Customer reviews for Precision M6500

Precision M6500

Precision M6500
3.86 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
3.9
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 56
32 out of 4768%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M6500
Review 1 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AndrewMS
(Kansas City)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Screen Goes Black

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Crashes 1-3 times a day. Screen just goes black.
Pros:engineering, autocadd
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:burak2010
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Problem with the power adapter

PostedOctober 26, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is an excellent laptop for the money.
However the weak link is the power adapter. It simply doesn't work. Serious reliability issue with the product because of the power adapter.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BillJ1
Title:

Worst "laptop" ever!

PostedOctober 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has to be the absolute worst computer purchase I have ever made and the most expensive. I have 8gb Ram, i7 processor, SSD and you would think it could handle almost any task. Forget about that..my Latitude E4300 is actually faster. Do not consider this laptop to be mobile..forget the weight issue...the battery will maybe last 75 minutes, the power cord will not remain plugged in--poor, poor design.
Bottom line: if you need mobility, buy a Latitude and save $. If you need a power machine, buy a desktop and save $. Not a good value, not a good performer. Only good thing I can say is it helps keep me in shape by lifting it.
I would give "0" stars if that rating were available.
Pros:mobile and office, lots of large db and worksheets
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveDevlin
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Constantly Crashes

PostedOctober 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop about 2 months ago to do video editing. Since first day it crashes randomly. Screen freezes and requires a hard reboot. There are a lot of people with same problem. Search the forum for "m6500 freezes" and you will see.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ddraper
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Stay Away Until Dell Gets Issues Resolved

PostedOctober 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great laptop if only it there was not a serious issue with it. My M6500 experiences a freeze or BSOD almost daily. Dell should have removed it from their site until a solution was found. They are aware of this problem and have been working on it but no fix yet. Please research the forums and networks carefully before purchasing this laptop. If Dell gets the issue resolved, it will be one of the best around. But for now it is almost unusable for me.
Pros:software development, business use
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DigitalJoe
Title:

Inconsistent Experience

PostedMay 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Work primarily as a video editor/compositor, so graphics intensive processes for business.
Short:
Desktop performance in a 17" laptop that will handle most any graphic intensive programs you can throw at it (HD Footage, 3d renderings, etc).
Unfortunately, Power brick size (almost the size of a netbook) and inconsistent experience in build quality leaves at least this user wondering if the laptop will last over its first year (read below).
Long Review:
As of this review, owned the Laptop(s) for little under a year. Initially performed fast with i7 processors handling HD footage perfectly. Unfortunately, first laptop had a fit and finish problem - technician sent to repair actually found the unit had come with a broken tab jiggling inside. Tried to repair and ended up breaking the whole system.
Second unit has not fared as well; a problem with the video card led to another round of repairs. After all was said and done, now my left bank of USB ports are misaligned and non-working.
-//-
My experience is disappointing; in a Mac-saturated content creation market, I was hoping to find a PC workstation replacement that would give me the same performance of other systems at a better cost/performance ratio. Unfortunately, having gone through (up to this point) two of these systems and now heard other horror stories, I've grown wary of the build quality and now crave reliability over tech stats.
Make no mistake, when it works, it's great, but if you have to crack the system open, nothing will ever work (or fit) the same.
I had only wished I had sought other opinions on build quality before purchasing this product.
As the Toyota motto goes: "As someone you know who owns a Dell!"
Pros:Video Editing, motion graphics, programming
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DBroadwell
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unbelivable What one gets for $5000+

PostedApril 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me say that the computer itself is pretty good. What rankles me is that:
1) They sell a traveling case (Timbuk2 Ultraslim) that is Too Small, it cannot be zipped close. The "Help Me Choose" pulls up a generic cases page - can't see what the actual cases are.
2) Their configurator is messed up, states that you can have 3 internal hard drives when you can only have 2 - had to return the 3rd hard drive that I bought. And there is No specifications document that states how may hard drives it can take.
3) There is NO USER MANUAL Anywhere! There are buttons on the keyboard that I have no idea what they do / how to use them; the computer has a "Precision ON Button" that doesn't seem to do anything (and the configurator pulls up a page that I'm not sure has anything to do with it).
I've been buying Dell for many many years and this is the worst experience I've had by far.
Pros:cad, software development, daw, graphics
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RocRobster
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Oops, should have chosen another model...

PostedNovember 28, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a Precision M90 for 4.5 years and the motherboard had to be replaced 5 times during its life. This was to be my replacement, but the design is just bad. Very uncomfortable to pickup with the lid open as the sharp corners cut into your hands. Difficult to get used to the keyboard being very offset to the left side and the dual mouse buttons on top have stuck keys since taking it out of the box. The OS had the wireless card disabled by default in the software even though device manager did not show it was disabled. For nearly $4k - this was a bad purchase.
Pros:network engineer, server management
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YoniPanama
Title:

Why dell? Why?

