Customer reviews for Latitude E6520

Latitude E6520

Latitude E6520
4.01 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
11
1 Star
10
4
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 101
28 out of 4858%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6520
Review 1 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:koachfamily
(maryland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

No Regrets. GREAT COMPUTER

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
great system .I don't have a bad thing to say about it. Wife is happy, price was great. Looked at every pc company, vs me just building one.I couldn't buy all the parts and build it for what dell sales it for . Great tower and led screen.super quiet. bright led .I never write reviews but I had to on this system.. thanks dell
Pros:Video Editing, games, photos
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrewMu
(Southeast USA)
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Problems with Design

PostedJuly 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Great tech specs, number pad, spacious keyboard
Cons: Smartcard reader location (by far the biggest con), Front metal plate look, size, weight, connector locations, another changed dock format
Review:
Laptop ordered through business, arrived in timely fashion. Laptop performance lacking when considering specs, but I attribute that to corporate security/networking software. Overall laptop looks good, fairly solid feel to it. Keyboard is off center as other reviewers mentioned, however, the inclusion of a number pad is useful for those of us in a business environment who crunch numbers. On the whole, keyboard is large, responsive, and easy on the fingers/wrists. The single biggest negative for me is the smartcard reader located immediately above the modular hard drive bay. Between the smartcard slot and the hard drive is a hole in the case the size of a smartcard. If an employee were to insert his card 2mm below the smartcard slot, he would insert it in the gap between the hard drive and the card reader, rendering it stuck inside the computer. This can (and has) lead to very costly damages to hard drives during reseating of hard drive (in order to retrieve smartcard). As far as other minor negatives: the top metal plate picks up finger prints very easily. And the 6520 is absolutely enormous and weighs like it looks. As other reviews have mentioned, it is a 17 inch laptop with a 15 inch screen. Also, the connector locations could be thought out better. The angled RJ45 connection is a very poor design choice on Dell's part. The last minor negative is one that continues to irritate, every new latitude line requires a dock changeover which is extremely irritating when you have a multi generation computer office.
Suggestions:
-Offer a 17 inch latitude with numpad and a 15 inch without, then users could choose which they would prefer.
-Do not ever put the color orange onto a business laptop.
-Move the smartcard reader somewhere where you can't accidentally insert a card into the computer OR simply seal the modular hard drive bay better so a card cannot be inserted there.
-Consider a different color or finish on top plate that doesn't show finger prints as much.
-Do not put a 1 inch plastic border around my lcd screen. As said before, have a 17 inch model and a 15 inch with appropriate screen sizes and borders.
-Do not put a very commonly used connector (RJ45) in a nonstandard angled location on the edge of the computer.
-Try to make dock longevity a little longer through several models. I know you want to make money here but I don't think 5 year life through models is asking too much.
Conclusion:
Come on Dell, I am a loyal customer but please don't let the engineering quality of your business laptops slip. Most of these are simple design decisions that should have been discovered in a simple focus group of users. I'm really trying to be on your side here, but you are forcing my hand into negativity.
Pros:general business
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LatiDude
(MA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Latitude E6520

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
In general I am very happy with the E6520 after 6 months of use. I have a few pros & cons I wanted to point out:
Pros: Performance is good for general purpose use (Software development, gaming, web use).
Really like the lighted keyboard.
For me this is a good compromise between performance and portability. I use it with an external monitor and keyboard at the office, but without everywhere else.
Graphics are crisp and quality is very good for 2D (PCB CAD, etc).
Cons:
The lack of a separate mic jack is _very_ annoying. To connect a typical PC stereo headset/mic you need a splitter cable which is not expected/provided.
LCD color is a little off (blueish). 3D graphics performance is lacking even with the NVS 4200M option I get about 10 FPS in 3D rendered games.
Pros:sw development, office use, Gaming, Travel
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tecar
Title:

The Greatest

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I first found Dell through my employer(fed gov't)
and decided to by one. That was twelve years ago
I tried a few other laptops brands. They broke. No support! I will never leave Dell again! Dell by far has the best product and support service.
Definitely Buy This Product!
Pros:Travel, streaming video, day trading wall st
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NoName12
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Dissapointed - Even Angry

PostedMay 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been a latitude customer since 1994 - thats a long time. After receiving my newest latitude( E6520 with i7-2760QM, 8Gb Ram, 1920x1080 screen, nVidia 4200, WiFi 6205, Bluetooth and E-mod USB 3) I am thinking that this will be my last Dell Purchase!!
I received the machine, and thank god the first thing I did was make a disk image. I got 5 blue screens in the first 12 hours. After spending a useless 3 hours on the phone the tech wanted to conference me with customer service. He lost the call (WHAT IS THE POINT IN ASKING FOR A CALL BACK NUMBER IF THEY DON'T CALL BACK). I restored the Factory Image three times.
One of the first things that happens during first power up is that the PC is directed to a Dell site for Updates. I believe it was these updates that corrupted the machine since because I disabled the Dell Updates and the system now appears to work for the moment (it has only been a few hours). I am perplexed how a brand new machine could need any driver updates let alone 54 MICROSOFT UPDATES!!!!
The reason I am angry is that my machine did not work for even one hour without Blue Screen to start, Dell Tech Service was of no help but to suggest re-installing Windows, the PC needed a LOT of updates and I spent a beautiful weekend working on my laptop until 1:00 AM along with several hours the next day re-installing SW (Some like Trend Micro indicated the max no. of seats had been used.) This level of inconvenience just simply should not happen with a New Machine.
Pros:statistical analysis, applications development, document writing, graphical analysis and design
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Goodbye2012
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Poor Product Quality and Poor Support

