, Gaming, streaming media
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rangers79
(Brooklyn, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:games, academic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Asaptowing
(South Bend, IN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Printer

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great Printer!!
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I like it

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Pretty fast. Booted right up. Not too much Dell installed software
Cons
none right now
Pros:streaming video, internet browsing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JBSterling
(Portland, Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I love this computer!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is truely a great computer. I purchased it so that I can use it for gaming, and composition, and it is performing beautifully. I can run multiple applications at the same time, without any issue. Truely is a great computer.
There isn't really any cons that I could point out. So far, this computer is fulfilling my every need.
Pros:Gaming, composition/music
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MrJMcCormick
Title:

XPS 7100 Financing

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchasing flow was easy and complete. This is the 4th computer I've ordered from Dell, and it's been great every time. Shipping info was sent right away. This system was built to order, and I even received the computer two weeks before the estimated delivery date.
Pros:work from home, Gaming, media storage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Qiang
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Wonderful desktop, marvelous experience!

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
For years, I have been using my Dell notebook, bought over a couple of years ago. It was workable, but quite slow when running some heavily graphical softwares. Sometimes, it even froze when my son used it to play some flash game in web pages.
All these problems are resolved with the Studio XPS 7100 I bought. Sleek and powerful, it loads any kind of software without problem. The AMD CPU may not be as powerful as Intel ones, but it is good enough for my home use. The 8G memory and 1G graphic card makes everything easier, both for my son and me.
Nice product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nava
(Napa calif)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very Very Happy

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is one of the best computers that I have ever use. I also have a Dell Laptop, but this one XPS 7100 is the best. Ihave always enjoy Del products with no complaints whats so ever.
Pros:home used, pictures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brynna
(Pekin, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

So Far, So Good

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've only had the PC for about a month, but so far, so good. It runs quietly and smoothly, with no lag or lockups. Haven't had one bluescreen.
Pros: does its job and does it well. Mini-mid tower that fits neatly in the small space I have. Videos stream nicely and 3D Graphics - the main reason I bought the computer - render effortlessly.
Cons: unlike it's Optiplex GX280 predecessor, this computer is extremely proprietary. I had to do everything but stand on my head to get my second hard drive in it. It appears as though if I want to actually fasten the hard drive down I'll have to take the bays apart, something I'm not willing to do right now. So, the hard drive just sits nestled alongside the one that came with the computer. Adding a third drive further down the line could be even more interesting.
Also, seriously, Microsoft Office Starter and MacAfee's? I removed both within minutes of having the new pc booted up and installed my own software, tyvm.
Overall, I'd recommend this purchase - just be prepared for issues when adding hard drives!
Pros:3d graphics rendering, office applications, internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mkli
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Decent Processor for Small Screen

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
With the amount of RAM, everyday computing will never be a problem. Multiple applications can be run at once without having to sacrifice processing power, which can result in lag, freeze, low response, etc.
Media, such as movies, can be run without a problem, either, with its integrated graphics card/CPU processing combination.
Games run variably. Low-graphic intense games run fine on a large monitor. Newer, graphic-focused games experience medium to high lag on high graphics settings on a 24 inch monitor, full-screened. The graphics card and processing power can only be rated average.
Pros:development, design, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Elcuarenton
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Studio xps 7100

PostedOctober 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good price but slow, I had intel before but this AMD II 6 core is realy slow. I don't like to much. I like the monitor come with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:andie2011
Title:

Excellent product

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very happy with my purchase. This computer is lightening fast. I love the blu ray player.
Would definetly recommend this product. Great value for the price!!
Pros:home computer, streaming netflix, streaming music, watching bluray
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gizzmogeek
(Baltimore, MD)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great PC

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The XPS systems surprised me with their quietness and how fast they respond. I've been very pleased with these new machines. The computer is quiet as a mouse, and the performance is really speedy. I've not had one issue. The new design of the case with the power button and a couple of USB ports on top was also surprisingly useful.
I will say, it took me two months to realize that the front panel opened on the computer and there were more ports in there and that the right side of the dvd housing was actually a button to open and close it. I would have appreciated some sort of graphic telling me these things as on a black fronted case it all blended in and I couldn't see it at all.
All around a great product for a reasonable price. I would definitely purchase one again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kate11
Title:

Great Computer

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was amazed at how inexpensive this computer was for the capabilities it has. Fast delivery, easy set up, and plenty of power, what more could I ask? I'm more than satisfied.
Pros:personal use, streaming video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Studio XPS 7100
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:James60
(ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

New Dell with AMD Phenom II and Windows 7

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is really great.
No delays, no hesitation. Even really big picture files load no problem.
The transition from my old pc was the easiest ever, with everything working on the new machine in a day.
all the ports on top and at the front is really handy too.
Pros:photoediting, cad drawings, office apps, videos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14