Customer reviews for Precision M6500

Precision M6500

Precision M6500
3.86 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
3.9
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 56
32 out of 4768%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M6500
Review 1 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul07481
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great BUT... There is a big gotcha

PostedApril 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop it is fast, rock solid and a pleasure to work with. However there is a serious problem with using it if you travel. The power supply is humungous which is what comes with the territory with a powerful machine like this BUT it means that it trips out the overload protection on the in-seat power supplies on planes and trains (I've tried both). This means that you are limited to battery power. This is a significant drawback if you, as I do, make long overseas trips.
Pros:software development, digital editing, office apps
+116points
123of 130voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YoniPanama
Title:

Why dell? Why?

PostedNovember 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
For years I recommended Dell to friend and Customers. I still think that Dell is one of the best PC brands out there.
But this time I can’t recommend M6500, this computer has the potential to be the best PC laptop ever.
But someone in QA don’t do is job in Dell. This computer randomly freeze up to 8 times every day, when I say freeze, you can’t do anything for 2-3 minutes (if you wait it will come back) other option is do to hard shutdown.
There are forums in internet with other people having the same problem, and none of us seeing Dell working on the problem. Look in google for M6500 freezes.
That is one of the most expensive and high end laptop in the market, and with the DELL brand, this is unacceptable.
Pros:software development, fun & games, work
+59points
61of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JamessR
(England)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

M6500

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
i7-920XM 16GB 256SSD NVIDA USB3.0 x64 XP
Using as a development and demo platform using VMWare to host:
32Bit XP SP3
32Bit Server 2003 R2
Not sure if ATI provided the right drivers for W2003 and ATI weren't helpful but NVIDA works well.
USB 3.0 can be fiddly (its on the left side not the right side as Tech support would have you believe!) and not quite as unbelievably fast as the CES would have us believe but it is refreshingly and believably swift.
Having problems with finding a compatible eSATA HDD, my older Lacie models freeze up both the M6500 and E6400 Latitude(Win7) and am still looking for a happy marriage there.
Thrashed the M6500 with multiple simultaneous OS's running code and professional databases and it put up a very respectable show (compared to my production databases) The processor didn't die off as I increased the load and coped quite well with random or sustained floods of disk and network activity.
The SSD is whisper quiet - excellent for home or office, the screen is crisp and feels like a small cinema (ok a very small cinema), the build is solid and I didn't get killowatts of heat pumping into my face, even when I thrashed the machine for 30-60 minute spells.
Nice machine, pity battery technology hasn't moved on quite as far as disks/memory/etc as even the slimline charger is a house brick and the platform is not what one would call lightweight, - but that is a reasonable trade off for what would otherwise be a hefty tower under my desk or 2-3 laptops plus LAN hub etc etc zzzzz.
-James
+33points
34of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wallstreet
(CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I’m pleasantly surprised – so far only one crash. Quite a different story from my M6400 experience nearly 3 years earlier. That system was plagued with driver/hardware conflicts which caused screen freezing – (at that time, fixed by upgrading the hard drive driver – possibly mixed with my removing indexing). Reading posts on the M6500, seems that old problems don’t die.
Here’s what I have:
Intel Core i7-840QM Quad Core 1.86GHz
ATI FirePro M7820, 1.0GB DDR5
2x 256gig SSD
Windows 7 64bit
8GB using 2 slots
Bios version 6
Cons:
One crash occurred when I restarted from sleep. Don’t know why it happened.
One time strange flickering that occurred only on one non-focused application window. Closing the offending window just passed on the flickering to the next non-focused window. The cause may have been due to an advertisement video that popped up upon browsing on my 32bit Internet Explorer. This has not happened since.
My USB 3.0 external hard drive is not working on the 2 USB 3.0 slots (left side). It does, however, work with the one 2.0 slot (right side). My 2.0 memory stick works in the 3.0 slots.
Biggest complaint is that most of my interactions with both Dell Small Business sales and technicians show they do not know much about the M6500. For example, Sales did not know if the screen was glossy or matte, Technical support could not explain what the Precision On (infinity button) was for – it is a smart device that allows access to your e-mails via separate internal card, avoiding the need to access your OS and thus save your battery. The button is to the left of the power button. Perhaps this was just bad luck on who picked up my calls.
Screen is a little washed out compared with M6400 Covet model.
Generally, these are minor complaints. I think Dell needs a bit more quality control with their instructions manuals and better training with their Sales and Technicians. Manuals and Tech support reference Dell Control Point software for access to broadband. But seems that Novatel Wireless software was installed instead. Perhaps this is the newest thing and their documentation is in need of updating. Despite the initial setup complications, it seems that the connection works reliably.
Pro:
Keyboard is excellent and extra buttons are great. Glad Dell didn’t change this from the M6400.
Best use of touch pad! It is worth buying just for the touchpad. You will work faster with the touchpad functionality. MacBook Pro should copy.
Clearly, despite many problems with my M6400, and reading horror stories from others on these posts, I still bought a M6500. It is simply the most powerful laptop on the market. The screen is excellent and I can squeeze in a lot of windows, especially after reducing the size and spacing on my Windows 7 environment. Very few laptop computers offer this much in one package. A return customer should say volumes.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Edb2010
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

