Customer reviews for Mobile Venue

Mobile Venue

Mobile Venue
4.155 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
4.2
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 57
45 out of 5878%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Mobile Venue
Review 1 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeremyAndroid
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

No regrets since migrating away from my iPhone

PostedMay 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been a iPhone user since they came out and have been thru 3 generations. I've been waiting to migrate to Android for a while now, but been a bit nervous to pull the trigger. I must say that since purchasing the Dell Venue it's been a very easy transition. The phone is SO much faster than my previous iPhone. Screen is bright and looks great. Also the extra .6 inches make a huge difference. The phone has been very reliable with no freezes and I've yet to drop any calls either. Something that was plaguing my previous phone. My only complaint so far has been the lack of a spellchecker when texting but hopefully that functionality will come out in future releases of Android.
+51points
57of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vatsal
Title:

Don't buy it at all

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mobile is full of bugs.
At first they created drama about MANGO UPDATE and then now only TMO customers getting update.
Then why are u selling unlocked phone ?
And dell customer representative don't give response at all.
They don't know anything about this phone.
My phone's keypad is not working..
Now when i went to Dell service they told me to pay for replacement in-spite of phone is in warranty. It is useless to deal with them.
I will never ever buy dell phone again..And i also tell "NO" to new buyer ..don buy this phone at all..
Pros:personal, business
+33points
37of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shekar
(Bangalore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Venue Update to 2.3.3

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Please have the venue updated to 2.3.3 as soon as possible. Good phone can become bad if it is not updated.
Pros:Travel, internet
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sunney
(Noida , India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Android 2.2 at its best

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros :
I liked thie big screen and the multitouch. Dell stage is for a change good (liked it more then the launch pro in Xperia X10). Apps should not be problem with android market. Its light weight and amoled screen helps in its cool looks.512MB RAM really helps when running multiple applications (some apps couldn't run on Xperia X10 but worked well on Dell Venue).
Cons : Since the phone is still not rooted so for the time being, you can't remove of the apps that comes build in with the packahe. Also the ROM for the Android 2.2 is not still out so rooting the mobile without ROM would lead to no warrenty on the product.Also Camera needs another software. Current apps is not upto the mark.
Over all i suggest it a must buy among other Android phones avalaible in market.
Pros:software development, applications, web surfing
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cynthiana
(Evansville, Indiana)
Title:

I regret buying this phone!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This phone drops calls multiple times during a single conversation. My friends and family have grown to expect multiple drops and it has become quite a joke just to attempt conversation with this worthless item.
I am unable to conduct business using this phone due to unpredictability so it renders the phone useless...
I wish someone would have honestly reviewed this phone before I purchased it - ugh...
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rahul Sharma
Title:

No Front Facing Camera

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Though I would recommend this phone to all those who need a smartphone but if a phone with such specs does not have a front facing camera then I would call a lack on forward thinking of designers. Very soon there will be services which offer video calling and then the front facing camera will be missed.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Panda
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good at first, not so good later

PostedMarch 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This phone was good at first. Fast and reliable.
But then when you start adding all the apps the phone becomes very slow and sometimes stalls. Even when creating text messages you sometimes have to wait until it responds.
Pros:
-User friendly
Cons:
-Battery Life is a big issue. Im charging the phone everyday. Even when I dont make calls or play games. When I do play games for only 30mins then I might charge it 2 times a day.
-The lag when creating text messages.
-Camera isn't as good as they say it is. Not as sharp as some other phones i've had.
-Can't remove the built in apps. you can only undo the updates to them.
So I most likely wouldn't recommend this phone as it currently is.
Pros:Travel, games, calls, emails
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dschroeder
(Omaha, NE)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good but Flawed

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good:
-Screen is fantastic
-Fast and responsive
-Reasonable battery life
The bad:
-Stage widgets are practically useless
The ugly:
-Ringer switch broke off within less than a week
-For some reason the phone automatically goes to speaker when I swipe to answer an incoming call
-Dialer application frequently crashes during phone calls
+15points
21of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LLDellVenue
Title:

Dell Venue Android

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
I think that the Dell Venue Android is one of the nicest looking smartphones on the market. A dedicated camera button, AND a dedicated mute switch are TWO great features that really set it apart from almost all other smart phones. Mini-SD card is removable with the phone on. Kudos. Dell Stage, though not the very best Android interface, is still quite practical and useful. I came back to it after trying some other marketplace options. I also like the speaker location and the volume that can be achieved. Although it will distort at max volume, it is still useful at times. Battery charges amazingly fast. Battery life also goes down amazingly fast, like most smartphones.
Cons: 512 ROM memory is just a bit small. Runs a bit slow compared to the newest generation phones. Back cover camera window gets easily scratched, needing replacement.
Swype version needs to be updated. Has an annoying correction window that keeps on popping up.
Pros:phone, in pocket handy camera, email web access, tether for computer
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joselms
(San Diego, CA)
Title:

