Customer reviews for Latitude ST Slate Tablet

Latitude ST Slate Tablet

Latitude ST Slate Tablet
2.78 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
2.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 39
21 out of 4151%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Review 1 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kayin Chan
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Get the 3rd generation core into latitude 10

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This tablet is perfect with windows 8 but it takes some time by read forum and drivers comment to make it function normally. I have been fixing the latidude 10 st every since last year November 2012 until January 2013. Overall its great tablet and the performance can be improved with 3rd generation core processors. Mine is just atom 1.5 which means you can multitask so much. Once trick to make it perform better is to lower down the graphic resolution at 60Hz. Try it and you will know. Thanks.
Pros:simple easy to carry, works perfectly with 1 on 1 presentation
Cons:cannot multitask and load heavy programs
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 19, 2013
Hello Kayin,

Thank you for the review of your Latitude 10. We appreciate your input.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Trinphon
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Run Windows 8 on this Tablet

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am writing additional review to my previous one.
This tablet runs so well under Windows 8 pro that I bought another one (128GB SSD) and installed Windows 8 pro on it. I also have Office 2013 on it and runs well. It boots very fast (<20s to Windows8 Welcome Screen), quite fast login, I did not realize any slow down on daily uses, everything is good and the battery life is fantastic (~5 hr with Wifi connected)
So my suggestions are: Seize the 128GB SSD deal on this one(the new Latitude 10 Windows 8 tablet does not have 128GB SSD option. You will quickly get disk full if you are using 64GB or 32GB SDD models), forget the Windows 7 comes with it, install Windows 8 pro (32bit only)
-->To install Windows 8: Get the Windows 8 upgrade DVD (32bit only); go to Dell support and find this tablet's drivers page and download all the recommended Win7 drivers (they all work for Windows8); connect Tablet with a USB keyboard, reboot/start the tablet, press F2 until you get into the BIOS setup, under the Boot menu, change the 1st boot to external/USB DVD, 2st boot to internal SSD, Save changes, Power off. Attach a DVD drive and loaded with the Windows 8 DVD (you know how to load a DVD into a DVD Drive w/o power on, right?). Start the tablet, !!!The trick: when Windows prompts "Press a key to boot from DVD..." and waits, press the little silver button on the edge of webcam above the earphone jet, that will allow you bypass and boot in Windows!!! Follow the installation instruction but wipe all the factory partitions, even the Dell recovery disk, that will give you extra 7GB space, just have Windows create the entire SSD for Windows8. After install and setup Winodws 8, install all the drivers you had downloaded. You are done! Enjoy! Everything should be very straightforward. I compare to some current Windows 8 tablet, this one is as good as them but with a much larger disk space (128GB SSD).
My only complaint is it just has 1 USB port.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sam01
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Too slow to perform any tasks

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cpu in this tablet is so under power and it makes everything running so slow. My 1st generation of Tablet XT runs much faster than this tablet. I even tried to upgrade to Windows 8, but you will notice the wireless card will stop working under Windows 8. What good will a tablet do without its wireless card fully function? You really want to think twice, or even three times before buying this tablet. I have been using Dell computers for more than 15 years and my current system is Dell Precision WorkStation 690.
Pros:show pdf files in construction field
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 16, 2013
Hello Sam01,

I am sorry to hear that the Latitude ST tablet is not surpassing your expectations. As it turns out, this tablet does not have Driver support for Windows 8 and is not a verified Windows 8 system. If you ever need it, here is a link of systems sold before the Windows 8 launch and whether they are supported:
http://dell.to/TNPbdR.

Wish I had better information for you. -SaraT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MCTS
Title:

Great Windows 8 Tablet

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Latitude Slate is perfect for testing and learning some of the key features of Windows 8.
The picture on the screen is very clear. The touch on this Tablet is good enough to have a great Windows 8 experience.
The Intel Atom in this tablet is good enough for daily use like internet or editing Office documents.
The Intel Atom CPU is a good choice for small tablets or netbooks, the older Intel Atom CPUs before hyper threading were super slow and I think that is where the Intel Atom got a bad wrap.
Pros:learning, windows 8 studies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:STisOK
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Unfair Reviews