For Spring 2010, The ONLY Portable Workstation

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
*** I GIVE A 4+ BECAUSE I HAVE NOT KICKED THE TIRES ENOUGH ***
All I can say is FINALLY, a "PORTABLE" 64-bit computer with software that can STAND ON ITS OWN FEET AND RUN EXTREMELY WELL.
20 years ago, I had a 386 sx with 16 megs of RAM. Today it is the i7 x920 with 16 gigs of RAM. Over 10 years ago, I had a Digital P3 500 Alpha 64 bit running windows 2000 "IN EMULATION MODE". Man, I cried when Photoshop was slower on 64 bit emulation than the regular P3 systems at that time. I prayed for the day when hardware and software would fall in love with the 64 bit architect.
*** Today, 15 minute video renderings on 32 bit xps Gen 2 is now 5 minutes on M6500 ****
*** For the moment I don't need to look at a screen, inching its way to completing a task. I don't have to cover a notebook on a sunny day because of the nvidia FX 3800 is brighter than the sun. ***
I simply wished I placed an SSD instead of a regular hard drive on the M6500. If you are looking to buy this system, simply go all out with the unit. Don't compromise if you do Memory Intensive projects like Autodesk, Adobe and of course Load/Stress tests on Asp.Net Web applications. ATTENTION!!! Check your software vendors to see if their software is compatible for 64-bit.
Wow! it's portable too. A pound or two heavier than the xps gen 2 and has a whopping brick power cord. But what would you carry around with you, a Dell Precision 690, Keyboard, Monitor and Mouse or an M6500? Unit is thinner in height but depth and width the same as xps. I love lugging a portable M6500. It keeps my arms strong for handling baseball practices with my son. System appears cool and battery life, well, nothing new there.
Youtube The72Rabbit for a photoshop speed comparison on a 370 meg photoshop file I ran between the xps and m6500.
I can only stretch my imagination so far with the M6500, truly, the only Portable Workstation with unlimited possibilities for anyone who has memory intensive, multitasking projects at this time.
Oh and BTW, no Flickering Display Screens or choppy audio from the system loads, like I have read from others on the m6400. However, My 12 Gig Avi files of my sons baseball do appear choppy in Windows Media Player. Might be something Microsoft can investigate or I can play and fix myself.
Pros:web applications, 4 color pre-press design, video capturing and editing, photography, time management of projects
+32points
35of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Goodnewz
Title:

Back to the drawing board Dell

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. To start on a positive note: This computer is fast and the video card handles whatever I can throw at it.
2. The screen is magnificent! The nicest color definition and the brightest I’ve ever seen. This is the first time I’ve ever had a screen that was ‘too bright’, therefore I keep the brightness down to about 70 percent most of the time, but have the headroom when needed. Nice feature Dell.
3. The audio card and the Window 7 adjustment features are a step up from the Win XP pro audio card features.
4. The power supply size is to be expected, but I wish it was smaller. I use one of my three M90 power adapters around the house to charge and power it and they work well with the M6500.
5. 3 USB ports from the 4 on the M90 is an inconvenience since I sometimes used all 4 when backing up on an external drive while using other devices.
6. So why the low rating – THE SPEAKERS ON THIS LAPTOP OUR PATHETIC! Dell – this is inexcusable. My M90 was a dream to sit back and listen to nice music or watch the news with volume to spare, but these speakers have little volume and no bass sub-woofer, which make it irritating and staining to enjoy any recreational audio. Do not our beloved Dell designers realize that even high-end gamers, auto-cad, and graphic designers use their computers for other recreational uses also?
7. The backlit keyboard design is, in my case, somewhat useless. While sitting on my recliner sofa doing most of my work, the angle of sight while sitting comfortably viewing the laptop allows the backlit bulbs to shine out through the key board spaces which make it distracting and irritating, so I just turn off the backlighting.
8. I’m keeping the laptop because of the speed and screen brightness, but the speakers will be a continued irritant to me.
9. This is my fifth Dell Precision laptop. Started 6 years ago with the M70, then the M65, M90, M6300 and now the M6500.
10. I’ve had the laptop for 3 weeks and have spent at least 10 hours every day [at least 200 hours], installing, uninstalling, tweaking, adjusting, reading. When I received it, I did an OS install from scratch using the provided Window 7 64 bit OS. I’ve used the laptop for three public presentations to see what it can do. During each presentation I play music from it, while recording my voice audio presentations on it while running PowerPoint 2010 presentations with heavily embedded video and graphic components and it handles it all very nicely.
That’s my review. Cheers
Pros:professional seminars, profession graphic design, everything else most laptop users do.
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CraigInFlorida
Title:

After reading other reviews, I was nervous, but...

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've now had my M6500 for a week. I placed the order before I read all of the reviews regarding the blue screen of death problems. Neadless to say, I was WORRIED to say the least.
THEN, within the first hour, BSOD!!!
YESTERDAY, BSOD 5 times in the course of 2 hours.
TODAY, and from here on out, NO MORE BSOD's!!
The problem was caused by the use of an external USB hard drive to move data between the older computer and the new computer (E1705 and the 5 years of "stuff" I've accumulated) is now a virtual machine on the new notebook.
So what was the problem? USB 3.0 backwards compatibility! My NexStar-SX 2.5" USB sata enclosure has 2 usb connectors (has something to do with power I guess), so naturally, I plug them both in to the 3.0 ports because there is only 1 2.0 port on the right side.
Using external hard drives through the 3.0 ports causes BSOD
My enclosure can run with only one usb connection. As soon as I moved it to the 2.0 port, I've been perfect ever since and I've already moved about 400 of the 500 GB to the machine through this port. I validated this conclusion from other sources on the net.
I read complaints about the speakers. They are better than the E1705, so I'm happy. Backlit keyboard is AWESOME!
PROS
Power, speed, screen brightness, color and clarity
CONS
1) Never EVER put the monitor connection on the RIGHT HAND SIDE of a notebook. Leave it on the back, or put it on the left. 9 out of 10 people are right handed. Since this computer is targeted at power users, it is highly probable that we will likely use an external mouse AND multiple monitors. (Christ, my desktop at home has 5 28" monitors) This forces my mouse hand to be in an unnatural position during operation. Certainly not a deal breaker for me, but most definitely annoying.
2) Not enough USB ports. My E1705 has 6 for crying out loud. I do NOT want to use a hub when I'm away from the house. At a very minimum, a 2nd 2.0 port would have been nice given the 3.0 compatibility issues.
3) For crying out loud, can't we have better documentation IN THE BOX?? The first thing I did was put my own 16 GB of memory in the machine (way cheaper this way) and my own 750 GB SATA drive. I had to hunt for the internal specifications on the dell website, and even then they are flawed. It took me a LONG time to figure out how to install the other 2 ram chips underneath the keyboard. (2 are from below, 2 are from above (and the above two stack on top of each other, whereas the bottom two are side-by-side))
SUMMARY
If I could give this notebook a 4.5, I would, so I gave it a 4.0 as it is not perfect. With the exception of 32 GB of memory, mine is maxed out and I am very happy.
$5,000+ for a notebook is a bit spendy, but I make my living writing software and have a HEAVY need to virtualize and I need to be able to do this from a hotel room.
If you are a power user, you should be right at home with this computer.
Craig
Pros:software development, virtualization
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AV
Title:

What crashes! I tested it to death... no glitches!

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far owned M6500 (64 bit Win 7, Quadro 2800, 8GB, 256GB SSD, 820 i7) for 2 weeks.
I installed over 100 software because I need them for my online/offline business. Including Adobe CS5 and many old 32 bit software.
Not a single crash. Stable as a rock.
And hardly generates any heat at all. Fans are super quiet and turn on shortly every 5-7 min to cool CPU/Nvidia down.
I even finished Crysis (32 bit) and it played very smoothly at 1600x1200 HIGH ALL.
Hmm, what else...
I have 6 USB devices connected using USB hub, including External monitor on DisplayPort -> DVI. The machine is handling EVERYTHING. It's load is 0-1% on average with FireFox running with 10 windows open. And that's also with my AntiVirus running in background, including external USB Creative X-Fi Go sound card.
And the power adapter frankly isn't big nor heavy at all.
I can easily fit the laptop/adapter in any ordinary handbag with no problems even if it's 17 inch.
In overall: M6500 is an absolute beast for a power business user who demands 100% stability and speed at all times.
Oh, it came preinstalled with 64 bit Win 7. And I left it as it is. I didn't reinstall my own copy. Because, also being an IT Tech guy, I didn't see any reason to. There were no unneccessary drivers or software installed.
So LEAVE IT AS YOU RECEIVE IT. And no need to set AHCI in BIOS. Because RAID already supports that mode, including eSata.
Love this thing.
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:advrsharma
(india)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unbeatable speed , quality ,expandability

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordered mine in January. Took some time for delivary as parts including i7 920 xm processor were not readily available in Malaysia.Always prefer ssd Hard drive and blue ray as it is the future technology.Ram may be upgraded later on.Much better than any other desktop replacement laptop including lenovo w 700 or Fujitsu m sereis or Toshiba qasmio.The speed is amazing while rendering.Fx 3800 m quadro card is better for professional use as compared to other options
Pros:rendering, occasional games, videos
+26points
34of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BradForbes
(Morgantown, WV)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Superfantastiuberific!

PostedApril 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordinary words just don’t do this machine justice. I expected great performance and an awesome image from the display. This machine exceeded my expectations in every way! The look and feel of this machine is first class! The performance is astounding. It actually makes me giggle when it loads files in a fraction of the time it took on my previous machine. I’ve had it for just over a week and don’t know how I’ve lived without it before. If the M6500 is within your price range you won’t be disappointed.
Pros:website design, graphics, database design, Video Editing, presentations
+23points
29of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bookhimdano
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Covet is hands down the best laptop!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Most people have never heard of the dell 6500 precision covet, that's because most people have never spent over 5k on a laptop on a good day!
well this laptop is worth every cent.
Engineered for AUTOCAD it's a mobile workhouse that thinks it's a desktop at 9 lbs it almost is.
mine is used for serious gaming, no office designs here. alienware m17x vs 6500? winner is 6500.
it's a not as flashy as m17x but it kicks a___.
Pros:Gaming
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SnowbirdMN
Title:

This...is....Dell!

