Customer reviews for Precision M4700

Precision M4700

Precision M4700
4.154 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
10 out of 1377%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Precision M4700
Review 1 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GreatComputer
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent machine!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this computer a few months ago and I am extremely pleased with my purchase. The performance on this computer is excellent, I can edit video and browse the internet quickly thanks to the i7 processor and 8GB of ram. With the combination of the processor and graphics card I can run games at a high quality with amazing FPS(As high as 70 on certain games) and lower quality are even better. I would highly recommend this computer to anyone buying for the first time or upgrading.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Visualizor
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Fast machine at a price

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Mobile Precision is a powerful laptop. The configuration should be able to convince you regarding its fast performance. However, while the laptop is better than apple's line at the same price, it is more expensive than a thinkpad with the exact same configuration. The physical design feels good in my hands. I prefer the M4700 to Thinkpad's W series, which in my opinion looks rather clumsy/rough. Be aware that since the M4700 is a workstation grade machine, the battery is extremely small for graphic task such as 3d modeling. Fully charged 6 cell would run for about 2 hours when I'm in Rhinoceros 4. A good thing to recommend is the USB docks. There are 4 of them and they are spaced to accomodate multiple plug-ins. Much more convenient compared to Apple's USB holes.
Pros:3d modeling + rendering, moderate gaming, streaming videos
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobbyA
Title:

One of the best computers i have ever owned,

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I never write reviews this is probly my first, but i absolutely love this computer. After buying 4 or 5 $1000 - $1500 laptops over the last i would say 3 or 4 years, that seemed to have the latest specs ram process's bla bla bla.
I decided to spend a little more and buy this machine. The machines quality and speed blew me away completely killed my desktop machine to the point that i just went to using the M 4700 full time and with the multi monitor support it makes it easy.
This computer goes back to the old IBM days of quality and design it actually feels like your holding a expensive watch with a monitor. The design is fantastic, like the material used by the track pad that just adds a extra element of usability with the addition of some palm traction and the full keyboard with really suppressed keys that allow you to use it like you have had it for years.
Dell knocked it out of the park on this one. I bought one for my business partner and he was equally impressed so impressed he said hes a Dell guy now and bought a Alien ware as a Xmas gift for his son.
Would Highly Recommend
Solid State Drive
Better Monitor 1920x - 1080 you can lower it with a included tool. with full adobe color.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:artcancro
(Hawthorne, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Almost perfect

PostedApril 18, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a powerful computer. I like the full HD (1920x1080) screen, plenty of memory, fast CPU, lots of features, and the light up keyboard is perfect for use at night.
The only downside of this machine is that it came with Windows, which I did not want and do not need. Dell needs to make Linux a top tier option on EVERY ONE of its computers.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MK85
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Build Quality & Performance

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Following the reliablibilty experienced with the Dell Precision M6600 we purchased the M4700 and as expected it is capable of delivering great performance. The unit has a supreme build quality and a great design to start with and with the combined Core i7 processor with 8GB RAM and K2000M graphics from Nvidia, can deliver demanding application requirements quite easily. The product is being used in a network design & development environment and can handle multiple screens in very high resolutions without any drags. Also the intelligent Nvidia Optimus technology can switch between Intel and Nvidia graphics as and when needed allowing power saving options.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DLuce
(Rhode Island)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Penalty for power

PostedNovember 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will say that this computer seems very fast on every task I have attempted. It works nicely with two extra monitors.
I paid a heavy penalty to get this "most powerful" workstation. First, the laptop is quite heavy; I knew that.
I didn't know, though, that the AC power brick was also astoundingly heavy, and that there is no DC power adapter, either for a car connector or an airline connector. The one I used with a M4300 is detected by the M4700, and it refuses to boot.
In addition, the only supported auxiliary battery has to attach to the rear like an alien parasite, and makes the luggable computer even more difficult to carry.
At a minimum, all the sales techs should be required to explain all this to prospective customers.
This design is vastly inferior to that of the old M4300, for anyone who moves around with their computer.
Pros:software development, scientific analysis
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 19, 2012
Hey DLuce,

I am sorry to hear that the Dell Precision M4700 did not meet your expectations regarding battery size and function. I definitely understand that "portable" and "heavy" are not an ideal match.

You can reach out to a Dell Sales Representative and they can help you find a car/plane adapter for your Precision M4700.

