Customer reviews for PowerEdge SC 440

PowerEdge SC 440

PowerEdge SC 440
4.929 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
14 out of 14100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge SC 440
Review 1 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wylee
(Eugene, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The best $200 server money could buy

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this as an ESXi3u2 server, all of it's devices are compatible and recognized by the version of ESXi I noted above. The only down sides to this are the lack of a DVD drive, no RAID support, and only two native SATA slots. But for the price I can't complain.
Pros:esxi server
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GWS1
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Hard Drive:750GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

SC440 w 8GB RAM

PostedJanuary 29, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Only lists that it supports 4GB RAM. I was able to put in 4 - 2GB ECC memory modules for 8GB total. All recognised in the BIOS and OS. SBS 2008 uses it all up.
Pros:Nice quiet system! Added a PCI RAID card and 2 750GB SATA drives.
+31points
33of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OlGrizz
(not disclosed)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:2GB
Hard Drive:80GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

Painless Pro Linux

PostedNovember 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Big case, brawny frame, _lots_ of room. Built for expansion, built to grow as needed.
Pros:SLES 10 installed & all drivers in place Oracle 11 install made easy with orarun Insane value - $400 _delivered_ w/Core 2 & 1-yr SLES lic. Yast2 is an excellent package handler
Cons:Commercial install - not for newbies SLES is not OpenSuSE - _much_ smaller package base SLES is not OpenSuSE - read lic agreement b4 installing OpenSuSE packages SLES is not OpenSuSE - 64 bit system, everything takes more disk & more RAM than 32 bit.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HalJ
(kalamazoo)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:2GB
Hard Drive:80GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

Quality and Value

PostedNovember 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Buy It
Pros:This was my first purchase of a Dell Server; very impressed. The quality is superb and the value was unbelievable. I bought the basic system with the standard one HD but did upgrade to 2 gigs of ram. Then added a DVD (replaced the standard CD) and 2 1TB HD's; installed Windows Home Server on the 80 g HD; works very nice; "sweet" machine. With added HD rails, you can get 4 HD's with ease in the case and leaving one spot for the DVD.
Cons:Had to search on line to find the Gigabit NIC drivers and also a controller driver; found both; worth the search
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeff098
Title:

great server

PostedNovember 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
looking to buy another one right now.
Pros:Runs Linux Fedora Core like a champ. Turned it on and it runs and runs. Loaded O/S off the network no problem
Cons:needs the dvd drive
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CPAinFL
Title:

Price was great but some hardware issues

PostedAugust 27, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
It should either ship with a CDROM or a DVD should come standard - unpleasant surprise to find out could not utilize the DVDs that were shipped with the product.
Pros:Price Can't list any other pros yet as so far we have not been able to get operational due to the cons listed below.
Cons:Manual and Drivers come on a DVD - Server comes with a CDRom unless you upgrade If you are using with XP - the NIC card driver is hard to locate as the manufacturer is not listed anywhere in the packaging or website a search on the part number on the Dell site will bring up a thread with a link to the supposed fix - we are crossing our fingers.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sean Collins
(sean@lolyco.cmo)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:1GB
Hard Drive:160GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

SC440 Advantages:many Disadvantages:none

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
We've just ordered another SC440 - we looked around for competitive products at Dell and elsewhere, but for our needs (a medium-volume website, intranet and some file sharing), the SC440 exceeds all our expectations. The new SC440 will be used on a new venture for us - our confidence in its ability means we can be sure the IT hardware part of the business is as good as it can be.
Pros:We bought this to replace a quite recent, more expensive, but badly constructed small e-commerce server. It sits on a desk in the room we work in, and the old server was working well enough, but annoying us with noise and heat. Out of the box, it's obvious the SC440 is well-constructed kit. We installed our software on it 8 months ago and it has been running without interruption since. It's practically silent, gives off very little heat at the fan exhaust, and an electrician tells us it consumes 25% of the power of the old one!
Cons:The SC440's biggest problem in our view is that we've forgotten we own it. Its price, power consumption and noise levels are such that it is invisible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LongBeachSmallBusiness
(Long Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:2GB
Hard Drive:250GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

1st Dell Server

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Easy to setup. Included setup preps for all Microsoft OS as easy as any server I have setup. Speed was exceptional for an entry level server.
Cons:Should have a DVD-ROM as the default drive. Microsoft Small Business comes on DVD.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tommo666
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:512MB
Hard Drive:160GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:1
Title:

Windows Home Server use

PostedApril 27, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Glad i bought it.
Pros:Runs Home server like a charm, Extra hard drives can be added to the floppy bay and optical bay with 3.5 to 5.25 hdd kit. So 4 sata disks will plug directly onto the motherboard. I'm using 3 disks at the moment. It' s quiet and just does what it's supposed to.
Cons:None that i can think of
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanielG
(Irvington, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:2GB
Hard Drive:500GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

Good value for the money and easy to set up

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Good price, easy to set up, and powerful enough for a small business.
Cons:Not a lot of expansion space, but that's not a huge issue for our small office.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alexy
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:512MB
Hard Drive:80GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

Good system to buy

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:with 512MB RAM on this system, it still run very fast. Good performance
Cons:Cannot use non-EDD memory, you have to use EDD RAM
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BillWJG
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:2GB
Hard Drive:250GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

SC440

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Excellent machine, excellent price. Running Centos 5 and a VMWare Windows 2003 Server for MS SQL 2005 the machine never breaks a sweat.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nwitguy
(Pacific Northwest)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:4GB
Hard Drive:250GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

Great for Small Business

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Price was great for what we got and is more than adequate for our needs for some time to come.
Cons:Nothing encountered so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PowerEdge SC 440
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NDLunchbox
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Dual Core Intel® Xeon®
Memory:1GB
Hard Drive:80GB SATA Hard Drive
Number of Hard Drives:2
Title:

Excellent Webserver

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Even though it's missing some of the features of its bigger PowerEdge brothers (like DRAC, built-in soft or hard RAID and BMC) the value is unbeatable. Configured with a 1.86GHz Xeon and 2 SATA drives the system is very quiet (thanks to a well thought out design with lots of airflow) and uses very little power. I'm running Ubuntu Linux and Apache / PHP / MySQL and it has proven a very fast, capable and stable webserver.
My only gripes are minor - the lack of internal drive bays (should have 4) and the Dell deployment software seems out of date (it's limited to Windows Server 2003 SP1, but R2 doesn't work and the versions of Linux are all outdated) - but should not dissuade you from purchasing this system.
Pros:Very quiet, amazing value for a Xeon system, good airflow, compact but well designed tool-less case, rock solid stability, all the features you need in an entry-level server for non mission-critical applications (since there are no redundancy / management features built-in).
Cons:Only 2 internal 3.5" drive bays, no software-based SATA RAID standard, deployment software limited to very specific versions of Windows, RHEL and SUSE only.
+50points
51of 52voted this as helpful.