Customer reviews for Mobile Venue Pro

Mobile Venue Pro

Mobile Venue Pro
3.885 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 104 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
17
3.9
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 102
82 out of 10479%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Mobile Venue Pro
Review 1 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AnnaTx
Title:

Don't get it.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this phone two years ago and it has had problems the whole time. Very poor quality camera shots. Constantly freezing and shutting down on a daily basis. Not reliable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:duggu
(INDIA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The best which was unrecognized..!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Firstly i am in love with the design and then the OS. This is a near perfect smartphone which was truly unrecognized. I really want dell to release the next version of the same and advertise it in the right manner. Dell phones... we still love you !!! come back.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OffBeatBop
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Underappreciated

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
What a shame that the Juggernaut that is the Apple marketing machine has people so fixated on the iPhone that solid devices like this slip through the cracks. Windows Phone 7, especially since the 7.5 "Mango" upgrade, is superior to ios. The tile interface provides for a slicker and more intuitive user experience, and I find it to be a much smoother overall UI than Ios and Android, but I digress.
As for the hardware, it's about the best compromise between tactile and Qwerty that you'll find on the market. Huge screen, sleek looking gorilla glass, and the vertical slider for that extra wow factor in having something that no other current device offers. I can't tell you how many times I've done the vertical slide to text someone in public and had people stare.
I've never been asked "what phone is that?" this many times in my life. It really is a shame that they discontinued this device. I hope a similar vertical slide phone is offered when Apollo is released, and I hope Dell re-enters the smartphone market.
Pros:work, software development, social networking
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chris1974
(New Orleans)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

best phone ever

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really love this phone, i got it almost a year ago and still run perfect, full keyboard, emails, twitter, facebook, linkedin, all together in the same profile. i dont change this phone until Dell offer me a new version of it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:plainjanereview
(darlington)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

ABSOLUTELY STUNNING

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
As I say in the title, this phone is absolutely stunning, if you want to make apple fanboys jealous then get this beauty. Its fairly big in size but if you have mans hands then it doesn't look so large. Its well made, keyboard is a good addition, only fault i can find is that it doesn't connect to a hidden ssid. Otherwise the menu is fluid and easy to get around, i have everything on one screen instead of flicking through pages. All it needs now is the main companies to put apps on the windows system, shame dell didn't make there app for windows. Shame dell only gave it a 1year lifespan hope they keep us going with firmware/software updates.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vann2
Title:

Well built; seamless operation

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a very well-built phone and functions very smoothly. I have never had it lock up even using many different apps. Windows phone Mango OS is a very nice system. Anyone who has bad-mouthed Microsoft in the past should give this a look, My iPhone using tech friend loved it. That said, on T-Mobile it is only 3G--actually is only 3G capable-- but seems very fast to me. For the price it was a great deal. It is a very nice unit and I look forward to using Windows phone OS in the future.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Enephsy
(North Little Rock, Ar)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Looks can be deceiving...

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this phone December 21, 2011 and I never thought I would write a review about it. I'm like most buyers, I relied heavily on the reviews posted on here. DON'T GET FOOLED BY THE REVIEWS POSTED HERE! It's only January 23,2012 and I'm having the phone sent back to Dell for a replacement. Do your research please before buying this phone! If you notice the ones who are giving great reviews about this phone haven't used the phone for a long time, but I guarantee you that 2-3 months from now, they will also be writing negative reviews about this phone.
The phone crashed on me, in the middle of my vacation and lost everything. Apparently this is not an isolated issue because after reading the Dell forum regarding this issue, it's a major faulty issue regarding this phone. PLEASE READ THE DELL FORUM BEFORE PURCHASING THIS PHONE, DONT RELY ON THE NEWLY POSTED COMMENTS ON HERE!
Here is my issue: The phone is less than 30 days old and just out of the blue it restarted itself and never came back on again. I NEVER COULD GET PASS THE DELL LOGO ON THE SCREEN, THAT'S IT. It never booted up again and after contacting the Dell customer support via phone (they don't offer Live customer chat for this phone and have to call a special number) the agent determined that it was a hardware issue and will send me a replacement. I refused to accept the replacement knowing that the previous unit was defective and became inoperable after 30 days. However, he sadly informed me that i missed the 21 day return policy which disqualified me from receiving a refund and have no choice but to accept a replacement.
The phone is beautiful, sleek, very very attractive! But none of that matters when you can't use it.
SO PLEASE, READ DELL'S OWN FORUM REGARDING THIS PHONE BEFORE PURCHASING IT AND MAKE YOUR DECISION AFTERWARDS!
Pros:social, business
+21points
33of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RyanInHonolulu
(Honolulu)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice hardware design but Windows Phone 7 lacks....

