Customer reviews for OptiPlex 960

OptiPlex 960

OptiPlex 960
4.475 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.5
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 35
13 out of 13100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 960
Review 1 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FSS45
Title:

Great Performance For The Price

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great system for office information workers. Powerful enough to permit extension of our in business computer refresh cycle by 3 -6 months.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:roken
Title:

Solid class workstation

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a mid-stage company, our deployment costs need to be low and cost effective. Dell has a solid reputation of building small-business workstations and servers. As the CTO of the company, I have Dell 960 SF machine.
Despite utilizing an older Core 2 technology, we opted out for utilizing the newer i-series and DDR3 infrastructure. This was due to the high costs of the newer i-series chipshets and DDR3 ram costs.
With a major of our systems running at minimum on 4GB DDR2, Dual-Core CPU's, we are able to keep our development and testing costs low. In addition, my machine a Quad Core Q9550 with 8GB ram, runs Adobe CS5 products blazing fast.
Pros:software development, media encoding
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dvictoria
(Hanover Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Can not heart running because it is so quiet!.

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have 16 0f these machines for over a year and we have not had any problems. I have one on my desk and after hearing another review about it being noisy decided to investigate. I have to put my ear next to all 16 machines to see if they are running. He may have a defective machine and needs to send it back for repair instead of chainging the power supply. They are fantastic workstations and we are purchasing many more.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DougatUCF
(Orlando, FL)
Title:

Great Machine, but don't bother with the Quiet Kit

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have about 50 of these machines in the "desktop" form factor running in our computer lab and we like them a lot. So, when I wanted a new computer for my house I figured I get one of these, but also add in the Quiet Kit option. Well, after comparing the 960 desktop at home with and without the Quiet Kit, I can honestly say there's *no* difference in how quiet the machine is. They're both pretty quiet, but in my home office with hardwood floors, the Quiet Kit did nothing to make the machine any quieter. Maybe it has an effect on the tower machine, but save yourself some money and don't bother with that option on the desktop form factor.
+45points
50of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FWstudio
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent build and spec for graphics studio use

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have just taken delivery of our second 960 tower having been so impressed with the first. Specced with 3.0GHz Quad, 64Bit operating system, 8MB RAM and NVidia QuadroFX card this system is more than capable of meeting and exceeding heavy graphics use. As a design studio we are running Adobe CS4 and variouse other graphics and web applications which this machine breezes through without issue. I am also confident that the current spec will last beyond several revisions of the software we are using and that it has the expandibility to cope with extras when needed. Build quality is also excellent throughout.
Pros:graphics/design
+35points
43of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nivla
(Jacksonville, Fl)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great performance running Window Server 2008 R2

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had this system for just over 6 months and it's a great performing system. I have the 3470 video card installed and output to a Dell 2408wfp LCD. The system runs Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 very well (use the Windows 7 x64 drivers). I also use VMware Workstation to run multiple virtual machines and performance of R2 remains great. My system is configured with a Dual Core 3.33, 8GB RAM and 2 1TB drives.
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZENthusiast
(Arlington Heights, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Great Workstation

PostedSeptember 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Optiplex960 minitower configuration that I purchased at the beginning of September has fully satisfied my expectations. The system has a nice clean and professional appearance, and most critically, performance is outstanding. Also, as it relates to past reported power supply noise issues, the system is very quiet.
The system was configured for speed with an Intel quad-core 3ghz processor, 4gb ram, and dual 500gb drives. As client software compatibility matters fade, I expect to migrate from 32bit-XP to a 64bit environment to address larger memory spaces and yield greater throughput.
The Radeon3470 display adaptor specified as part of the configuration provides dual-DisplayPort connections for two P2210 monitors that I purchased for this purpose. The system shipped with DP-DVI adaptor cables, so I had to purchase DP cables separately to be able to implement and test this functionality. I now understand that the full capabilities of the DisplayPort technology have not yet been implemented. This may change by mid-year 2010. While the graphic resolution and performance appears to be implemented, many other capabilities are not. The single DisplayPort cable should be able to transmit video, audio, and even usb signal to a compatible disply device, simplifying the interconnections and eliminating cable clutter. Alas, such features remain for the future. Regardless of the display cabling matter, the image quality and functionality of the video adaptor and monitor subsystem is excellent.
Overall the Optiplex960 is an excellent work station and is a pleasure to use. There is no lag-time in loading and processing the database objectives, application derivatives, or the underlying application development environment to which the system is subjected daily. All other applications multitask without any noticable drag on system resources.
While there might be more powerful systems availaible, such as that found in the Dell Precision product line, I expect that this system will meet and exceed the needs of most applications used in business, engineering, and scientific environments. I fully recommend this system to those seeking a powerful professional quality workstation for their business.
Pros:software development, general office applications, technical report drawings
+22points
31of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveMcc
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Don't get integrated video