PostedNovember 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
For years I recommended Dell to friend and Customers. I still think that Dell is one of the best PC brands out there.
But this time I can’t recommend M6500, this computer has the potential to be the best PC laptop ever.
But someone in QA don’t do is job in Dell. This computer randomly freeze up to 8 times every day, when I say freeze, you can’t do anything for 2-3 minutes (if you wait it will come back) other option is do to hard shutdown.
There are forums in internet with other people having the same problem, and none of us seeing Dell working on the problem. Look in google for M6500 freezes.
That is one of the most expensive and high end laptop in the market, and with the DELL brand, this is unacceptable.
Pros:software development, fun & games, work
+59points
61of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:M6500owner
(Manchester)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Laptop Freezes and many people reported the same

PostedOctober 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great laptop - When it's not freezing.
Could be one of the best for 2010 but unfortunately it's not. Read the comments on 7 pages (and still counting) about the experience many like us have with this laptop and the lack of support/solution so far.
We hope Dell would do something about this after this review. That's what you expect after paying £4000!
Read here:
http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19336090.aspx?PageIndex=1
Pros:software, development
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:voodootf
(Louisiana)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Computer

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this as my work computer. Not sure how the graphics work such as games but for business purpose, it has everything I need.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Goodnewz
Title:

Back to the drawing board Dell

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. To start on a positive note: This computer is fast and the video card handles whatever I can throw at it.
2. The screen is magnificent! The nicest color definition and the brightest I’ve ever seen. This is the first time I’ve ever had a screen that was ‘too bright’, therefore I keep the brightness down to about 70 percent most of the time, but have the headroom when needed. Nice feature Dell.
3. The audio card and the Window 7 adjustment features are a step up from the Win XP pro audio card features.
4. The power supply size is to be expected, but I wish it was smaller. I use one of my three M90 power adapters around the house to charge and power it and they work well with the M6500.
5. 3 USB ports from the 4 on the M90 is an inconvenience since I sometimes used all 4 when backing up on an external drive while using other devices.
6. So why the low rating – THE SPEAKERS ON THIS LAPTOP OUR PATHETIC! Dell – this is inexcusable. My M90 was a dream to sit back and listen to nice music or watch the news with volume to spare, but these speakers have little volume and no bass sub-woofer, which make it irritating and staining to enjoy any recreational audio. Do not our beloved Dell designers realize that even high-end gamers, auto-cad, and graphic designers use their computers for other recreational uses also?
7. The backlit keyboard design is, in my case, somewhat useless. While sitting on my recliner sofa doing most of my work, the angle of sight while sitting comfortably viewing the laptop allows the backlit bulbs to shine out through the key board spaces which make it distracting and irritating, so I just turn off the backlighting.
8. I’m keeping the laptop because of the speed and screen brightness, but the speakers will be a continued irritant to me.
9. This is my fifth Dell Precision laptop. Started 6 years ago with the M70, then the M65, M90, M6300 and now the M6500.
10. I’ve had the laptop for 3 weeks and have spent at least 10 hours every day [at least 200 hours], installing, uninstalling, tweaking, adjusting, reading. When I received it, I did an OS install from scratch using the provided Window 7 64 bit OS. I’ve used the laptop for three public presentations to see what it can do. During each presentation I play music from it, while recording my voice audio presentations on it while running PowerPoint 2010 presentations with heavily embedded video and graphic components and it handles it all very nicely.
That’s my review. Cheers
Pros:professional seminars, profession graphic design, everything else most laptop users do.
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BryanAdams
(Las Vegas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Beauty is only skin deep

PostedOctober 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the surface based on spec's this workstation is pretty much exactly what anyone who needs a mobile workstations would want. 16+GB ram, high end i7, high end video, 3 Hard drives, Raid, The list just keeps going on.
The problems however once using are quite substantial, this laptop I think might have been rushed and is just not made to be mainstream.
Let me say that when it works, it works great. But random blue screens and complete lockups/sleep issues and glitchy audio when the system is under any amount of load make for a bad experience. Glass half full is that because of shipped SSD that time to recover from crash is pretty fast.
I would venture to say try one out and see if yours has any of the listed issues. It seems some do and some don't.
Pros:software development, video/audio streaming, games
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michhes
(Perth, Western Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Windows Server 2008 & Hyper-V NOT SUPPORTED

PostedMay 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell Precision M6500 was going my top pick for a modern desktop replacement/development/virtualisation/demo machine for its price, features, and expansion capabilities.
All up this is a great machine with one significant problem--mine was bought for SharePoint development but Windows Server 2008 and therefore Hyper-v are not supported by either Dell or Microsoft. Of course there are alternative virtualisation platoforms available but that's not my point.
This wouldn't normally be a problem unless the machine in question suffers problems like freezes or BSODs, which it did in my case when running Windows Server 2008 R2 and attempting to move large files over the network card.
The hotfix described in KB975530 corrected this problem for me but I know it did not for others (I also had to reset my power management settings to the Windows default).
Now that I'm up and running this machine is proving to be everything it was meant to be but buyers beware!
Pros:sharepoint development, virtualization
+28points
40of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:maezawi
Title:

No screws!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is difficult to take this machine apart for fan cleaning and hardware upgrade purposes as it doesn't have a single screw! You will have to see a Dell certified technician (which is even more difficult for those who live in small towns, like I do). Even the guys at "Computer Mechanix" didn't know how take it apart.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Spaceghost212
(Boston MA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Fantastic Machine (with a 9 ton power supply...)

