Customer reviews for PowerEdge M1000E

PowerEdge M1000E

PowerEdge M1000E
3.778 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
6 out of 967%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for PowerEdge M1000E
Review 1 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Colorado, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Best in class right now

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having experience with IBM and HP blades, I have to rate the M1000e as the best offering available right now. It even bests the Cisco UCS and Hitachi UCP at this point. All of its management features are actually usable and functional, and it lacks all of the gimmicks and half-baked "integrated" features of the others.
It's by far the easiest to deploy and maintain, has everything you need, and none of the garbage you don't.
Pros:by far the easiest to deploy and maintain
Cons:an additional i/o fabric could be useful like hp
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Datacenter in one

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have 6 blade chassis. Has everything you want right in it. Cooling, power, networking, remote access, etc. I am able to cluster all six of them and access over 90 servers through the iDRAC remotely. I dont need to have APC managed power strips for remote boots. I can see everything come up from bios. The are very affordable. We consolidated our datacenter and freed up some racks. With the saved space we can get MD3000i (nice product as well) and have all the storage we need. We run about 80% of our servers on blades and are loving it.
Pros:exchange, sharepoint, virtualization, sql
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NewarkJohnny
(Valley Forge PA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bang for the buck!

PostedApril 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overview:
This is not the only Blade Center on the market [I have experience with the HP offering as well]; however, the M1000E adequately serves our primary data center. We use a multiple M1000E chassis configuration at 50% utilization [2 chassis with 8 m610 blades each (16 m610 blades per chassis max)]. This configuration allows for chassis failure and future scalability. This platform serves as the foundation for our ESX environment.
Pros:
Ease of configuration, installation and management, highly scalable, with nice density.
Cons:
I would have liked to have had more choices for fabric modules. I do not like the way the power cords fit and are secured into the back of the chassis [seems like they would vibrate loose without additional restraints (strain relief was poor)]. We are looking into upgrading the fabric modules and it appears to require surgery to the Chassis. Not a plug and play chassis for all fabric module offerings [very disappointing and unexpected from an enterprise class product].
Review:
Bang for the buck I would go down this road again. I am 90% satisfied with the architecture, functionality and reliability of the system. When considering this platform make sure to look down the road a bit and see where you expect t be in 5 years when making fabric module choices.
To Dell engineers,
While I am very happy with this product; don’t let this lead you to the conclusion that the product is “good as is”. I see room for significant improvement.
Thank you,
John
Pros:production esx environment
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LinuxUser01
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

M1000E is the best overall...

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compared to other vendors the easiest to install and
configure. This Dell Chassis comes with Blades
installed and it is easy to unpack to put into
production. Another GREAT feature is the service
tag on Dell products, this allows you find updates
for firmware, drivers instantly the others cannot
compete in this area. It is critical to have this
type of information readily available and it
simplifies installation.
Couple this unit with Dell Equallogic iSCSI SAN
Storage and you can Virtualize your infrastructure.
Dell equipment is easy to use, efficient, and
it gets the job done. Compared to the competition
it is just a better overall package. All of the
features, options and configurations, plus
GREAT support that is knowledgeable and they
can help out.
An Awesome Blade Chassis!
:)
Pros:date center
+6points
23of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Samply
(Detroit)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

storage options

PostedAugust 12, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pro
Lots of power in a small space
Con
Needs a SAS expander/switch pass through module, and support for SAS zoning.
+2points
12of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:frpst9
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Easy management interface, space saver

PostedMay 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Saves space using only 8U in the rack, but can support 16 half-height blades. Very easy management of the chassis and blades.
Cons
Firmware management of blades/chassis was somewhat tedious in the older CMC firmware. This seems to be corrected in version 2.0.
Review
I've administered both an IBM and HP bladecenter, in addition to this Dell. I've found the Dell the easiest to install and use.
+26points
33of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigWillyC
Title:

Pretty Nice-Cadillac of Blade systems.

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Can we get 32 nodes into 10U yet? :) Could use more fiber connection ports.
Pros:Management is breeze. I can use the CMC/DRAC to install OS from across the country (media in my laptop not on site). I can remotely connect to DRAC using IE (active X)or Firefox (java) and administer the system. I cna controll almost every aspect of the system. I am not sure what the other reviewer was talking about. It sounds like he was an "HP guy" and was unable to adapt to the different way of using the management tools from CMC. This blows away the HP and the IBM in terms of management. It is MUCH faster to deploy over the HP and IBM blades too (hours not days). This system ROCKS!!! We are a systems integrator...we sell HP, IBM, and DELL...the Dell system is the best hands down!!!!
Cons:Power. Make sure to read the power whitepapers on this system when you purchase. It uses less power than 16 1U systems but cabling it requires some fore-thought. As long as this is realized and planned for, there should be no issues. Proprietary. Well thats the same on any blade system. If you dont want to deal with Proprietary hardware...Buy 1U systems.
+54points
66of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ddugan
(Denton TX.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Doesn't compare

PostedJanuary 30, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've seen the HP version with it's management. That is a very slick and useful tool. The Dell version is missing almost any usable feature, and the cost savings aren't there. I'd like the management console made into a useful tool, something that will at least give me access the server console on each blade. Or the Drac card. Oh, and tell me how much memory is on each server. I mean, you tell me everything but that!
Pros:Hum. Suppose to be more power efficient?
Cons:The CMC management requires you to use IE. You can't get to the Drac cards from it. You can't get to a server console from it. You can't set up the Cisco switches from the CMC console, either. Or remote KVM access. I'm sure there is more, but can't think of them at the moment.
-46points
60of 166voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PowerEdge M1000E
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryJohns
Title:

Blade Enclosure - M1000e

PostedJanuary 16, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just have easy access so can build config of enclosure and servers....
Pros:Lots or bells and whistles about product.
Cons:Where is the pricing sheet that I can easily find for Dell servers. This makes pricing and ordering a big problem.
+16points
114of 212voted this as helpful.