Customer reviews for OptiPlex 755

OptiPlex 755

OptiPlex 755
4.408 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 214 reviews
5 Stars
111
4 Stars
76
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
4.4
 / 
5
(214 reviews) 180
37 out of 3995%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 755
Review 1 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:amaduios
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell Optiplex 7555 - not installing windows server

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hi i found it good , but why can't install windows xp -windows server 2003 - windows server 2008 any linux.
thought it bios configuration so i edit it and close all sata but dvd and hard disk it's loading but stop installing evry time , so i removed hard disk and install the os when i attach it again bios can't see it so i edit it again now can see it but never log in an keep restarting Can only install Windows seven , Please need help with this .
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:asedd
(york)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Computer

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great value pc. I saw mine on a review site and got 6gb of ram, win8 and a I5 processor for around £400.00 - great value. The graphics card isn't for gamers but as an all round pc this is great and ultra quick and reliable compared to the Compaq I had before
Pros:home, fun, entertainment, family, business
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ericlaiys
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedJune 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good product which work fine in virtualization purpose.Tested on Hyper V and work wonderful with several virtual machines.
Pros:virtualization
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:H2Technologies
(Naples, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedApril 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
-13points
4of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Madmunki
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great workstation, Great Gamer!

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I love these computers! So such that I have five! I bought the USFF for the wife, 3 SFFs for my work (configured as servers) and 1 Mini Tower for my home gamer/workstation. The SFFs make excellent workstation/servers as they are very small and compact and stack well. The Mini Tower can be made into a decent gaming rig as well. My Mini Tower has a Quad-Core (Q6600) CPU, 8GB ram, and a 9800GT 1GB ram video card stuffed in it!
Cons:The only flaw in the OptiPlex is, BTX motherboards should have the PCIe x16 in slot two instead of slot one. This change would allow the use of double wide video cards. So the best video card you can use is a single wide 9800GT or 8800GT. I wish I could of put my 8800GTX in the Mini Tower...
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Data356
(UTAH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice bang for the buck!

PostedMarch 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Machine has been flawless from the start. Not sure why there are complaints about the feeble power supply. Read the specs before buying! This is not supposed to be a powerhouse, rather a nice quiet stable box. Mine came with the ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro, 2 hard drives, DVD burner, DVD reader, 4gig memory and two 24" panels. No power problems even when I have added on all my perifs. DVD burner has worked great, same with the DVD ROM.
Pros:Very very quiet because of the BTX form factor. Quad core is nice for running multiple apps at the same time. Video is beautiful with the 24" panels.
Cons:none
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Lima, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Underpowered Desktop

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Actually, if it weren't for amount of trouble we have had with the video card problems, I would recommend this desktop. I made BSoD my desktop wallpaper because I became so used to seeing it in the morning.
Pros:Reasonable cost Good processing power Can be a standard desktop
Cons:Underpowered power supply can only support underpowered video cards
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:woza
Title:

the best

PostedJanuary 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:quick,looks,connectivity
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JGAN
(Pittsford, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Support

PostedJanuary 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this for CAD software and school, but this did more than I thought! Support was good, but they should have the optical drive driver on the website. Was extremely fast and big, dual booting XP and Vista right now!
Pros:Great design, case easy to open, easy to upgrade. Runs better than I thought
Cons:DVD RW driver keeps on disappearing, had to reinstall system, contacted support twice, finally fixed it, driver not on support site. Does not include parallel port, no manual included.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yugwen
(Tigard, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Better than expected and I use one at work!

PostedJuly 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I custom built my last personal PC and I was going to do the same until I priced out the parts and found the 755 was at LEAST $300 less. I have a 3year with 3year accidental damage so I am all set! I have a number of these in the field now and there have been no issues with any of them. This is WAY more bang for your buck than most other Dell desktops in my opinion. They look and feel like the quality product they are.
Pros:I use a 755 at work and have had only one crash/blue screen due to some USB error. Not bad for being used heavily 9+hours a day. I also purchased one for my home with the 3.16GHz Core2Duo. The odd thing about my home computer is that it boots almost 50% faster than my 2.33GHz C2D at work! It is whisper quiet just like my one at work though.
Cons:The 2400 Pro single DVI and 2400 XT Dual VGA look identical! I thought I was sent the wrong card. That was not fun. The 2400XT uses a "Y" cord dongle that is required even if you are only using one VGA monitor. The DVDRW drive is MUCH slower when reading CDs for program install than my old P4 custom build the 755 is replacing. Power Supply is pretty feeble.
+102points
116of 130voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snowball
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Optiplex 755 MiniTower