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
A lot of the reviews for this tablet are completely unfair. Some of the fault lies with Dell, some with the end users.
First, Dell issues, I'm talking to you Dell. You cannot enable Windows 7 Aero theme with transparency on a tablet with no graphics muscle. It will grind the device to a crawl. This is basic Windows knowledge. You cannot ship an Atom processor with an Aero enabled theme and expect good reviews. Additionally, why is the Windows 7 scheduled defragmentation enabled for a tablet with SSD? Dell, are you there?
Ok, here is the end user stuff, I’m talking to you tablet owners. Just because Dell completely dropped the ball on basic Windows 7 knowledge doesn’t mean this is a bad tablet. Here’s what you need to do. 1) Disable Aero theme and enable Windows 7 basic theme. 2) Disable scheduled defrag, you don’t need it on a SSD drive. 3) Turn off the following Windows services, Superfetch, Windows Search, Windows Defender (yes antivirus, takes up too much CPU cycles) 4) Select 40 Hz refresh rate for the display, saves battery life. 5) Set up two power plans, one for regular plugged in computing (High performance- browsing, etc), other for battery saving computing (balanced- ebook reading, etc). Enabling wireless adapter power savings increases battery life dramatically. Optionally -- 6) Select 16 bit color resolution, speeds up the system, but you lose some color depth. 7) Disable touch, use pen only. You really can’t use touch on Windows 7 anyway, so you might as well get rid of it. 8) You might want to consider clean reinstall of Windows before beginning all this.
In the end you are going to have system that is capable, not flying, but will do most of what you need. It will play Spotify, Pandora, run Firefox w/ any add-on you want, run Chrome, run Java, Flash, print any file to any printer, share files over Windows, and connect with any Bluetooth device. It will not play 720p video well and it will not play 1020p videos, will not multi-task bunch of applications, or be super responsive when you want it to. But it will do a lot more than those $250 Android tablets on the market.
In summary this is an ok tablet, not great but ok. The battery life is more or less 5 hours depending on how you set up your power plans. It’s a little heavy and thick. The next generation of Intel processors should fix all the shortcoming of the Latitude tablet line (See Latitude 10 tablet line). But now, you can do most of what you need.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rdarl
(Haverhill, MA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

slow and not very responsive to touch or stylus

PostedDecember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this tablet to test it in our factory as a portable device for supervisors. It is extremely slow and the touch screen isn't reliably responsive to a finger or stylus.
Pros:factory floor
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDell Customer Reviews December 6, 2012
Hi rdarl,


Sorry about the issue with your ST Tablet . You can reach out to our Dell support team for any unresolved issues through:-

Twitter @DellCares –
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Or Facebook –
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ

They will be able to check, perform troubleshooting steps if necessary and see what they can do to help you .

I hope this helps.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:OMS1980
Title:

Poor performance tablet

PostedNovember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had the Latitude ST Tablet since July. It was part of a complete overhaul of our office computer systems including desk tops, new server, and the tablet for mobility. The tablet is extremely slow, often takes repeated taps with the stylus to get it to respond, it often stops and has to be rebooted, and more than too many times, the program shuts down with several error messages. I have had my tech look at it and try to improve it's performance, but he claims it is the processor and how it interacts with our office software. I have never experienced this kind of poor performance with any other Dell machine, and I have had many in the last 20 years.
Pros:mobile computing within the office network.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 22, 2012
OMS1980,

We apologize that the experience with your Latitude ST was not perfect. We value your feedback and would like the opportunity to try and correct the issues. We appreciate the information you have provided us so far, and will use this information along with our own methods to determine the scope of the problem and potential root causes.

If you do not mind, it would be great if you could post any ideas for improvements that can be made, based on your recent Dell experiences, over at IdeaStorm.

www.ideastorm.com

Our IdeaStorm team analyzes the comments closely and uses them to help guide new processes here at Dell.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sacglass
Title:

Potential...

PostedNovember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
to get this tablet to it's full potential,windows 8 is a must.. but network drivers are elusive. I have reformatted and used alternate vendor drivers but i cannot seem to get reliable network drivers that work with windows 8. when the drivers i do try work, the tablet is great, they just don't seem to stay. All the things that this tablet gets right are negated by the networking issues.
Pros:home use surfing
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 13, 2012
Hello Sacglass,

Thank you for taking the time to provide input. This device was never tested, nor supports Windows 8. The Slate Tablet shipped with your choice of Windows 7.

Windows 7 Home Premium,Media, 32-bit, English
Windows 7 Professional, Media, 32-bit, English
Windows 7 Ultimate, Media, 32-bit, English

If you are looking for a Windows 8 tablet, I would suggest the new Latitude 10. It ships natively with Windows 8 and is fully functional.

http://dell.to/W0Op3J

I would also recommend you visit IdeaStorm.com. This is a great place to provide input on what you think would make a great Dell product.