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This workstation is a champion of workstations. It eats other laptops for breakfast and still comes back for more. I got mine with the RGBLED screen and it is something out of fantasy really. The colors are truly amazing. Now, having said that the problems that people are reporting from this machine are all more than likely software based as so many computer issues are. The drivers are very far outdated for most of the critical components on the website and the RGBLED screen colors look crazy upon first boot up. This thing is a monster if you:
1. Perform a clean install of Windows
2. Do a base install of the required drivers by getting them directly from the manufacturer if you can. The only Dell specific driver that I am aware of for this model besides the ControlPoint security stuff is the Dell touchpad with jog shuttle. Other than that, go to the sources and you will be rewarded with fresh drivers and a rock solid system to kick the pants off of anything else out there.
Trust me, once you get this thing cleaned off with a fresh install and late 2010 drivers, you'll be ready to kick @$$ and chew bubble gum. And you'll be all out of gum... :)
Pros:Video Editing, Gaming, 3d animation, photo editing
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Michhes
(Perth, Western Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Windows Server 2008 & Hyper-V NOT SUPPORTED

PostedMay 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell Precision M6500 was going my top pick for a modern desktop replacement/development/virtualisation/demo machine for its price, features, and expansion capabilities.
All up this is a great machine with one significant problem--mine was bought for SharePoint development but Windows Server 2008 and therefore Hyper-v are not supported by either Dell or Microsoft. Of course there are alternative virtualisation platoforms available but that's not my point.
This wouldn't normally be a problem unless the machine in question suffers problems like freezes or BSODs, which it did in my case when running Windows Server 2008 R2 and attempting to move large files over the network card.
The hotfix described in KB975530 corrected this problem for me but I know it did not for others (I also had to reset my power management settings to the Windows default).
Now that I'm up and running this machine is proving to be everything it was meant to be but buyers beware!
Pros:sharepoint development, virtualization
+28points
40of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CJHarrold
(New York City)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Professional Grade

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a flawless implementation of the i7 platform. Lightning fast, Cool runner. As with all high performance notebooks, clean workspace is key to the health of this equipment, large fans ingest air for cooling, that means they ingest dust as well, this is a fact of life for mobile workstations. Do not use it on your lap, on your bed, on your couch, or anywhere it has direct access to particulate contaminates. Buildup of dust will kill this unit, KEEP IT CLEAN! At 4500 bucks it is a very worthy desktop replacement. No cons...at all..
Pros:computational fluid dynamics, cad platform
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DarrenBL
(Toronto, ON)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Outstanding Machine - Way Lighter than I expected

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Prior to purchasing this machine I was worried about the size and weight of the machine -- thinking that it would be significantly larger than other 17" notebooks I've owned. After receiving it I was surprised to discover that it's actually a bit SMALLER than the Inspiron 9400 I owned previously. The machine has almost exactly the same footprint, but is actually skinnier.
The new slim power supply is much smaller than I expected – only about 1” thick, still big, but manageable.
I ordered the model with the FIPS certified fingerprint reader. It works with computers logged into a domain, allows for a simple, accurate scan without having to "swipe" your finger like you do on other models. The security software allows you to choose to use it as either a single-factor login or as a dual factor login (password+fingerprint). In single-factor mode just place your finger and you're instantly logged in. The added convenience allowed me to set the screen saver to 2 minutes – making it less likely that someone could walk up to your machine and use it if you step away from your desk.
The system includes the Trusted Platform Module (TPM) so you can use Windows 7 bitlocker drive encryption.
The WXUGA RGB LED display is extremely bright, clear, accurate colour, everything you could want. A light sensor can automatically adjust the brightness for you, and pressing Fn + the Auto brightness button toggles the feature on or off. AMAZING design - absolutely love it.
I just can't say enough about the design of this machine -- even installing and servicing components is easy - take out the battery, remove two simple screws and the entire bottom panel of the machine comes off, allowing easy access to the 2nd hard disk, RAM, and all other components you'd care to access. Fans and heat syncs are also exposed when you take off the base, allowing you to clear out dust before it affects the cooling performance.
Coming from the Inspiron 9400 I was concerned I wouldn't like the keyboard layout - in particular the pg up/dn keys and home/end keys -- but it took almost no time at all (maybe a minute or two) for me to adjust to the new positions -- and they make sense. I love having the CALC button to open calculator, and separate volume down/up/mute buttons -- very practical.
Pros:
- Excellent keyboard layout.
- FIPS fingerprint reader makes logging in easy and secure even with a domain.
- Dual hard drives with RAID controller if you want to mirror or stripe your drives.
- Easy maintenance with single bottom panel.
- Bright, beautiful WUXGA RGB LED display.
- Great sound, dedicated volume controls.
- Machine has BOTH a glidepad and a poiting stick - and both are fully configurable.
- This machine is as portable as any 17" notebook.
Cons:
- None, just get this machine you won't regret it for a second.
It would be even better with a Blu Ray burner, Firewire800, USB 3.0, but even without those things it’s worth getting.
Pros:software development, photography & video
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BryanAdams
(Las Vegas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Beauty is only skin deep

