Customer reviews for Studio XPS 435

Studio XPS 435

Studio XPS 435
4.155 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 233 reviews
5 Stars
124
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
14
1 Star
12
4.2
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 227
186 out of 23380%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Studio XPS 435
Review 61 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:oneye
Title:

dell xps 435mt

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Cons:the 19-in-card reader was missing had to get COSTCO to get me one dell was not willing to help they were willing to sell me one. the power supply is small 350w i am buying a 600w the tower small
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:stpdls
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fast, Very Fast

PostedApril 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Fast Machine. I have 12G of DDR3 memory and 2x500G hard drives on RAID 0. Also, install a Intel Pro 1000PT desktop NIC and connected to Iomega ix2 Network Storage so that I can setup DRS, HA and VMotion for my ESX environment. I have three ESX 3.5 servers running under VMWare Workstation, eight virtual machines under those three ESX servers at the same time. Not a sign of slowing down. Once in a while, when I boot up my ESX server, the fan noise will come up, but it only last for ten seconds. Best buy.
Cons
None
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ejajph
(Bradley Beach, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

435mt

PostedApril 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great setup, Thank you Dell
Pros:Fast and Beautiful i7-940 12GB 24 ultra sharp display ATI Radeon HD 4850 512mb BT Media Hub keyboard & mouse
Cons:None
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BianchiBoy
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Absolutely thrilled

PostedApril 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
After reading some of the terribly negative reports about this machine, it very nearly put me off buying the PC, but I'm now so glad that I went ahead. It really is a fantastic machine and I certainly don't find mine too noisy at all. The only time that my fan ramps up is for the first few seconds after I switch it on and I actually think it's a nice characteristic.
I can completely recommend this machine to anyone considering purchasing one, you won't be disappointed.
Pros:Exceptionally fast Core i7 processor Excellent value for money Lovely looking piano black tower that doesn't take up too much room like the bigger 435T
Cons:Absolutely none at all.
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NIKUNJ CHUGH
Title:

Best Purchase Ever

PostedApril 3, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
WINDOWS 7 SHOLD BE INTRODUSED
Pros:good processor
Cons:GRAPHIC CARD SHOUL BE OF 1 GB+ AS IT IS HIGH END DESKTOP OF DELL... CUSTOMISED OPTION SHOLD BE INCREASED....
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CUPstudent
(Clarion, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

much ado about nothing

PostedApril 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had it for more than 3 months, connected to a LCD 720p TV and it runs better than I expected. The cost-benefit ratio is very much in favor of the benefit. The biggest complaint you will likely see/hear about is the fan noise. With my unit it's barely noticeable, but I suspect some people who complain just got a less than perfect fan. Some of the other criticisms seem to be from techies who are expecting more than the average user. I guess I'm an average user so when it comes to getting the Intel i7 processor with 6Gb of RAM and a 512 Mb video card, it's hard not to be happy.
Pros:uber-fast works great with Vista 64 bit
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Newhaven
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great system

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The system is very quiet, expecially compared to the system I am replacing. Moved old system programs, settings and documents using PCmover. It worked very well and saved alot of time. I am very pleased with new system. Also this computer is the main one used for the home network and monitors the cable modem and router.
Pros:Very powerful, and quick Full featured with i7-920 chip lots of expandability great value for the price
Cons:Keyboard is too flat. Minitower makes it hard to reach media panel when it is on the floor level
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zachster83
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bang for the Buck

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has cornered the market far ahead of both HP and Gateway, by offering THE most competitive deal with 2 year in home warranty and monitor. HP JUST started to compete in the last week or so with a comparable offer. I can't build a custom tower for a client for less than about 12-1400 on Newegg for the same parts BEFORE LABOR AND SOFTWARE WIHOUT MONITOR. For the first time in 7 years, I bought a Dell desktop instead of building my own. It saved me about 600 dollars. Going to put in a 750 WD 32MB cache data drive, backup to an eSATA 500GB external, and add modular Mushkin 550 watt <80 PSU and EVGA GTX260 core 216. Very excited to see how the system performs with CoD 4/5 at 1920X1200. Thanks Dell for making a top tier gaming system affordable at 1500 bucks!!!
Pros:3rd fastest cpu around 6 GB of DDR3 in tri channel comes with a 23.5 inch monitor for SO cheap 2 year in home warranty
Cons:not 3X2 on the ram not tooless big price jumps on hard drive size increases (but that's retail)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Examiner45
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Fantastic Machine!!

