Customer reviews for OptiPlex 380

OptiPlex 380

OptiPlex 380
4.452 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
4.5
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 90
19 out of 2095%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for OptiPlex 380
Review 1 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DuncanC
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Optiplex 380

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Machine arrived in a timely manner and appropriately packaged.
Minimal installed software on machine as per corporate expectations.
Physical build quality was acceptable.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:iank19
Title:

Great computer and wicked service from Dell!!!

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this unit for work purposes and not only does the PC work great, but ordering was very easy, and delivery was very very quick. Awesome job keep it up!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mafor
(Gatineau)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

perfect product

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect product as ordered.
Well priced and fast delivery.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CBeaty
Title:

Optiplex 380

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered 3 Optiplex 380 units to replace 5 year old Optiplex's at our office. The units arrived much faster than expected. The performance of these computers has been excellent. Very good experience.
Pros:heavy web browsing for business, networking with in-house system
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:teclady45
Title:

Optiplex 380 "Great Computer"

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compared to the old Optiplex SX 270 the 380 is a rocket.
We purchased four of the Optiplex 380's and I love them. There was one minor problem with the dvd drive in one computer and Dell corrected the problem very fast. Other than that, the Optiplex 380 desktop computer is very reliable. We are very pleased with our purchase and are considering purchasing two more.
You can't go wrong with the Optiplex 380.
Pros:for all work related needs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Prashant Chauhan
Title:

Excellent Computer

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i am working in synovate as a jr it executive and we are using optiplex 380 CPU in our office.it is working fine.i really impressed by that.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ubuntu897User
(Washington)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Also makes a great Ubuntu machine

PostedJune 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought it to replace my aging main box at home. I configured it to dual boot; one partition for Win7, the other for Ubuntu. I use Win7 to watch Netflix because it requires Silverlight & IE. Movie streaming is good even with HD enabled (and I use integrated video). I use Ubuntu for Android development and it works great.
I wish I had doubled the RAM to 2GB because I tend to have multiple apps going when I work.
For those who consider running Linux I recommend Ubuntu distro. I haven't had any driver issue with this machine under Ubuntu. Video, audio, suspend, hibernate all worked and didn't need any "tweaking". System is very stable in either OS.
Optiplex 380, Intel Core2Duo E7500, 1GBRAM, 250GB Hard disk, Integrated video, Dual boot to Win7 and Ubuntu 10.04
Pros:software development, netflix
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CESNJ
(Northern NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Value for Entry Level Business Applications

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased 5 of these in various configurations. Great Price considering the 3yr warranty & Windows 7 Professional.
Pros
Windows 7 Pro
3 year warranty
4 G RAM
Cons
Older Intel CPU Technology but its more than fast enough for basic business applications.
Pros:business applications
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wwwmicrohoundcom
(Monroe, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Proven reliability in a Desktop.

PostedApril 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machines are some of the best workstations made. Dell has be producing the Optiplex for many years now. Pretty much every Fortune 500 company has them in service today. Our company actually uses one of these for a File Server and a Point of Sale machine. We recommend these for all business clients. Dell engineers these so well, they come with 3 year warranties standard. Our latest machine came with 4GB of RAM with a 2.93 Core 2 Duo processor and a 320GB 7200RPM hard drive. This machine runs very fast. Has plenty of speed and generous space for programs. My favorite thing about this machine is how quiet it is and the tech support is higher for this class of machine. So if you do have a problem, it will be resolved very quickly.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:awc
Title:

Fine machine, excellent vaue

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you want a computer that is low in cost and runs like a fine sports car but without all the
advertising this is . Go get it excellent and zoom zoom
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ibannieb
Title:

OptiPlex 380

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was really easy to find the right system and the delivery timing exceeded our expectations.
Windows 7 64bit, 4Gb's of RAM, sweet machine! Thank you Dell.
Pros:business work horse
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kathirvel
(Chennai)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Better but not the best

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall the product is better but not the best.
They have given option to update upto 4GB RAM but they didnt give option to upgrade to 64bit Windows 7 OS. Without 64 bit OS what is the usage of 4 GB RAM. For development environment 32 bit OS is not enough to utilize the entire feature of the product. Otherwise it is a better product.
Pros:software development
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GaryUKY
Title:

Great Computer

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 21 of these computers for work. They are very nice machines and a good value too. With Windows 7 and 4GB RAM, our users loved these machines.
Pros:work / business
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:montanatr
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent product

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Delivered ahead of anticpated date, set up simple and performance excellent.
Pros:small business
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sisters
Title:

Very Happy

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We are very pleased with our purchase and also the support we received before and after installation. A good buy for anyone.
Pros:personal use, work - grant writing
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dleslie
(Hillsboro, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great computers

PostedMay 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Being the purchaser for a company, I am constantly getting phone calls "we can save you money". However, with the repution Dell has built and the reliability and customization when ordering I never consider any other source for PC's.
+16points
33of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EdfromNJ
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Alternative to Vista or Win 7

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchase this PC because I was able to customize most items(not all) I was able to add a 2nd HD and pick my own memory etc and I was able to order w/o a monitor. Ordered with PC Mover and Win XP Pro. Transferred all data from old Dimension 8400. All went well. Very happy with results.
Pros:home use
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pvmsys
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

OptiPlex 380 working well

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the OptiPlex 380 about 5-weeks ago as a replacement for a 7-year old Dell Dimension 2350. I had been using the old Dell non-stop for 7-years so I figured that the quality was good enough to order another Dell.
The OptiPlex arrived promptly and there was no shipping damage. I purposely requested the XP Operating System as I have other computers that are running XP and have not upgraded to a new OS.
The Dell arrived as requested. Set-up was quick and within a day or so, all files had been transferred (from the old computer) and software loaded.
Two things that I noticed immediatly was that boot-up on the Dell was FAST.......within 20-seconds it is up and running and I can launch software.
The second thing that was observed (compared to the old Dimension) was that the new Dell was very quiet. There is a fan but I can barely hear it running. Good work Dell on that one.
I would recommend the OptiPlex 380 to anyone that needs a general purpose tower-type computer that is robust, quiet and fast.
Thanks for reading,
pvmsys
Pros:business
+96points
101of 106voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WILLIAMTAHMASIAN
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

OptiPlex 380

PostedApril 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Best choice.
+1point
22of 43voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (88) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for OptiPlex 380
Overall Rating 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product