Customer reviews for Studio Desktop

Studio Desktop

Studio Desktop
4.558 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 299 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
78
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
4.6
 / 
5
(299 reviews) 280
281 out of 29994%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Studio Desktop
Review 1 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aeten
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Had this for 3+ years

PostedDecember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this with windows vista 32-bit... big mistake. I don't even know why they would make a Dell machine with that trash inside it. The specs look quite nice for the price, but I've found that of the 6GB ram I now have, (after painstakingly upgrading to 64-bit Vista) very little goes into the processing power of the machine. It is a VERY loud machine, (newer models may have fixed some of this) and over time it gets much louder. The processor it comes with cannot be overclocked, and it and the hard drive both have slow running speeds which will cause you problems later on.
Sure, it looks like a good buy for the specs and small price tag, but it has some serious flaws that only get worse over time.
Pros:Gaming, browsing internet
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ACarbone624
(Vineland, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Studio 540 Desktop

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered my system with the following:
Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.7Ghz
6 GB of DDR2 Ram
750GB HD
ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB Video Card.
24” HD Flat Panel Display, ST2410
Windows 7 Home Premium, 64bit
This computer is fast! I can have many programs open with no problems switching back and forth. My wife also plays the SIMS 3 with no problems. The 24" monitor is awesome....very bright/clear picture. This is a very good computer.
I just wish I could have gotten it sooner. I placed my order on January 24 and received my order on March 3. Too long in my opinion....but I guess it was worth the wait....And a great price I couldn't match anywhere else!
Pros:internet browsing, e-mail, Gaming
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gunny922861
(Yucca Valley CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It works for me!

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
It fits what I expected. Does what i need it to do and more.
Pros:technical, math
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rstampa
(Tampa, Fl)
Title:

Nice Computer

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: The minute I plugged it in I was impress. The Studio 540 was unbelievably inexpensive. Having replaced my Compaq that I purchase in 2001 which cost me $1600. I was delighted that I made the right choice in my purchase. The Studio 540 is perfect for home use. Everything you need. Comes with nice software for editing photos and videos and lots more.
I like the new Windows 7 version. It's great for fixing errors and has other nice features
Cons: None so far.
Pros:home use
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:boingo69
(Tallahassee, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

As Good As I Had Hoped

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have tried many different companies over the years, and keep coming back to Dell. I wanted to upgrade to Windows 7, and thought that for once I would actually build a computer for me. I have never been happier with a decision more. My needs are more of a multi-media field, so I needed a computer that could handle multiple photos and videos at the same time, as well as music. My Dell makes it look like childs play. I already had a good monitor and speakers, as well as keyboard and mouse, so I was able to remove those from the package, and focus on the computer itself. All I can say is that I am never leaving Dell again.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DFrank
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great technical support.

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have been buying Dell computers for some 15 years - because we can order exacly what we want but above all because we are confident that we will get responsive service if there is a problem.
This time there was a problem with the motherboard. 3 days after contacting Dell, a technician came to our rural home and replaced the less than perfect part.
The computer - a Studio mini tower - is excellent and now works perfectly but it was the support that was truly outstanding. The real test of a company is how it deals with a problem and Dell passed with flying colors.
Pros:photo editing, most standard office functions., desktop publishing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:toledogost
(Toledo, Oh)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Meet expectations and needs!

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this computer for personal use such as email, music and office 2007. Works perfect! Noise is not an issue as some people had said. Couldn't be happier. I don't know how movies and videos work, that is not why I got it. I did a lot of research, a LOT! Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:miller653
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very nice computer

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the computer but the DVD player skips a lot.
Pros:home
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chase4ever
(Tucson, Arizona, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Satisfied

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Persistence is what I recommend if not getting the answer or assitance needed with your first attempt. I have no major complaints about the new Dell Studio Desktop computer I recently bought. There was a problem with the mouse, but after 3 requests, the customer service was outstanding in replacing it and made sure that I received it by their following up with phone calls from the time it was shipped until the next day when it was received. It indicated that Dell really values their customers and wants to provide them with great service. I really like my new computer, and it's my first Dell.
(Chase)
Pros:home computer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tampa2010
(Tampa, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good online purchase