PostedMarch 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Like many other reviewers before me, I considered not buying this machine because of the reported fan noise. I set this up and used it for a few hours and didn't notice anything until I started playing a game. The fan started ramping up and sounding like a jet airplane every few seconds. Before starting to kick myself for not listening to my better judgment, I got on the Dell support download site and discovered that Dell had a BIOS fix ready to address the problem. Simple install and after--no more fan noise. Don't let the noise issue deter you.
Pros:This thing is smokin' fast! Paired up with 8GB memory and 64 bit Vista once it boots up its off to the races and this is with the 920 processor. Get the BIOS update, if its not already installed and this thing emits a quiet undisturbing hum. (But you have to make sure the 1.0.12 BIOS is installed.) Great value for the price.
Cons:I have the same problem with the CD/DVD doors being somewhat flimsy and having to be careful with them. Also, the on-board audio (to me) sounds substandard. Fixed that problem by adding an Auzentech X-FI Forte PCI Express sound card to the system. Took a month to get the system. Limited future expandibility.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lakenheathf111f
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent!

PostedMarch 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I don't hear the same problem with the fan noise that others are whining about. In fact, I have this computer running next to my other five-year old, home-built computer that it's replacing and I can't hear the Dell *AT ALL* next to the older computer's P/S fan. It's super quiet. And Vista 64-bit really *does* kick butt with the proper horsepower.
Pros:Fast, fast, fast! And quiet.
Cons:Production/shipping took way too long -- nearly six weeks. When I received my second email from Dell stating they were going to extend my ship date a third time, I called Dell to cancel; I was going to build my own. However, "Michael" in India told me that the system was only two hours from shipping, so I decided to keep the order. But that complaint is all really a function of Dell's manufacturing...not this particular machine.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JDinNorCal
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great bang for the buck!

PostedMarch 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I know Dell offering better PSUs might kill the market for their high-end machines, since this will own once I upgrade the PSU and video card. Still, I think Dell should start sticking at least 500-600W PSUs in these. Another thing people forget is that Dell under-rates these supplies, and a quick search of forums shows many midrange vid cards will still work with the stock PSU.
Pros:Classy, functional design. Screaming, killer Core i7 performance. Great desktop performance for 99%ile use, and the ability to upgrade to a larger standard PSU and faster video card later. Stock ATI 3650 video card looks amazing on this 24" monitor and 52" LCD (through HDMI).
Cons:Only two hard drives can fit in the chassis, but the fact that it has PCIe helps, since I can just use an external enclosure with a RAID card. Also, I could hook up a lower-end enclosure that uses the supplied eSATA port. Tool-less chassis would have been nice. It's still waaaay cleaner than anything you could buy at Fry's, but I'm so used to just pulling a big handle thing to open Dells.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Diarmaid
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The TV tuner is pretty cool, you get a remote with it that allows you to browse through windows media center and watch videos etc. Also you can record digital tv with it.
The majority of reviews on this product are bad due to fan noise issues which can be fixed with a simple BIOS update.
I got the core i7 940, 8GB ram, 1.2TB hard drive, tv tuner, internal wireless, etc.
Pros:This machine is extremely fast, build quality is good, and you get a lot for your money. Other reviewers complain of fan noise, when I first set mine up the fan did burst to life a couple of times, but dell released a BIOS update mid march that completely solves the issue. Since installing this update the fan has not once burst to life, it is very very quiet, and I run resource hungry apps and play high def video files and virus scan etc at the same time, - and the cpu barely goes over 10% use!!!!
Cons:Thee only thing I can think of is that the "internal" 1505 wireless isn't really internal, it is a pci card with a wired antenna. But on the plus side its very reliable.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sheel
(sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good for people who need speed.