If you are experiencing any technical concerns, please reach out to one of our Online Support Teams so that we can further assist you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thank you for your feedback, and thanks for choosing Dell!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vsr8282
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

its a power house,

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have purchased this as replacement to desktop server and also I like the dell's great customer service.
Pros:never had a glitch also, works like charm with multiple servers up &running
Cons:little bulky
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:technologylover007
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing Laptop

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just got the laptop/workstation. It is an aboslute amazing machine. Super fast. I got the quad core with 32gb ram and 2gb video card. It is super fast, i usually run 4-5 programs at once. From Autocad and other cad software. Absolutely recommend it. Got the larger battery and the battery life is amazing. The only con is the weight. But hey its just a little heavier than any other laptop. Tried HP workstation came is 2nd and the lenovo workstation doesn't even come close.
Pros:autocad, excel powerpoint, emails, access oracle
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Subrata
(india)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

outstanding productivity

PostedDecember 8, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
a nice piece of work thanks to Mr Mano Gialusis Sr Product Marketing Manager ,and Members Of Dell Precision.
Pros:software development, business
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Austinman
Title:

Great Work Machine for Power Users

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I replaced a Lenovo T400 with the M4700, as I run multiple virtual machines at the same time. The T400 was not upto the task.
As I write this review there are 4 virtual machines executing, each running their own applications. The fact that the virtual machines run faster than my T400 did gives you an idea of the power offered by an i7 processor and 32GB of memory.
The build quality is excellent. This machine will survive a life on the road much better than other laptops I have owned.
The negatives; this is a not a lightweight machine. Both the M4700 and power supply are on the large size. For me, I can live with the weight, others may not be as happy.
Pros:software development, Travel, virtual machines
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nitinlodha
(Madhya Pradesh, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Machine is best but Display is not good

PostedMay 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all this is best machine, best quality built but their is very big issue with display.
If you buy machine with FHD panel it deliver 1920x1080 resolution and on particular resolution the text/fonts shown on screen are very very smaller, it not comfort eyes to read or work on machine.
If I change the font size or zoom setting from windows setting then it will effect your work quality. For software developer or designer the change in font size or zoom level will make lots of issue.
If you lower the resolution by native resolution then the display will be very blur, text are not sharp and it seems working on old machine.
So before buying check the display else everything was super fine.
Cons:display is not comfortable., very small text., if you change text dpi app will nt work properly
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 14, 2013
Hello Nitinlodha,

Thanks for the kind words in your review about the Precision M4700 Workstaition! It is indeed a powerhouse and comes with options that most laptops nowadays do not offer. A high resolution (1080p) screen is useful for displaying more information on the screen at once, in the case of AutoCAD, Photoshop, video editing and the like. A side product of this pixel density is going to be small but sharply rendered text and icons. You can go into Windows Control Panels and tell it to give you large icons, which will keep the same 1080p resolution and sharpness but make the text and icons larger!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:runh
Title:

Bad experience with M4700

PostedOctober 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
That is a really bad experience in purchasing the M4700. I ordered this “The world’s most powerful mobile station” on Setp 7th, and the estimated delivery date was just one week after the order date. After waiting Five weeks, I finally got this so called high quality working station. When I took the first startup of this brand new M4700, the LCD panel is just totally black!!!!!!There is nothing on the screen until I connected the “work station” to another LCD screen. I tried to talked with dell’s customer service, they said there is something wrong on the LCD panel, they will might need to change the motherboard and LCD cable. What? I did not even really run one startup but was told that the motherboard needs to be changed? I am very very very disappointed on this “work station”, so that is all you can give to your customer after 5 weeks waiting?!! That is really ridiculous to name this “work station” ”powerful”. And when I told the customer service this is a completely new computer, they just offer a technical support to give a change of the hard parts. I was expecting a real powerful laptop on our project but everything is delayed, I spent thousand dollars and just get a piece of high quality paper weight?
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 16, 2012
Hi runh,

I'm very sorry to hear about your bad experience with this machine. Indeed it is very surprising and i wouldn't be sure what was the root cause for this issue .

If you'd like us to look into this, you can check with our Dell support team in Twitter @DellCares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ .

Infact , you can join the conversation with our experts in Dell Community forum as well -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

I hope this will help you . Thank you for choosing Dell !
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision M4700
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hitest
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best Product from dell international .testing purpose used
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.