PostedApril 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned three latitudes prior to this one. This will be my last.
Problems started with a strange chirping noise from the hard-drive. Quite a common problem on this model. Eventually the hard drive failed, fortunately I had back-up in the cloud.
Generally product quality is poor on this model, the mouse keys started failing within three months and the drive in about the same time frame. I have 8 year old D series latitudes that are in better condition and they have been treated no worse.
The commitment to product quality at Dell from my personal experience has deteriorated significantly and support is patchy in quality too.
I will no longer buy Dell equipment.
Pros:software develoment, general business tasks
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hjfcfo
Title:

Super powerful laptop

PostedApril 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've owned my E6520 for almost a year now. I'd describe myself as power-user. I bought it on the Dell outlet center, factory refurbished with 8GB RAM, I5 processor, 64 bit Windows 7 at a great price. I since upgraded to an SSD which made this machine basically "Nirvana". It is the fastest and most reliable laptop I've ever owned and used. I also bought the E-port docking station and run 2 24" monitors simultaneously, each at 1920 x 1200 dpi when docked, and on occasion at the same time, a third screen on my iPad via AirDisplay. This machine does not miss a beat. I typically run 10 to 15 applications simultaneously, and the machine just rocks on. Water once accidentally spilled on the keyboard on a flight, and there was absolutely no impact, whatsoever due to the spill resistant keyboard. I have only wonderful things to say about my E6520.
Pros:business spreadsheets, ms office adobe acrobat skype w video, photo editing, quickbooks quicken music, dragon naturally speaking
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nuttifeetfirst
Title:

E6520 A great Step Forward

PostedApril 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
A design step forward, that is more streamlined than the other E series, however retaining the robustness known to Latitude laptops. The features being retained one of which is the back lit keyboard, which makes operation in dim lighting conditions very easy. An added feature to this range is the inclusion of a seperate number pad, this will be useful when using Excel etc. however for people with large hands may be a little small and continueing with the previous format keyboard might be better for the large handed.
Cons:
There no real Cons for this model for what I use it for therefore it suits me down to the ground, the only con i find is battery life a little short with the six cell battery otherwise all fine.
Review:
I have always looked at robust laptops as when you travel continually the poor PC gets knocked about a little and for this purpose the Lattitude range serves the purpose. As i need a large laptop due to working from home the E6520 serves two jobs, being a desktop and a Laptop with enough power and capability. Therefore Purchasing this model for this purpose the buyer will not be dissapointed.
Pros:work, Travel, home
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JorgeEM
(Anchorage, Alaska)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

What happened to the Latitude Line?

PostedMarch 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm an IT manager for a medium size company and I've purchased the E series Latitudes over the years but this new E6520 has a cheap plastic feel to its not solid like the previous E60xx series. The addition of the number pad is just pointless, the release latch is feels loose and cheap, less usb ports than previous models,and it's no longer easy to access the HD and ram, yo now have to remove the entire bottom cover.
Now as for the power and performance I can't complain it's actually pretty good, I just wish it would feel more solid.
Pros:business, traveling, software development
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Trav78620
(Austin, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Using Dell Latitude Laptops for Over a Decade

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have purchased Dell desktop workstations, laptops, servers, and peripherals for both business and personal use for many years. In 2002 I purchased a Latitude C840 laptop and have used it continually until it was recently retired. The new laptop was another Latitude, but this time an E6520. I am very impressed with the functionality and durability of the Dell Latitude laptop line. Having a laptop that continued to function for ten years seems pretty amazing to me. You might say to yourself that the C840 lasted so long because it was sitting on a desk during its life, but that was not the situation at all. Over its ten years of service I carried it daily to and from work and on trips all over North America, Asia, and Europe.
I expect the durability and useful life of my new Latitude E6520 to be as good or better than my trusty C840, and still be running strong in 2022.
Pros:business, Travel, home use, engineering, cad
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AHugeDellFan
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

64 Bit is BUGGY

PostedMarch 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought a lot of product from Dell and really like it. From a hardware perspective, this is a great product. However, the 64bit OS and 64bit Office Suite are a real pain. Numerous bugs. If I had to do it over again, I would have not purchased the 64bit system. I wish I could have a do-over on it.
Pros:business
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ClarkM
(Jacksonville, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Words cannot describe...