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I received it two days ahead of time!! (Thanks Dell). Within 15 minutes of receiving it, it was up and running. I bought this unit to run Photoshop primarily, and so far it has totally met my expectations.
Cons:None so far...really.
+22points
27of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThePCWorkshop
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Get it - XP 64 runs perfectly on this machine!

PostedJune 25, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
While the Intel Trusted Platform Driver is available for XP 32 and 64, there is no Trusted Platform Application software available for XP-64 bit edition that I am aware of (at least as of this writing).
Pros:This is a rock solid and very fast machine! Even Better -with a little bit of digging, you can find ALL hardware drivers for Windows XP 64-bit edition for this Dell 755! Look either on Dell's site (search for Optiplex Dell 745) and on Intel's site for what you need. The RAID drivers and Intel Trusted Platform drivers are all available. Make sure you have correct MS licensing available. This machine runs VERY QUICKLY when running XP-64 bit edition, and will easily outperform XP-32 running in this mode. It runs VMWare (free Version) VM's very quickly on XP-64 too. You will not be sorry with the quad CPU's either. It's a Virtual Machine Demon. Ghost also works perfectly with the RAID too, so you can back up the drives and change them from stripe to mirror RAID (or vice versa) and then re-ghost the image.
Cons:Please note that Dell ships this unit with the Vista and/or XP Downgrade option. The Windows XP as it is shipped from Dell is Windows XP (32-bit) edition only and Dell does not ship this nor support XP 64-bit edition.
+49points
53of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ctyggerpooh
(Fresno, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Optiplex 755

PostedJune 11, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Highly recommend for business use.
Pros:These are awesome machines, we have 4 of them and we are purchasing 4 more. We purchased 14 of 745's before that. Runs triple monitors likes dream. We have been running Vista since last summer and everything is cool.
Cons:Machines have been troublefree.
+33points
44of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Blahlll
(Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Gx620

PostedMay 10, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very nice system for the money
Pros:I have the Gx620 of this model it is fast reliable and stylish
Cons:None so far More onboard Graphics
+4points
20of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:grantcapitalcity
(Columbia S.C.)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

just what I needed

PostedApril 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:this computer was bought to replace a computer in my dispatch office. It is working great the speed and graphics are great.it is networked into the rest of my system and functions very well with our dispatching software. The best feature is that I was able to get windows xp for the operating system
Cons:so far I have not found any
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PhilharmonicFan
(Sag Harbor, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good quiet value

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Good all around machine and pleasantly quiet under my desk. Used for CAD, numeric computations and general office programs, it's fast and reliable.
Cons:The CD and separate DVD drives had their drive letters reveresed from top to bootom as mounted in the machine.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Lapeer, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Optiplex 755

PostedApril 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The product is performing as expected, no problems networking.
+24points
30of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Northern VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Quick and inexpensive

PostedApril 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I reasearched a lot of systems before deciding on the Dell 755, my decision was based on price and features.
Pros:Excellent speed for the size of the machine. The case takes up very little space. The ports are easy to get to. Setup was quick and easy. Quite too!
Cons:None
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VersaMan
(Manhattan Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Small and quiet

PostedApril 22, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The ultra small form factor 755 is small as you would expect and very quiet.
Cons:The power supply is offloaded on the ultra small form factor which allows it to be ultra small. However, that bulky power supply has to go somewhere, it is built into the power cord. This is not a real con, just more of an observation.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for OptiPlex 755
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lemipr
(Warrenton, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Straight Forward and Simple

PostedApril 20, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Everything arrived fast. Directions are simple and easy to follow. Small footprint of the Optiplex 755 is great. Why buy a full size desktop? Availability of Windows XP drew me to the Optiplex line; Vista just is not ready for prime time. This is my third Dell computer. Happy each time.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
1 2