Customer reviews for STREAK mobile

STREAK mobile

STREAK mobile
3.751 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 365 reviews
5 Stars
169
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
39
2 Stars
25
1 Star
57
3.8
 / 
5
(365 reviews) 362
259 out of 36571%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for STREAK mobile
Review 1 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:disappointedcustomer
(malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

fragile charging interface

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The charger interface gets damage easily. Mine broke when it was still new. Cost me 250 bucks to get it fixed. Was told by Dell technician it is a known problem. Many units sent in for repair for this same problem. To add to the frustration, the dealer quality of service is horrible.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kartik
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Powerpacked and Amazing

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its been more than 6 months that I have been using this phone and it is worth every penny. The reason why i bought this smartphone as working for DELL for 5 yrs, I know that this company makes robust products which deliver atleast 95% of what is advertised. This being my third DELL product works as great as the other two.
The right screen which I like , crisp and amazingly bright display ( cant keep on full brightness ), love browsing on the big screen, playing my favourite game NFS is like a bonus. No matter how much load i have put on this device it never breaks a sweat and processes everything thrown at it. No freeze or random issues unlike other android phones in the market. As someone stated earlier in the thread, it really is the best of both worlds. A smartphone and a tablet, checking my emails and working on documents and presentations is fun to do on the screen as there is a lot of workspace.
In short its a great product. I dont know what I would do without it even for a single day.
Just one issue that I would like to point out is the battery life. With the screen this big the battery included should be atleast 2500 mAh as 1530 doesnt suffice the need of heavy users like me. If battery of that capacity cannot be included then atleast extended battery reporting should be enabled in the kernel or the baseband as my Mugen 4800 mAh doesnt get reported properly.
Pros:Travel, music and movies, offical emails and office documents, playing games, online 24x7 in touch with friends
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Potek91
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Streak 5 WONDERS!

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As you all know Androids can do all wonders even more than an Iphone.
My Everyday Life,Movement,Activities,Entertainment.....all zip into my SUPERB RED DELL STREAK........From Videos..Youtubing..to socialising ... Facebook, twitter...Live TV n Soccer matches thru Flash supported browser....to gaming...FIFA12,PES12....not forgetting AngryBirds.....hahaha...Awesome and loving it!!!!
Overclocked 1.2Ghz
Pros:work, video, travelling, music
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shanaz

PostedDecember 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst fone i ever seen in my life. I already swap two units n waiting for the third swap coz phone is without network.
+2points
12of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidSurrey
(Kingston, Surrey)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Streak5

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Brilliant device! Minor annoyances running some aspects of Android, Skype won't use the screen camera? This is a very good piece of kit that might have been better running Windows.
Pros:surfing/news, social sites/chat, mail, phone/text
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chandrasekhar G

PostedDecember 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
No OS updates for streak. That is very bad.
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Navdeep Grover
(Ferozepur)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Streak

PostedDecember 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really a cool product, only problem that it hangs in between and takes much time to start. Else a very cool gadget..
Pros:Travel
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kishore
(chennai)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

pros and cons

PostedNovember 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The best thing is with the screen size which gives more comfort for usage.
The worst thing is about the attery as it gets drained very fast. Even after multiple checks, the battery is still providing 5 hours backup with no usage. Also, dell has to think on upgrading the android 2.3 as it has some more added features for friendly usage.
Dell should think of taking actions like replacing batteries, handsets if they are faulty as they do for laptops. When enquired in service centre, it seems that the hardware is not covered under the warranty which is really very bad.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:torsionwire
Title:

Really great phone, really bad after-sales support

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
What a fantastic phone! I use it all the time instead of carrying round a laptop or large tablet. It's big enough, connected enough, and powerful enough to do most of what I need. The swype keyboard works better than any other tablet or phone virtual keyboard I've used. My rating would be a five-star but...
The downside is the after-sales support, which was probably the worst I've ever experienced. Dell seems to have farmed this out to another company, so it's nothing like their PC support, and it took a great deal of perseverance to get hold of them and to get them take my fairly simple needs seriously.
But - if you don't mind that and are willing to go it alone, this is definitly a great device.
Pros:personal resouce
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wai
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Weakness Of Dell Streak's LCD

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell LCD is easy to crash even if never drop.Gorilla Glass is nothing too.Your dell warrenty doesn't cover anything (hardware) of your product.
+19points
26of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vijay Saluru
Title:

Best of both worlds - smart phone & a tablet !