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bad things about Windows Phone 7
* No battery percentage
* Signal and battery level not always shown. Have to tap top of screen to make them appear.
* Not enough haptic feedback when pressing keys.
* Does not show cumulative data usage 
* Very small wake/turn on button. Difficult to press many times a day.
* No option to add a hidden Wi-Fi network.   Microsoft says the feature was added in WP 7.5 and there should be an "add" button in the advanced section but all I see is "select" and "delete".
* No option to set default search engine.  It's set to Bing but I want Google.
* Would be better with a rubberized back or sides so the phone is less likely to slip.
Pros:email web text messaging
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anand
Title:

Amazing phone nade by dell along with windows 7.5

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Yes do agree with the camera n music cons. But if you are using phone for your work purpose, it works excellent, it gives fast browsing even on 2G, dont feel to have 3G,
Can't share files with other phones with bluetooth,
But synchronization with Zune or itunes is amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kapil
Title:

Excellent Phone....

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is my first smartphone and I am not at all disappointed with the phone. The best responsive touch screen i've experienced while testing with the other phones.
Prons:
Excellent responsive touch screen.
Dual QUERTY keypad (touch and slider) is excellent.
Awesome looks very stylish. it is the best looking professional phone in the market.
fully featured
Decent battery life.
Comes with Zune included.
Cons
Bulky, yea it weight almost 200 gms.
No provision of external Memory Card.
Poor camera Quality. I've clicked the pictures, and believe me every picture is blurred.
Pros:Travel, office applicaitons
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jojoma
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Speechless ....

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This phone is AWESOME, ELEGANT, and SLEEK!
Pros:business
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:landox
Title:

lacking a good camera and equalizer

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Venue Pro is good windows phone, the hardware is awesome, except the camera, the lack of camera quality makes for embarrissing photos. And the camera flash is practically useless, fourtuneately there is a flashlight app to put it work. The 720p video recording produces very stuttered videos. Its such a shame because wp7 os makes it easy to upload photos and videos, but I don't want to upload media that makes me look like I can't use a camera. With that said, I still like the phone. The build quality is spectacular and I refuse to hide its sexy style with an ugly plastic/rubber case (i use dells leather case instead). Windows Phone os is almost great it needs some refining. For example: there is no sound equalizer and great sound is a music lovers pride and joy, but you only get ok or so so sound. If this phone had a quality main camera and a front facing camera, and a equalizer to customize the sound I would recommend this phone to everyone I see but it dont so I would only recommend this phone to people that dont care about the camera and music, people that just care about great call quality, quality apps and internet.
Pros:music videos internet email, texting calling recording, apps: "pandora" facebook espn tango, office docs and large pdf articles, my do everything machine | camera*|
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ecr53
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Look But Unreliable Technology