Highly Recommended with reservations

PostedApril 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like this phone very much. I recommend it only if you can live with the following:
Screen - could be the worst smartphone to be held in broad daylight. Not only does the curvy AMOLED display is tough to view when out in the streets (not even in direct sunlight), but it creates a "mirror" effect. Have you had one of those mirror screen protector? Then this is what the screen looks like at a certain angle outside.
Speaker - I now realized that my iPhone 4's speaker is the best there is. The speaker quality is not at par with the iPhone 4's (my benchmark). I wished that Dell would have configured the volume control to be application-specific such that when you turn it down in YouTube app, the Call volume or Headphone volume is not affected, just as Apple had it implemented on the iPhone and iPod/iPad. Instead, the Dell Venue's volume control is a "global" control which you toggle every now and then on each app that needs volume adjustment because by turning it up on Call Speaker, it is also set that way when listening to music.
Battery Life - Used up 20% of the juice overnight with it idle.
I can't say anything about the camera because, no matter how may gigapixels Dell, Sony, Apple, HTC, or Nokia put on their smartphone, you still can't beat the quality of full-time camera. Give yourself a break, the Olympus Digital PEN. E-P1 with 17mm f2.8 is now a steal at $400 on Amazon. Do not ever judge a smartphone on camera alone as you would still need a full-time camera. Would you prefer your precious moments taken by phone or a regular camera? built-in camera are useful only for chatting and scanning and so a phone's camera for me is not a deal-breaker.
Having the iPhone 4, I am liking the Dell Venue every day except for the two quibbles metioned. I like the Dell Stage UI where you can group your apps. I wish that Dell would have allowed you to rename the Stages.
The screen is stunning for me. Close to Retina Display. 4.1 inch is a great screen real estate. Call quality is fine but not something to rage and in fact worsen by the poor quality speaker as I have described.
If you are departing from iOS, Safari is still the King. I don't surf that much so Android's browser is fine with me. I like the "Swype" input on Android though, makes iOS primitive on that aspect.
Pros:call, productivity, apps
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Webmaster
(San Francisco)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

One of the best phones I ever used

PostedApril 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I own all of the Iphones available on the market, including the Iphone4. This Android phone from Dell is very different from the iOS, however, after a day or two of learning how Android interface works, everything is smooth and nice and more impressive than the iphone4. The large screen is very smooth and bright. Battery lasts for about 5-6 hours of active game play. All the android apps run super smooth and easy. After my wife played with my Dell Venue, she doesn't want to play with her iphone 4 anymore! I'm thinking of getting one for her after I sell her iphone 4 on eBay. I admit the price is kinda steep but you get the peace of mind of owning the phone outright and you can quit your phone service anytime without any penalty, which is a rip off charge the blood sucking phone company want to put on you. If you have money, this is the one you should get. Finally, I'm free of that Apple cult that is overpriced and underperformed.
Pros:play games, buy sophisticated apps from android market, watch video, make free phone calls
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:txhokiefan
Title:

Microsoft Exchange Problem

PostedJuly 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this phone b/c it looked like it had great speed, beautiful screen, updated version of android but when I tried to install my work email account it kept coming up with an error message. I googled it and it is apparently a common problem with certain android 2.2 devices. If you are using this for work email from your exchange server, look elsewhere for a smartphone.
Pros:work email
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Manoj Lakshmanan
(Chennai, India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Comparitively Not Okay!!!