PostedOctober 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the surface based on spec's this workstation is pretty much exactly what anyone who needs a mobile workstations would want. 16+GB ram, high end i7, high end video, 3 Hard drives, Raid, The list just keeps going on.
The problems however once using are quite substantial, this laptop I think might have been rushed and is just not made to be mainstream.
Let me say that when it works, it works great. But random blue screens and complete lockups/sleep issues and glitchy audio when the system is under any amount of load make for a bad experience. Glass half full is that because of shipped SSD that time to recover from crash is pretty fast.
I would venture to say try one out and see if yours has any of the listed issues. It seems some do and some don't.
Pros:software development, video/audio streaming, games
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EP01
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

M6500 -- killer mobile workstation

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
- Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X920 @2.00GHz, 2000 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
- Win 7, 64-bit Professional
- 12 Gb RAM
- NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800M 1 Mb
- 2x 250 Gb Raid 0 HD
The machine was pricey (~$5k), but you get what you pay for. No other computer manufacturer even had a machine like this for any (reasonable) price. I use it for heavy-duty FEA and 3D CAD and it has been awesome. As fast or faster than many high-end desktop or even desk-side workstations.
I have had this machine for >6 months and have NOT experienced any of the "stability" issues noted elsewhere. This has been a rock-solid machine, under heavy daily use, traveling and presenting, and it has been a great asset to my business.
Pros:engineering, computer-aided desing (3d cad), finite element analysis (fea), desktop / office apps
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mavh
(Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really can't think of anything to complain of really; yes, it's heavy, yes, it's huge, yes, the keyboard is off centre (though I remember a lot of people complaining of the absence of a numeric keypad on the old M64 of which I was the happy owner for 4 years). But if you want a portable desktop, this is really the ultimate machine that leaves all alternatives lightyears behind. If you fail to see that such splendid performance comes with certain compromises, you're probably a fool and I would see you walking around with a desktop pc in your backpack and a few km's of power lead on my next trip abroad.
While oblivious to looks, I think DELL have achieved to give it a sleek, distinguished look that attracts attention in busy airport lounges. I can go on for some time longer but shall refrain from doing so. For the next 4 years, this will be it and I'll be looking forward to replacing it with the next generation that DELL come up with.
Pros:engineering, dtp
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ddraper
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Stay Away Until Dell Gets Issues Resolved

PostedOctober 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great laptop if only it there was not a serious issue with it. My M6500 experiences a freeze or BSOD almost daily. Dell should have removed it from their site until a solution was found. They are aware of this problem and have been working on it but no fix yet. Please research the forums and networks carefully before purchasing this laptop. If Dell gets the issue resolved, it will be one of the best around. But for now it is almost unusable for me.
Pros:software development, business use
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precision M6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveDevlin
(London)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Constantly Crashes

PostedOctober 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop about 2 months ago to do video editing. Since first day it crashes randomly. Screen freezes and requires a hard reboot. There are a lot of people with same problem. Search the forum for "m6500 freezes" and you will see.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3