Customer reviews for OptiPlex 740

OptiPlex 740

OptiPlex 740
4.261 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
4.3
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 35
19 out of 2383%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 740
Review 1 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedWithSpeed
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good basic workhorse

PostedMay 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good basic workhorse. I use it for everything with a dual screen setup. It runs XP, Vista, 7 and Ubuntu.
Very easy to work on due to tooless design.
Dell support is as always excellent.
Its not a gamers PC mind you and looks it.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Gaming, Music & Movies, School, Finances, Presentation
+9points
18of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cyberpyr8
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Minitower Optiplex 740

PostedMay 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
We now have about 30 of these boxes deployed with Windows XP and Vista. Most of our systems are on XP with 2GB of RAM installed. the 64 bit processors and dual video cards have been great performers and overall we have had no issues with these PC's. I would prefer a PS2 keyboard port but there are plenty of USB ports to accommodate us. They are a great computer for a low price desktop.
We image ours with XP new out of the box for almost all of our PC's. The few PC's we have running Vista also run well. I am now running Windows 7 on my desktop and it installed quickly and easily.
Pros:Finances, desktop pc's
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:optiplexsux787
Title:

Junky Computer!

PostedFebruary 14, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
My school has Optiplex whatever but either way, they're downright unreliable. My school has Core 2 Duo, Pentium, and Celeron processors for these desktops and boy are they slow! When they first got them a few months back, they were DECENTLY fast. By that, I mean they were pretty slow. But now, don't even bother! It looks like a refurbished discontinued junky desktop that is just unattractive. Waste your money on a Mac or Vostro! NEVER EVER this!
Pros:Great for crashing, unreliability, and slowness. Also, it doesn't have a built-in car engine!
Cons:Everything
-166points
28of 222voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrRTheBoss
Title:

Simple & Quick

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This machine installed on the network with ease and we have had no issues with it at all. It is as quiet as a wisper and runs cool.
Cons:None
+9points
20of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:slenpree
(Milton Keynes, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000
Memory:2 GB (2X1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 800MHz SDRAM
Hard Drive:80GB SATA 10K RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:16x DVD+/-RW with Dual Layer Write Capabilties ROM
Title:

Eco-Friendly without Performance Sacrifice

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:- The 740 Small Form Factor uses standard computer components internally - no laptop components, except the tiny power supply. - The efficient design/layout makes this perfect as a 2nd/non-gaming computer. - We have 1000+ at work and I purchased one for home - never had a problem with them. - With the 10K RPM raptor and 2GB RAM, this is a very fast desktop for it's low noise, small size and low carbon-footprint. - Dual DVI is useful for the software developer.
Cons:- The 10K RPM raptor gets a bit hot. - Just a simple PC so not suitable for upgrade enthusiasts. - On latest BIOS, POST can be a bit slow if you have an external hard drive connected. - Power supply does not appear to fluctuate voltage or current on near full load and I have not had a problem yet, but it looks VERY feeble.
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LanceD
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600
Memory:2 GB (4x512MB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Monitor:Dell 17 in Ultrasharp 1708FP Flat Panel
Hard Drive:80GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:16x DVD ROM
Title:

Optiplex 740 Good PC

PostedJuly 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Fast Machine that is easy to configure with a Standard Office Image. Great Price Reliable
Cons:We had issues with the PC's Freezing with the last batch of 20 pc's we had ordered. About 8 of the PC's had this problem. We found out that the onboard NIC cards seemed to be the issue. Replaced with a secondary NIC card and we havent had any issues since.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DENIT
(Denver, Co)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000
Memory:2 GB (2x1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Hard Drive:250GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:16x DVD+/-RW with Dual Layer Write Capabilties ROM
Title:

Could have been worse, but not by much

PostedJuly 18, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the price, its fine out of the box. Because it is difficult to upgrade I would go another route if you are looking at this for gaming. Any mid to high level video cards will require more power than Dell provides on their power supplies. Make sure you measure before purchasing the new item.
Cons:Power supply underpowered for upgrades of Video card. Have to Rig the upgraded power supply because of dell design.
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KEVINPC
(SAN JOSE, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600
Memory:2 GB (2x1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Monitor:Dell 19 in Ultrasharp Flat Panel
Hard Drive:250GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:48x/32x/48x/16x Max CD-RW/DVD Combo Drive
Title:

THE BEST COMPUTER I HAVE EVER BOUGHT

PostedJune 27, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:1. FAST, VERY FAST. HARD TO GET OUTDATED UNLIKE INTEL PC'S 2. BEST VALUE 3. I STUCK WITH WINDOWS XP 4. NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE PC'S OTHER THAN SOFTWARE ISSUES.
Cons:NONE
+5points
13of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Texas2
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600
Memory:2 GB (2X1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 800MHz SDRAM
Hard Drive:80GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:48x/32x/48x/16x Max CD-RW/DVD Combo Drive
Title:

Best So Far

PostedJune 2, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
In the eight years I've been with the school district, these were the easiest PCs to deploy (we have a 20% unit replacement rotation). We opted for XP rather than Vista and have no regrets. The computerss are fast and thus far (6 months after deployment began) have been very reliable. Neither staff nor students have logged any complaints or issues.
Pros:Dual-Core, 64bit CPU with lots of memory and the big ATI video card make the 740 a good choice for everything from basic productivity to video editing. I'm very pleased with this model.
Cons:We've installed 100+ units since January with no failures or issues.
+33points
36of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Avon, CT)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000
Memory:2 GB (2x1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Monitor:Dell 20 in Ultrasharp Wide Flat Panel
Hard Drive:160GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:16x DVD+/-RW with Dual Layer Write Capabilties ROM
Title:

Freezes for no apparent reason.

