Customer reviews for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)

OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)

OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
3.943 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
3.9
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 83
18 out of 2767%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Review 1 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lbcgreen
(Eugene Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

replacing the old

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far, everything is great. This Optiplex replaced a Dell Precision from 2005. We love the small form factor and are hoping for a similar long life.
Pros:office work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobsta
(Sydney AU)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Oops!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great price, good delivery time. Set it up, loaded all my software OK, that night the video board died. Small business cannot afford downtime caused by Dell's poor QA, we actually expect it to work right out of the box, and keep on working.
Pros:office
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChuckInLa
(Louisiana)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Stay away from the Ultra Small Form Factor

PostedOctober 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Normally we resell the mini towers, but I recently changed to selling the Ultra Small Form Factors. This is a terrible mistake and I warn to stay away from this model. I have had to replace over 50% of them for either dead mother boards or dead power supplies within the first 2-3 months.
This has been pretty consistent over the past year and a half to 2 years. It doesn't appear that Dell has made any changes, as the newest delivered sets have as many replacements as those 2 years back. If you buy this, upgrade the warranty, but be prepared, Dell will make a service call to replace it.
It is by far the worst piece of equipment I've ever purchased from Dell and Im severely disappointed in its performance. I will no longer resell the USFF.
Pros:business apps
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robinofloxley
Title:

Dissapoined to say the least...if not less

PostedAugust 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use this computer in my at home business. I have always used Dell Computers without a problem. This Optiplex 390 has been a real disappointment. I thought if I bought a business computer I would be better off than using a personal computer like my Inspiron. The Inspiron runs circles around this piece of junk. It is slow & just does crazy things. I will never buy another one.
Pros:business
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:konanick
Title:

Optiplex 390 - Update RealTek NIC drivers

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good all around machine.
I want to share that I had issues when users in my organization use our ERP system, it seemed like the video refresh rate went through the floor.
The actual problem was with the Realtek NIC, other peoples posts led me to update the Realtek driver and also set the advanced setting on the card; 'Interupt moderation' to disabled.
This resolved my issue.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tenntech
Title:

good basic machine

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
started using 390s as a replacement for the 790s
bios a01 was a big problem with add-in video cards
to fix you need to install a02 then a05. lack of serial and parallel ports hasn't been a huge issue. we have rolled out 200 machines and have had mobo and power supply issues but not many. worried about the fans ability to deal with dust but all are purchased with 5 year warranty. the 790 has more legacy support built in and a dp port instead of a hdmi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HighlyDisappointed
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Disappointing

PostedApril 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Be very careful and read the fine print. When I ordered from Dell online, I was asked if I wanted dual monitor configuration. When I clicked yes, i picked out the monitors. When the computer arrived, it did not have internal cards for dual monitors, even though Dell shipped me two monitors. I had to pay an extra $150.00 for a new card. Do not waste money on the easy transfer cable either, it is not easy and does not transfer nearly everything you will want
Pros:work
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RG1986
Title:

Optiplex 390 - Good So Far

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
First impressions; the build quality seems to be good, the full metal housing is a nice touch however the cheap plastic front lets it down a bit. I can confirm similar complaints that the rear USB ports are slightly loose and the disk drive seems a bit inferior. In my opinion you would expect better build quality than this from a PC that was designed for commercial use.
On a positive note, it runs almost silently and is very quick with the core i5 processor - which is pretty much the two vital aspects you look for in a desktop, I can't praise it more on these two points!
Furthermore, on start up it sounds like a sports car, giving a single engine rev - some may find this pleasing, other irritation, I'm not bothered. Hope this help potential buyers. 9/10.
Pros:home use
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Elk Grove, CA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Love the optiplex

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've always purchased Dell for my family and the OptiPlex continues in our satisfaction with Dell. This machine performs better than my expectations
Pros:music, video, web browsing
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarW
(Fort Smith, AR)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Awesome upgrade!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have had nothing but great experiences with the Optiplex 390, a 380 last year and the recently retired Dimension 2350 which is old and slow but has given excellent (trouble-free)service for nine years!
Had a great Dell purchase experience with the new Optiplex 390. The first one arrived with a software glitch. Support shipped a new machine immediately and we were up and running with no delay. NEVER had this kind of service with any other company!
Pros:real estate brokerage and appraisal
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:terance99
Title:

Amazing, compact gaming PC

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Alienware X51 is my first gaming PC, and technically, my first PC. It is such a fast computer, and runs all of my games at high-ultra settings with a high, smooth framerate. It was all I could ever have imagined for my first gaming PC. Overall, it is a great buy for the price, and the performance. Yes, it's not their old Area 51, but it's great for casual gamers, like me. I had heard all the problems people had had with this computer, but none of those had happened to me.
Pros:Gaming, streaming video, entertainment
-13points
2of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MikeOptiplex390
(Camarillo)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Works Great!!