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Unlocked
Windows
Screen layout
Cons:
battery dies and then will not turn on for an hour
picture quality is horrible and cannot even be used.
shut off without warning
poor battery life
Pros:outlook email, work
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Keith1975
(Durham, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Excellent phone!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
You might think that this phone is "heavy" or "clunky" but it isn't. I was a little put off by the QWERTY keyboard slider option, but I actually used it more than I thought, especially when on the bus or car.
The screen clarity and brightness is amazing. The camera is kind of lackluster, although with the Mango update, you can now tap the screen to take photos allowing you to hold the phone much more still, and this improved photo quality quite a bit. Videos were high resolution, too.
The phone never crashed, worked fast, and the integration with Zune is amazing. Am hoping that the Windows Phone OS improves...It has come a long way, but I'd like to see it come a bit farther.
Call quality is pretty good. Music through the Zune player on the phone is also good. Netflix and video watching is also very good, too.
Biggest drawback -- I can't do banking on my phone (as none of my banks has an app for Windows Phone yet).
If you're torn between the Venue Pro and the regular Venue...head over to the Pro. A much more stable phone.
Pros:email chat facebook etc.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DoctorH
Title:

Superfast, very user friendly, but misleading ad?

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell Venue Pro (DVP) is incredible fast, 4.1" large, amoled screen is just incredible responsive. Sliding through the menus so smooth and fast. Device looks really nice. Whoever sees it, just being amazed.
In the other reviews many users explained the pros and cons. I agree with most of them.
Some Additional,
PROS:
-Radio receiver is very strong.
-You will really love to play games on the large, very responsive screen.
-WiFi works excellent.
-With "ME" interface, you rule windowslive, facebook, twitter etc. at the same time.
-Setting of Outlook and other mail accounts easy and works without any problem.
-Reboot time is crazy, just 2-3 seconds!!! If you ever used WM5,6.x etc. versions before this should make sense to you!
-Sensor located next to the call-speaker works perfect. When you talk, screen becomes dimmed/locked so you do not touch any button with your ear accidentally, and when you move the phone a bit far, screen turns on automatically that you can reach dials button/end talk button etc.
CONS:
-Battery life could be better for this size phone. Because they could include a bigger size and higher mAh capacity battery in it.
-When you quit an application, for example especially radio, music player and podcast, it still appears on the main lock-screen.This is not a DVP issue, more WP7.5 issue actually. Because WP7.5 does not have a button or an option to quit programs completely. I hope they fix this issue in the following updates/upgrades. It is very disgusting to see an application on the lock-screen you already quitted
-The earphone set comes with DVP does not provide a good sound quality. Recommend you to use your own headphones with extra-bass feature.
-Dell advertises that DVP has COMPASS and GPS. None of the Compass applications worked so far. I did an internet search and realized that, although DVP hardware SUPPORTS COMPASS feature, Dell disabled it with deleting compass driver, when mango was being installed.Dell's Chief Blogger Lionel Menchaca said that "they will not support the compass function"!
-GPS! When they advertise they do not say "AGPS", instead they say "GPS". I think everybody who is familiar with high-tech toys knows the difference between those two short definitions. This was one of the main reasons why I bought this phone and sold my HTC HD with a real GPS.DVP has just an A-GPS which means you should have network and data connection to prepare your route and download the map for that specific road. If you change your route, you need to use data again to download and calculate again the route.
Dell should clarify these points with their tech specs for DVP. If I didn't sell my HTC and if I don't like to use DVP, just because of these 2 misleading points, I would send this phone back when I realized specs don't seem the same as in tech specs advertised.
If we summarize:
If compass and GPS are not important for you, I recommend this phone 100%. It is really awesome device.
Pros:business, Travel
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

Venue Pro surprises!

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been through iphone after iphone, went to android, and now have settled on a windows phone. I can honestly say that I am 85% happy with that decision. The other 15% is listed below.
No LED to let you know when you have messages or calls missed.
The power/sleep button tends to not work all the time. I try to put the phone to sleep, but it comes right back on.
But the biggest negative is primarily the lack of apps in the store. Now, this isnt dire for a lot of apps, since they are integrated into the phone (LOVE that feature!!!) but some of the apps I have grown to be fond of are missing, or are now paid apps.
The look and feel of the phone is nice, though a bit heavy. However, the phone is ultra fast. My iphone friends and android friends alike are all impressed with the speed of this phone. Also, Windows gives backup apps for mac and pc, so that you can backup and sync (and update) your phone like you would with iphone.
Overall, really nice phone. I will keep it for a year or two and see what happens in the market. If things get better with the apps, I may never leave the windows phones.
OPH
Pros:personal, work
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ichuck
Title:

DVP Buy it

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the phone for the wow factor. Better than all other platforms. Solid performance runs for days without a re-start (not re-charge). Professional enough to outshine a blackberry and cool enough to use for personal use. Simplicity and operational efficiency are the selling points of this OS and phone. It is a great OS Mango is a big plus.
Pros:
Solid performance
ergonomics
styling
external qwerty
resolution and screen size
professional respectable phone in the workplace (xbox live when your not in the workplace)
Good signal
Office built in
Fast processor
Cons:
Size of Keyboard
camera sensitivity (blurs very easily on camera mode)
App selection (continues to grow)
GPS relies on cell signal
no front facing camera
Pros:work mainly, personal
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BizUser2011
Title:

Dell Venue Pro

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS
Windows 7.5 Mango is beautiful.
Live tiles are cool.
email is great including excellent support for gmail. I have had no problems at all with this phone (software or hardware). Perhaps all the early issues are worked out. I still much prefer a qwerty keyboard. I had concerns about the small size of this keyboard. However, the domed keys make all the difference and being small lets me type all that much faster. Suprisingly I also like the portrait keyboard. I hope Dell continues to make it or similar for years to come.
Heavy enough to be used as a weapon! :-)
There are more than enough applications. Don't worry about it.
CONS
Perhaps replace the capacitive buttons with real buttons. A tough call because it would really detract from the styling of the phone to have real buttons. Certainly no reason to not buy.
Call speaker (not speakerphone) quality could be better. Too much distortion.
Improved battery life (what smartphone doesn't need this)
Get rid of the space wasting right arrow on the Start screen! Allow setting search button to something other than Bing. Need a X-close button on the applications.
Pros:mostly for work, kids play games, a little bit for fun
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mosin
(Ahmednagar)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Venue Pro is the best phone

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mobile Venue Pro
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mahou
(California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Everything is good, BUT the back battery cover

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall, I think the new Windows 7 Phone OS is not bad. In fact, good enough for normal use, and because most WP7 has some UI, I won't comment the OS itself. Those are MS's problem/Issues. I really want to give this a 3.5 star, but since I cannot, I give a little lower grade. The main reason is that back cover. Durability is very important to me. And most other WP7 manufacturers have the same type of thin and flimsy back cover.
I would like to comment on the physical and hardware issues.
Pro:
Large, Clear and Sharp screen.
It can take decent photos and video under normal daylight
It has physical and back-lighted keyboard
Use standard mirco USB charger
It can be unlocked by Dell.
Con:
The back cover is thin and very flimsy.
Should be 1 phone and support ALL 3G band, so it has like 6 different bands. No need separate ATT and T-Mobile. Make it a TRULY international phone.
Camera and video White balance issue
Battery life
First, the phone is big, bigger and thicker than most phone on market. However, considering it has a sliding keyboard. It is pretty standard thickness. it has pretty solid feel.
The most unhappy or not satisfied is the back cover of the phone. It is SO thin and flimsy plastic, that you know you can break it if you are not careful. The little plastic hooks that secure the back cover to the phone is every worst. Just by opening it, I feel that I will break them. Please Dell, try look for past successful example, like the Motorola V60 and first gen Razr. It was BIG hit like iPhone. it was constructed with stainless steel.
The other main comment is the camera white balance. It is just bad for indoor low light. The sensor or White balance feature would be too red or too yellow during initial start up and focus. I need to point to some where bright to "readjust" to normal.. Even after it is "normal", it is still too red or too dark.
Apparently, it is a big phone, I think it should be able to fit/design a bigger battery. But no, it is just a standard battery. I still need to charge it daily.
To be honest, it is phone, not a computer replacement. A expensive phone like this one, I think it deserve better construction shell, and can make phone call, take photos, and normal web browsing easy and good enough.
If Dell had at least fix the back cover problem and camera, this Dell phone would make history record. Now, it just falls within the so-so crowded phone market.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6