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use my Precision laptop roughly 9hrs a day, M-F and love it. Its an incredibly fast machine when runnings with Win7, has a solid display, loads of other little features and overall provides a stable and fast work environment for my web design/development work. I HIGHLY recommend getting this if you're looking to run a suite of cpu/ram hungry apps (adobe stuff).
The battery also lasts a decent 1.5-2hrs when running several applications. This to me is a solid performance.
The BIG MINUS is its ridiculous power supply. You can build a fort out of this 10 pound brick and I am not joking. Its HEFTY, bulky and heavy. I had to purchase a separate Targus power supply so that I can go to a cafe and get some work done without carrying the power brick with me. I really wish Dell did a better job with the power supply...
Pros:at cafes, web design / development
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kytom
Title:

Great specs, good quality, nice design

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
All in all this is a super nice mobile workstation. When you think of mobile workstation you probably expect a brick but this laptop is not very thick for specs and power provided. Double HDD is very nice. Get the top of the line LCD as it is very nice. Inter i7 quad code provide plenty of power for running 2-3 virtual machines as the same time. If you want even more speed get the SSD vs 7200rpm HDD.
The only thing I don't quite like about this machine is the offset keyboard. I'm used with laptops that have centered keyboards so it took a little bit of adjustment. I'm not using the numeric pad a lot so I could live w/o it.
Pros:software development, streaming, photo/video editing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AZM6500
Title:

M6500 Delight!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recieved my m6500 on my birthday march 19th. So excited, best birthday present eveR! BuT once i turned on the machine it was plagued with BSOD. Found out almost all the drivers from dell were conflicting with each other.. The video card m7820 dell drivers are BAD! download the latest from amd/ati. Once i did that and a few other things, D*MN! This is a monster! I would give this a 5 star, but to many issues for something out of the box.
spec
i7- 740Q
4 gigs of ram (another 8 in the mail)
64 ssd OS drive
250gig sata as data drive
1920x1200 screen
Seriously what a monster! and I love it! =)
Pros:Travel, games, work, streaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Asif Syeed Shah
(Kishtwar, Jammu & Kashmir)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

max features are best but slightly costlier

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:it servicing, website development, Gaming
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CraigInFlorida
Title:

After reading other reviews, I was nervous, but...

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've now had my M6500 for a week. I placed the order before I read all of the reviews regarding the blue screen of death problems. Neadless to say, I was WORRIED to say the least.
THEN, within the first hour, BSOD!!!
YESTERDAY, BSOD 5 times in the course of 2 hours.
TODAY, and from here on out, NO MORE BSOD's!!
The problem was caused by the use of an external USB hard drive to move data between the older computer and the new computer (E1705 and the 5 years of "stuff" I've accumulated) is now a virtual machine on the new notebook.
So what was the problem? USB 3.0 backwards compatibility! My NexStar-SX 2.5" USB sata enclosure has 2 usb connectors (has something to do with power I guess), so naturally, I plug them both in to the 3.0 ports because there is only 1 2.0 port on the right side.
Using external hard drives through the 3.0 ports causes BSOD
My enclosure can run with only one usb connection. As soon as I moved it to the 2.0 port, I've been perfect ever since and I've already moved about 400 of the 500 GB to the machine through this port. I validated this conclusion from other sources on the net.
I read complaints about the speakers. They are better than the E1705, so I'm happy. Backlit keyboard is AWESOME!
PROS
Power, speed, screen brightness, color and clarity
CONS
1) Never EVER put the monitor connection on the RIGHT HAND SIDE of a notebook. Leave it on the back, or put it on the left. 9 out of 10 people are right handed. Since this computer is targeted at power users, it is highly probable that we will likely use an external mouse AND multiple monitors. (Christ, my desktop at home has 5 28" monitors) This forces my mouse hand to be in an unnatural position during operation. Certainly not a deal breaker for me, but most definitely annoying.
2) Not enough USB ports. My E1705 has 6 for crying out loud. I do NOT want to use a hub when I'm away from the house. At a very minimum, a 2nd 2.0 port would have been nice given the 3.0 compatibility issues.
3) For crying out loud, can't we have better documentation IN THE BOX?? The first thing I did was put my own 16 GB of memory in the machine (way cheaper this way) and my own 750 GB SATA drive. I had to hunt for the internal specifications on the dell website, and even then they are flawed. It took me a LONG time to figure out how to install the other 2 ram chips underneath the keyboard. (2 are from below, 2 are from above (and the above two stack on top of each other, whereas the bottom two are side-by-side))
SUMMARY
If I could give this notebook a 4.5, I would, so I gave it a 4.0 as it is not perfect. With the exception of 32 GB of memory, mine is maxed out and I am very happy.
$5,000+ for a notebook is a bit spendy, but I make my living writing software and have a HEAVY need to virtualize and I need to be able to do this from a hotel room.
If you are a power user, you should be right at home with this computer.
Craig
Pros:software development, virtualization
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3