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love Window 7, the great price I got on this computer with its high quality and the quick service I got from Dell. What more would you want from an online purchase?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sklt
(home)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

not what i wanted

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
had a 8300 and informed saleman i wanted 1 the same or faster and was sent this 1 instead told him i wanted a modem and did not get it within 2wks had to redownload everthing on computer all software and it took foever.after this i will never but another dell.the 8300 quad was fine.it had more speed and did not have any trouble
Pros:games, at home
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ST2310
Title:

Great computer

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second DELL desktop,perfect for video streaming and home office.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ltoom
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Studio D540

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Last system was a Dell with Windows XP. This system is a Windows 7. Still haven't used it enough to check everything out yet but I love the design and functions. I had the McAfee for 15 months - I just can't figure out how to get it it. If I click on the icon it goes no where so I'm not sure if I'm protected or not. I did purchase a few upgrades - fast and efficient.
Pros:home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KetchiKristin
Title:

Not too much not too little

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very pleased with this.
Pros:
Whizzes through internet pages, and thinks quickly offline. Sleek look, not TOO bulky or ugly. Great for picture sharing-- because it comes with the memory card slots- no more worrying about cords and programs.
Cons:
It's pretty standard size, there's nothing slim, or modern with it. Gives you the option to build, and only wish I had chosen the 6mb not the 4mb harddrive, although, it's still quick enough for me!
Pros:net surfing, pictures, computer gaming, minimal office stuff
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gman13
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Studio Desktop

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Has some great features; but I find it slow in starting up and opening connections
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:coachmark
(Longwood, Fl.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Happy Customer

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I did a lot of checking around for a new desktop, my old Gateway wouldn't play video for about a year, so had plenty of time to find what I wanted. My studio has a 500gb hard drive, along with my 500gb external hd, I have plenty of storage. With a wireless connection, TV card, 7.1 surround, dvd player & dvd-rw, I can once again create & watch my work. Love the elegant look, runs very quite, intell core2 & 4 gb memory, plenty quick. Also ordered Microsoft wireless Laser Desktop 6000 keyboard & Mouse, very nice, up to 30' still works. In my opinion, great value for the price, mine is a little more than basic, still got a great deal. Now I'm wireless at home or on the road, (with my Dell Inspiron1525). Thanks Dell
Pros:at home small business & personal
+26points
31of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JKnight
(Memphis, tn)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I am very pleased !

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered and received a Studio 540 2 Quad with new Monitor.
Pros
It was easy to order on line. Was not hard to set up. It is very fast, I really like it. The monitor is very clear and sharp. I which I had ordered the wireless mouse and key pad.
Cons
Some of my software will not run on Windows 7. It was not a show stopper but I will have to purchase new software. And Windows 7 does not have Outlook, it does have Window Live Mail, which I do not like as well, yet.
Overall a great computer for a reasonable price.
Pros:i use my for home and work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MiataDJ
(Wylie, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very nice computer!

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Keep in mind: I was going from a 7 year-old Pentium 4 Windows XP desktop (and the hard drive was about ready to die). This was a good purchase. It's MUCH faster...and allows me to do a lot of multitasking (important for me: it's a work computer). I just installed a 1GB Nvidia Video Card...and it HUMS. We've always had Dells...and we always will.
Pros:work, Gaming
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Klara
Title:

Lovely!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We purchased the Studio Desktop and so far it has proven to be great! It's quite fast, and I have loaded several applications including Microsoft Office Professional and the speed is great! We use the system for college, games and surfing the web. It's a great processor for the price.
Pros:streaming video, software
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Studio Desktop
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sue122246
(Louisville, KY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Highly recommended

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was a xmas gift and I love the computer....This is for personal use only but so fast and user friendly....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15