Customer reviews for Precision T5500

Precision T5500

Precision T5500
3.364 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
3.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
7 out of 1164%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision T5500
Review 1 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:moji
Title:

not reliable machine

PostedMarch 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of this and I regret it. If you try to upgrade memory you get memory failure in DIMM3.The motherboard is defective. a lot of dell precision T5500 have same problem.
I would not recommend this to anyone.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Lees Summit, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best for high end CPU power!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own about 20 of the T5500 stations for my company that mainly does 3D animation. I absolutely love the T5500 machines. The tool free design of the case makes part swaps a snap. The 3 year warranty is great and Dell has always taken care of any problems quickly. They have largely been very reliable machines that are the main bedrock of our company's productivity. Thank you Dell!
Pros:3d animation, design and illustration, render farm, general business use
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Fort Lee, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

does NOT deserve even 1 star

PostedDecember 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
was planning to use it as a server in small business environment. was ro replace Optiplex of 7 years old that NEVER failed.
issues right out of the box.
it was configured to fly, but only if it worked......
after a week of misery of numerous support calls and onsite technician coming in with replacement RAM, issues with motherboard etc and failed attempts by support to save this purchase, i was allowed for exchange of the out of box product which would take another 2-3 weeks of waiting for a new machine. I requested refund and hopefully will find myself using a different product happily everafter.
would NOT recommend it even to my enemies!!!
Stay away !!!
Pros:small bus environment
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jcgrun

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Check the tech spec of T5500 at http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/precision-t5500/pd
The total memory can goes upto to only 4GB? I do not think that is true. In my TT5500, it can hold 48GB on the board and an additional 24GB with an optional riser.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CraigMc
(San Mateo, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Known to have issues with lots of memory

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a few of these machines in our workplace with identical configurations - dual quad core Xeons, 24GB RAM, SSD, etc. What I have found is that I believe there to be a design flaw between the motherboard and DIMM slot 3 for the primary processor. I say this because, after a lot of debugging, I found that the system can be unstable and fail its own diagnostic tests for certain combinations of RAM in this slot. This is not a one off motherboard fault either as I have seen this exact problem replicated across motherboards that have been swapped out. The RAM itself is not defective as it passes memory tests in other slots. The motherboard is not defective if this slot is not used. But of the 6 sticks of memory I have in a machine, roughly half of them will give me grief if I use them in slot 3. I have had to just find the right combination of RAM in this slot to be able to make the machine pass its own memory tests and diagnostics, otherwise it will simply hang.
In saying this, the Dell support has been good, but the people I have spoken too either haven't been aware of this design or tolerance flaw, or are just denying it. Even though I could have resolved this myself by changing the memory around I was wanting to get to the bottom of it and see what Dell could do. The onsite technician who has come out a few times to look at one machine in particular was very helpful, and upon seeing the T5500 he made comment that he has more memory problems with this machine than any others.
Dell first replaced the motherboard, but the exact same symptoms still showed. In fact, the memory which was working in the original motherboard was now not working in the new one, and vice versa. This is what leads me to believe it is a design flaw of some electrical tolerance with this slot.
Dell also replaced the memory (no effect) and finally replaced the primary CPU and more memory. This resolved the problem and Dell have put it down to the CPU but I fail to believe how the CPU can be faulty - it works perfectly with 16GB RAM but not with 24GB!
In any case, I think the machines are otherwise well made and suit our purposes well. If you are putting in 24GB RAM or more then you need to be aware of this issue and be prepared to play swapsie's with the RAM in different slots to find a combination that works right for you.
Pros:software development
+66points
71of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Notsoveryhappy
(Atlanta GA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad Bad Machine

PostedAugust 6, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer replaced an aging 7 year old Alienware A51 that has given excellent service (and continues to do so). Although Dell now owns Alienware, and I dearly wanted to purchase another Alienware, Dell would not allow this though my company contract, even though my company was OK with it. Although superior on paper in almost every way to my Area 51, the performance of this Dell has been abysmal. This computer is extremely slow (dramatically slower than my sisters HP with identical system configuration but with a fraction of the processing power and memory of my T5500, and no faster than my antiquated 7 year old Alienware. I suspect the hard drive has a lot to do with this. There was no option to buy a better drive configuration with this machine at the time. Windows 7 64 bit simply does not function correctly with this Dell. I have to assume it is a computer related conflict given the sensational press that Windows 7 has obtained, although I suspect that the 64 bit version is a total Dud! I have multiple crashes of major programs daily (Word 2007, Outlook, Excel, PowerPoint, browser and others. Settings are continuously lost upon reboot and random issues like the mouse pointer disappearing plague my work day. Connecting to network resources is spotty, and my company tec support refuses to come out any more as they don’t know what to do to fix it.
+57points
78of 99voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dave506
(Birmingham, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Solid Professional PC

