Customer reviews for OptiPlex 980

OptiPlex 980

OptiPlex 980
4.477 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
4.5
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 39
6 out of 967%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 980
Review 1 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tfox
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Optiplex 980 is a Solid System

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My dept. is running more than a dozen of these systems and we have had no trouble with any of them.
Their performance is quite good for a workstation
As to the complaints made by so many of the so called "Experts"...
This is a perfect example of RTFM. Real experts spec out a system before they place orders, choose their components wisely and then place their orders.
Real experts also know that very few integrated video chipsets successfully support multi-monitors. And those that do; offer limited performance.
The moral of the story? You get what you pay for. If you want good dual monitor support, purchase the appropriate add-in card.
Dell offers the ATI Radeon HD3450. Pair this with a DMS-59 DVI (or VGA) Splitter cable.
Pros:business workstation
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rickyu
(Hong Kong)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell 980 MT

PostedDecember 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very Quiet System
Poor On Board Video Card does not support dual monitor out. We installed dual ATI 4550 Graphics cards with 512MB on board of each at additional cost. We upgraded the Ram to 16GB, as well as upgraded the CPU to Intel 880 i7 running at just over 3gz
Dual 10,000 rpm Western Digital HDD non raid configuration, For a system working out to well over USD2K, its pretty pricey, but we except top notch performance.
Overall the system is smooth, but gets a not so satisfactory windows experience rating of only 5.0. We were expecting atleast 5.5 or 5.9 and were surprised with the low performance.
Comparative machines perform better, although dell leads in security and manageability.
The system did not come configured with the latest drivers, probably because Microsoft is very slow to sign them, thus a lot of drivers were out dated despite doing a full windows update.
Using the internal SD card reader we did a transfer test of a 15GB file to the internal hard disk and were shocked to see it would take about 4 hours at a transfer rate of 1.5MB per second. Our 486 from 1999 can perform faster than this! Called Dell support and they sent me drivers for the 19 in 1 reader which uses a USB2.0 interface. Unfortunately dell sent me drivers for VISTA/XP and didn't install. We fled to intel.com website and run utilities to update the q57 chipsets and other onboard devices and finally got the transfer rate up to 20mb/second. Why dell does not fix these simple problems before hand is beyond me.
The dual video cards which we installed also had outdated drivers. If you install one monitor you have to make sure you install the monitor cable to the lowest graphic card slot on the mother board, otherwise you will not see the boot up screen. It took us 20 mins and a dell technician to figure this out.. The new ATI drivers solve these problems.
Overall a stable machine, runs smooth, but perhaps we should have opted for a workstation model instead of this one. Silent machine, once updated it works well, but pricey when fully configured.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZENthusiast
(Westchester, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Superb Workstation

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have just upgraded from my trusty Optiplex 620MT running XPx32, to a 980MT running Win7x64. What a great piece of equipment!!! The 980 is quiet, fast, responsive and a pleasure to use. I did not fully appreciate how antiquated my old 620 system was until now. While I suppose upgrading to 64bit Win7 deserves some credit for the performance enhancement, the system is clearly well configured to take advantage of the 64bit operating system. For those who are interested, my new system is configured with a i7 quad-core 860, 8gb_ram, 320gb primary and a 500gb secondary disk. My dual U2410 monitors are served by a 512mb ATI Radeon HD4550 video card. This is truly an excellent system that will serve my needs for some time. I have no complaints only praises for the engineering design and manufacturing teams that created this system. I highly recommend this system to those seeking a powerful general purpose workstation. Thanks again Dell!
Pros:engineering design & analysis, image editing and manipulation, techinical report writing, general communications
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Blooming
(Miami Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No Extended Desktop to a TV

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our new Optiplex 980 cannot output to two monitors. Will require a new video card and the cost of installation to remedy so we are returning complete order. Too bad this will set our new bussiness expansion back. We like the small form factor, compacq and efficient.
Pros:business machine
-20points
18of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tigerj
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Looking for the Intel iCore CPU?

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Well this is the only Optiplex that provides it currently as of this review.
Our University just moved to this model as the standard over last years 960. There isn't a whole bunch of upgrade to the system. The system now has dual PCI-E x16 slots where the 960 only has one. So you can now do SLI with this system. I wish it was out before we upgraded out PACS systems with the 960 models.
My only dismay with the system is that it only has 4 Memory slots...Why?? You are using DDR3 memory and the iCores take advatange of Tripple Channel memory. So why not 6 slots like all the 3rd party Motherboards?
If you want a decent business system and want the new Intel iCore, this system is solid. Don't expect super high end SLI with it though if that is your plan. System only has a 255 Watt PSU (Desktop) in it, same as the 960's. Again, why? Where is the ability to beef it up some if you like?
If you don't care for or have the need for SLI or want a iCore, stick with the 960's with a Quad 9550 or 9650. Otherwise if your budget allows you too, go with the Core i7 860 on the 980 model. If prices haven't changed yet, it may be cheaper to get an i7 Quad over the older models and have better performace.
Pros:workflow in medical
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LabRat
(Sydney, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Machine, with a nasty catch.

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a very nice desktop machine. It's stylish, performs well and is quiet. Unfortunately, if you're thinking of using it as a gaming machine and want to upgrade the video card you'll be disappointed to discover that the 90% efficient power supply technology comes at the price of a non-standard connector, with not enough spare power supply cables to power your new graphics card.
Pros:software development, office applications, game testing
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MonkeySnax
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Business Desktop

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
To the reviewer below, you'll notice that their are other non-business class desktop options with dell that include much better graphics cards. My guess is that to keep power usuage to a minimum you are presented with video card options that meet that requirement. I would think that all of the options would be more than adequte for business use, unless you're in the business of playing games...
With that said the system is great, well ventalated, very quite, easy to access key components. It's a personal preference but I prefer the other case look for the optiplex's.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobCanada
(Canada)
Title:

Where's the graphics options

PostedJune 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
As one of Dells very few SSD offerings the 980 is attractive. However, graphic card options are embarassing for their flagship business computer. Great buy, but you'll need to buy a real graphics card after the fact instead of the older obsolete cards available with it.
+24points
34of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PJustus
Title:

Fast, Efficient, Lean and Mean Machine

PostedMay 12, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The OptiPlex 980 had the specs we wanted to serve as the central unit for our accounting business. We knew we wanted Windows 7 Professional, as experience with the XPS Studio Laptop we bought a few months earlier made us fall in love with that OS. We went with the i7 Processor and 8 G's of memory with a Raid 1 on two hard drives of 1TB each. We also went with the largest of the three cases. All of that with the idea that we are going to live with this one for awhile. It really is replacing a Server, as the Windows 7 Homegroup does that so elegantly. We especially like the XP Virtual Machine and it's come in handy already, since our brand new PB meter isn't compatible with 64 bit OS. I know that much has been written about Dell Service of late, but my experience is that if I stay with the online service people and give specific details of my needs, they are fast and efficient. Sales got our configured unit out to us two weeks before the promised delivery date. I really like that we got the unit with no bloatware at all, including no McAfee or Norton. Since we already have plenty of peripherals, I appreciated that we had the option to drop things like keyboard and mouse. After three weeks, we have learned to love the OptiPlex 980. It is fast, versatile, absolutely noiseless, and promises to be a reliable workhorse for years to come.
Pros:homegroup server, storage and backup for other units, business applications, business machines as peripherals
+87points
93of 99voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (36) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for OptiPlex 980
Overall Rating 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5