PostedMarch 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Delivery took a while. Had to contact Dell few times. This is one area where I feel dell needs to improve.
Pros:Excellent speed. Haven't tried games as yet. I am using vista OS which would normally be running a lot slower on any othyer machine but i7 processor and 4 GIG RAM keeps it going fast.
Cons:Bit noisy compared with my previous Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:peewee102
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great System

PostedMarch 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a long suffering HP user, I went with Dell, figuring anything would be better. This system has exceeded all my expectations! Super quiet,with none of the issues others have had with fan noise. Maybe the fan issue is with the faster CPU's. Set up was a snap. With the Intel Q8200 chip, 8 gig of ram and the Nvivdia geforce card, it gobbles up any graphics thrown at it. So far, I'm extremely happy with my purchase.
Pros:Super fast. Super stable. Easy to set up.
Cons:Drive door on CD rom covers the eject button when open. McAfee with 15 months service should be standard.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Redcliffs
(Southern Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Studio XPS 435

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The reviews about the fan noise struck terror in my heart, as I knew couldn't tolorate obnoxious levels as described. But I must be one of the fortunate, as my computer sounds completely normal, with a hum I would expenct from this size. The only time I hear it "rev" up a bit is when the auto-scan is running, and is nothing very loud and only lasts about 3 seconds. I admit that I don't use this computer for gaming, music or other high graphic usages. I'm a 64 year old woman that just wants great quality and reliability at a reasonable price. I tend to be picky about performance and so far (used it 3 weeks now) it has been all I hoped for. Very fast, pleasant user visuals, makes it easy to do all I want to do. The Vista takes getting used to - a matter of figuring out how you want to have things set up and arranged. I do a lot of genealogy, and my only regret is that I didn't get this computer sooner!
Pros:I deperately needed a new computer, my 2003 Dell having become almost inoperative. I wanted something fast that would not be obsolete in 2 years, and could handle large genealogy files and photos. The salesman guaranteed this was the right model for me, even though I thought it more than I needed. It sat in the box 3 days before I had the nerve to set it up and load my files. But a kindergartner could have done it! It performed perfectly right out of the box.
Cons:As in other reviews, the DVD tray is exceptionally flimsy. One needs to CAREFULLY push it back in, and it should be okay.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:david jones
Title:

want better graphics

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:the product is exclellent the problem is opnly with the graphics card...... ati radeon 4870 would have been better.........
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:billy33
(nj)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:excellent pc very fast
Cons:none
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jfneon
(Kansas City, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

XPS 435 MT

PostedMarch 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you have any trouble with your Dell XPS , support they will not stop untill you are very happy with your PC.
Pros:Outstanding XPS support 24/7 Fast fast real help. I was having a lot of fan trouble and poor performance. I call help and support and told him what it was doing. He knew right away I need a BIOS undate. He took over the computer and did the upgrade. Everything is running great, very quite and FAST!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Serose
Duration of Product Use:Months
Title:

Very fastest Intel Core i7

PostedMarch 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded from old Dell XPS 420 to new Dell Studio XPS 435MT.
Pros:Dell Studio XPS very nice and small tower case fit my desk space. Intel Core i7 920 very fast than Intel Core2 Quad QX9770! I tested PassMark that CPU Mark soore Intel Core i7 920 is 6280 and Intel Core2 QX9770 is 4600.
Cons:Fans is very noise and system runs very hot. I tried turn on air conditioner then system run cool. Air conditioner helps my system run cool.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Studio XPS 435
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:petedigital
(Sydney, NSW)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great machine

PostedMarch 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
- the fan can be loud when it gets going but it's rarely sustained and doesn't bother me
- wouldn't mind some USB ports on the monitor as i have the actual box under my desk
Pros:- Quick as lightning - 24 inch monitor is sublime - delivery was on time (the day was even earlier than 7 business days) - everything just works
Cons:- price (Dell's US company sells the machine for 999 USD) - more RAM would be nice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12