PostedJune 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had lots of trouble with the Intel Q45 integrated video's Displayport output. It would sometimes choose random resolutions or show "No Signal" when the computer woke from sleep mode. I tried the latest drivers from Intel (15.13.1.64.1688 (7.15.10.1688)), which are much more up-to-date than the Dell-provided drivers. The new drivers seemed to make the resolution more reliable, but I would still get "No Signal" sometimes. Note that I'm trying to drive a HP LP2475w display; if you have a Dell display, it might work for you (but I wouldn't count on it).
Eventually I gave up and bought an NVIDIA Quadro NVS 295 low-profile add-in card. It's passively cooled and consumes only 23 Watts of power, so the system still runs quiet. The Displayport video signal is also much more reliable than with the Intel Q45.
Other than the video problem, I'm pleased with the machine. I have the small form factor (SFF) model with the Quietkit and 90%-efficient power supply. I'm pleased with how quietly it runs, although I wouldn't call it "silent".
Pros:programming
+22points
25of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Brian09
Title:

Amazing

PostedJune 8, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I’m not sure what version or build the users got with the loud power supply, but my minitower is VERY quiet. I have to try and hear it run. I love this box. It's fast quiet and the mini tower is a true mini and fits well in any area. I can’t wait for windows 7 so I can use the 8 gigs of ram for my photography work. The 960 is highly recommended.
Pros:photography
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Metzge
Title:

Solid Workstation

PostedFebruary 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had no problems with noise. If anything I can barely hear the machine. Bought the mini-tower with the high efficiency power supply.
Pros:Excellent workstation, plenty of RAM capacity, can mirror drives with RAID, and overall many features.
Cons:Watch out for the display port depending on the video card you get. Looks very close to HDMI, but it's not. Confusing for the novice.
+24points
29of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrianCr
(Cedar Rapids, IA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Optiplex 960

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bit on the noisey side with loud fans
Pros:Very powerful, supports 8GB ram
Cons:Build quality seems lacking from masking tape inside to sharp corners on the case. The new base mouse weighs in at a very light 4 oz's to light for an accurate mouse.
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Parry
(Whistler, BC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great System except one component.

PostedJanuary 12, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'll mention the worst part about this system first, so you don't have to read any further. The power supply is the noisiest I've come across!! Do not purchase this system without being ready to purchase an after market power supply. I started it up and at first it was quiet. Then after about 5 minutes running the power supply fan kicked in and roared like a hungry lion never to stop. This fan is louder than any system from Dell I've ever purchased! And I've purchased about 40+ in the past 2 years for clients of mine throughout Whistler, BC. I don't know what Dell is thinking as this is their NEW flagship Optiplex. Why would they chince out on the power supply. I purchased a Zalman and installed it. Unfortunately I had to do a bit of moding in order to get it in correctly, but alas I did and it's now an amazing system. Very quiet and super powerful. For all future business purchases I will continue down the Optiplex 755 path confident in the fact that my clients won't be complaining about the noise levels of the system. Thankfully this system was for myself and I don't have to return it for a client due to the noise.
Pros:Solid and reliable business class product. Lots of options during build. New BIOS is great, especially with mousing capability. Warranty. Guaranteed product life cycle. Support.
Cons:VERY noisy power supply!!
+139points
151of 163voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for OptiPlex 960
Overall Rating 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product