PostedMay 29, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:I've had this system for nearly a year and up until now it has been an excellent performer.
Cons:After 10 months, the system now freezes for no apparent reason. There are no corresponding error messages, events in the event log, or any coincident action taken.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price-Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ImpressedNOT
(Guelph, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Freezes up like Iceland

PostedMay 8, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Small form factor
Cons:These systems with the AMD processor, Win Xp Sp2, and Office 2007 is nothing but a headache. System continually freezes for no reasons. This has been happening since we took them out of the box. requested an RA.
+35points
37of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kaptainkirk
(Chalmers)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600
Memory:1 GB (2x512) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Monitor:Dell 19 in Ultrasharp Flat Panel
Hard Drive:80GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Title:

Optiplex 740

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Sleak, fast and reliable.
Cons:Smaller PCI slots.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Suse
(S FL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600
Memory:2 GB (2X1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 800MHz SDRAM
Hard Drive:80GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Title:

Good Product

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:small, so far reliable, had no issues setting it up. I like that it is custom made to exactly what I needed. Fast delivery.
Cons:I chose XP as my operating system, I should not have had to pay extra for an older operating system.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:partyjon
(Bellevue, KY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600
Memory:2 GB (2x1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Hard Drive:160GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:48x/32x/48x/16x Max CD-RW/DVD Combo Drive
Title:

Optiplex 740

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:We have an extensive network of around 30 PCs and we exclusively use Dell. This model represents an upgrade over our last purchase. I bought them with the 2nd fastest available processor. A couple of them will be used to work on our website, so I wanted good capabilities with the units. I bought them with Windows XP to keep it consistent with the rest of our network. They set up easily and the users are finding them to be very fast.
Cons:None so far.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobertJ
(Houston Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600
Memory:2 GB (4x512MB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Monitor:Dell 19 in Ultrasharp Flat Panel
Hard Drive:250GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:16x DVD+/-RW with Dual Layer Write Capabilties ROM
Title:

Happy with our purchase

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Not a big fan of Windows Vista so we got them with XP...
Pros:Very happy with Dell's in general. Purchased two Optiplex mini-towers and have had in service for about two weeks now. Big difference in performance over our old Opti-plex GX520 units. We do quite a bit of CAD work and also have multiple programs operating simultaneously and definitely would suggest a bunch of RAM and a fast dual or quad core processor... Placed the order on Friday and they arrived the following Thursday in Houston. Very pleased with the service.
Cons:Nothing as of yet...
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marcello
(Tampa, fl)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200
Memory:2 GB (2x1GB) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Hard Drive:80GB SATA 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Optical Drive:16x DVD ROM
Title:

Always order from dell!

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
n/a
Pros:I day trade in the stock market and needed a computer that could handle a lot of information at one time, including 3 19' monitors. Computer never skips a beat and arrived in 2 days (that includes a holiday) wouldn't order a computer from anyone else
Cons:n/a
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SetinaMfg
(Olympia, wa)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600
Memory:1 GB (2x512) NECC Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz SDRAM
Title:

Excellent choice for Office use

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
We purchased one 740 small form factor to try it out, I have since replaced all the PCs in the office with this model. They are very fast, reliable, and above all take very very little space and the entire office staff loves them.
Pros:Fast, Reliable, Easy to maintain
Cons:None
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:graphicsdon
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMd Athlon 64 X2
Memory:2GB DDR2
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

opiflex 740

PostedSeptember 12, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish it had both floppy drive & memory card reader
I rated reliability as 3 stars only because the system hung during bootup twice a few weeks ago.
It is working perfectly now and I have not changed any thing.
"it's a computer OH WELL"
Pros:very fast it can do my 3D cad rendrings into solid objects faster than I tought was possible. case appears to have very good air flow to keep thing cool
Cons:I prefer ps2 mouse & keyboard for my application, I am using a kvm switch with multiple computers.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TTNI
(AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMd Athlon 64 X2
Memory:2GB DDR2
Monitor:Dell 19" Flat Panel
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Good Middle Road

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased for Basic user definitley fit the bill.
Pros:Easily Configurable nice mid range worker
Cons:None yet
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for OptiPlex 740
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Madison
(Madison, Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMd Athlon 64 X2
Memory:1GB DDR2
Title:

Opti 740

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The orediering process was simple, I received my shipment in just a few days and it could not have been easier to set up. I love the small case and abundant ports. The processor is really fast, so I don't spend time waiting for things to happen. I could not be happier with it.
Cons:Can't think of any.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2