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS: Clear large display(anti scratch - gorilla glass rocks). very responsive capacity touch screen (some time auto rotate to landscape and back is not as fast as expected from 1Ghz processor). video playback (.avi file) on rockplayer is lovely. opera browser works perfectly fine(d main reason y i took DS5). Dual flash for back camera. Android market is fast growing from fun to utility apps and what not. Front camera (though not in much use). Hardware button quality is good (u would keep pressing one - since no other way to lock/unlock - like iphone, though u can get an app to just lock the screen with a tap on app).
Rest is all fine as expected from a smart phone with Rs 25k price range.
CONS: slightly large to fit in a palm and pick a incoming call. camera is not so good in capturing colors. unique connector cable like i-pod but i-pod/phone cables are easily available in neighborhoods, DS5 will take some time (Dell should have opted for usb or mini-usb). No FM. Battery drains fast , blame android OS as well (last for a day max n a half). Speaker at back become mute/inaudible when placed on a soft material like on bed(phone backside is so flat). some times froyo 2.2 os hangs while picking an incoming call - slider does not reach till the dot to unlock and pick call (android OS guys would understand).
Bottom line: There is no term called perfect phone like perfect soup for all.
I see a good Value-for-Money ratio.
-cheers
Pros:browsing, emails, videos movies, songs
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rsm Chen wei Weasel
(Singapore)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Weak screen

PostedAugust 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
Like any other Android Smart-phones, it's great! Especially with the large 5-inch display! It can be use as a phone and tablet!
Cons:
I bought Streak 6 months ago. I dropped it once, the screen cracked horribly. It is just a 30 cm high drop! I paid $400 to starhub to get it exchanged. Then i dropped again, now Dell offer to replace it for $200++!!!
I know the screen is famous for its anti-scratch ability. But it's a stupid idea to install that screen as compared to a more shock-resistant screen!!! I can just get a screen protector but i cannot get a phone cover easily in Singapore. I tried to seek help from Dell Singapore but they cannot even take down my complaints as they cannot help me send those feedback to Dell's main company!
Review:
It's an awesome phone and tablet but i'm utterly disappointed with the customers service and its non-durable design! :(
Pros:Gaming, school projects, watch pictures and movies, communication
+13points
21of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:on d go
(KL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

perfect size

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm a iphone user before I bump into dell streak. Iphone screen is too small to fit my usage. I alway on the field and need to check mail & visual, Dell streak has a perfect screen size for me to view visual. I luv it when i'm travel by flight, watching movie on flight is most enjoyable. only thing the unhappy is, it cant sync with my Ibook and can't tethering with my ibook.and it is hard to find accessories in the market.
Pros:check mail & view visual, watch movie on flight
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MarcusDTypoKing
(Carson City, Nevada)
Title:

Gorilla Glass, Very Fragile!!

PostedJuly 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
In December 2010 My wife and I both purchased Dell Streaks. We both loved the phone. Then... My streak fell approximately 3 feet onto a very smooth, clean concrete floor and the glass broke. I had to replace mine at a cost of 500+ dollars (I was aghast to find that it wasn't covered for breakage). At that time replacement screen and digitizer replacements were not available. Yesterday my wife stepped out of a vehicle and hers fell to the ground (about 4 feet). It too shattered on its first fall. We both love the phone, but with as breakable as the screen is, and as difficult as the replacement screen is, it just isn't worth the money. Both broke within 7 months and both had to be replaced. We did not replace my wifes phone with another streak. Instead, we moved to a phone that is smaller, easier to hold and easier to get a cover for.
Pros:personal use.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rogernp
Title:

Interesting mix of tablet and cell phone

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Slick product - smart, sleek, fairly intuitive. But screen needs to be brighter for outdoor viewing, and cell phone use should be simpler - fewer swipes. Hopefully, Dell will keep the faith and further develop a 5" tablet as well as other sizes.
Pros:cell phone, gps (auto), gps (marine), news/reader
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mongex6
(costa rica)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

amazing superphone

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
excellent !!! the resolution , the gorilla glass , the snapdragon processor , etc , etc , only needs android 3 !!
Pros:car stereo, phone, gps, audio and video entertaiment, play a lot of games, you tube media player
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DebraJHart
(Chicago, Illinois)
Title:

BEYOND FRUSTRATED WITH STREAK

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I won two Dell Streaks at a conference last Dec. For the first month, I was delighted and went out of my way to recommend it to my friends. Then the trouble started: one wouldn't charge, & Dell was great with replacing a battery, unfortunately it didn't work. So they sent a replacement unit. That worked for a month, then stopped working. Then the second one went out (my daughters), so Dell sent two replacements. Those worked for less than a month, and now neither will charge or even turn on. have FIVE Dell Streaks cluttering up my kitchen counter, none of which work. I've tried all combinations of battery, charge cord, via USB, via outlet charger, with the SIM card, without -- do you get the picture? This has been going on for several months. I started a new job and they gave me an iPhone. Not one SINGLE issue. So I have my Streak I cannot use and a frustrated daughter who can't use hers either. There is NO support by way of the Dell Community and I am dreading calling tech support because I don't want to go thru the whole darned story. So I'm turning to the social community to see if there is any hope!! HELP!!!
Pros:won't charge, won't turn on, streak
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stormswynd
(Alaska)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good hybrid device, don't skimp on protecting it.

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a Network Administrator, I found the streak to be a vast improvement over other smartphones for email, web, and remote access to servers and workstations. I have used the I-phone, HTC, Motorola, Palm and Blackberry.
I like the hotspot feature, being able to use video chat, gps functionality, and the multimedia options (great when traveling).
Buyer beware however:
--protection: Don't skimp on the case or warranty after investing hundreds in this device. Buy the full body protection with rigid plastic/polycarbonate--not the slip-on silicone cover.
--fit, size, and weight: Works in cargo pockets or dress pants with deep pockets. Be careful of putting phone in coat as the phone's size and mass means that the device can shift in a coat pocket with 50/50 odds of glass being exposed. I did not wear it in my holster with a plastic clip considering the size/weight/snag hazard.
Example: office seat adjustment knobs do NOT agree with this device when coat hung on the back of the chair.
--LCD: If something can make contact, it will--transferring the energy from the "no scratch/no break' gorilla glass to the lcd and digitizer below that can break. Probably same risk than a 4.3" or 4.7" screen has, but its particularly noticeable with the 5" screen/6" phone.
--You will want to use the usb charger (the dock really isn't workable w/o taking the case off).
--Great screen, mediocre rear camera.
--Check your favorite video chat service in advance to make sure the Dell Streak 5 is listed as a compatible device.
All-in-all, I am happy with device and would recommend to others.
Pros:it management (email speakerphone remote access), travel & entertainment (famly pics video music), personal productivity (gps wifi hotspot)
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Greco99
(Greece)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A small on-the-go Tablet

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
A mobile phone or a tablet ? Both!
Big screen were you can watch and browse everything easily. Android OS which is very friendly. Perfect size, not too big - not too small. Perfect quality (as every Dell). The battery does not last long enough. Instead of the PDMI port it should have a mini USB port.
Pros:mobile phone, e-mails, internet browsing, social networking, music and video streaming
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for STREAK mobile
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Omar1978
(Mississauga - Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

It's kool

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really loved it specially after installing the Android 2.2 operating system.It's so good and I can do the most things that I can do on the computer..Thanks DELL.
Pros:writing e-mails, listening to music, chatting, watching videos, photos processing
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19