Thanks for sharing!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Trinphone
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Impressive Windows 8 Tablet

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Latitude ST is w/ 64GB SSD model. This is a light weight tablet rather than a portable work horse. If you need a more powerful one, get Dell latitude XT3 and/or Lenovo Thinkpad X230 tablet, they are much powerful and practical (esp. under Windows 8).
Overall, this is a very good tablet though not a great one. However, I am very impressed that it runs quite fast and well under Windows 8 professional (I had an early access to release version of Windows 8 through MSDN before official release date) though it takes some efforts to had it installed, which I will describe later. The original factory setting is Windows 7 pro 32bit, which runs very slowly. And due to the nature of Windows 7 not designed for tablet, it is quite hard to use w/o a keyboard for keying input. I don't think it is practical to use it under Windows 7.
This tablet has almost everything you need for a Windows tablet/netbook. It features the Corning Gorilla Glass that is durable, scratch resistent and shiny. The screen resolution is 1280x800, which is absolutely great. many netbooks have only 1024x600. The touch screen is very responsive and work flawlessly under Windows 8.
The digital pen is great in writing sketches on Windows Journal and Office OneNote. The tablet has Wifi (Athereo), Bluetooth, SD card reader (not MiniSD), Mini HDMI port, earphone/mic jack, Digital Pen, touch screen and a USB port. It also has a gesture lock switch that lock/unlook the gesture sensor, a very thoughtful design. Another great thoughtful design is a button to play as Enter key when system boots, This is crucial if you want to reinstall Windows and by-pass the first "Press any key to start from CD/DVD ..." screen and boot from a DVD, (since there is no keyboard for this tablet and there is one USB port so that once external DVD drive takes it, nothing left for a USB keyboard.) Salute to Dell engineers!
Pros:note taking
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DHinsberg
Title:

Tablet Slow?

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I first got this product I agreed with most on the speed at which it processed. Then I started digging in a little and found that for some reason Dell installs a 1.6gb program on a 2gb system. Not quite sure why but once I deleted it the speed of the device picked up 10 times. I think it was Roxio Starter.
Pros:work
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:buzzlightyear
Title:

Great Tablet: Works for Personal and Corporate Use

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Slick Product, runs efficiently on Win8, Perfect for Corporate environment due to seamless integration with Corporate firewalls; Hand Touch features are very user friendly; Finally a great product that works for both office and personal use!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mary03
Title:

Dell ST Tablet

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I haven't used my talblet in the last 3 months b/c it is so slow to use. I decided to use it today to see if things had changed again it was terrible. Turns on well but freezes up with the internet.It amazes me that Dell has such great products but this is a loser. I can't believe people have rated this with a 3. It's horrible.*
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 1, 2012
Mary03,

Sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your Dell Latitude ST Tablet. Follow the link below to the Driver's and Downloads page. Check to make sure that all of your drivers are up to date. This could help with your slowness issue.
http://www.dell.com/support/drivers...

Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ

Thanks!! JGB
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ANIT
(Sunnyvale, CA)
Title:

Looks great on outside, wish inside matched.

PostedAugust 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I admit I was taken by the sleek look and my long history using Dell products. I wish more was put into this. I agree with everyone else who has made a review, way underpowered, should have used a dual core processor. I installed everything from scratch and it's sluggish at best. Can't handle more than a couple tasks at once. Being an MSDN subscriber I was looking forward to seeing how it performs with Windows 8. Let's just say I have a competing Windows tablet that I bought @ a lower price that outperforms it by miles. Only thing about the other tablet is that it's a bit bulkier and heavier but it performs like a champ. The ST has choppy scrolling and choppy pinch and zoom, games run slow, lags, just a host of issues. I paid $350 from the outlet store, don't pay more than $100, not much more than a device to browse the web or watch videos which it does decently. From what I'm hearing any display, video, or choppiness issues are due to not having optimal video drivers which could be part of the issue. But really any tablet these days should be dual core, wish I put in more research or had a chance to try it out 1st. For now skip it, don't be taken by it's looks. If it performed as well as it looked, you're getting a steal of a deal. Also gets hot rather quickly, starts burning your lap even right through your pants.
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 21, 2012
Hello ANIT,
Sorry to hear that you are having a less-than enjoyable experience with the Latitude ST Windows tablet. When products are released, there are bound to be hiccups once they leave our testing environment and are used in real-life situations, some of which we can’t predict. However, product reviews and community involvement on the Forums play an integral role in making Engineering awake of customer concerns as well as to push out resolutions.

I would highly advise that you reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! We are here to listen and respond to our customers’ needs and I hope that we can turn this around for you.

• Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark007111
Title:

This product is not ready for sale

PostedAugust 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an iPad already, but wanted a Windows based tablet that was more like a conventional computer. The next version will hopefully work well (maybe with Windows 8), but sadly this one is a lemon.
The initial log-in window is too small for human hands. Virtual keypad you get once you manage to log-in is an okay size, but does not have the functionality of an ipad. Get used to spelling mistakes, because it does not second guess like an iPad does (strange because you buy it because you want to edit text).
The Bluetooth is intermittent. I bought a Blue tooth keyboard and the connection between board and tablet is slow and drops out; it can take minutes to establish the link initially. The wireless internet seems weak. There's a problem between the wifi and bluetooth (if there wasn't a wifi connection the bluetooth wouldn't work!) which my computer guys had to fix with some major modifications of software.
It has a large, very dodgy back port (where SIM cards etc go) which is worrysome and compromises the integrity of the computer as a unit.
On the up side. It's light and the script facility seems to be able to make sense of the messiest writing.
In summary, wait for another couple of versions until you contemplate buying this product.
Pros:Travel, home
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 20, 2012
Mark007111,

Sorry to hear that the Latitude ST did not match up to your expectations. We have our engineering and marketing teams who read through customer reviews everyday and without your valuable inputs we will not be able to improve.

If you continue to experience issues, I would advise that you contact technical support team via phone/chat, or reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. I have attached the links below:-

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience!


+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:burdickjp
Title:

Does what I expect

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I picked one of these up as a refurb from the Dell Outlet. It was less than half the price it would have been new. At that price point it is a FANTASTIC piece of hardware. If I were paying what they'd want for it new, I would not be as happy.
Windows 7 is a terrible touch interface OS. You have to trim a lot of excessive applications and update to latest drivers to get the thing to move with any quickness.
It is unlikely Intel will release the necessary drivers for Windows 8 to run on this hardware efficiently, specifically the GMA600 drivers. This problem is not limited to Dell: ANY hardware running the Atom Z670 will have similar issues, such as the HP Slate 2 and Fujitsu Q550.
If Dell were to step up to the plate and press Intel into updating the GMA600 drivers, it would do much to improving the user experience, as that has been a major culprit in performance for Z670 devices.
I, however, purchased the hardware with the specific intent of using OneNote. It does this WONDERFULLY. My only problem with that specifically is the pen digitizer can be a flaky. I can trace a straight line and the digitizer will draw small squiggles. This is a known issue; Dell has been quick to address it with other customers. I'm updating all of my drivers before reporting it.
Pros:onenote
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 13, 2012
burdickjp,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review for the Latitude ST. We also value your inputs, without which we will not be able to improve. Our engineering teams read customer reviews everyday and will surely work on upgrading this product in the future!

Also, if the driver updates do not work, I would advise that you contact technical support team via phone/chat, or reach out to our Social Support Team directly via Facebook/Twitter or the Dell Community Forums. I have attached the links below.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thanks again, hope you have a great day ahead!


+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Brlis
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Latitude ST --- Wait for a Real Processor

PostedAugust 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't normally write reviews, but I feel that I should on this product. The concept is great, and the price was right from the outlet store. I threw Win 8 and Office 2013 on it immediately from the other reviews, and this is a must. If it had a real processor, it would be a great machine. Buy an Ultrabook or wait until the new ones come out later this year for now. The processor can not handle even routine tasks.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 6, 2012
Brlis,

Thank you for submitting your feedback on the Latitude ST. If you have concerns with power, I always first recommend making sure your dirvers are up to date:
http://www.dell.com/support/drivers.... Sometimes this can be a quick and easy resolution. Also, we like to hear what our customers think we should do to better a system. One of the best ways to get your ideas out there is through http://www.ideastorm.com/. Here, user's can vote and idea up or down. A post with a higher promotion has a better chance of being implemented. Thank you again for your feedback!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GubmintMike
Title:

Maybe Windows 7 ona tablet is not such a good idea

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have an iPad and an Android tablet. I also have a a Dell Latitude XT Laptop w/touchscrn and Win8. When I picked up this new XT tablet w/Win7 I was expecting to work like those but Win7 is definetly not tablet-friendly. It *is* usable but don't expect it to be anything but Windows on a tablet. It is also very slow running videos, even low-graphics training videos on Youtube. My Samsung Galaxy 2 7 tablet video screams and it's gaming capability excellent.
Dell uses *two* different on-screen keyboards, one to log on, and another for everything else. The keys do not seem to illuminate in every screen, so it makes typing difficult because it is inconsistent. There are also no sounds to assign to keyboard taps like with iPad and Android tabs.
Get used to using the stylus since the resolution is too small for finger gestures. It is frustrating because many times I tap or press/hold on an object, I see the ripple-effect, but nothing happens. You must tap/hold several times sometimes to open, move, do just about anything. You will find yourself scrolling screens up/down sideways with your finger This makes it awkward since you really need the stylus for most things but instinctively want to use your fingers.
Cannot find accessories for this tablet, especially a cover, skin, or screen protector. Dell has *nothing* on their site for this. Look it up on Amazon and it doesn't even exist. Dell needs to get on the ball with vendors who make/sell this stuff, unless they are anticipating this going the way of the Axim.
It would be good if Dell could design a screen OS skin over Win7 so you can do finger zooming, and other IOS and Android-like functions. I could definitely deploy a dozen of these today if they were a little easier to navigate w/o a stylus and faster.
Pros:fire & rescue in the field
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 30, 2012
Hello GubmintMike,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Windows-based Latitude ST tablet. We are sorry to hear that this tablet is not meeting your expectations. Product feedback from our customers plays an integral role in developing enhancements to current products and new product designs. The touchscreen is calibrated to use a finger as an input device. I wold advise that you have our Social Support team check this out for you. They will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! You should not *have* to use the Pen as the only input device.

• Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

While we don’t currently have any screen protectors for this model, it uses Gorilla Glass on the 10.1-inch screen for increased protection, offering heavy resistance against drops or scratches.
You can also use the below links to check out 2 slipcover/cases that are available for the ST. Targus - Meridian Leather Slipcase - Fits up to 13:
http://dell.to/QrnNH4; Dell Executive 10in Leather Attache: http://dell.to/Od1CBq.

Again, thank you for your feedback! Have a great day, Gina.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cameron29906
Title:

horrible wireless

PostedJuly 7, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been trying to get this tablet to stay connected to my wireless router for 8 hours. I have chatted with tech support which was no help, i spoke to tech support and that was no help. The tablet will connect to my wireless router and work for about 5 minutes then it says "no internet access". I have an Ipad and dell laptop here with me connected to the same network with no issues.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 9, 2012
Cameron29906,

Sorry to hear that you aren't getting the expectations from your Latitude ST wireless. Reach out to our Social Support Team directly. The will be able to assess, diagnose and resolve your concerns ASAP! Social Support Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tabletsarewhatweuse
Title:

Tablet Review

PostedJune 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ok, we actually bought two of these Latitude ST tablets and the first impression was it is sleek and professional looking. But the initial experience out of the box with Windows 7 was terrible, the screen was slow with the touch response, onscreen keyboard was just shy of terrible, the pen worked good but who wants to type with a pen. Then we ended up Bluetoothing a keyboard and a mouse which was silly because it kind of defeated the purpose of the tablet and mobility.
BUT, then we installed the latest Windows 8 Release Preview on them and now it actually works like a tablet. The onscreen keyboard and touch experience is great and one user prefers this over his IPad now because of the Windows requirement of his job.
So with Windows 7 I would rate this as a 2, but with Windows 8 I would rate as a 4.
Connecting the DELL tablet to a projector and using PowerPoint is a lot friendler than a regular google or apple tablet.
I would recommend only if Windows 8 is on the device. We're able to get about 4 - 5 hours out of the battery which is sufficient.
Another negative is the lack of leather cases for the device because sleeves are hard to work with and the lack of being able to prop up the device to work on it. I finally found a case that works from an ACER tablet line.
Pros:Travel, entertainment, presentations
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude ST Slate Tablet
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gwelker62
Title:

Horribly under powered

PostedJune 5, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Form factor with touch screen and pen, Dell hits a grand slam with this tablet. I sell and service diagnostic equipment to the automotive industry. Most diag equip has gone PC based versus embedded handhelds, and the ST is what I've been waiting on for a long time. It earns 5 stars alone for that reason.
Cons: As most have said already, it is far to underpowered, and will not satisfactory run the diagnostic applications I need to install. Lags, locks up, and get processor speed warnings from those apps. It is completely useless to me for that reason. Even normal consumer apps and embedded apps like IE9 will not run properly. I have to deduct 3 stars for performance issues.
I sent it back after a 30day test drive. I hope Dell puts a bigger engine under its hood. I'll try another if they start with a processor that can run a 64bit OS and at least 4gb of ram. The 64g SSHD is sufficient however.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewJune 8, 2012
Gwelker62,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. Sorry to hear that your out of the box experience was not perfect. Usually I recommend checking if all the drivers are up to date or to contact our Social Support Team with any concerns: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ).

We take your reviews seriously as they can help us to continue to improve to make a product that will suit all your personal needs.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2