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought a Optiplex 390 desktop and works great for the great price. Recommend buying desktops from Dell.
Pros:software
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:InformationMan
(Minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Like it alot

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using it at work for about a month and have no complains. I was happy to see the imaging feature included in the package. If you are going to use 2 monitors they shouldn't be VGA but newer as it will only allow 1 VGA monitor if you use the intenal display adapter.
Pros:software development, it issues
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mumtothree
(Boston)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Title:

Solid but a little quirky

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very well built, adequate power for our use (home). We bought it because we want it to last and don't want it to fall apart if we have to open it. BUT - there's a known BIOS problem, such that it would not power up. We got a workaround, but I'm not sure that has fixed it, or perhaps that "broke" something else. Would not boot last time I tried. Would turn on, so the power-up problem is resolved at least. Going to have to start another support chat with Dell...but have not had the time at home. Seems like brand new ought to work right out of the box.
Pros:general home use, home office management, photos and video, internet
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nsunIT
(Tempe, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

best for the price

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Working in business environment setup a desktop PC or replace it is very crucial and DELL makes it easier. DELL systems very stable, high scalability and reliable. Always chose DELL for our offices and classroom PCs. I have been working with Optiplex, Dimensions, Vostro and I am happy about it. This Optiplex 390 is great and it does not kill our IT budget, reasonable price for latest technology. I always recommend DELL to partners and users.
Pros:network administrator workstation, business
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vettman1459
Title:

1 good 1 bad

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
First 390 unit worked fine for awhile then power supply and MB failed. called tech support and new parts and installer came out to repair. Unit again worked fine for about a month then power supply and MB failed again. called tech support and new parts ordered again and Unisys rep came and installed and put unit back into service. Service on parts was excellent. Will have to wait and see if the unit fails again. If so I am sending Machine back for refund. no point in keeping this 390 on premise while accountant sits and watches repair. I don't recommend this unit as of now. Have another one in front office. Fist 10 reviews I read where not so good when I made purchase but there where only 10.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eqmark
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Optiplex 390 Bummer

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these machines in December for my office. I opened the first machine, got it networked and running and it went belly up in 4 days of usage. It was making some strange noises when I was getting it loaded with basic software. Today, I went to boot it up and it beeped once and turned off - dead.
I immedietly called Dell and the customer service was lacking. I'm kinda of bummed about the experience, my loss of time and money associated with this machine. I got the other machine online but am reluctant to keep it knowing this particular machine is getting some sketchy reviews and the customer service wasn't so good.
I've bought more than a dozen Dell computers for my small business, this was the least expensive of any of them.
Pros:work/ business
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Andreas6615

PostedDecember 8, 2011
really fast and quiet. Good case too.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Flash1980
Title:

Not what they used to be!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tend to agree with the other negative reviews on the new 90 series. They are cheaply constructed, no parallel or serial ports, a couple I have gotten the I/O shield does not line up and needed adjustment just to get the USB devices plugged in. I was really surprised to find out you had to go with a 990 to get any RAID support. The CPU fans in these little guys are cheap. We have ordered several of the 390s and a couple of the 790s and may look at another vendor in the near future. Which is something we have not done in 5 years.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for OptiPlex 390 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Augraves
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Adequate performance with a mediocre design

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have ordered a few of these new 90-series units. All in all I feel like there is little left here to differentiate this system from any cheapo white box. Dell removed the sturdy and quiet oversized heatsink/fan design and replaced it with a typical generic design that always plugs up with dust. All of the ports on the front of the unit now have their own wires that reach to various headers on the motherboard, again very whitebox feeling. Power supply is 265W. Case materials and construction are pretty average. No eSATA, PS/2, Parallel or Serial ports. No network link indicator. And I've really come to hate the blue LEDs that are now on everything from stereos to washing machines to computers, including the new Dells.
Pros:typical office application
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2