PostedMay 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Been in use for 4 months now. Not the cheapest, but got a good price overall.
Dual X5550s with 36Gb ram / 450gb 15k drives in raid 1 configuration.
Pros
Pretty quiet considering the amount of gear inside the hood....3x 3.5' drives, fully loaded with two processors inside such a small case is impressive to say the least.
Reliable, no issues here, it is on 24/7, and runs everything asked of it with no problems, slowdowns, etc.
Very fast machine.
Cons
Tight space constraints mean that thermals can get a bit hot....right now, CPU2 is running close to 87 degrees celcius ( 190 F ), but it has been number crunching at 100% utilization for the last few hours....no issues with stability, but seems high to me
Minimal room for expansion (you want a T7500 for that)
Bottom Line
There seems to be some bad press with Dell, and I will admit their home range build quality can seem a little lacking at times. Having said that, this is our 5th Dell Precision workstation, having used a Precision 370, 380, T3400, T3500...all still in use btw, the Precision line does seem much better build and I have no complaints about the range, now about the T5500 in use.
Yes, you can build your own PC for less I suppose, but overall, this one is very well put together, and extremely stable which is one of, is not the most important consideration.
Pros:video production
+54points
60of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Airites
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Could be better

PostedMarch 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered 2 of these for our engineering guys to use with some heavyweight CAD programs. I am dissatisfied with these desktops for numerous reasons.
-The quad core processor is poor in comparison to a Vostro we ordered for 1/3 the price. The E8400 processor outperformed the quad cores in our benchmarks.
-The hard drives made strange ticking noises when writing to the disc. We never receive these noises on other Precision desktop models.
-Received numerous Blue screens on programs that ran on other relatively new Precision models fine
-Not related to the PC, but the same order was messed up twice. Expect to have 64bit systems shipped to you even if you select 32bit.
The good things about it:
-Small and quiet
-Future proof (upgradeable)
-Easy to open and work on
-Energy efficient
Overall, I would not recommend this PC!
Pros:cad programs (nx ansys solidworks etc), software development
+52points
69of 86voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jadapursbob
(Cedar Rapids, IA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

T5500 -- A Professional System!

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I enjoy researching companies and doing short-term stock trading. My D620 notebook PC was doing fine for a while, but would screech to a halt... bogged down during high-volume periods of real-time streaming trades. The T5500 easily solved that performance problem & has worked very nicely since I received it May 2009. My system: Single X5550 2.66GHz Processor, Vista Premium 64-bit, 6GB RAM, RAID 1 160GB HDs, 1GB PCIe x16 NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 Video Controller, Dual DisplayPorts with two UltraSharp 2408WFP Monitors. 8- to 11-Gbit cable ISP.
Pros
High-quality mechanically & electrically.
Rock-solid performance so far.
Cons
None.
Pros:real-time streaming stock quotes, reserach web-surfing
-3points
12of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dean
(Hong Kong)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

T5500 Workstation

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just received my new t5500 workstation in a huge box. When opened, i noticed the side panel was not assembled properly. I could not get it to close as it doesnt seem to fit. I rang Dell, and after being put onto 5 different people and having to explain the problem each time and then having to email pictures of the problem, they have booked in a service call. They could not tell me when it would be fixed though.
I have loaded all my software and must say that i am very happy with the performance. I would have given 5 stars had the product arrived undamaged and had I received good support on the phone. Regardless the unit is doing what I expect. Upgraded the ram to 12Gb, graphics card to 1gb Quadro and purchased the E2210 monitor. Overall - recommeded.
+17points
23of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision T5500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:reif
(Brisbane Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

On serious piece of hardware

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a home user who wanted a fast machine with flexible upgrade options and a easy to work on chassis. The precision workstation ticks all boxes. When I first took the machine out of the box I knew it was qulity built. Upgrading has been easy, and I love the performance of Xeon! I will never go back to a standard pc or clone built machine!
Hot Tip: Pair it with a Dell 2408wfp monitor, this combination is not cheap, but the best things in life normally aren't!
Pros:power user, graphics design, Gaming
+62points
103of 144voted this as helpful.