PostedMay 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This isn't going to be too techy, but a review from a plain layman.
At the very sight of the phone, the design is amazing, good to feel and hold, great AMOLED screen, pretty bulky. Switch it on, you are greeted with big screen and sharp resolution.
It has been two months since I bought this phone, and so far I am happy with this phone, but comparing it with the other phones, the configuration isn't too good. No front-facing camera, sometimes the interface is sluggish, response time is not too great, perhaps, it is how the case with most android phones, or the phone I have been given by the dealer is a faulty one hehehe!!! :-)
The price might make a few to think twice for a second, I paid close to 30k, but without proper accessories, it is really not worth to go for this phone. The dealer, dell stores do not have any accessory...the only one I am in dire need is, a carrying case. I am being told that it would come today, tomorrow, or sometimes told to try out in the black market by the people from dell's own stores in the city. What is more frustrating is, buying a phone of this much cost, shouldn't Dell take care of these simple issues? Although the dealer says the phone will have the 2.3 upgrade, I don't seem to hear about it at all, or is it a marketing gimmick by Dell and the dealers to get this phone onto the market?
As others pointed out, you gotta stare at the screen in broad daylight, speaker isn't too good, feel the usability needs to be improved, the stage UI is good, but at times, it gets stuck, the keys gets stuck, this gets on to a feeling if we properly pressed the keys or not and have to keep pressing it very often. No complaints about the battery, I have this running for almost one and half days on a single charge, 1 to 2 hours of calls, 1 hour of music, 1 hour of play and 2 hours of browsing.
Too many apps are trial versions, would have been good if there are options to uninstall. What is the point in having them in the phone when it is not being used? Is Dell or the app vendors pushing the customers to purchase the software?
Lastly, a classy phone for those who like it and for the rest ..... ???
Pros:browsing, music streaming, calls, messaging, emails, Gaming
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kladybugs
(CO)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Venue

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
~ GREAT customer service when I have had issues!
~ great screen, great for veiwing photos
~ great camera, no need to carry a camera with you for random shots!
~ easy to use
Cons:
~ since 6/11,I have had battery and storage space issues with this phone and have had to have the phone replaced already and each phone has had to have the battery replaced. As it seems like if you run the battery totally down, then the battery needs to be replaced.
~ Can't have many apps loaded at a time or you get a lot of glitches or the low storage warning comes on.
~ Not good reception in some areas, no option to turn the 3G off for better reception in those areas.
~ Needs a softwear update that might help all or some of these problems!
~ Quite a few "unexpected close" notices.
I probably won't be likely to buy another Dell phone, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dell for their computers or customer service!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ankit Baid
Title:

It's great value for Money

PostedApril 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Dell Venue about 2 months ago and it is absolutely fantastic for the money I paid for it. The phone is stable, the apps are amazing and the response times are good. Sometimes there are delays if you have a lot of programs running, but if you have an application killer installed, it just works like a charm. It is one of the best phones I have bought till date.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Keith1975
(Durham, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Superb phone

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Stage UI is a bit blah...but there are apps in the store that you can buy/try that can overlay this and substitute it so that wasn't a big issue for me.
Battery life seemed to have been a problem at the outset, but there are apps for helping that, too. Kind of disappointed with that (having been an iPhone user previously) but the battery saving app helps the phone last 1-2 days between charge. Even the iPhone had to be charged once, sometimes twice a day.
Colors are sharp and amazing. Camera quality is great, although I do agree that they need to add some kind of stability control to the camera to help with fuzzy images. The video quality seemed kind of blah, but I rarely video much of anything.
Phone is fast and stable - works like a charm. Call quality is great (haven't had a dropped call yet). Speakerphone for talking is a bit too low for me but sounds fine for music and radio apps. Talking through a wired headset is also clear and crisp. Haven't tried out Bluetooth, yet.
Looked at other Android phones and didn't really find much of a difference between them. Ultimately chose this one as it was only slightly larger than my broken iPhone. The battery problem seems common with Android powered phones.
Also great that you can buy it unlocked.
Pros:every day calling and phone use
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CarterHooper
(New Orleans, LA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Whoah!

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got mine, man this is one solid Android. Stage skin is smooth and actually helpful. Feels like power in your hands and attracted attention twice tonight when I pulled it out. Keep it up Dell!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tim Gupta
Title:

Awesome Android

PostedMay 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros : Superfast processor,excellent camera,android market to boot,competitive pricing,amazing display :)
Cons : No media equalizer,power hungry device,no front camera :(
All in all excellent VFM device,______ watch out !! :)
Pros:music, surfing internet, photography
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carsal
Title:

Great phone but no accessories

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
- Good screen
- Camera is good for everyday shooting
- Dell Stage UI is quick
- Unlocked from phone carrier
Cons:
- No accessories including car charger, extra charger or dock.
- Battery doesn't last long (greater reason for accessories)
- No Android 2.3 yet.
Overall, this is a great phone, but as I said, the battery doesn't last a whole day with light to medium use, so the need for a car/desk charger is big.
PLEASE DELL: Release some accessories.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mobile Venue
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nicetv
Title:

Sexy and Sleek

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love that it is not big and bulky. However, the only reason I did not give this phone 5 stars, is that the speaker system sucks. It crackles. I've had cheaper phones with way better sound quality!!!
But besides that!!! AWESOME!!!!!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3