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
how much I love this laptop; but I will try. It would not be an exaggeration to say that this is the best laptop I have ever owned. It's durable yet lightweight. It is lightning fast. I opted for a high-res display, with some trepidation; but it is absolutely beautiful. Battery life is outstanding clocking in at just under 4 hours with the standard battery. The numeric keypad is a godsend, the backlit keyboard makes working in low light environments easy and painless and the keyboard itself is comfortable and responsive. This is a serious laptop for serious users.
Pros:work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Techie83
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent and Durable

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned this laptop for two months. I have to say that I am glad I returned the Lenovo Z570 laptop my girlfriend bought me before I got this one with my own money. I am a computer systems engineer. I go to different locations almost everyday I work. This laptop is surviving the wear and tear versus my mid-2010 Macbook Pro and returned Lenovo. I still do not see any scratches on the exterior yet. The backlit keyboard is amazing to have when I work under low or no light environments. The 1600x900 screen is a must have. I would have upgraded to the 1080 resolution if I had better eyesight. The upgraded camera and mic array is perfect for video chat. The 9-cell battery typically holds about seven hours of power with normal daily use versus my Macbook's four hours. Dell's Client System Update tool is a "no worry" way of keeping my system hardware drivers up-to-date automatically. The Intel Advanced wireless card works as expected on my 5GHz wireless network. The 10-number keypad is great to have. I can run virtual machines on this laptop with the i5 processor and eight gigs of memory. I should have opted to upgrade to the 500GB hard drive, at the time, instead of the 320GB to accommodate for more virtual machines and data. The Intel HD graphics is sufficient for the duties in my job, as for 3D gaming, I would look elsewhere. The Bluetooth on this laptop seems to disconnect randomly sometimes with my Bluetooth keyboard and mouse. Not sure why, but I found and posted a solution in the Dell forum that reduces the amount of Bluetooth disconnections. I will definitely buy another Latitude when this laptop ages.
Pros:work, streaming video, Travel, virtual machines, social networking
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tsherv
(Madison, WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Latitude headed in the wrong direction...

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am the network admin for a small manufacturing company (50 PC's). I have bought just about every brand of laptop in the past. I've always found the Dell Latitudes to be my favorite "business grade" laptop. I have several of the E series latitudes, and have loved them. They had a very "solid, high quality feel" to them. I recently purchased an E6520, and have been pretty disppointed. Dell has obviously cheapened the laptop. It has a much more "plastic" feel to it. The fit and finish is not as good. It feel more like a cheap Inspiron with a docking port. It was really a let down!
When I purchase my next round of laptop's, I can't say for sure that I will buy latitudes.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TopReviewer
(Topeka, Kansas)
Title:

Best present for my grandparents

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machine has a light, bright screen, ambient screen, solid construction and great performance. Additionally, this laptop is re-designed from the last generation Latitude 15 incher. It feels smoother on the edges, and it doesn't seem to have the boxy feeling of the last generation Latitude. Any second generation i3/i5/i7 is more than adequate in performance, if you put at least 3GB of memory with Windows 7 On it. Durable, around 5 hours of battery life on a large 15 screen, it's good enough. It is a bit heavy though, so if you're going mobile a lot, get a smaller sized version of Latitude E series!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cbongard
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great All-around Laptop

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I feel this laptop is a well-contructed/solid device for everyday computing. The laptop has not slowed down for ANYTHING. One of the better laptops I have worked on. The Latitude series has always been a very reliable series of laptops and Dell has continued its tradition with the E6520
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bolt
(San Diego, Ca)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Quality and function exceed price

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I researched my next laptop purchase to the n'th degree. It came up Dell E6520 fully loaded with SSD (SSD highly recommended). You'll never want an energy-consuming, slow, fragile, mechanical disk again.
The two complaints I read about most with the E6520? Finger prints and low sound volume. A terrycloth works great for the prints and some tweaking in the sound settings got the sound to be acceptable (barely).
But the laptop is so well built and quick, and priced super competitively, the low sound issue soon disappeared. With Dell's great support and ordering website, it's a decision I'm extremely happy with and will advise others to look seriously at.
Pros:as a traveling desktop, home and office
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arpilla
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Working Option

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We are a medium sized CPA firm and we are often required to do on-site visits to our clients. We need a good tool that can support both our Accounting and Tax Programs. This Laptop works great. It is a little heavy but absolutely reliable
Pros:client on-site visit
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MeBrad
(California)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Rugged, reliable, excellent battery life.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm the IT Ops Manager for a startup. We've purchased quite a few of these since they became available. Very happy with the ruggedness and the features. One of my users in the manufacturing department is a real road warrior and his unit looks like it's been kicked around the manufacturing floor for a month, still runs great.
The users that have the basic unit love the battery life. The people with high performance configurations, not so much. However, when configured as a CAD machine, I guess that's to be expected.
It's a bit heavy, we use this unit as a desktop-replacement. We get the much lighter 13" model for people who want something lighter.
Pros:general business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E6520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mrklaxon
(MN)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Much improved

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Huge improvement to the e series models. Full keyboard is nice. More durable case. Only complaints - NumLock/CapsLock indicators. Would like factory image disk option as well.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3